Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Carson City, NV

Not as good as it looks on the web pages

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The room was large.
Cons: Better maintenance of the exterior, better communications with the guests about hotel lobby hours, etc..
This hotel was a disappointment. From the web pages, I expected something a little better maintained. I understand it only had two stars to begin with, but I was still disappointed when I arrived. The room was what I would expect from a two star hotel, clean but old and worn. The exterior and hallways, however, were much worse than expected. It was dark, dirty and falling apart. Also, when trying to check out, I found out there was nobody in the office until later that day, and they had NO method established for dropping off your key. They had not bothered to mention this when I checked in. Overall, it was a rather unpleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Residential Motel. Lots of parents yelling at their kids all night. Room had strong smell of bleach. Stained carpet. No door security. No room ventilation other than a damaged floor fan.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Pretty gross...

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was really close to a Whole Foods and other good places to eat. It's also pretty close to the airport.
Cons: I wish it was cleaner, and maybe had an updated computer system.
Location: The location is pretty low key, not much going on, but some good places to eat near by. You can walk to the Whole Foods, which is awesome.
The hotel was fine, but for the price it was pretty dirty. Stains on the rug and in the bathroom. It's one of those places where you KNOW the comforter of the bed is never washed, so you don't even want to know whats on it... The staff was super friendly but they had a very "old school" way of booking rooms. Everything was done by hand, no computers, and that makes me kind of nervous... The hotel was totally booked the night I stayed, and there were a lot of people hanging around outside smoking cigarettes and talking pretty loudly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for Location and Price

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location and price. Fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room.
Cons: Proper deadbolt on the door. A little more attention to detail by the cleaning staff.
We picked this hotel because it was close to the airport and affordable. It is, as expected, an older facility. The only major complaint I have is that though we reserved a non-smoking room, the room we got was definitely a room that had been heavily smoked in at some time in the past. We had been flying for 24 hrs, it was late, and we forgot on check-in to confirm that we were being given a non-smoking room. We were too tired to try to change rooms after we entered the room and gagged at the old-smoke smell, so I don't know if this was an unintentional mistake, or this is the best they have. Other than the smokey smell, the room amenities were good. Cleanliness was adequate, but not stellar. Regular lock, but no deadbolt on the door, but one of those fold over latch things that would hopefully keep someone from getting in. Location is great--San Mateo is a pretty little town, and it's right off 101, 10 minutes from the airport. Just what we were looking for for our first night in California. Had they had room, we would have stayed a second night, if they could give us a true non-smoking room (but they were full so we didn't explore it).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air condition

Posted Oct 12, 2014
When I check in,the stuff has no any patients ,the room has no air condition .this is the worst one I have been in. I Had order two nights,then I leave the next morning. But Expedia help me to return the money,that is great.so my family and my friends will never order the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Check in area dirty, no professionalism, rude, ..Did not stay, we left and went to a different hotel. Terrible. There are several hotels near by. Motel 6 for example, which was clean and greated with professionalism. Rates where better then this dump. Attached to hotel is a bar with pool tables. The bar is dirty, uses duck tape on bar. THIS HOTEL IS A DUMP. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive, Basic Ammenities

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Price, location, staff friendliness.
Cons: Wi-Fi service, cable TV.
Location: Close to highway, near a Starbucks, across the street from a liquor store for those seeking refreshment. The lobby is attached to a bar.
For $50/night, I got what I paid for, and am overall satisfied. However, be warned: the "free wi-fi" does not work. Service is spotty at best, even when I relocated to the lobby. If you need to do online work, you will need to go somewhere else, like the Starbucks located a couple of blocks away. Do not expect to get reliable internet, though. The television was ok, but it was broadcast only...no cable tv. Again, you get what you pay for. That all said, the staff was very friendly, the room was good enough for basic travel. I wouldn't suggest it for families, but it is fine for singles, students, and business travelers on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Not too bad

Posted Sep 23, 2014
This place wasn't the nicest but they provided toothpaste, toothbrush and soap. It wasn't loud. Everyone was nice. It was perfect for the price. There was cable, free Wi-Fi,.and breakfast. I've seen all the bad reviews but I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burbank

Nice hotel recommended

Posted Sep 13, 2014
No complaints here 4 star they where so helpful even though expedia did it all wrong. Can't forget the shower it's strong. But good. I'm coming back here every year
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

warm hotel in the countryside

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The temperature in the hotel is warmer that the outside. It was not cold at night.
Cons: The TV controller is a little difficult to use.
Location: a food supermarket nearby, 15mins walk
It took us 10 mins to walk to the hotel from Hillsdale station (bus or caltrain). The hotel is simple but not crowded. There is a refrigerator, a TV, a microwave oven and an e-coffee pot.