Ratings based on 1,423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but still needs work

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location, clean rooms, nice staff
Cons: Get the other elevator working! The other problem is for the City Authorities. The huge number of beggars and rough sleepers was intimidating
Location: Shopping at Westfield one block, so is the Powell st Cable car terminus. Even the Ferry building was only 20 minutes away straight down Market St
Great location, individual feel, not a chain hotel. Staff were pleasant and even though I arrived early they got me in a room and a free upgrade Older property so the windows were a little on the small side making it a bit dark fixtures and fittings were good and the rooms were clean and comfortable Biggest beef was the lack of elevators, there were only 2 elevators for staff and guests and one of those was under maintenance and had been for 2 months. With check-in and staff there was quite a wait for an elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Japan

英語が話せない私でしたが…

Posted Feb 18, 2015
スタッフが施設に笑顔でジェスチャーを交えながら応対してくれました。 またお部屋も広く清潔でとても過ごしやすかったですよ。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bishop, ca

Close to BART, nice employees

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Only one elevator worked and was slow. Close to BART and good restaurants and Union square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great location

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Comfy, cozy space, love the location.
Cons: It was hard to find anyplace to put toiletries since there isn't really counterspace by the sink. The small shelf across room already was full.
Location: Right near shopping and Market Street, easy to get around town. Valet parking is pricey ($50 overnight).
We had a queen size room. The lobby has some nice seating and a fireplace, which was handy when some friends were waiting for us to get ready for a dinner out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perugia

Relax e pulizia

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Il comfort, la posizione, la pulizia
Cons: L insonorizzazione
Location: Ottima posizione, vicinissima a Union square e alla stazione dei cable car, nonché alla principale market street che però é sovraffollata di homeless
Stanza confortevole e sempre pulita. Personale dell'hotel gentile e disponibile. Pecca l insonorizzazione della camera
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very roomy, great location to downtown

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Stylish, big rooms, great bathroom, friendly staff.
Cons: The windows could be improved to reduced noise bleeding in from the street.
Location: Saw a show at A.C.T. - fantastic theatre!
I was in town for meetings in the downtown core for 1 day and this hotel was perfectly situated for them, as well as good restaurants and the BART. It's a nice place - stylish, with big rooms, great bathroom and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice place in SF

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location and value.
Location: The hotel is only a block and a half from the Powell street Muni/BART stop and 3 blocks from Union Square. Easy to get to the airport and shopping.
The hotel is in an older building, and the rooms and lobby have been renovated. The hallways need a bit of updating, but that doesn't detract from the nicely redecorated rooms. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Fortunately for me, the hotel had several cancellations due to east coast weather and I was upgraded to a suite and was able to secure a late checkout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Great location in SF

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Hotel located within walking distance of shopping on market st. Staff was friendly room very clean. One drawback was noise from the street due to window heating/cooling unit but probably could have asked for a non street facing room. We had breakfast at Taylor st. Coffee shop short walk from hotel great food. Will stay again when visiting the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Panama

Loved the hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location, staff and Wifi
Cons: Nothing at all. Everything is great
Location: Union Square, Cable Car, Shopping, Apple Store, Restaurants. Amazingly well located.
Everything from the moment we entered to when we left we loved the place. I stayed for 3 nights with my wife and we not only liked the facilities and staff but also the location. Its amazingly well located near the first cable car line from Market Street and many restaurants. Union Square is just two blocks away. Many people complaint about homeless and begging people around, but thats not inherent to the hotel, but to San Francisco. Also, thank you Expedia for the room upgrade as a +gold rewards member.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cons: hallways were not the same standard as the lobby. the room though, was thankfully more esthetically pleasing than the hallways.
Close to center of the city, nice and informative concierge.