Ratings based on 1,865 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to Union Square-clean, quiet, well priced

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff - QUIET rooms unlike other "boutique" hotels that have paper-thin walls Walking distance to many sights - to trolley line across town Heated Pool - Sauna were very Recommend it for sure!
3 out of 5
by Chelsea from Los Angeles

Meh

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Musty smell of room and hallways, awful mattress, scratchy sheets
The staff was nice, and the location is excellent, but this is not a cheap hotel and I don't feel that it was worth the money. The room was small, sheets seemed clean, though scratchy. The bathroom was tiny, small shower stall, no tub. I was in the "Historical building", the hallways and my room smelled musty. The mattress was one of the worst I've ever had to sleep on, worse than a cot or a pull out couch. For the price of this room I could have done much better, I would NOT stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lanessa from P. Northern Va.

Great location and staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at Handlery Hotel. It is a great location in Union Square. I will definetely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: city view balcony
amazing stay will return soon everything was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theshitshow from GA

Nice hotel for business or pleasure

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Convenient location and quick access to restaurants, shops, coffee, whatever you need ...
3 out of 5
by Daryl from Irvine, CA

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Rooms are small, bathroom had a lot of mold, room wasn't very clean. Room hadn't seen a remodel in a very long time.
Location: Union square (shopping). Chinatown, convention center, cable cars. only ~30 mins to walk to the ocean. Recommend Bouche for fine French cuisine.
The hotel is in a great place being right by Union Square. It is an easy walk to the convention center and many excellent restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but drab hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: In need of a refurb
This hotel is very centrally located, but the hotel was disappointing. The room was very small and dark. The hotel is very dull and drab.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel in Union Square, S.F.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Cons: Move toilet away from bathroom counter. Provide more electrical outlets.
Location: Good location; close to everything. Lefty O'Douls is next door - a real winner.
We felt that the room was minimal...barely space to move in the bathroom...overpriced for the size of the room. The restaurant, Daily Grill, was ridiculously overpriced.
2 out of 5
by Bob

Not worth the price

Posted Apr 4, 2014
The location of the hotel is very good and it is very convenient to get from the airport via BART to the hotel. There are two separate buildings which make up the hotel. I imagine the new wing is nicer than the old, but the price is the same. My room was very small and looked out on a light shaft. The bed purported to be a queen, but seemed to be an old fashioned double bed. The heating unit was in the ceiling and was noisey. I thought it was entirely too expensive for what I received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mikey from Hong Kong / Bournemouth

A stunning view to wake up to in the city

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The staff were the hotel's crowning jewel. There was nothing they would not do and I felt comfortable to ask for assistance. So friendly and helpful
Location: The Hotel is located in San Fran's busy downtown district, just off Union Square. There are shops, restaurants, tram ways and sight seeing
My brother and I who are UK / Hong Kong based took a trip from Vancouver to San Francisco, stopping en route. Having never been to San Fran before, I knew nothing of the city and hence followed the hotel reviews on line. I booked The Handlery and we weren't disappointed. We specifically wanted to be in the heart of the city near Union Square and as I don't like being hemmed in I love balconies. Upon arrival the rooms were without balconies and when I mentioned to the reception that I liked them , The manager came across and said as it was our first visit to the city he would give us rooms with balconies on a higher floor with no extra charge. I felt that to be a most warm welcome! The rooms were spacious, well kept, clean with a hint a regency. THE VIEW WAS SPECTACULAR! I awoke each morning to brilliant sunshine piercing through the glass cascade of San Francisco, clad in my warm, soft Hadlery robe, enjoying my Earl Grey tea from the balcony. Perfect!