Ratings based on 2,649 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay with super helpful staff!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Location, staff and character of the older building.
Location: Union square and great restaurants are walking distance.
Had to go for some business and I was able to walk anywhere I needed to go because of the excellent location. The staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. I will definitely stay here again if I need to be in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location -nice rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Great hotel, love the location, park somewhere else-up the street-parking at the hotel is 57.00 per day plus taxes-parked up the street -for 30 per day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa, CA

Great hotel for a shopping weekend

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Large room, comfortable beds, quiet, wonderful staff.
Cons: My daughters wanted to use the Sauna, but it needs to be scheduled in advance and unlocked. It should be available without a reservation.
My Daughters and I stayed at the Handlery for a girls shopping weekend. It is less than a block from Union Square was perfect for our trip. Our room was beautiful and large. The front desk gave me the choice of a street room with a view or a quiet room with no view. We selected the quiet room and were very happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Pleasant and centrally located.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Location: convenient. shops, restuarants within an arms length.
All staff members were very helpful with getting directions & transportation. All staff members should be commended for their excellent social skills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice hotel in great location. Close to everything.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We had four days and explored most of the City. Transit is so convent . GGP, Fishermans Wharf,and great dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom world traveler

Better choice for union square

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: This place is a good value and quiet....
Cons: It's better than the W
Location: Sushi Boat restaurant is very close....
This hotel is very quite (unusual for this side of town). It provides the best value for the area. I will stay here when ever I come to SF from now on. It is actually actress the street from a $500/night hotel.... It is close to the Sushi Boat which is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Excellent location

Posted Feb 8, 2015
AC unit does not cool the room. Nice room layout for 3 adults
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Close and convenient Location

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Tons of shopping and great restaurants
The hotel is in the heart of Union Square, which makes it easy to get around however, if you're not used to city noise, this hotel isn't for you. Although its not constant, it can be annoying to some to be woken by sirens or honking horns. The staff is great and the beds are very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Hills, CA

USF move in!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
I was recommended to this hotel by the University of San Francisco website. After looking at reviews, prices and location I decided to book the room for two nights preceding the move in date. While at first glance the hotel looked a little dated, it was obvious there was much attention to detail in this family owned hotel! Very clean and comfortable. You will not be disappointed. Very polite staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is an older hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air conditioning system.
Location: Near Union Square and the turn around for street car.
I lost my wallet in the cab and the bellman (Jaime) and later concierge Dale were so helpful. Spent two hours trying to get cabbie to respond - ultimately wallet never showed up, but the staff acted as if they had lost their own wallet. Treated me with much kindness.