Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The Hotel.is ok...the rooms were bug and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Kara, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am happy to know you found our rooms big and comfortable. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Bay area! Sincerely, Kara N Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Better than expected for the price.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Excellent spacious and clean room with amenities. Only negative was the lack of free breakfast. They had a bistro but their prices were quite high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Kara N., Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review on our clean and spacious rooms. As we are not an express hotel, breakfast is not offered as a complimentary amenity. However, breakfast is offered in the Bistro daily. On behalf of our entire staff, we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn & Suites in San Mateo during your next stay in our area. Sincerely, Kara N. Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value when the price is right!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Nice location and clean, breakfast provided is a bonus.
Cons: Softer bed and pillows.
We got a good room for 2 nights for at $135 per night a week before arrival. However, the price shot up to $220. Room is clean and spacious but the bed and pillows are less comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Kara, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am so happy you enjoyed your clean and spacious room. On behalf of our entire staff, we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back during your next stay in our area. Until then, safe travels! Sincerely, Kara N. Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as impressed as some of the other reviewers

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Convenient to SFO
Cons: SFO commands premium prices, even for Holiday Inns, but a little attention to detail costs little and goes along way to justify the price.
Location: Convenient - exit off of 101 north essentially puts you in the parking lot.
Room was generally ok. We were just there to be near SFO to catch a plane the next morning. Found a long black hair in one of the beds, which we are guessing was the maid's since the sheets otherwise looked clean. Carpet in the room was pretty badly stained (looked like tomato sauce or dried ketchup) along with other unidentifiable stains. No bed skirts on the beds, just bare mattress box springs. Door was wear with black scuffs and dings. I know this is San Mateo, but for >$200 I expected a little more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Kara, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Thank you for staying and we hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you. Sincerely, Kara N. Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Nice, clean hotel for short stay.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Clean, large room, friendly staff.
Cons: Air conditioner was a wall unit and loud. Noise from upstairs was a little intrusive.
My husband and I were in the bay area to look at housing areas for a potential move for a job. The hotel was clean, fairly quiet and close to the areas we were checking out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Kara, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Mateo. Sincerely, Kara n Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Rooms are comfortable and reception staff very friendly and helpful - perfect for an overnight stay after a long flight from California.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, 40 minute drive from SF.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The staff was very welcoming upon arrival. The room was clean and ready for our stay when we checked in. The bathrooms were stocked with towels, soaps, and lotions. The room had a nice little single serve coffee maker. The surrounding neighborhoods were quiet with little traffic. We would stay here again, 5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lodi, CA

As advertised

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was cordial, food was great, convenient full service property.
Cons: It would be nice to be able to darken the room for those with a late morning rise time.
Overall the entire property was very nice and for the most part, was as advertised. This in itself was very refreshing. All of the staff (Hotel and Restaurant) were all very friendly and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to airport.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Cons: Keycard stopped working on second day - had to get another one from front desk and noticed another guest having the same difficulty
We stayed here during our visit to the San Francisco are. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and roomy. Also liked the convenience of the business center and the closeness of the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron Ohio

Posted May 26, 2015
Great room..great price! Staff was courteous. Airport shuttle is a great amenity. Overall a great experience. Thank you!