Ratings based on 1,888 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from Reno, NV

Old fashioned-modern comfort

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great restaurants, close to bus lines, easy access to museums and the wharf.
The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful throughout our stay. The ambience was old-world, yet up-to-date with international touches we loved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeri from Gilroy, CA

Charming older hotel. Comfortable, inviting.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Staff was outstanding and accommodating. They catered to our every need--taxi's, restaurant info, etc. LOVED the 5:30PM wine reception (with music). This was a time when all the hotel guests came together and shared their day in San Francisco! Beds were very comfortable. We had a very good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yves from New York

Nicely decorated and situated hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Great decor, home-like feel and good size.
Cons: There were a few scuff marks that could have been painted but it's minor and I like perfection.
Location: Great place to get breakfast is Jins Cafe 2 blocks down on the same street. They make a SPECTACULAR fresh orange juice.
I stayed at the Carlton Hotel twice while on business trips and probably will again. It's well located and although you will find some shady looking folks walking around the area, that is true for most of San Francisco anyway. I like the fact that it's not a huge brand hotel so you don't get lost in the corporate blanket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, conveniently located

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Hotel is clean, staff was nice and helpful, walking distance to many attractions in the downtown of San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walkable to places of interest.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Great price for easy access to local areas of interest.
Cons: Soundproofing between rooms.
Location: Great location. Easy access to Union Square, Cable Cars. Would be uncomfortable walking this section of Sutter Street by myself at night.
Hotel staff friendly. Larger room than expected. 5:30 pm wine reception with musical entertainment was a nice touch. Better soundproofing needed between rooms but I wasn't bothered enough to prevent a return stay. Great restaurant, Saha, in the hotel. Good low cost breakfast options within a two block area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location comfortable and affordable

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the accomdations at this hotel Also liked the fact that is was a Green hotel.
Cons: The only complaint was that the noise from the street was loud and distracting.
Location: The hotel was close to Union Square and many restaurants.
The hotel was very clean and the rooms were comfortably furnished.. The staff was very friendly and accomadating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Lovely green hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
The hotel is very environmentally friend. I really support their idea. The rooms were comfortable but a bit noisy. We keep getting connecting room, which we could hear every conversation from the next room. Our first room also had traffic noise, we mentioned to the staff and she gave an upgraded room at no charge. The room with city view was great but still a connecting room. This hotel would have been a 5 out of 5 but the noise from the connecting room, made me quite uncomfortable. But I would return and remember to ask for a non connecting room next time. They had great service and nice food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tala from Central Valley CA

Great location

Posted Apr 3, 2014
I decided on a whim to take a trip to the city and needed a place to stay. I was lucky to find this cute little boutique hotel close to all my favorite spots! The only issue about this hotel is that it is old and you can hear a lot of outside noise and people in their rooms through the walls. If you are a light sleeper you may not want to stay here but other than that if you need a nice hotel give this a try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, with very pleasant staff.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel was pretty close to major areas and attractions by car or bus. The staff were very friendly and the best part of our stay. The hotel itself is older with refurbished interiors. The walls are paper thin - we could hear the occupant in the next room snoring loudly. Every night, we could hear the loud sirens of ambulances and fire engines. Maybe that was the area we were in. There is no air conditioning but there is a fan, which is fine for March.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KATHY Y from north carolina

GREAT FOLKS - GREAT LOCATION

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The Staff was the best. The rooms were a nice size and nicely appointed.
Cons: The mattresses and the restaurant.
Overall the hotel was great - I didn't love the restaurant and wished they had other options. The mattresses were too soft for my taste. The staff was so upbeat, kind and helpful.