Ratings based on 2,018 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice staff.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It is in a pretty central location for many things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Older Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly, knowledgeable staff. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The street noise late at night is the only significant complaint I have about this hotel.
Location: Although it is centrally located there is not much to do or see in the immediate vicinity. The public transportation options are very good.
Although fairly centrally located, it is still a bit off the beaten path. Bus service is readily available which will get you anywhere you want to go. The hotel itself, while comfortable and clean, is a bit in need of updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

The Carlton

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: I liked the international visitors who chose to stay at The Carlton. We also liked the maps and pictures that lined the two elevators.
Cons: Improve the quality of the wine.
Location: The area has several Middle Eastern restaurants. Located in a fringe area, the hotel will appeal to the more adventuresome traveler.
My husband and I enjoyed our four night stay at the hotel. A 30-minute evening wine and music event allowed guests to mingle and share experiences. We had two excellent breakfasts. A pleasant experience for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Convenient hotel close to major streets & sights

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: It is located in a convenient location; there are lots of eateries around, it is close to major streets (and therefore major transit/BART/Muni routes)
Cons: Offering complimentary breakfast to guests.
Location: Location is acceptable, although it's on the edge of the Tenderloin district/neighhourhood, which is a rough/run-down area of San Francisco. See above
My friend and I stayed in San Francisco for a week, and we stayed at the Hotel Carlton. The staff there are very friendly and accommodating. In terms of tourism, if you purchase tour packages where the tour company offers complimentary hotel pick-up (which is what we did; we purchased tours to Yosemite Nat'l Park and Monterrey/Carmel), they definitely know (or should know) of Hotel Carlton and offer to come pick you up from your hotel so that you don't have to go to a meet-up spot (very convenient if the tour is early in the morning). The rooms are decently spacious, but not very big, although it was just enough space for my friend and I. The rooms were clean when we arrived, and everything was in working order and good condition. There is no fridge, but they do provide a Keurig machine with coffee and tea. Unfortunately they don't provide complimentary breakfast at Hotel Carlton, something that I thought would be standard with most hotels, including the Hotel Carlton. It is close to Union Square and several other attractions, such as "the crookedest street in the world" on Lombard Street, which is just up Hyde and close to the Hotel Carlton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Sister trip

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The staff & décor
Cons: A kiosk or board that listed local neighborhood activities/events for visitors. (e.g., concerts, comedy shows, art shows or music, etc.)
Location: Not being very familiar with San Francisco, I felt this was a nicely located hotel near all of the touristy things.
After a long day on the road and arriving to the hotel, the staff was not only prompt, professional & caring, they were very, very funny. My sister (who has traveled very little) was extremely pleased & comfortable which was very important to me as her little sister and guide. In looking back on our trip to San Francisco and the hotel, we wished we had stayed longer to dive a little deeper into the city and all of it's little gems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
20 minute walk to union square and only a few small hills. Lots of places to eat close by, not fancy places, but alright after a long day of site seeing. Very close to vibrant nightlife if you are young and into that sort of thing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston MA

COuld hear people in the other rooms and corridor

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Stay was alright. Could hear other people in the next door rooms and corridor. Very disturbing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, manitoba, canada

Great location, amazing staff

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was Great and the location unbeatable
Location: Close to Powell cable cars and union squAre
Stayed at the hotel Carlton for three nights and it was such a pleasant experience. While the building itself is quite old ( meaning thin walls and lots of street noise) it was decorated beautifully with renovAted and modern bathrooms. The hotel offers complementary wine tastings at five And while me and my friend missed the event, Edgar, an amazing employee brought us each a full bottle of our choice to enjoy at our leisure. The staff is incredibly accomidAting and friendly, making the check in/out process effortless. The location of the hotel is within a five minute walk to union square and Powell street trollies. While the hotel is located in an area that is bit older and shabby, it is a perfect area to get around on by foot and therefore a minor con against the hotels many pros. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Was ok! Probably will not stay here next time. Expensive for what you get, but still ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel in SF

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The Carleton Hotel is obviously making an effort to place themselves in the boutique category although I would not go so far as to agree. Our room was pleasant and decorated to differentiate it from run of the mill hotel décor. Problems were the hotel was noisy (you could hear slamming doors, clunking footsteps on the metal stairway nearby, voices in other rooms) very audibly. Don't expect a bunch of extras in the bathroom. They supply bath gel, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers in the shower, but the bath gel, while it was filled, did not work. There was a bar of soap for the sink--that was it. I didn't bother complaining--just used the shampoo instead in the shower. The hotel is on the cusp of the Tenderloin, so be aware if this bothers you. I visit SF regularly. This a decent hotel at a decent price for SF. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if something better was not available. It would be okay.