Ratings based on 1,929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location old hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The location is good but the hotel is very old. No fitness center. The room key is not working.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

decent hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: location to where my business appointment was.
Cons: charge about half of what i paid.
Location: i was not there for pleasure.
Not worth almost $400.00 per night. simple, clean room. The room has a tv but does not have channel for Giants games. Incredible for a San Francisco hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great stay in a central location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful; I liked the little touches like the framed pictures of staff and their favorite spots around town. I stayed for 7days, the room may be small for two but it was clean and comfortable. The neighbourhood is in transition - there is a rough edge amongst the new and quirky shops that are popping up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rolling stone

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel, worth the money. It's not to far from Polk street. Not to mention the free all you can drink wine. Ask the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from no. california.

Great hotel! I was pleasantly surprised!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Holel was close to restaurants and events we attended. It was Clean, comfortable, friendly. A true winner, affordable as well . Great staff, eager to please. I will return . It was a lot like a iGreat hotel in Europe . Not super huge rooms but sufficient and very clean and comfortable .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice location and staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: - Location - Room Size - Staff
Cons: - Noisy hallways -Thin Walls
Location: - Border of Tenderloin/ Nob Hill - Close to Polk Street - About a $10 ride to anywhere else in the city
Hotel Carlton is a great place to stay if you want to be away from the Embarcadero, Union Square Fisherman's Wharf area. Some of the reviews I had read warned about thin walls and they proved correct. It was not so much street noise, but the interior hotel room hallway/ service noises. I was very excited there was a Keuring coffee maker in room, however mine did not work. There is also a shower dispenser of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner which was a great amenity, however the shower gel did not dispense. Overall the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location and room itself were great especially for a single person staying the weekend. I wish the hotel had a coffee shop and room service :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great staff, newly renovated
Cons: Thin walls, but wasn't an issue when we stayed
Location: Thai Idea - vegan Thai restaurant within 5 minutes walking. AMAZING.
My wife and I were looking for a hotel last minute and found this the night before. The price was comparatively low and I was skeptical of what this place would be like based on the reviews I saw here. Turns out it was fantastic! The staff were very friendly and we were immediately upgraded to a top floor, corner suite. It's true that the walls are a bit thin, but the hotel was quiet at night and we had no problems or complaints at all. We had no troubles with the free WIFI at all. The room was well appointed, though no fridge. Great bathroom and bed, very clean. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn't believe others hadn't rated it higher. The neighbourhood is a bit rough, but it's SF. I will definitely be staying here again the next time I go to SF. If you need to park, there is a parkade next door for $20/24hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warner Robins, GA

Original boutique hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Would have loved to stay longer. Enjoyed this updated hotel with all of the comforts of home. The staff was quite nice and very helpful. I made the reservation through Expedia but was given a room on a higher floor by the clerk. She said it would be more restful for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Internet deal

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Great price, great room, quiet! Staff very accommodating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Too much Noise, Room no insulation.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: windows and walls must be insultated to control noise.
Location: just clubs and bars not too much to see arround.
terrible experience, too much noise, people smoking, playing music in the rooms and no body take actions to control the people.