Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, attractive.
Cons: Improve the friendliness of staff when checking in.
Location: The immediate area was just okay but downtown San Mateo was very nice.
The hotel room was very spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom was large and very nice except that the bathroom sink faucet was very hard to turn on and the neck was short and the water barely made it into the sink. There was a table and chairs and a separate desk. The beds were very comfortable too. The clerk in checking in was not very friendly or helpful. Never mentioned the restaurant, the happy hour or the 1/2 price appetizers.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington D.C.

Low value

Posted Sep 30, 2014
I had an Executive king room on 2nd floor, that was directly across from an elevator and a constantly running ice maker. The room was large but shaped very strangely, with the desk in an L shaped windowless alcove and the bathroom almost hidden in a corner. A/C was barely working the evening I was there and the hallways were extremely warm, perhaps because of the ice maker. Resturant food was better than expected, but there was no complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, comfortable, fit the bill

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean, close to hotel, easy to get to, free parking.
Cons: Price, but it wasn't too bad.
Location: really close to SFO
Wanted a hotel near the airport, it was easy to book and everything went smoothly. nothing negative to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Stayed one night. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Had breakfast downstairs and the service and food were very good. Even though it is located on Hwy 1 it was not noisy. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was comfortable and clean with good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by EmptynestATLfrom Atlanta

Clean, comfy, no complaints

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front desk was fantastic. He made us feel so welcome. Room was clean and beds nice. Convenient to highway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeremy G.from San Mateo, CA

Perfect for anyone with an SFO layover

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you have a layover at SFO and want to either relax or work, this hotel is PERFECT. I've been staying in SFO-related notels for 13 years and this was the most comfortable and competitively priced of them all. For my third floor suite I paid an extremely decent price and was delighted on arrival to find the bar and restaurant already open from 4pm, which was about midnight my time! The hotel has a decent, fully equipped business center with 24-hour access and the staff were universally helpful, courteous, and efficient. A special shot-out to Rema in Reception, who was welcoming from start to finish and made me want to book my next stay at Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo already today!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kelly M.from Austin, Texas

I'd spend a little more next time..

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I know 'silicon valley' is an expensive spot - so this was middle of the road for the area. All in all, I wish I'd spent a little more and gone somewhere else. The Good - Super close to the freeway, had free wifi, and the rooms were huge. The bad - hair that wasn't mine on several surfaces, broken gym equipment, broken vending machines, and sketchy neighborhood and parking. The neighborhood around it may contain $800k houses but I wouldn't walk through it after dark - which is exactly what the front desk clerk suggested when I told him all the vending machines were broken and I was hoping to buy a bottle of water. "It's a 5-10 minute walk to the convenience store" wasn't what I was hoping for. There were several long, dark hairs in my room which certainly weren't mine - and if you need dark to sleep, this is not the hotel for you. The "curtains" do not close. There are sheers over the windows but I felt like I was conducting a strip tease for the neighbors. There is a small restaurant onsite but it wasn't good, and the gym equipment (two ellipticals, a treadmill, a bike and a weight machine) was 50% broken. All in all, this place needs some work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything is good

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I.enjoyed my stay, room is clean,.furniture is new looking. I wish they would provide a bridge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com