Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to shopping, AT&T Park, and bus stops

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: Price
Location: Hotel is very close to Union Shopping are, were able to catch bus towards Fisherman's Warf right on the corner, close to AT&T Park
Loved our stay, staff very personable and helpful. Rooms clean, fast service when needing extra towels, blankets, pillow etc. Nice waiting areas, we had to wait couple hours for bus and we felt right at home in comfy couches and charging stations for phones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Write your comment.Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our lobby area was designed so that our guests feel comfortable as we know waiting for flights/transfers can be inconvenient. We’re glad to know that both the chargers and couches were used! We hope to welcome you again the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Not the best place to stay with kids

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Nice staff and service.
Cons: Provide better noise and smoking insulation. The rollout couch was not very comfortable. Include free breakfast or make it worth the money.
Location: The hotel is close to public transportation. About 30 min on the bus to get to fisherman's warf. Walking distance to cable cars.
The hotel staff was nice and service was good. The room was OK. There was too much noise coming from the outside. Wouldn't be able to sleep without ear plugs. Also, the room was nonsmoking but smoke would get in from our neighbors smoking on the balcony. The worst thing about the hotel was the location: dirty, lots of homeless and weird people outside. Not the best place to stay with kids. On the plus side, it was close to public transportation but I was very uncomfortable walking outside. The breakfast was pretty costly, $15 for continental and $20 if you want eggs and bacon, kids eat free. I didn't think it was worth the money. The water and everything sold at the hotel was pretty expensive too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you also for expressing your concerns. Being in the heart of a highly-populated urban city, we are located in a diverse community. As safety is always a first priority for our hotel, we do implement security measures to reassure guests with confidence and comfort. The neighborhood is undergoing a major transformation and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco. Warm Regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Least expensive hotel available

Posted Aug 24, 2014
At $312/nt plus $43 parking. This was the least expensive hotel we could find that is a recognizable brand. The rooms are comfortable. The employees are great and the facilities are up to par. My only issue was the lack of bottled water. Everytime I go to the sundries, it's closed and the vending machines are either out of order or sold out of water
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Wa.

Great location in the middle of town.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Can't really complain. I can tell you Mark at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant! The facility is locked down like fort Knox due to the homeless population. The only real complaint is that renting a room in San Francisco costs alot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Mark will be thrilled to know that you mentioned him. Our staff takes great pride in serving our guests to make their stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It’s nice to hear when we succeed. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Best Location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Customer Service I received by Benny and the speedy hot breakfast I was able to order from room service.
Cons: The door area in the parking garage smells like urine. Yes I said Urine! It was the only down side to the whole trip. Maybe power wash it once a week?
Location: Muni and Bart is easily accessible and shopping is within walking distance.
This was our first time staying in SF overnight. I was nervous because I am not familiar with the downtown area. Upon entering the hotel I was so happy to see how modern and clean it was. I walked over to the desk and was helped by an amazingly friendly and courteous desk clerk named Benny. I remember his name because he was so nice and gave us great advice on taking MUNI to our other destinations in the city. He took out a map and showed us where we were and how to get to where we wanted to go. I was glad he knew cause I would have been lost and I was happy to find Benny again at checkout. Just as friendly and helpful and he remembered us !! I work in Customer Service and meeting Benny and having him help me, makes me want to be better at my job. I Loved our whole experience at Holiday Inn. I will only stay at this hotel now when I go to the city. It is located right off of Market st and very close to the Freeway on ramp home ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the five star rating!! We are pleased to know that our staff took good care of you when you stayed with us. Our people are our biggest asset so it’s nice to have that recognized. We will make sure that Benny knows that you appreciated his service. We hope to welcome you again when you next visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice, Close to train station

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness each day, housekeeping was very great.
Cons: N/A
Location: Location was okay, the best thing was that it was by the train station and the shopping centers were close by (i.e. Union Square).
Very clean, nice staff, and comfortable stay. I liked that there were close shopping places and the theaters close by made it a nice neighborhood. The proximity to tourist places was great (not too far from Golden Gate, Fisherman's Wharf, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s nice to know that our central location and proximity to public transportation contributed to a comfortable stay. We work very hard to maintain our hotel and take pride in excellent service. It’s nice to hear about it when we succeed. We hope to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Nice hotel in a bad part of town

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The hotel is in an excellent condition, but in a bad part of town. Stay there if you need the proximity of the Civic Centre. There is a large construction project going on around the hotel, and the noise starts at 6:30 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel. Our neighborhood is undergoing a major transformation and city officials and merchants are working together to make out neighborhood welcoming to all our visitors. We hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Area isn't the best but never felt unsafe. The hotel was nice and staff are great. Clean and big enough for what we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in providing excellent service, so it is nice to hear when we have succeeded. We hope to welcome you again the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 6, 2014
It was very clean, staff was extremely helpful and very nice. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel AND for the five star rating! We’re pleased to know that you were comfortable staying with us and that our central location was a convenience for your needs. Please allow us to welcome you again the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel AND for the five star rating! We’re pleased to know that you were comfortable staying with us and that our central location was a convenience for your needs. Please allow us to welcome you again the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Willie Swindle from Northern California

Convenient Location to other parts of San Francisc

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Warm, friendly, and helpful personnel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel AND for the five star rating! We’re pleased to know that you were comfortable staying with us and that our central location was a convenience for your needs. Please allow us to welcome you again the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel AND for the five star rating! We’re pleased to know that you were comfortable staying with us and that our central location was a convenience for your needs. Please allow us to welcome you again the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco