Ratings based on 2,170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weird chemical smell in out of date rooms,

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Bad, indifferent service and nasty chemical smell in rooms. Seriously needs decorating too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loud noises

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The location was great. Easy walking distance to shopping and resturants.
Cons: We asked for extra coffee and cups as there were 4 in the room and had to call back the next day AGAIN as it was never delivered. NOISE CONTROL
Location: Macy's and the trolley stopped right at the corner for easy access. Lots of shopping and Union Square. Good resturants near by as well.
I loved how close the hotel was to Union Square but was dissappointed with how noisey the rooms were. It made it very difficult to sleep with all the trucks banging and crashing all night. I would stay there again and ask for a room that didnt face the street to avoid the noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to sleep

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Location: It's a great location for staying near Union Square. It's not even a block away. It was extremely convenient to downtown.
Before you read mind you, there was nothing wrong with this hotel. The staff was friendly and it was clean. It was just dated. Very dated. It wasn't too far off from staying at your grandmother's house. But it was a safe, affordable place to stay. There was wifi and TV.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
room was very small, but comfortable. ok if it were not for the price overly priced for what i got Arnie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Nice Downtown SF Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: Open the hotel restaurant earlier (opened at 7AM) and throw in some kind of breakfast.
Location: You can catch a cable car about a block away that goes over nob hill and down to fisherman's wharf in about 15 minutes.
I stayed here for a conference in downtown SF. Great location, close to conference facility, places to eat in the evening, shopping, and other amenities. Although a 'historic building' (they still have what looks like the original multistory mail drop in the lobby and each floor) the property was well maintained and updated with things like a small fitness room & pool. The room I was in was clean and comfortable, although a bit on the small side. Also very helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Australia.

Lovely hotel close to everything.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Everything but mainly location and the big comfy bed.
Cons: nothing.
Location: See above
Handlery Union hotel was great. The room we had was clean and roomy with a very comfy bed. It also had a mini fridge which was very handy. Close to many restaurants including our favourite The Cheesecake Factory which is a 2 minute walk away. Close to the tram line and walking distance to the Powell st station BART TRAIN. Smack in the midle of many shops. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle Australia

Great position

Posted Nov 10, 2014
A little old and dark, but rooms were clean and comfortable. Fridge in room was handy. Position was great, close to everything. Staff were helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Very clean and friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms were a little small, but I wasn't there much, so it was not an issue.
Location: Great location.
I was there for a convention at another hotel. I stayed at the Handlery. It was a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The business center was too warm.
Easy to access the hotel via Geary St or O'Farrell St. Within walking distance of eateries, shopping, transportaion, theaters, etc.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Needs a little modernising

Posted Nov 3, 2014
The location was excellent - seconds from Union Square and a train station and Macy's etc. However it was in a very busy spot and could be noisy at night. This could have been solved with some modernising to the windows to the hotel. There was also a lot of light from the street which couldn't be blocked out well with the blinds at the windows. Some thick curtains are really needed on top of the blinds. The rooms were very clean and presentable but the bathroom was a little shabby and dated and the shower was not very hot or powerful. In addition to this, the boilers/pipes were very noisy and I was woken every morning of my trip by the sound of them starting up. There was also a very odd musty old smell around the hotel and especially in the room.