Ratings based on 1,953 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

very central hotel close to union square

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: location, high standard of facilities, restaurant
Location: very central - easy walk to cablecars which gave access to whole city
lovely place to stay. quiet which was excellent as this hotel is right in the heart of San Francisco. room was clean and bathroom had good selection of quality toiletries. excellent restaurant on site too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We only stayed one nt. No real complaints. We had one of the larger upgraded rooms. No view except into the window of the apt complex next door. The beds were very comfortable and it was very roomie. Not a fancy luxury hotel by any means but it met our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia.

Good location and very convenient.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great location right near cable cars and humming city centre - just avoid any travel through nearby Tenderloin area - very unsafe. Staff were great - Hermie was the nicest concierge I've ever met. Room tiny but well kept and serviced - fridge to store own food a plus. Overall a good stay for a few days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Do not stay here!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The only decent thing about this hotel is the location.
Cons: The hotel needs to be completely renovated.
Location: There is a ton of shopping in this area!
This hotel is located in Union Square, San Francisco. The location of the hotel is the only thing good about the hotel. The guest rooms look as if you are staying in the bates motel. The air vents were blowing out dirty air and the circulation in the room was awful. I have stayed at hostels nicer than this hotel. San Francisco is a great city with so much to see and do; don't ruin your trip by staying at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Adequate

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: You can't beat the location on Union Square.
The building smelled old. The room was tiny. The view out the window was of other hotel windows. But the price was good, and I guess you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel, fantastic location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Room layout, swimming pool, close to Union Square
Cons: Couldn't suggest any improvements
Location: Close to Union Square. Try the cheesecake shop on the top floor of Macys, fantastic. Just a quick taxi ride to Pier 39, and the Alcatraz tours.
Looked and booked online. Never know what you are going to get but we were very pleased. After a long flight (13 hours) we arrived before check in time but the hotel was very accommodating. Secured our bags, had a lovely cold refreshing drink available, and were able to direct us to a nice relaxing eatery. The position in Union Square was ideal, close to lots of great restaurants. The staff were very helpful, and the pool was an added bonus. Would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Two different experiences.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Central
Cons: See above
We stayed 4 nights in a very nice room adjacent to the swimming pool. The room was well appointed and spacious which was in line with what we had paid for and expected. We spent one night away from the hotel and returned for another night. The room we were allocated was on the 8th floor, extremely small and uncomfortable with chicken wire on the window and a very inconvenient bathroom setup- the hand basin was in the bedroom and not close to the toilet facilities. We paid what we believe was excessive for this room. I spoke to the Manager next day and she told me we should have requested a better room!! The Concierge staff were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The location of the hotel is quite convenient, the price is relative cheaper than other hotels nearby. It is a real historical hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno,Nv

BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: location close to everything we enjoy doing
Cons: new bed
Location: union square. shopping, close to cable cars and buses. great restaurants
Great location to great restaurants and shopping. Pool at hotel a perk. Very quiet rooms for sleeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg VA

Nice Hotel close to Union Square

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We checked in very early(9:30 am) and were happy to find we could get a room. The room was clean and comfortable but was less than ideal. The windows were "frosted" to prevent seeing out and there was a reason. The view was of a small roof top area and plumbing. We could have requested another room and I think it would have happened once one became available. They did accommodate my early check in so I took what they had. I didn't come to San Francisco on vacation to stay in my room. The staff was excellent, the hotel very nice and located close to everything. Ask about your rooms location and you will have an wonderful stay.