Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasant hill CA

Fun hotel near Fisherman's Wharf.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Close to all on this side of the City.
Cons: Nothing!!!!!
Location: GG bridge, the Whar.
Many dive hotels around this area. These owners are embracing the Motel experience. Very we kept up, fun colors. Nice layout in the rooms. Parking attendant was on it. Continental breakfast also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location; poor hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location convenient to Marina district
Cons: Almost everything.
Good Marina district location but very disappointing accomodation. Overpriced. 1st floor room that smelled like mold. No air conditioning or ventilation. Noisy. Small. Poor lighting. Dark. So-so bed. Very helpful and friendly staff (Tiffany, in particular). OK breakfast. Do not recommend staying here. Cow Hollow Inn is much better.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Super expensive, not worth it!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
No A/C in room, bathroom was tiny with no counter space for even a men's overnight bag. Matteress was sagging and uncomfortable. Too expensive, even by SF prices this place is really a $250/night tops! Breakfast was a joke, good thing Union street and good restaurants are blocks away. Would not recommend and would definitely not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way Overpriced

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: Weekend pricing
Building is an old motel that has been fixed up. It is clean. The only room we could find on a Saturday night cost a fortune. We were gouged but had no choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Funky place in excellent location.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Clean and good location. Staff seemed good.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to Union Street and all of its excellent restaurants and fine shopping as well as to Ghiradelli Square.
The rooms were clean and pleasant, and the hotel itself is interesting, with bright, primary colors and palm trees with lights at night. I was not expecting a motel with rooms open to a courtyard that the public could enter, but if that's what you want, it is very good. I also needed a desk for working, which it didn't have. But if you are traveling for fun, esp. with a family, this seems like a great place to stay. Nice continental breakfast, pool, nice courtyard, easy parking, and bright, happy colors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Blackburn UK

Close enough to walk to most places

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Locality
Cons: Breakfast choice.
Location: We walked-to pier 33 for our Alcatraz tour easy enough which took through fisher mans warf, didn't need to use the car.
Locality of the hotel was very good, a bit expensive considering the room size, not much space for 4 in our room, not in the room much though. More choice needed for breakfast, maybe some cereal.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Motel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, needs to be served in a different larger room or not at all.
Location: Good location , we used public transport with ease and also walked to Fishermans wharf on one occasions .
This is a motel not a hotel so I was disappointed. Breakfast is not a pleasant experience as it is served in the tiny reception area which inappropriate . It's ok but just don't have too high expectations .
3 out of 5
Recommended
by 7eyr090from London

Hotel Schmotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
First off this is a Motel pure and simple. Four palm trees, some fake grass, a couple of hammocks and a few breakfast pastries collected from the reception area does not a Hotel make. Particularly not a Boutique one at that. Also our room did not have a fridge - apparently the "deluxe" rooms do. That said it does have it's good points. Location is excellent being 10 mins walk to the crooked section of Lombard St and 15-20 from Fisherman's Walk/Pier 39. Also only a 5 min drive to the Golden Gate Bridge, Presidio and GG park.Close by too are Mrs Doubtfire's House (RIP Robin) and the hill used in the Bullitt car chase scene. Staff are friendly and helpful. Pool is also decent. Parking reasonable at $10 per day. All in all acceptable but don't expect a Hotel ambiance.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, Ut

The staff was terrible.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms were decent.
Cons: Lily could be fired. The shower in the bathroom bled into the rest of the bathroom floor as it is pretty level it doesn't drain fast enough to contain
There was an older gentleman working on maintenance. This person was very friendly and assisting. The front desk staff however, were absolutely a nightmare to work with. Especially the assistant manger I think? Front desk manager. Lily I believe. Absolutely terrible to work with. Solely the reason I will never stay there again, and am on my way to write similarly bad reviews about Hotel Del Sol on every site I can find. She had the option to help us but refused to. Terrible customer service experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com