Ratings based on 2,564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Central San Francisco hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The central location near transit was a big plus. The comfortable bed was nice. The hotel character was nice, plus it wasn't a chain.
Cons: The biggest improvement that could be made is noise deadening, it would have changed a lot about my review.
Location: The hotel is near many MUNI buses and the BART, making it very easy to access the entire city and Bay Area. Really close to museums and the City Hall.
I chose this hotel knowing very little about the city of San Francisco, but based on maps it was close to public transit, including about 8 blocks to BART. The downside is that 8 block walk was through a less than pleasant neighborhood that featured many panhandlers aggressively panhandling, including following you for a block or 2. During the day time this was a different scenario. It was convenient to bus lines, and getting around was easy. The room was comfortable, and the amenities were adequate. However, the walls were paper thin. Any noise in the hallway always sounded like it was right outside our door. Our neighbor for the few days we were these had 7am speaker phone calls daily, it it sounded like they were in our room. Also, we were on the third floor and traffic noise from the street below was always a nuisance, especially the 7am seemingly daily trash pick up. The slat blinds also did a poor job of blocking light, in fact at night the room flooded with outside light. The shower seemed cramp, and the shower curtain leaked water on the floor every time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Fantastic Staff!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great location.
We had a great experience, start to finish. We arrived our first night, just as the free nightly wine serving was in full swing, live music playing, friendly staff mingling with the guests and the folks just stopping in for a glass of wine. Staff was helpful and friendly. Edgar was funny, kind and helpful with advice. Room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Location was perfect, especially for folks that want to just walk and experience the city. Will stay here with out a doubt, when we visit again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City

Comfy hotel with nice details

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: I guess price is a bit higher due to location and the city itself, but with this ammount you could get a nicer room in other location.
The hotel is very well located, a few blocks from the busy Union Sq., where shopping, transport, tours and other interesting attractions are located. Nice interiors with details and decoration resembling east Asia. Rooms are not so spacious but are nice and have the basic things any traveler would need. The restaurant menu is simple but delicious, personnel at it was very attentive. Personnel is most helpful assisting with parking, tickets to tours, events, directions to attractions, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Great Decor and Location

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The decor
Cons: The walls are thin - so you hear a lot of stuff that goes on in the hallway and outside. That's a hard (and possibly impractical) fix.
Location: The Fillmore is a great venue - has awesome shows. Union square is right around the corner and tons of great restaurants in the area.
The Hotel Carlton was an excellent location in San Francisco and their "worldly" decor was absolutely gorgeous and completely my style. The hotel puts on a free wine tasting daily from 5:30-6pm with live music (on Saturdays.) The staff was super friendly and willing to answer any question we had. The room was nice - a decent size and VERY clean. The only negative thing I would say is that the walls are pretty thin and so you can hear your neighbors frequently. Yet - quiet hours from 10pm - 8am seem to be well respected so it wasn't much of an issue. The hotel restaurant, Saha, was also delicious. I definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Schönes Hotel in guter Umgebung................ .......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Simple hotel but has everything you need. Nice and clean and bright. Hotel staff was great! Very friendly and helpful. A bit of a walk to the Bart but not too bad. Good central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel In City By The Bay

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Water pressure in shower could be a little stronger.
Location: Walking distance from Union Square, near Polk Street with lots of bars, and music.
My husband and I spent the Valentines weekend at the Carlton Hotel on Sutter St. If you appreciate the charm of historical buildings then you will appreciate the Carlton. from the old school elevator to the original photography in the rooms and in hallways, the owners of The Carlton have created a beautiful, like home experience. It feels as if one is the most important guest by all employees. I would definitely recommend the Carlton to anyone who wants to experience San Francisco but does not want to be in the tourist trapped areas. Satisfied.Customer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shizuoka

スタッフが明るく、感じよい

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: 値段の割にバスタブもあるし、広くて、きれい。調度品の趣味もよい。ジャパン・タウンに近い。
Cons: レストランがエスニック系らしいが、いまいちメニューがわかりにくく、朝食も利用しなかった。部屋にメニューを置いたり、エレベータ内にポスターがあればよかった。
Location: 空港からBARTでモンゴメリ・ストリート下車、ミュニバスの2番か3番に乗って、ハイド・ストリートで降りればよい。チャイナ・タウンも近い。
サンフランシスコに朝到着の便で、へろへろだったが、清掃済みの客室に12時なのにチェックインできて、すごく有難かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san jose ca

Loved the Carlton!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Felt like I was treated like royalty there! Very Inviting and comfortable! Good vibes too. Stayed for three nights to attend writers conference at the mark Hopkins. I only live 45 miles from the city but didn't want to commute. I grew up in San Francisco so this was the first time I've ever stayed at a hotel in the city! So much within walking distance and thoroughly loved it. I'd go bank in a heartbeat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

フロントの対応はすごく良かったです

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: スタッフの対応が親切で道案内やアドバイスも的確でした
Location: バンネス通りの良いレストランに数ブロックの移動でいけます。 ユニオンスクエアまで徒歩10分~15分という感じでしょうか MUNIバスの2番と3番を東西方向への移動が出来て、47番49番で南北に移動できます
フロントの対応はすごく良かったです。 また部屋も清潔で過ごしやすかったです。 ただ、コストパフォーマンスはやや割高感がある感じです 良いレストランが近くにたくさんあるのは非常に便利です。 テンダーロイン地区が近く夜は治安はあまり良い感じではないです