Ratings based on 2,520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good value

Posted Jan 30, 2015
The hotel is a beautifully remodeled and redecorated older building with a very friendly vibe. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and pretty and include everything one needs to be comfortable. There is nice Middle Eastern restaurant on the premises that serves 3 meals a day. It has a bar that serves beer and wine, no cocktails. My only criticism is that it's located in a neighborhood that's a bit unkempt and there's not much to see or do within a couple of blocks. All in all, though, a very good value and an enjoyable place to stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Not bad, but know what you're getting . . .

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The staff and decor were very pleasant.
Cons: Location, noise level, addition of air conditioning so the room could be cooled without opening a window.
Location: It's the Tenderloin. There are some tasty ethnic restaurants locally but it's generally a seedy neighborhood.
I recently stayed at the Carlton when I was in SF for business. Many other hotels were booked and so I took a leap of faith based on its generally favorable reviews. The staff was pleasant and I enjoyed the vibe of the Carlton. Unfortunately it also suffered from some issues that would prevent me from recommending it, particularly for business travel. The Carlton is located very near or in the Tenderloin, meaning that it's easy to walk into a sketchy situation within a block or two of the hotel. It is also nearly a mile from the nearest BART station, and it's fairly hilly walk. My room was generally pleasant, but I found it unpleasantly warm, and opening the window to get fresh air presented its own problems, because the neighborhood is VERY noisy. There is a bar next door and repeatedly during the night I was awakened by the crash of what sounded like an entire large trash can of glass bottles being dumped. The traffic noise is also unpleasant. Overall, while I liked the staff and the facility reasonably well, I would not recommend the Carlton.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Good

Posted Jan 23, 2015
There was very clean and comfortable. and the staffs were kind for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Darwin, Australia

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: as per the above
Cons: Only thing is that the walls are a little thin.
Location: Close to everything.
Brilliant Hotel. Lovely Tibetan touch. Good location. Well priced. Lovely rooms. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Intresting place

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Hotel was nice enough inside staff was extremly friendly and helpful also. The only down fall is the neighborhood a block down was little sketchy. But other than that good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rhode island

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Friendly staff good location comfortable rooms. I'd certainly stay their again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto, canada

Great hotel in great location

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of the city. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, it was reasonably priced, really I have no complaints about the hotel. Would recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Wonderful find in San Francisco!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: staff. room bath location price
Cons: Elevators kinda slow...not much to do about that.
Location: nicely central in SF. DeYoung museum Chinatown, Northbeach, The Wharf a short cab (or Uber) ride. (could be walked if you have comfortable shoes)
The staff was so very kind and accommodating! I am not fond of sterile modern hotels. This place had a comforting established feel. The room in two hues..a lovely light blue on the ceiling, cream on the walls, charming edgework on the floor and door frames. Lovely artwork on the walls. Nothing like the chain hotels. The room was a calming place for this single female business traveler. Clean and updated bath, VERY comfortable bed. I was warned that the neighborhood was "transitional". While not luxury, it was a city street, like so many and I never felt unsafe. The staff was very kind and helpful...even getting the elevator for me when I had to run up to the room after I had checked out to get something I forgot. They supplied a map of SF along with areas to "avoid" (they weren't that bad) and a good place to grab breakfast...the wine and live music in the charming lobby in the evenings gave me a welcome place to relax before dinner. The restaurant in the hotel, Saha,was fantastic! My friends and I had a wonderful meal with great service. Location is central to most everything I needed to get to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield, CA

Nice hotel in lower Nob Hill area

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness; staff
Cons: Rooms are a bit small, but they cannot change that. The elevators are quite slow, too.
Location: Lower Nob Hill, close to Union Square--tons of restaurants very close by. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good.
The rooms are a bit small, but they are nicely renovated and very clean. The hotel staff is delightful--they are all very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff, in particular, are very witty and make you feel immediately at ease. They greet everyone with, "Welcome Home."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Very friendly staff make you feel at home immediately. Good central location