Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for Location and Price

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location and price. Fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room.
Cons: Proper deadbolt on the door. A little more attention to detail by the cleaning staff.
We picked this hotel because it was close to the airport and affordable. It is, as expected, an older facility. The only major complaint I have is that though we reserved a non-smoking room, the room we got was definitely a room that had been heavily smoked in at some time in the past. We had been flying for 24 hrs, it was late, and we forgot on check-in to confirm that we were being given a non-smoking room. We were too tired to try to change rooms after we entered the room and gagged at the old-smoke smell, so I don't know if this was an unintentional mistake, or this is the best they have. Other than the smokey smell, the room amenities were good. Cleanliness was adequate, but not stellar. Regular lock, but no deadbolt on the door, but one of those fold over latch things that would hopefully keep someone from getting in. Location is great--San Mateo is a pretty little town, and it's right off 101, 10 minutes from the airport. Just what we were looking for for our first night in California. Had they had room, we would have stayed a second night, if they could give us a true non-smoking room (but they were full so we didn't explore it).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air condition

Posted Oct 12, 2014
When I check in,the stuff has no any patients ,the room has no air condition .this is the worst one I have been in. I Had order two nights,then I leave the next morning. But Expedia help me to return the money,that is great.so my family and my friends will never order the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Check in area dirty, no professionalism, rude, ..Did not stay, we left and went to a different hotel. Terrible. There are several hotels near by. Motel 6 for example, which was clean and greated with professionalism. Rates where better then this dump. Attached to hotel is a bar with pool tables. The bar is dirty, uses duck tape on bar. THIS HOTEL IS A DUMP. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive, Basic Ammenities

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Price, location, staff friendliness.
Cons: Wi-Fi service, cable TV.
Location: Close to highway, near a Starbucks, across the street from a liquor store for those seeking refreshment. The lobby is attached to a bar.
For $50/night, I got what I paid for, and am overall satisfied. However, be warned: the "free wi-fi" does not work. Service is spotty at best, even when I relocated to the lobby. If you need to do online work, you will need to go somewhere else, like the Starbucks located a couple of blocks away. Do not expect to get reliable internet, though. The television was ok, but it was broadcast only...no cable tv. Again, you get what you pay for. That all said, the staff was very friendly, the room was good enough for basic travel. I wouldn't suggest it for families, but it is fine for singles, students, and business travelers on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Not too bad

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This place wasn't the nicest but they provided toothpaste, toothbrush and soap. It wasn't loud. Everyone was nice. It was perfect for the price. There was cable, free Wi-Fi,.and breakfast. I've seen all the bad reviews but I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank

Nice hotel recommended

Posted Sep 13, 2014
No complaints here 4 star they where so helpful even though expedia did it all wrong. Can't forget the shower it's strong. But good. I'm coming back here every year
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

warm hotel in the countryside

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The temperature in the hotel is warmer that the outside. It was not cold at night.
Cons: The TV controller is a little difficult to use.
Location: a food supermarket nearby, 15mins walk
It took us 10 mins to walk to the hotel from Hillsdale station (bus or caltrain). The hotel is simple but not crowded. There is a refrigerator, a TV, a microwave oven and an e-coffee pot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Housekeepers - the worst! Dirty room, clogged toilet, just really bad. Hotel front staff nice, but this place is like a junk yard.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business trip

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Room was so dirty, no A/C, did not feel safe at all, there was supposed to be an internet connection, none practically, front desk closed at 8pm which makes it so inconvenient if you check in late, if you have questions at night, forget that!!!! Never come here, it will never be worth your money, does not matter what kind of discount they offer you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Not so close to San Fransisco

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Price
Location: 40 minute drive to San Fransisco but very near mall, restaurants, starbucks.
Good room especially for the price but hotel came up during a San Francisco search and was at least a 40 min drive (and that was with very minimal traffic). Again, it was right for the price...ok on cleanliness (just dirty carpets), coffee pot, microwave, and fridge were convenient to have as well.