Ratings based on 2,030 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Loved the Boutique feel. The complimentary wine and music evening was enjoyable.
Enjoyed the hotel. The location and everything were what we needed. Was not happy with the 2nd Floor room, next to the stairs, above the restaurant. It was noisy and a lot of foot traffic. I would definitely stay here again, but would prefer something on a higher floor, further from stairs and elevators
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sweet little boutique.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Staff were kind and my room was very comfortable.
Cons: The restaurant has very good food but the look needs to be updated to be a bit more welcoming and in line with the décor of the rest of the hotel
Location: A little bit of a walk to Union Square but buses can get you to Fisherman's Wharf quickly and great shopping in on Hayes is walking distance.
I've visited SF many times so I am familiar with the neighborhoods that border this hotel. One direction can be a bit seedy while the other direction is Nob Hill. If you are comfortable with the fact that you are not in Kansas and need to use common sense, you will enjoy your stay. The staff was very helpful and I enjoyed my room. I only had breakfast at the hotel but it was very good and the people working in the restaurant were very kind. I would stay again and recommend to friends as the experience overall was very good. If you are willing to walk a little further to Union Square, this hotel beats other 3 star hotels in Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

Good hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Hotel staff was very friendly and funny! They were able to switch our rm from 1 king bed to 2 full beds to accommodate having an extra friend tagging along. Good location close to union sq and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Good central location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Good stay with some very interesting scenery that comes out at night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable & clean hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel is also well located, c. 10min walk away from Union Square and few minutes walk away from the cable cars taking you to Fisherman's Wharf. Afternoon wine hour was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place to stay...

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Lovely, spotlessly clean boutique hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to Union Square where we got on the hop on, hop off bus ( tickets available at hotel) to all the major sites. We also walked to China Town and Fisherman's Wharf ( good walking shoes required ). Upon returning to the hotel each day at 5 pm we were greeted by a glass of wine and live music in the hotel lobby. A classical quartet one day and reggae keyboards the next. The hotel restaurant has great Mediterranean food and good atmosphere. Only downfall is it can be a little noisy. If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice staff.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It is in a pretty central location for many things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Older Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly, knowledgeable staff. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The street noise late at night is the only significant complaint I have about this hotel.
Location: Although it is centrally located there is not much to do or see in the immediate vicinity. The public transportation options are very good.
Although fairly centrally located, it is still a bit off the beaten path. Bus service is readily available which will get you anywhere you want to go. The hotel itself, while comfortable and clean, is a bit in need of updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

The Carlton

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: I liked the international visitors who chose to stay at The Carlton. We also liked the maps and pictures that lined the two elevators.
Cons: Improve the quality of the wine.
Location: The area has several Middle Eastern restaurants. Located in a fringe area, the hotel will appeal to the more adventuresome traveler.
My husband and I enjoyed our four night stay at the hotel. A 30-minute evening wine and music event allowed guests to mingle and share experiences. We had two excellent breakfasts. A pleasant experience for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Convenient hotel close to major streets & sights

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: It is located in a convenient location; there are lots of eateries around, it is close to major streets (and therefore major transit/BART/Muni routes)
Cons: Offering complimentary breakfast to guests.
Location: Location is acceptable, although it's on the edge of the Tenderloin district/neighhourhood, which is a rough/run-down area of San Francisco. See above
My friend and I stayed in San Francisco for a week, and we stayed at the Hotel Carlton. The staff there are very friendly and accommodating. In terms of tourism, if you purchase tour packages where the tour company offers complimentary hotel pick-up (which is what we did; we purchased tours to Yosemite Nat'l Park and Monterrey/Carmel), they definitely know (or should know) of Hotel Carlton and offer to come pick you up from your hotel so that you don't have to go to a meet-up spot (very convenient if the tour is early in the morning). The rooms are decently spacious, but not very big, although it was just enough space for my friend and I. The rooms were clean when we arrived, and everything was in working order and good condition. There is no fridge, but they do provide a Keurig machine with coffee and tea. Unfortunately they don't provide complimentary breakfast at Hotel Carlton, something that I thought would be standard with most hotels, including the Hotel Carlton. It is close to Union Square and several other attractions, such as "the crookedest street in the world" on Lombard Street, which is just up Hyde and close to the Hotel Carlton.