Ratings based on 2,612 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Close and convenient Location

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Tons of shopping and great restaurants
The hotel is in the heart of Union Square, which makes it easy to get around however, if you're not used to city noise, this hotel isn't for you. Although its not constant, it can be annoying to some to be woken by sirens or honking horns. The staff is great and the beds are very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Hills, CA

USF move in!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
I was recommended to this hotel by the University of San Francisco website. After looking at reviews, prices and location I decided to book the room for two nights preceding the move in date. While at first glance the hotel looked a little dated, it was obvious there was much attention to detail in this family owned hotel! Very clean and comfortable. You will not be disappointed. Very polite staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is an older hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air conditioning system.
Location: Near Union Square and the turn around for street car.
I lost my wallet in the cab and the bellman (Jaime) and later concierge Dale were so helpful. Spent two hours trying to get cabbie to respond - ultimately wallet never showed up, but the staff acted as if they had lost their own wallet. Treated me with much kindness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Nice and clean. Great walking distance to shopping, restaurants, & other attractions!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Great staff comfortable shopping and restaurants walking distance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san jose,ca

Closer to union square then I thought

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We were upgraded to a bigger room and it was clean and comfortable. The pool and gym were convineint. After searching for a decent hotel in Union square( 3 hour wait at the cheesecake factory) we settled for the daily grill and It was delicious! Will defienitly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Reading UK

Location, Location!

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Not sure old rooms could be improved short of major construction work. But fine.
Location: Union Square, main shopping area, cable car stops and buses all within walking distance as is an excellent diner for breakfast (cheaper than hotel).
Stayed three nights prior to hiring car to tour California, Arizona and Nevada. This hotel is ideally located just off Union Square. Staff were excellent without exception. I think there may be a more modern block but we were in the original part of the hotel. Although modern and well equipped the room was cramped as were the shower toilet facilities. In fact the hand basin was in the room itself. But we'd stay again no problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel tower we stayed in was very historic and clean. A great atmosphere.
Cons: There was not much of a view from our room and the air conditioning unit was a little loud.
Location: Shopping and cable car station is very close by, along with many places to eat.
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is in a great location for shopping and touring San Francisco. Short walk to the cable car station as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect

Posted Dec 24, 2014
I am always at this location. It is the best !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to Union Square.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: A sign to reflect where parking is would be helpful.
Location: The hotel is very close to Union Square. Lots of shopping and restaurants.
We found the hotel to be nice, very clearn and very close to Union Square, however, it was dated. Although it was advertised that the hotel had valet parking, when we pulled up to the front of the hotel on Geary, we were re-directed to pull around to the parking garage on O'Farrell. There were no signs posted to reflect this.