Ratings based on 1,094 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Skip it

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Renovate the place with a better taste, work with the wooden old bad smell
Location: Location is good
Room smell as old wooden house, even in my luggage clothing carried the smell when I arrived home, terrible. The room is very tiny, the internet says it's free, but did not load any page, is properly to say it did not work either. The place had a very bad decor as well, and seems everything which has been renovating is falling apart once again. I will definitely skip this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BKK, TH

Nice hotel. Close to everything

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Great hotel. Close to everything. Nice staff. They can give useful information
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The room was rather small. Clean and cute but limited space. Nice clean bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Great hotel and great staff! The rooms were very small however!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff in nice room

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Hotel Abri is in an OK neighborhood in Union Square area. I was in town for a convention at the Marriott Marquis and it was a better price and a 4 minute walk to the Marquis. Staff is friendly and helpful. They warned me about possible waits for valet parking and closed streets coming in the weekend because of the Pride Parade. Helpful to be warned in advance about possible delays. (there were none. Got my car promptly by calling ahead as advised) The room was clean. The only complaint is the in window airconditioners. The units was pretty powerful.. my room was not hot. However, to get the airflow, I had to open the curtains at night... which let in outdoor light. I ended up rigging the curtains around a chair to keep the top part covered and to allow the airflow. Just a weird design and not something I wanted to bother with. I ended up staying an extra night, booked through Expedia. I should have had to change rooms to get the lower price, but the hotel let me stay where I was, which was super convenient. I would both recommend and stay here again myself. The nearby neighborhood was a little sketchy at night, but I went out for a run and nobody bothered me... so maybe that's more of a small town paranoia in first impressions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot, good staff, comfy beds

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Great spot, good staff, comfy beds. Price pretty standard for SF so a good deal in all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
San Francisco is an expensive city, so I didn't expect too much for the room. The room was small which I can accept, but it was smelly. I couldn't sleep well because of the bad smell of the carpet.... But the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the very heart of the city!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Good, clean and well furnished room. The lobby and look of this hotel was very pleasant! The staff was friendly and accommodating would definitely return.
3 out of 5
by zoe

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Showering water pressure is weak, and the water is warm, not hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chic boutique hotel in great location

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Cozy chic hotel in the heart of the Union Square shopping district. As a female traveling alone, I felt safe in the area and at the hotel.
Cons: For its age a slight mildew smell is not uncommon, however, there was a slightly stronger smell that seemed to be a combination of mildew and food.
Location: Union Square shopping district, restaurants, bars, BART stop a 3 min walk, trolley stop 1 min. walk.
I'm a female in my 30's that spent a few days in San Fran by myself for a work trip. I chose the hotel based on other positive reviews for both the hotel and the location. I was told the hotel was renovated within the past few years. The hotel has a great chic modern decor. There is a cozy sitting area and fire place in the lobby. I've stayed in several older hotels in various cities and I thought the room and bathroom was spacious in comparison. The room also came with a better than standard hairdryer, which is always a plus for me. My room and bathroom were clean. I arrived a few hours before check in on a Fri. afternoon and they were able to accommodate an early check in. The lady checking me in asked if I had a room preference for interior or on the street. She informed me that the street room often got noisy especially on a Fri. night. For several people that would be an issue and I thought her mentioning it was very considerate. I enjoy the city life and opted for the street room. It was lively, but again, typical of what is to be expected in a city environment. Overall, the hotel was a pleasant stay. My only negative was that there was a distinct smell to the hotel. It is typical of older bldgs to have a slight mildew smell, however, this was slightly stronger and seemed to be a combination of mildew and maybe bad ventilation from the restaurants that share the first floor. There is a subway next door that had a very strong odor. This issue brought my rating down.