Ratings based on 2,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Perfect location and close to everything

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Not much
Location: Everything
The Handlery is right off Union Square. This puts it near all the rapid transit lines including the cable cars. We were able to walk to our restaurant reservations four of the five nights we were in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room but nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Later bar hours.
Location: In the middle of all the action so very good.
The room was smaller than expected and faced the busy street. The bar closes way to early but the staff were nice. The room was well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto

downtown san francisco

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: desk staff friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable especially when it came to info about public transportation
Location: perfect location. close to shops and transportation. within walking distance of great neighbourhoods like North Beach, waterfront, Telegraph Hill...
It's a very good city to visit; mild weather (in August) and relatively short distances made it great for walking almost everywhere from where we were staying (Geary and Mason Streets). There are excellent restaurants and some beautiful neighbourhoods. A lot do do and the hills made exploring the city a fun and a great workout (though not for younger children). Very happy to have discovered a city with a decent network of bike lanes and, for the most part, bike/pedestrian-friendly drivers. lots of very inviting parks, squares, outdoor cafes-- especially after a couple of hours walking up and down hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Heart of Union Square

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: shopping, cable cars
Nice family owned hotel. My only complaint was that the food tray outside the adjoining room remained there for over 36 hours. It became a joke for us. It's still there...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

In the thick of it

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff members I came into contact with were pleasant and helpful. My room was very clean, attractive and quiet.
The Handlery Hotel, on Geary half a block west of Powell, is ideally located for shopping and getting around downtown San Francisco. Since I visited in August, the entire area was crowded with tourists and difficult to navigate or find a quiet place for a meal. I'd have enjoyed my stay more at another time of year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Excellent location Central to shops, transport and restaurants. Rooms a bit dark. We moved after complaining about noise from lift and ice machine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Disappointed

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: I really liked the location, however wouldn't stay here again. I would look at a different hotel and pay a little bit more.
Cons: Everything, it was very aged. Customer service wasn't great and didn't follow up on promised actions. The cleaners didn't do much either.
Location: Really central and easy access to some amazing shopping centers and cable car.
Air conditioner didn't work, asked hotel staff to come and have a look to try and fix it.. No one turned up. They didn't replace any shampo or conditioner so we had to buy it by ourselves.. When we checked out I asked to speak to the manager to let him know this had happened.. He apologised and said if we didn't book through Expedia he would have given some refund.. He offered breakfast which was nice however we needed to catch a flight. He said he would follow up with the staff members to ensure this doesn't happen again, however I wouldn't recommend this hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Great stay

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff; adequate amenities; great location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mooresville, NC

First Trip to San Francisco

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Stayed at The Handlery at the suggestion of a friend. Great location and nice to stay in a historic building downtown. Would have been happier with more amenities within the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty fair value for the price (in San Fran)

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: price, location.
Cons: Gym. Also, (real nit-picking here) why is the TV mounted so high up?
Location: Right at Union square - lots of restaurants and shopping. Easy to get to from the airport with MUNI.
Rooms are clean, reasonably well appointed and the location is great. Also nice that they have the Daily Grill as their room service / restaurant - they have consistently great food. Also the wifi is fast and free - which is nice. The hotel is a little dated and I had some maintenance issues in my room. Biggest complaint is the gym - if you're planning on having a workout you'll need to go around the corner to a proper gym and buy a day pass. Nothing other than a couple treadmills and elliptical. No weights. Overall it was good - but next time Im in San Fran I'll likely spend a little more and get something a little nicer.