Ratings based on 3,902 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Freindly staff

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The rooms are very clean. (new construction). Great views of the city and with in two blocks of union square. Public parking across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paolo from DC

not what i expected

Posted Apr 11, 2014
when we arrived the frontdesk told us that we were going to be in different floors i was with my children i reacted then i was told to upgrade my room so that we will be in the same floor an additional 100$ was charged. but the hotel is situated in a safe place even the police goes inside the hotel from time to time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay at the Hilton

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Originally i liked the location but after no sleep for two nights I was no impressed,
Cons: Not sure that there is much they can do as the property is large and has to cater for loads of people but I wouldnt say that it was a 5 star property
Location: The hotel is close to Union Squre, the shopping district, the Powell street cable car and F1 line down to Fishermans Wharf
I was looking forward to staying at the Hilton and had a certain expectation for a 5 star property. My planned six night stay was cut to two nights after no sleep on night 1 due to a unexpected constant droning sound in my room. I was 'upgraded' to an alternative room for the remainder of my stay only to have an air conditoning unit that sounded like an old red rattler train (even after amintenance had been to fix it) and directly near the lift well with lifts constantly goingup and down all night. I checked out the next day with the help fo the wonderful support team at Expedia who neotiated for a full refund for the remainder of my booking - thank you so much Angelie and Expedia. I think that the hotel is much too big to offer proper 5 star service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eunice from A

Large hotel in a good position for exploring

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Close to all transport. Able to walk to union square and fishermans wharf
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Austin

Great Hotel near Union Square

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We had a wonderful experience at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel. Everything about our stay was excellent. Check in and check out was easy. Our room was really comfortable. We had sufficient outlets to charge our IPhone, IPad and Kindles. The bathroom shower was superb. The location was ideal for our sightseeing activities. Would go back to stay there in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dallas from Illinois

Nice hotel within walking distance to Moscone

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: It's 2014, free internet in the hotel room should be a staple at any hotel. I find it slightly ridiculous to have to pay $12/day for in room internet
The Hilton was a nice hotel within walking distance to the Moscone Center where a conference was being held - so that convenience was a big plus. The staff was friendly and checkin/check out was pretty painless. I didn't have a car so I can't speak to the parking situation, but taxis were always available if needed right outside the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, downtown……close to Union Square

Posted Apr 5, 2014
You either want a rating or an essay….make up your mind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V from Alberta, Canada

Great Location

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hotel was nice. Were able to check in early (10 am) at a nominal fee of $25.We found a few pieces of broken glass on the bathroom floor, staff came to clean it within 15 minutes. They let us have a very late check out free of charge. On our last day, the bath tub handle broke off. It's a bit of an older hotel but still nice and clean. Was a bit surprised at all of the little charges for WiFi and received parcels. I've been to nice hotels where this is all part of the service and hospitality. BUT the location is fantastic, walking distance to shopping on Market street, Financial District, China Town, Ferry Building and if you're feeling adventurous, even Fisherman's Warf.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by George from San Diego, CA

Big and Busy

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: It was not a smooth operation and needed more hospitality staff.
Location: It was in the heart of San Francisco, surrounded by many of the city's attractions and public transportation.
A very large hotel and very busy, even chaotic. People everywhere. It was difficult to walk across the lobby. The staff was adequately pleasant, but not genuinely so. SF is known for great hotels. I have stayed in some. This is not a great hotel, but it is in a great location, close to Union Square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tis a Ship I Say

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: good location near Union Square
Cons: This hotel should be a 3 star and cost 100-150 USD at best. Fix the hot water and pressure to start.
Location: good location near Union Square
The rooms are narrow like a cabin on a ship. Takes 5 minutes to get hot water to flow on 17th floor with weak water pressure. There was a Conference hosted at the hotel so we couldnt even get a coffee without waiting forever in the lobby. There is no way this Hilton should be a 4 star hotel. Go to the Nikko Hotel next door and skip Grand Central Station-Hilton