Ratings based on 2,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Great restaurant friendly staff and funky elevator

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Comfortable bed with modern bathroom in a cosy room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Wonderful

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and pretty.
Location: It's a solid walk to Union Square, if you don't like walking I guess you wouldn't like it. Very close to the cool Farm:Table cafe!
I loved this hotel. It is beautiful, cozy, and the restaurant is good. The elevators are really small but decorated with cool maps and photos of the world. Having a string quintet playing on Friday night was the best moment of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2014
overall I would go back but the bathrooms are tiny. The bedroom is large but if it is warm there is only a fan. Staff is the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baton Rouge, LA

Great price for super cool rooms.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Being from the south, I would have enjoyed a little more heat output from the furnace in the room but other than that no complaints! Cozy rooms, staff were friendly and funny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Nice hotel staff and decent rooms

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Distance to some of the sights.
Cons: Don't know if the thin walls can be improved.
Location: Union square. Chinatown.
I really like the staff at this hotel. Very friendly and will try to help you with everything. The rooms were alright - thin walls - spent two nights listening to a couple next door fight. It was not a pleasant sleep. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom were clean. I think if the walls weren't so thin I would have given a better rating. The distance to Union Square and Chinatown was not bad at all. It is about 20 minute walk. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends but be inclined to tell them if you need a quiet sleep this is not the hotel for you. Even with ear buds I don't know if that would solve the issue. It didn't for me :(
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice, but rooms are too close to one another

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Nice, warm atmosphere and incredibly inviting staff. My only complaint was the proximity of my room (606) to the adjacent room. There was a door that separated the 2 rooms and there was about an 1" gap from the floor to the bottom of the door. Hence, I could see the lights on, shadows as they walked near the door and could hear "everything" from my neighbors room. I assume they could hear me as well. The good news is the we both were very considerate and kept noise to a minimum. Given a choice, I would stay here again, but only if there was a room with a bit more privacy and one that didn't require tip-toeing around early in the morning and late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Very nice hotel. The staff were incredible.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
The staff were so polite and helpful. The hotel is near Union Square and located at the lower part of Nob Hill. Will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sundance utah

Not great

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Really nice staff and very clean. It's an old hotel without air conditioning and the windows only opened a few inches so we were a little warm. Wall are paper thin and we could hear entire conversations from 2 doors down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Pamela, Hotel Management
We are thrilled that you found Hotel Carlton to be a warm, welcoming ambiance with very clean guestrooms and common areas. We are in the midst of several soundproofing projects to help improve our historic building for our guests. We hope you visit us again once these projects are completed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not friendly, noisy hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
i'm not high maintenance at all, and i've traveled quite a bit to a variety of hotels both in and out of the US. this is probably the worst hotel i've stayed in. first of all, valet isn't real valet. it's basically park your car wherever on the street and bring in your key and they'll give it to the driver whenever he comes back. the staff at the front desk is ok, i think the person who helped me wasn't the greatest but the other gentleman seemed to be a lot nicer. the room size was fine, but the bathroom had a used bath cap which was kind of gross. as for sleeping, the hotel has quiet hours since their walls are literally paper thin. our neighbor got up to pee and i heard them open the bathroom door, pee, and flush as if they were in our room. anyways, back to the quiet hours - they end at 8am. apparently that means that the hotel staff is free to scream and yell in the hallway, yell over their radios, and make horrendous noises when cleaning. I was actually shocked at the lack of respect for their guests. they know their walls are paper thin, why wouldn't they then be extra considerate. it was incredibly frustrating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Pamela, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had trouble with our parking services at the hotel and with the team member who helped you upon arrival at the hotel. We have spoken to the team so other guests do not encounter the same experience. In addition, we have worked with our housekeeping team to ensure they are quiet in the mornings so as not to disturb our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , not far from Union Square

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Nice hotel, a bit old. Location is okay (15min walk from Union Square). Wifi was okay , not the best. No A/C at rooms, and fan too slow in my humble opinion...