Ratings based on 2,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Best Value On Union Square

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Good value package overall with comfortable rooms, free wifi, good cable and good service.
Cons: The lobby is small and frequently jammed with guests at peak rush, but the tradeoff seems to be the extra space allocated to a useful business center.
Location: Location is perfect for shopping, very good for dining, and ideal for enjoying the atmosphere of San Francisco.
Having stayed at the Handlery several times, I am pleased that it has settled back into its groove following its renovation. It is a very functional hotel with friendly service and good attention to detail. The rooms are cleaned promptly as soon as guests are out and they provide adequate comfort and amenities for the price point. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are large enough for two people and the staff is responsive to all needs of the guests. The free wifi is slow and erratic, but at least it is not charged ala carte anymore. The Cable TV package is better than other area hotels and provide major channels and coverage of SF Giants baseball. I am also pleased that a restaurant has been added, though I find the choice of music a little loud and off-putting to me, so I tend to eat next door at Lefty O'Doul's which is adequate for a quick breakfast. For me, the Handlery is probably close to an ideal middle class hotel without pretensions to the luxury category, but much better than many nearby alternatives which are pushing the price envelope relative to their value these days. I would happily recommend the hotel and its perfect location on Union Square to all visitors to San Francisco. It was a perfect home base for my wife and I as we zoomed around San Francisco enjoying its restaurants, shopping and other attractions so very accessible from Union Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Handy location to city centre

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The room we were given was too small and we could hardly get our suitcases and ourselves in the room together.
Location: Good shopping and eateries available near by. Good access to public transport
Certainly not worth the money paid for the room provided. Location of hotel is good. Pleasant sraff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ascot, uk

Close to city centre and suburban transport hub

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The history and character and being close to the city centre
Cons: I did not use restaurant but heard diners say there was often a long wait to be seated
Location: Close to some great restaurants. Close to cable car, F line trolley buses and BART. An excellent location to start exploring the city
A lovely hotel that was welcoming and relaxed and very close to the city centre. Staff were helpful. Affordable room rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location - handy shopping, food & transport

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Super convenient location
Location: Very handy to eateries, Cable car starting point on Market Street and to Westfield Mall & Union Sq shops. Bellini Cafe on Powell has great coffees.
Hotel is based in a heritage building right next to Union Square. Staff are helpful. Convenient kerbside loading available. Rooms are a bit cramped, some with no views, but all amenties work as expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location. No complaints..

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location location
Cons: Lighting in rooms should be brighter. Staff should be more approachable . Highly strung.
Location: Shops, restaurants
New section of the hotel good. Terrible view though. Staff were very rushed when doing something. No real complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Very dated and basic but excellent location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location, helpful staff
Cons: It's due a reno!
Location: Excellent location. Right on Union Square and close to all the shops, tram, restaurants and more shops.
The rooms are noisy, small and certainly not ideal for sharing if you have an upset belly (the toilet is practically in the room with you) but this is still a good spot for a short, very central stay in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too short but delightful not the less.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We were greeted and told where to go for site seeing. Even though we had a tour it was interesting to find the fortune cookie lady in Ross alley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Awesome Hotel and Great Location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location, Price, Staff and Service
Cons: Concierge could be more helpful compared to the Concierge we had in LA at another hotel.
Location: Awesome Location. Close to everything. Cable cars just down the road and hop on hop off buses a short walk away too.
Greeted before we even left the cab by the bell boy. Whenever we needed a Cab they would get us one. Staff were great. Concierge could have been a little more helpful with helping us plan our day trips etc. Overall the experience here was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Great location.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Central and convenient
Location: Sightseeing buses leave from Union Square and all major shops are within walking distance away. All sorts of eating places are in abundance .
The Handlery is very central to Union Square. Very convenient for shopping and sightseeing. The room was OK but not a lot of room for 2 suitcases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmoton

Location and easiness

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Spacious room and good beds
Location: Perfect1
I stayed for 4 nights at the hotel and was totally satisfied. I was in the old part of the hotel, but everything worked fine. The location is wonderful, on the corner of Union Square. I recommend any restaurant around the hotel, all great experiences...