Ratings based on 2,060 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Beautiful room in the old historic part of the hotel. Can't beat the location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Valley Ca

The convenience of being close to union square

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel is nice. The rooms are small but that's common in San Francisco. The staff was ok. You could probably book a better place around the area for the price they charge here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The location. I also liked the contemporary decor and our room was a good size (we had 2 double beds).
Cons: I wouldn't want to stay in a room that had just been commercially cleaned.
Location: Beside Union Square. The big department stores are all close; Market St and the BART station are minutes away; North Beach is a cable car trip away
Our room was nice but looked out onto other wings of the hotel so was quite dim but we were out most of the day anyway. We found it a bit noisy at night as we had our window open and all the air-con units hummed all night but we did appreciate being able to open the window. Our room smelt of mothballs which we found a bit disconcerting. Facilities were good, (the sauna was great) and the location very central. Staff were helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location close to Union Square

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Good deal combined with great location of what was obviously a misy weekend.
Cons: Smallish room but OK.
Location: Ride a cable car, shopping, Pier 39 and access to amny other Bay Area sights via good transport.
Great location, heritage building, room a bit smallish but otherwise no complaints. Found a great deal on Expedia, when most of the big chains were quoting silly money. Concierge was particularly helpful and I overheard many other snippets of wisdom being dispensed. Well located for the main tourist sights in that area of Frisco and also transport links to many others (Main station for Muni & Bart, Powell station is no more than 5-10 mins away).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Perfect location and close to everything

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Not much
Location: Everything
The Handlery is right off Union Square. This puts it near all the rapid transit lines including the cable cars. We were able to walk to our restaurant reservations four of the five nights we were in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room but nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Later bar hours.
Location: In the middle of all the action so very good.
The room was smaller than expected and faced the busy street. The bar closes way to early but the staff were nice. The room was well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto

downtown san francisco

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: desk staff friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable especially when it came to info about public transportation
Location: perfect location. close to shops and transportation. within walking distance of great neighbourhoods like North Beach, waterfront, Telegraph Hill...
It's a very good city to visit; mild weather (in August) and relatively short distances made it great for walking almost everywhere from where we were staying (Geary and Mason Streets). There are excellent restaurants and some beautiful neighbourhoods. A lot do do and the hills made exploring the city a fun and a great workout (though not for younger children). Very happy to have discovered a city with a decent network of bike lanes and, for the most part, bike/pedestrian-friendly drivers. lots of very inviting parks, squares, outdoor cafes-- especially after a couple of hours walking up and down hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Heart of Union Square

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: shopping, cable cars
Nice family owned hotel. My only complaint was that the food tray outside the adjoining room remained there for over 36 hours. It became a joke for us. It's still there...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

In the thick of it

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff members I came into contact with were pleasant and helpful. My room was very clean, attractive and quiet.
The Handlery Hotel, on Geary half a block west of Powell, is ideally located for shopping and getting around downtown San Francisco. Since I visited in August, the entire area was crowded with tourists and difficult to navigate or find a quiet place for a meal. I'd have enjoyed my stay more at another time of year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Excellent location Central to shops, transport and restaurants. Rooms a bit dark. We moved after complaining about noise from lift and ice machine.