Ratings based on 1,208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at the sherton on the fishermans wharf.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Rooms are very small. Was told I had a family suite. When we got there it was the junior suite. No pull out coach. No pool or washer dryer. You have to go a block away to there sister hotel to use theirs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by California gal

Close to Fisherman's wharf and yet, room was quiet

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to wharf and Buena Vista!
Cons: Plumbing issue required a call to the front desk. Fix was fast!
Location: Fisherman's wharf, trolley cars, great restaurants!
Went with expedia 40% off for unknown hotel. What a deal! Couldn't be happier with the result and the price, which included breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by grant from worcester, uk

Nice hotel, close to pier attractions.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Clean, close to attractions, free wifi, excellent rooms.
Cons: Breakfast range of foods
Location: Close to pier 39 and all attractions.
This was a nice hotel close to all the attractions of the pier area. Easy walking distance, excellent but expensive car parking on site. Breakfast got a little too busy at peak times. I recommend you get down to breakfast early or go to Denny's at the end of the block. I would stay here again with family and on business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More than I expected

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Super clean, super close to Fisherman's wharf. Great price includes breakfast. Parking fee seemed high, but not much higher than all-day fees at public parking garages. If I had to fault them on something, it would be that they didn't have any non-dairy creamer for the coffee, which is petty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from UK

Excellent location.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Very convenient for Fisherman's Wharf and the cable cars for going further afield
Initially we were given a very noisy room on the ground floor. We complained about this and we were moved to a much better room the next day. We found the staff pleasant and helpful. It was a surprise to be given cardboard plates and plastic cutlery at breakfast, but we got used to them. There was a reasonable choice of food on offer. Our only complaint was that the breakfast area was very crowded and at times it was quite difficult to find somewhere to sit. I think the whole deal we had from Expedia was excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to use the company again and if I were to return to San Francisco, I'd be happy to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phx, AZ

Great location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Poor water pressure in shower, overly crowded at breakfast, bland food, very comfy room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NJ from New York

Good rate, free breakfast

Posted Apr 10, 2014
This was a good price. However, it's not exactly next to the nicest pier on fishermans wharf plus there were a lot of a parties going on in the hallway of the hotel on a Saturday evening! Another negative note- all the rooms doors are unbelievably loud so be prepared to hear constant door slamming, all day, all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bella from Washington DC

Nice hotel, horrible breakfast time

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: 1. Location: very close to the Piers (where most of tour operators are, like Alcatraz Cruises) 2. Quiet and clean. 3. A good Free breakfast
Cons: Please provide guests with wristbands so at breakfast time the hotel employees can know who the guests are. Some people who went there were not guests
Location: Location is great! Fisherman's Wharf is a place to spend all day at and have a lot of fun! Ghirardelli Square and the Cable Car Station are close too!
It is a nice hotel, very close to Fisherman's Wharf, to cable car station, etc. Rooms are very clean, didn't like the fact that there was no refrigerator , sometimes we came late from dinner and we would've liked to save our desserts for next day. Our room (546) was very small, with a horrible view to an inner patio, they need to do something over there , maybe a nice garden. No noise, I give it that. Staff was friendly even though the day we arrived (after an 8 hrs trip) we had to wait for someone in front desk, nobody was there. Otherwise, they were very attentive. About breakfast: it is free but there is no control about the guests. Every time we went there the place was crowded, noisy, no seats available, no pancakes. We noticed people coming from the hotel next door (which has no free breakfast) and joking about that. So I guess those guys had to get up very early to sneak in the HIE's breakfast area and take the nice and hot omelettes that belonged to us :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Allen, TX

Great Location to the Wharf area!

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The only drawback was paying $45 bucks a night for parking your car and then they add tax on top of that. Parking is all around expensive in the area
Location: Fisherman's Wharf Street Cars Pier 39 Golden Gate Bridge Muir Woods, Point Reyes
We stayed here for the weekend. Very good location easy to walk to the wharf and get on the street cars. If you rented a car take a day and go to Muir Woods, Point Reyes, and go up to Battery Spencer follow the road up to get an awesome view of the Golden Gate. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from aston, pa

Nice hotel, close to Fishermans a Wharf and tours

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Great location. Short walk to Fishermans Wharf and many attractions. Hotel was clean, Comfortable, and included a full breakfast . Wished they had refrigerator and microwave in room. Staff was friendly and helpful.