Ratings based on 1,410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice place in SF

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location and value.
Location: The hotel is only a block and a half from the Powell street Muni/BART stop and 3 blocks from Union Square. Easy to get to the airport and shopping.
The hotel is in an older building, and the rooms and lobby have been renovated. The hallways need a bit of updating, but that doesn't detract from the nicely redecorated rooms. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Fortunately for me, the hotel had several cancellations due to east coast weather and I was upgraded to a suite and was able to secure a late checkout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Great location in SF

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Hotel located within walking distance of shopping on market st. Staff was friendly room very clean. One drawback was noise from the street due to window heating/cooling unit but probably could have asked for a non street facing room. We had breakfast at Taylor st. Coffee shop short walk from hotel great food. Will stay again when visiting the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Panama

Loved the hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Location, staff and Wifi
Cons: Nothing at all. Everything is great
Location: Union Square, Cable Car, Shopping, Apple Store, Restaurants. Amazingly well located.
Everything from the moment we entered to when we left we loved the place. I stayed for 3 nights with my wife and we not only liked the facilities and staff but also the location. Its amazingly well located near the first cable car line from Market Street and many restaurants. Union Square is just two blocks away. Many people complaint about homeless and begging people around, but thats not inherent to the hotel, but to San Francisco. Also, thank you Expedia for the room upgrade as a +gold rewards member.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cons: hallways were not the same standard as the lobby. the room though, was thankfully more esthetically pleasing than the hallways.
Close to center of the city, nice and informative concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Overnight

Posted Jan 21, 2015
We only stayed overnight for a connecting flight, but would come back and stay longer for our next visit to San Francisco. Old charm building with modern updates, well worth the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MEXICO

Good stay

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: it is different and keen on details
Cons: staff should handle difficult situations with angry clients. Bell boy knows better than some staff, promote him!
Location: a lot of eating and shopping and near taking the train
if elevators are not working price should lower or give free water to clients. very helpful staff i asked for a quiet room and that is what I had. good use of reduced space of rooms, well organized, decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Lovely place! Great location. Attentive staff. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near Union Square

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean, good staff
Cons: Elevators
Location: At the center of everything going on near Union Square, near cable car station, restaurants, shops
Nice Hotel, exellent location, old elevators, one of them did not worl!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, poor water pressure.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
The hotel was comfy and clean. The only complaint I have is that the water pressure was terrible and the pillows were very dense and heavy. But the location is right in the middle of Union square and a block away from public transportation. Would stay there again if the price was right.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom socal

Okay union square hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Was here for New Year's Eve. Hotel was just okay. It was fairly clean, had a funny smell, and the elevator was broken the whole time we stayed. Not that I'm a lazy person, but it was annoying to walk up and down 5 flights of stairs! Here are a couple of other annoying things: zero water pressure in the shower and sink, not enough outlets in the rooms, and there was an odd smell throughout the hallways. That being said, the bed was very comfortable, and the hotel staff were extremely accommodating.