Ratings based on 2,124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great location , ok hotel !

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Checked in and was moved to 3 different rooms . First 2 rooms were tiny and run down and third was good. Great location for all amenities !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: Updating the rooms
This hotel has a fantastic location and a lovely staff. I am used to staying in a larger and more updated room. We were so busy that it didn't bother us too much. If you are used to a very fine hotel, this may not meet your needs. On the other hand, if you want a nice staff and a great location, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach, Ca

Nicest view

Posted Oct 13, 2014
me and 3 of my friends stayed there and expedia sent me an email for my reservation i asked for most spacious and extra towels and when i got there i got a really big room and extra towels and even had an extremely nice view! Check in and out was about 5 minutes each
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to all amenities.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Hotel was perfect clean and friendly great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Perfectly located by union square.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Location, size of room and staff.
Cons: Upgrade air conditioning unit
Location: Union square, with marvellous live music.
The room was very spacious and well appointed. One negative was the very old and noisy air conditioning which made sleep difficult with it going. It was also too noisy to open the windows for some fresh air. It was also quite inconvenient to have to walk past the pool and down stairs to reach reception, rather than just take a lift. Overall though the room was clean and we'll maintained. The staff were all very helpful and responsive to any requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Best Value On Union Square

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Good value package overall with comfortable rooms, free wifi, good cable and good service.
Cons: The lobby is small and frequently jammed with guests at peak rush, but the tradeoff seems to be the extra space allocated to a useful business center.
Location: Location is perfect for shopping, very good for dining, and ideal for enjoying the atmosphere of San Francisco.
Having stayed at the Handlery several times, I am pleased that it has settled back into its groove following its renovation. It is a very functional hotel with friendly service and good attention to detail. The rooms are cleaned promptly as soon as guests are out and they provide adequate comfort and amenities for the price point. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are large enough for two people and the staff is responsive to all needs of the guests. The free wifi is slow and erratic, but at least it is not charged ala carte anymore. The Cable TV package is better than other area hotels and provide major channels and coverage of SF Giants baseball. I am also pleased that a restaurant has been added, though I find the choice of music a little loud and off-putting to me, so I tend to eat next door at Lefty O'Doul's which is adequate for a quick breakfast. For me, the Handlery is probably close to an ideal middle class hotel without pretensions to the luxury category, but much better than many nearby alternatives which are pushing the price envelope relative to their value these days. I would happily recommend the hotel and its perfect location on Union Square to all visitors to San Francisco. It was a perfect home base for my wife and I as we zoomed around San Francisco enjoying its restaurants, shopping and other attractions so very accessible from Union Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Handy location to city centre

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The room we were given was too small and we could hardly get our suitcases and ourselves in the room together.
Location: Good shopping and eateries available near by. Good access to public transport
Certainly not worth the money paid for the room provided. Location of hotel is good. Pleasant sraff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ascot, uk

Close to city centre and suburban transport hub

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The history and character and being close to the city centre
Cons: I did not use restaurant but heard diners say there was often a long wait to be seated
Location: Close to some great restaurants. Close to cable car, F line trolley buses and BART. An excellent location to start exploring the city
A lovely hotel that was welcoming and relaxed and very close to the city centre. Staff were helpful. Affordable room rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location - handy shopping, food & transport

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Super convenient location
Location: Very handy to eateries, Cable car starting point on Market Street and to Westfield Mall & Union Sq shops. Bellini Cafe on Powell has great coffees.
Hotel is based in a heritage building right next to Union Square. Staff are helpful. Convenient kerbside loading available. Rooms are a bit cramped, some with no views, but all amenties work as expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location. No complaints..

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location location
Cons: Lighting in rooms should be brighter. Staff should be more approachable . Highly strung.
Location: Shops, restaurants
New section of the hotel good. Terrible view though. Staff were very rushed when doing something. No real complaints.