Ratings based on 3,610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Myrna

Nice hotel accessible to major spots

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect for my purpose.
Cons: The lobby area -too busy, too large.
Location: Eating, shopping, sightseeing, theater, pubs, music, public transportation.
The room was comfortable, clean, and with plenty of natural light. Very pleasant staff. My only criticism, a very busy lobby area. Everything else was fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Phone costs

Posted Apr 22, 2014
I am a Hilton Gold honors member but was charged so much for an international call from my room I could have flown back to the UK. Not good at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis from San Luis Potosi, MX

Great location near Union Square

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Size of rooms
Location: Union square shopping, great restaurants in neigborhood, San Francisco Landmarks within walking distance.
Clean renovated room, amiable staff, hassle free valet parking service, quick internet on all rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Security should try to keep homeless from hotel guests. Heard a lot of complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, Great View

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great location in the heart of San Francisco only 15 minute walk to Pier 39 at Fisherman's Wharf. Worth a upgrade too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Freindly staff

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The rooms are very clean. (new construction). Great views of the city and with in two blocks of union square. Public parking across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paolo from DC

not what i expected

Posted Apr 11, 2014
when we arrived the frontdesk told us that we were going to be in different floors i was with my children i reacted then i was told to upgrade my room so that we will be in the same floor an additional 100$ was charged. but the hotel is situated in a safe place even the police goes inside the hotel from time to time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay at the Hilton

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Originally i liked the location but after no sleep for two nights I was no impressed,
Cons: Not sure that there is much they can do as the property is large and has to cater for loads of people but I wouldnt say that it was a 5 star property
Location: The hotel is close to Union Squre, the shopping district, the Powell street cable car and F1 line down to Fishermans Wharf
I was looking forward to staying at the Hilton and had a certain expectation for a 5 star property. My planned six night stay was cut to two nights after no sleep on night 1 due to a unexpected constant droning sound in my room. I was 'upgraded' to an alternative room for the remainder of my stay only to have an air conditoning unit that sounded like an old red rattler train (even after amintenance had been to fix it) and directly near the lift well with lifts constantly goingup and down all night. I checked out the next day with the help fo the wonderful support team at Expedia who neotiated for a full refund for the remainder of my booking - thank you so much Angelie and Expedia. I think that the hotel is much too big to offer proper 5 star service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eunice from A

Large hotel in a good position for exploring

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Close to all transport. Able to walk to union square and fishermans wharf
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Austin

Great Hotel near Union Square

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We had a wonderful experience at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel. Everything about our stay was excellent. Check in and check out was easy. Our room was really comfortable. We had sufficient outlets to charge our IPhone, IPad and Kindles. The bathroom shower was superb. The location was ideal for our sightseeing activities. Would go back to stay there in a heartbeat.