Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Super expensive, not worth it!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
No A/C in room, bathroom was tiny with no counter space for even a men's overnight bag. Matteress was sagging and uncomfortable. Too expensive, even by SF prices this place is really a $250/night tops! Breakfast was a joke, good thing Union street and good restaurants are blocks away. Would not recommend and would definitely not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way Overpriced

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: Weekend pricing
Building is an old motel that has been fixed up. It is clean. The only room we could find on a Saturday night cost a fortune. We were gouged but had no choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Funky place in excellent location.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Clean and good location. Staff seemed good.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to Union Street and all of its excellent restaurants and fine shopping as well as to Ghiradelli Square.
The rooms were clean and pleasant, and the hotel itself is interesting, with bright, primary colors and palm trees with lights at night. I was not expecting a motel with rooms open to a courtyard that the public could enter, but if that's what you want, it is very good. I also needed a desk for working, which it didn't have. But if you are traveling for fun, esp. with a family, this seems like a great place to stay. Nice continental breakfast, pool, nice courtyard, easy parking, and bright, happy colors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Blackburn UK

Close enough to walk to most places

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Locality
Cons: Breakfast choice.
Location: We walked-to pier 33 for our Alcatraz tour easy enough which took through fisher mans warf, didn't need to use the car.
Locality of the hotel was very good, a bit expensive considering the room size, not much space for 4 in our room, not in the room much though. More choice needed for breakfast, maybe some cereal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Motel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, needs to be served in a different larger room or not at all.
Location: Good location , we used public transport with ease and also walked to Fishermans wharf on one occasions .
This is a motel not a hotel so I was disappointed. Breakfast is not a pleasant experience as it is served in the tiny reception area which inappropriate . It's ok but just don't have too high expectations .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Ut

The staff was terrible.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms were decent.
Cons: Lily could be fired. The shower in the bathroom bled into the rest of the bathroom floor as it is pretty level it doesn't drain fast enough to contain
There was an older gentleman working on maintenance. This person was very friendly and assisting. The front desk staff however, were absolutely a nightmare to work with. Especially the assistant manger I think? Front desk manager. Lily I believe. Absolutely terrible to work with. Solely the reason I will never stay there again, and am on my way to write similarly bad reviews about Hotel Del Sol on every site I can find. She had the option to help us but refused to. Terrible customer service experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An old drive in motel renovated

Posted Aug 4, 2014
At first look I was not impressed because it's one of those sixties drive in motel. But it got better. The room was renovated and up to date. The bed was very comfortable and the personnel could not have been nicer especially Oscar. The continental breakfast featured some very nice bakery bread and pastries. The city bus and tons of restaurants are only 2 blocks away. It gets pretty quiet after eleven. All hotels in San Fran r expensive and this is no exception but it is San Fran . I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bucks

Clean hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and good value for money
Location: Shopping and lots of bars and restaurants
Very close to golden gate bridge,very safe area to walk even at night,20 min walk to trolley cars and fishermans wharf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location in San Fran.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great front desk. You need anything or help just ask. More then willing to help you. The pool with hammock s is very relaxing.