Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Blackburn UK

Close enough to walk to most places

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Locality
Cons: Breakfast choice.
Location: We walked-to pier 33 for our Alcatraz tour easy enough which took through fisher mans warf, didn't need to use the car.
Locality of the hotel was very good, a bit expensive considering the room size, not much space for 4 in our room, not in the room much though. More choice needed for breakfast, maybe some cereal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Motel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, needs to be served in a different larger room or not at all.
Location: Good location , we used public transport with ease and also walked to Fishermans wharf on one occasions .
This is a motel not a hotel so I was disappointed. Breakfast is not a pleasant experience as it is served in the tiny reception area which inappropriate . It's ok but just don't have too high expectations .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Ut

The staff was terrible.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms were decent.
Cons: Lily could be fired. The shower in the bathroom bled into the rest of the bathroom floor as it is pretty level it doesn't drain fast enough to contain
There was an older gentleman working on maintenance. This person was very friendly and assisting. The front desk staff however, were absolutely a nightmare to work with. Especially the assistant manger I think? Front desk manager. Lily I believe. Absolutely terrible to work with. Solely the reason I will never stay there again, and am on my way to write similarly bad reviews about Hotel Del Sol on every site I can find. She had the option to help us but refused to. Terrible customer service experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An old drive in motel renovated

Posted Aug 4, 2014
At first look I was not impressed because it's one of those sixties drive in motel. But it got better. The room was renovated and up to date. The bed was very comfortable and the personnel could not have been nicer especially Oscar. The continental breakfast featured some very nice bakery bread and pastries. The city bus and tons of restaurants are only 2 blocks away. It gets pretty quiet after eleven. All hotels in San Fran r expensive and this is no exception but it is San Fran . I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bucks

Clean hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and good value for money
Location: Shopping and lots of bars and restaurants
Very close to golden gate bridge,very safe area to walk even at night,20 min walk to trolley cars and fishermans wharf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location in San Fran.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great front desk. You need anything or help just ask. More then willing to help you. The pool with hammock s is very relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Funky Chain Meets Motel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
I booked Hotel del Sol because I am fond of the Joie de Vivre brand and had expectations about what the experience would be. It did not meet any of my JDV expectations. However, it was clean, VERY well located, the hotel staff was delightful, they served a very decent (and free) breakfast, and they had parking in a neighborhood with challenging parking. So if that is what you are looking for, it is a great place to stay. First, and importantly, this is not a hotel, it is a Motel. Second, we were frequently disturbed by loud neighbors. Third, I expected something a bit more lux from JDV. Our room was not cheap, but nothing in the area is and that was our challenge. Had I known it was a motel, my expectations may have been more appropriately set.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hop on Hop off bus close by Not far to shops, supermarket and park We've been staying in hotel for two nights with our 19 month old who liked the hammocks Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful The room we had was a bit dark. The bed was very comfy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only positon is excellent

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Breakfest is terrible, only bread, jam and coffee to take away. When I grive back too late, almost can not find a parking place, even I have paid for it. The hotel looks beautiful and funny, my daughter like it very much. In hotel and nearby I can not find reataurant to eat, so do not forgat to eat sth. before coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Austin, TX

Great location and good staff!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I would book this room again. The hotel took good care of my group of 12 adults in 6 rooms.