Ratings based on 1,696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The room was great, but the bathroom inside the room wasn't to clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near everything but.......

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Beds. Better communication about off main premises building and available services in that building.
Visiting SF for vacation. Hotel was near everything. This is not a terrible hotel, but being pushed off to buildings across the street from checkin was a surprise. This should really be made clear when reserving the room. Room was not dirty, but it was dated and not really clean. Didnt know the building we were in had a front desk person til we checked out in the other building. Beds were not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
It was the perfect location in Fisherman's Wharf. It was in walking distance to everthing. Everyone was very helpful. Rooms were big and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno NV

Free movie

Posted Jul 17, 2014
My bath tub was backed up, it was fixed in minutes and I was offered a free movie for my troubles. The staff was great and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great Location!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Wonderful Location! Close to the wharf & ghiradelli, Walgreens right across the street, and many restaurants close by. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Great value for the area. Front desk staff was very accomodating - gave us an early check in and parking is a great deal considering this is SF and you can leave your car until 6pm the day of check out. I see in other reviews there were comments about the distance between the main building and the building closer to the wharf - we didn't find it to be a problem or much of an inconvenience even after using the pool the walk wasn't too bad and the second building has it's own front desk to accommodate the guests of that building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Bed linens needed to be switched out because they were musty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, good service & close to activities

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We stayed few nights in the a Holiday Inn & we were really happy with our stay. Good location, good service & very close to all the action in the Fisherman's Wharf. Plenty of restaurants, activities & walking distance to many attractions. We would have liked a slightly bigger room for a family of four, but somehow managed. To top up things there is also a coin laundry at the new wing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach

Nice hotel, but watch out for extra fees.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cheaper parking and more clear fees.
Location: Near Fisherman's wharf. Andersen's bakery next door is the best for a quick breakfast. The trolly turn around is up one block within walking distance.
This hotel was in a good location for walking to most places. We were surprised at the additional $45 we had to pay to park at the hotel. On the hotel info page all it says is "Self parking (surcharge)" but does not tell you how much. There is only one lot at the main hotel and if your room is in the other building like ours was you have to shlep your stuff across the street. The curbside unloading is a joke next to the building and the tiny garage for 20 minute check-in (mind you ALL the spots are marked that) is very frustrating to get into.For the price you pay it would be nice to have a complimentary breakfast, but no such luck. The continental breakfast they offer is an additional $18 per person. We recommend going to Anderson's bakery right next to the hotel. Great prices and great food. For 2 of us it was around $13 for everything. Do not go to the Denny's. It is "tourist priced" meaning that everything on the menu is doubled in price due to the location. The room was fabulous (we got a towel animal on the bed) as well as the lobby and hall ways. The front desk staff was nice and professional and helped us find a better way back to the freeway. We also recommend walking a couple blocks away from the wharf for some great local eateries and watering holes that won't break the bank.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

nice room/strange setup

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: guests should be notified of the building situation in advance of check-in
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghirardelli square, Sausalito ferry...what isn't nearby?
the hotel we stayed in was about a block from the Wharf - which was convenient, but the 'main hotel' with the poo and restaurant was 2 blocks away, so after check-in we had a porter wheel our luggage past the bus stop and down the busy street, while my family and I walked along behind, to get to our room...very strange and inconvenient setup. The room itself was ok, double beds instead of queen made it difficult for my wife and I to be comfortable in the dame bed, so I shared with our son instead. I would have preferred to have only stayed 2 nights and moved on the our next hotel in Watsonville a day earlier, but we did get to see fireworks on the wharf and then walk back to the hotel, so that was a plus...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Great Location!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Our first family vacation to San Francisco was great thanks to the great location of this hotel. We were close to many food and restaurant choices. We were also able to catch cable cars, buses, and street cars within short walking distances. We were there for the 4th of July fire works in the Wharf and it was packed! Thank goodness we were already in the area without having to catch a bus or drive to our hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and housekeeping was available as soon as we requested it.