Ratings based on 2,652 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice older hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness of the hotel and the staff.
Cons: Staff should be more helpful directing people to other restaurants in area.
Location: Not a safe area so not comfortable out at night.
Hotel built in 1920. From 5th floor to 9th floor upgraded. Rooms are small but very clean. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. However, it is located in the Tenderloin district which is not the safest area of San Francisco. Centrally located for public transportation including Cable Cars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

Great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We planned a night out on the town on Polk so this was a great location. Loved the complimentary wine in the evening(530-630) and the vallet per night around 35 which was a great deal compared to our other night stay at another hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and check in and check out was quick and efficient . Will def. be going back !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The Hotel Carlton was a very nice place to stay. It is an old hotel that has been well taken care of. I read a lot of reviews that mentioned being able to hear the neighbors. We did not here the neighbors, but we did hear everything going on in the hall and if you are in the hall, you can hear what's going on in the rooms as you walk by. Our room was comfortable and clean. The service is great. For the money I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

Not what I was expecting

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The staff was good, but the hotel wasn't quite what I was expecting. They should have put more money into the building renovations. My room was on the alley side but the traffic noise made it pretty hard to sleep. It is time for better windows. You could also hear every noise in the hallway. It was not surprising when there is a one inch gap at the bottom of the 60 year old door. I could also hear every detail of our neighbors phone conversation (could have been a lot worse). Additionally, the bathroom was so small my six year old said he couldn't turn around in there. He was right. There was no room to move at all and no place to set your stuff. You should also know that it is not very close to the heart of Union Square. However, the biggest surprise was the $78 parking expenses I received over the course of two days. At least they allowed for in and out privileges so you can go pay high parking prices elsewhere. The experience was ok but was not impressed enough to ever go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, very pleasant & helpful staff

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: none
Location: within walking distance to many of SF attractions
Excellent, would definitely use again Very close to many of SF attractions Best bakery in SF just around the corner 5 min walk to Union Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Very friendly. Pretty oriental touch and decoration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Clean, comfortable and good location. 10 minute walk to Union Square. You can get an Uber anywhere. Not many amenities but that was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant stay 15 minute walk from Powell and Marke

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The Staff, service and good wifi.
Cons: A little more sparkle in the rooms
Location: The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Union Square. Also there is a large grocery store across the street.The Public transportation on Van Ness is 5 min
The hotel is clean with a superior staff. All the staff have happy faces and will do what is necessary to make sure the stay is a good one. The building is an older one. the rooms are roomy but basic. However the wi fi was fast and reliable in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Nice hotel close on near Union Square

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Can walk to anywhere.
Location: Wow! Lot of up and down sidewalk.
The room is really small and lights bright through from other room's door. No Bell Boy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Nice hotel. Wonderful staff.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: I loved the complementary 5:30 wine.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Nobb Hill is close by. The bus is close by.
Great staff. Clean rooms. We were always welcomed when we entered and left the hotel. The staff called the shuttle service for us when they saw they were running a bit late. Great great people.