Ratings based on 2,474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Nice Hotel in a Transitional Neighborhood

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room - Windows that open - Ceiling fan was a bonus - Excellent toiletries
Cons: The only improvement I could think of was the sound insulation. The walls are a little thin, but that's to be expected in a older building.
Location: Cable car a few blocks away, restaurants (Fly next door, and Golden Coffee for breakfast), there's a small market one block down if needed.
The hotel is an older style building that has been renovated and updated. The front desk staff we're incredibly friendly and accommodating throughout my entire stay (1 week). The room could best be described as what you would expect when you go to visit a close relative - bed/bathroom/closet. The room was very clean and appointed with a desk and chair, device charging station, a comfy stuffed chair next to a window, a good size closet with ironing board and iron, in-room safe, dresser, and big TV. The bathroom includes a shower/tub combo with excellent quality toiletries and was very clean on check-in. The hotel is located on the edge of the Tenderloin neighborhood which is in a very urban area and can feel a little sketchy at times. I walked in the evening without being hassled, but was usually in my room by 10pm, or took an uber to the hotel if I was going to be later. There is access to the hotel entrances by room key card if you're going to be later than midnight. Morning walks were quiet and I usually passed a few professionals walking to work. I can't stress this enough - If you're not used to continuous city noise (sirens, city vehicles, people yelling/shouting/laughing loudly) this is probably not the place for you to stay. If these noises help lull you to sleep, then you'll have no issues. Special shout out to Theo at the front desk who helped me with my stay. He also runs the nightly wine tasting and fills in as the entertainment some nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Bella posizione, coi bus si raggiunge qualsiasi zona. Le camere sono ampie e pulite, personale gentile e disponibile, e pur non essendo un albergo nuovissimo è più che accogliente. Consigliato
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, chic hotel near downtown

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean room and very helpful staff. Will definitely consider staying here again during my next visit.
Cons: Our room could have included a small fridge
Location: Chinatown, Columbus Avenue....
I would like to say that the staff was really helpful in providing us sightseeing tips around town based on our short stay in SF. They made every effort to make sure that our stay was comfortable. The room, bathroom and toilet was spotless clean. The only thing we thought it would make sense to add was a fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's all good at the Carlton

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: It's two blocks from the major bus line on Van Ness and three blocks from the cable car line on California. It's a little close to the tenderloin and
Yes, you can tell the Carlton is a older hotel, by the size of the rooms and bathrooms but the place is meticulously clean and very tastefully furnished. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, our iPod playing clock radio did not work and they had a maintenance man there within five minutes to put in new batteries and make it go. The room and bathroom are spotless, The in and out valet parking was reasonably priced and very convenient and we simply could not of had a more pleasant stay. When we had back to the big city the Carlton will be on the top of our list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Great restaurant friendly staff and funky elevator

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Comfortable bed with modern bathroom in a cosy room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Wonderful

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable and pretty.
Location: It's a solid walk to Union Square, if you don't like walking I guess you wouldn't like it. Very close to the cool Farm:Table cafe!
I loved this hotel. It is beautiful, cozy, and the restaurant is good. The elevators are really small but decorated with cool maps and photos of the world. Having a string quintet playing on Friday night was the best moment of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charmantes hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Sehr schönes hotel und gute lage. Ca. 15 min zum union square. überaus freundliches und hilfsbereites personal. Badezimmer etwas klein aber modern, badewanne hatte einige macken, jedoch sauber und vollkommend ausreichend!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2014
overall I would go back but the bathrooms are tiny. The bedroom is large but if it is warm there is only a fan. Staff is the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baton Rouge, LA

Great price for super cool rooms.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Being from the south, I would have enjoyed a little more heat output from the furnace in the room but other than that no complaints! Cozy rooms, staff were friendly and funny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Nice hotel staff and decent rooms

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Distance to some of the sights.
Cons: Don't know if the thin walls can be improved.
Location: Union square. Chinatown.
I really like the staff at this hotel. Very friendly and will try to help you with everything. The rooms were alright - thin walls - spent two nights listening to a couple next door fight. It was not a pleasant sleep. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom were clean. I think if the walls weren't so thin I would have given a better rating. The distance to Union Square and Chinatown was not bad at all. It is about 20 minute walk. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends but be inclined to tell them if you need a quiet sleep this is not the hotel for you. Even with ear buds I don't know if that would solve the issue. It didn't for me :(