Ratings based on 2,732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure if this is typical of downtown San Fran.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere and the restaurant were great.
Cons: Air conditioning. Seriously.
I found this to be a bizarre hotel experience. The primary thing to me is that it was not only fairly expensive by Big City standards, but also *not* air conditioned. I've never in my life stayed at a hotel that lacked Air Conditioning, nevermind one with such a high MSRP. The desk staff was also pretty rude, too. A coworker and I were trying to find a breakfast place, and they acted like we were bothering them asking. Flip-side... The hotel atmosphere was great, and the rooms were clean. The restaurant was incredible. As my review goes, the negatives were entirely about the rude desk staff and the shock of having to sleep in a room without AC. I was thankful the air temperature outside was unseasonably cool, but the cleaning crew decided to turn on the heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

NICE hotel

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
Location: top
beautiful experience....... i loved !!!! For sure we gona come back there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
This was one of the more affordable hotels I found for just staying one night. It's close to Polk street which has a wide variety of bars and clubs to go to at night. I really enjoyed the hotels culturally ethnic theme/decor. It felt more warm and inviting than most hotels. Also, a plus was that Expedia allowed me to checkin early to the hotel and gave me the option to request things about my room (e.g. A view, 1bed or 2, etc.) Overall, I had a great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice older hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness of the hotel and the staff.
Cons: Staff should be more helpful directing people to other restaurants in area.
Location: Not a safe area so not comfortable out at night.
Hotel built in 1920. From 5th floor to 9th floor upgraded. Rooms are small but very clean. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. However, it is located in the Tenderloin district which is not the safest area of San Francisco. Centrally located for public transportation including Cable Cars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

Great location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We planned a night out on the town on Polk so this was a great location. Loved the complimentary wine in the evening(530-630) and the vallet per night around 35 which was a great deal compared to our other night stay at another hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and check in and check out was quick and efficient . Will def. be going back !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The Hotel Carlton was a very nice place to stay. It is an old hotel that has been well taken care of. I read a lot of reviews that mentioned being able to hear the neighbors. We did not here the neighbors, but we did hear everything going on in the hall and if you are in the hall, you can hear what's going on in the rooms as you walk by. Our room was comfortable and clean. The service is great. For the money I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

Not what I was expecting

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The staff was good, but the hotel wasn't quite what I was expecting. They should have put more money into the building renovations. My room was on the alley side but the traffic noise made it pretty hard to sleep. It is time for better windows. You could also hear every noise in the hallway. It was not surprising when there is a one inch gap at the bottom of the 60 year old door. I could also hear every detail of our neighbors phone conversation (could have been a lot worse). Additionally, the bathroom was so small my six year old said he couldn't turn around in there. He was right. There was no room to move at all and no place to set your stuff. You should also know that it is not very close to the heart of Union Square. However, the biggest surprise was the $78 parking expenses I received over the course of two days. At least they allowed for in and out privileges so you can go pay high parking prices elsewhere. The experience was ok but was not impressed enough to ever go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, very pleasant & helpful staff

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: none
Location: within walking distance to many of SF attractions
Excellent, would definitely use again Very close to many of SF attractions Best bakery in SF just around the corner 5 min walk to Union Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Very friendly. Pretty oriental touch and decoration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Clean, comfortable and good location. 10 minute walk to Union Square. You can get an Uber anywhere. Not many amenities but that was fine.