Ratings based on 1,482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Expedia website, online deal.
Very pleasant experience! Payed a good price for the hotel, walking distance from shopping and restaurants.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Good warm and clean hotel with very accommodating stuff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom f

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Yes it is an excellent hotel loved how clean it was. Very nice cleaning people hard working and awesome
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Subpar accommodations, low comfort

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: - A convenient location at the Union Square. It's close to all means of public transport and the financial district - Cheaper than other hotels in the area - Friendly staff Cons: - Old smelly rooms with no daylight and air circulation - Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. Two mornings in a row I woke up with a sore back and a neck strain, because the mattress was sinking and pillows were just awful - A very small bathroom with no counter space if you want to put your toiletries and makeup somewhere - Shower is not well suited for taller people. The shower head would be about chin height for someone 6'2'' and above - The window A/C unit looked about 30 years old - Very slow (but free) wi-fi connection. Cell data is spotty in the rooms - The walls are paper thin. We could hear the people about walking and talking, which is not particularly pleasant when they wake up at 6am Overall: subpar accommodations. I'd rather pay a higher price for more comfort next time That was fun, let's go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

One of the best values in Union Square

Posted Apr 20, 2015
I've stayed here twice. This is an old building with nicely remodeled rooms that all seem to be unique. The location is great. I haven't used the valet as I take the train into the city, so I can't speak to that. I can say that the staff is exceptional. Both times I overheard people checking out thanking the front desk profusely for something they'd done during their stay. The elevators are very slow, so it's sometimes easier to just take the stairs from the lobby. But all in all, it's a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Comfortable one night stay

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds, small room but has all the amenities.
Location: Very central location. Loads of bars, restaurants, high end shopping near by. Short walk to pier 39 and Chinatown.
Spent a night at hotel Abri. The room is small by American standards but it was very nicely set up, cosy and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff. Was given a nice, quiet room on request and had a great night sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellingham WA

Excellent location and close to everything

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Very helpful and nice staff, clean rooms.
Cons: AC units are old and need updated.
I booked this hotel going off of some of the other reviews that I read and they are all true. My wife and I did a quick trip to San Fran to see a concert at the Regency Ballroom and this hotel is close to a lot of stuff! We took the BART from SFO and got off at the Powell St station. The hotel is barely a block away and is only a couple blocks from Union Square and lots of shopping and food. We even walked to the Regency Ballroom which was around 8 blocks away (on Van Ness), but we stopped for a drink at Rye on the way and it broke up the walk. The hotel itself was much nicer than I had expected and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. They even upgraded us to a suite with a separate couch, chair, and another TV and desk which was nice. The bathroom was really nice and clean. The only thing I would say is that the AC units didn't work that well as they were older but it was such a little thing we didn't notice. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Very nice hotel near downtown of San Francisco

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The hotel is clean and very near to shopping mall and cable car.
Location: Shopping in the two big shopping mall--Macy's and Westfiled. Nice chinese food in chinatown. Try the cable car.
The staff in the hotel is very nice and kind. The hotel is in the downtown area. Lots of food and stores near around. Two big shooping mall very near to the hotel, just 2 minites walk. Very good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Perfect hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The staff were very friendly and always willing and easy to approach to give advices in going around SFO and places to go to. The hotel also surprised us with a welcome wine and chocolates gift and upgrade with our room. The time we spend in the hotel and in SFO was very memorable. If I'll be very picky, the only thing I can say to be improved is the smell in the corridor, I think it's coming from the carpet. Other than this, everything in this hotel is perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Awesome location. Great stuff. Awful bed.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Beds.
Location: Union square, cable car and BART to airport on your doorstep.
This was one of the worst beds I ever slept on. There was also a good amount of noise coming from the street. It's a shame because the rest of the room and hotel is really pleasant. And the staff is very welcoming too. Not to mention the spot on location.