Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Nice, classic and quaint hotel!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
I loved this hotel!! It was very homy and CLEAN!!! The staff was very friendly and when I was warm in the room, they brought me a fan. If I were to go back to San Fran, I would stay here again. I came for a convention and it was in walking distance of the convention center (about a mile away), and I felt very safe there. The room was amazingly painted with beautiful art as well as the wall in the roof nuc outside of the window and there was amazing artwork throughout the halls and lobby. Overall, I would say this was a very cool hotel. The only thing I would attempt to have wanted was air conditioning, but with the window open and the fan, it was fine!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford

You get what you pay for, but I can't recommend

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing (maybe the location, but there are other better hotels nearby)
Cons: Knock-down hotel and rebuild :-) Employ friendly staff Improve cleanliness Install A/C Don't advertise 'breakfast included' (it's barely a snack)
Location: Close to Market street, and so good for shops, Moscone centre conferences etc
Please don't book this hotel! When booking I was surprised at how cheap the stay was. I assumed that by booking early I was saving money, but now I realise that it's cheap all the time because it is *very* budget hotel that is worse than many hostels I've stayed in! Lets be clear in that the hotel does advertise itself as budget, but I have stayed in hostels that were nicer (and cheaper). The room was small, had a funny smell (with pervaded my clothes after hanging them up during my stay), and had no A/C. The worst thing about this hotel was the city garbage/rubbish pickup that occurred everyday at 4.30am right outside my window. Due to the flimsy single-glazed windows I could hear literally every bottle being smashed as it was poured from the dumpster into the truck. This woke me up every night without fail (and I'm a fairly heavy sleeper). I appreciate this is outside of the hotel's control, but it is worth noting if you want to get a good night's sleep! The 'breakfast' that was included was also very poor, and consisted of stale bagels, an apple and over-brewed coffee (this is in no way a 'buffet'!!). After the second night's stay I walked down the street to the local Starbucks to get breakfast. As mentioned by several other reviews, the hotel staff were also typically rude. The guy who checked me in was pleasant enough, but everyone else I spoke to simply wasn't helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

7 day stay from St. Louis

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful front desk attendants, nice breakfast, Clean room, Great location.
Location: It is right at the entrance to China Town. Union Square and all the main high end stores are there. Nice area.
We came to San Francisco to retrieve our daughter from College. It didnt work out for her. So we decided to make it a week long trip and do some sightseeing. The front desk attendants were super nice and gave us maps on how to get around. The breakfast was nice as well. We would recommend this to anyone. It is right near the big entrance to China town and a few streets over from Union Square. GREAT location! The room was very clean. By that I mean I am a FREAK about a clean bathroom.. like in the corners of the floor and the grout in the shower area. You could eat off the floor in this place. Very impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Really good value

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Maybe a little more storage space in rooms
Location: Very central for most attractions
Well situated in the city centre. Really interesting artistic room decoration. Nice friendly staff. Simple but nice continental breakfast. Good value, definitely worth a visit
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Great location but very small rooms with very dark art on the walls. Suffocating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Unusual artwork. Great location.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Well located hotel. Had to ask for change of room as there was no space for our clothes. We were staying for 10days. Room 504 was good. Big closet and artwork was a bit more tasteful. Small fridge, hairdryer and ironing board and iron in room. Complimentary breakfast was adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, mediocre hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Artworks on the walls, and good housekeeping
Cons: Replace reception desk staff and renew rooms
Location: Great location, everything within easy access
With many other hotels in San Fran booked out due to a convention, we settled on this hotel. I'm a visual artist so enjoy colourful hotels with nice art on their walls, and quirky details. We stayed in one of the largest suites. It quickly became clear that the photos on the website had been taken a long time ago. The photos made the rooms look super modern and very new, when in fact the hotel was quite old. The windows are single glazing. I've stayed in many hotel rooms. This was definitely the noisiest. It was difficult to go to sleep, with the windows facing a very busy street. The included breakfast was dismal. We only checked out the breakfast room - a sad little room - with a wooden bench, on the first day. We then ate somewhere else for the rest of the week. Some of the staff behind reception were nice, yet incompetent, some of the other staff were less than polite. We had amended the booking over the phone directly with the hotel. By the time we arrived they had made no note of some of our requests, randomly cancelled the first night of our stay, and then charged us twice for the first night. It took several trips to the reception desk to resolve this. Two of the other people staying in our suite found reception so rude and insulting, they checked out and found another hotel around the corner.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Good location but with cons

Posted Sep 30, 2014
No ac and not possible to sleep at night with noisy restaurants n garbage bins at the back w trucks picking up at 3am. Elevator is broken, stairs not clean n no chance fr a breakfast room n anything to eat. Staff is ok n room is very nice n very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
We stayed three nights as part of a roadtrip. Good things: Nice location, only 5-10mins walk from Union Square. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Nice artwork in our room. Car parking at reasonable rates (for San Francisco) nearby. Bad things: Breakfast not worth bothering with - we only ate it once during our stay. Not much choice and the food we had wasn't very nice. Recommend trying some of the cafes nearby instead.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatoon, Sk Canada

Too Noisy

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: the room is really funky, breakfast is good, rooms are kept very clean, liked it alot
Cons: the noise of the city workers picking up garbage at 3 til 7 in the morning has got to stop
Location: the location is excellent, bus goes close to it and so does the trolley, lots of places to eat in Chinatown, great location
We really liked this hotel, loved the room and the staff, breakfast was good but we would never recommend it because of one thing, the noise in the back alley. There are homeless people back there which isn't even the issue, they were quiet but the city trucks is another thing. OMG every night around 3 in the morning they would come and pick up and from then til around 7 it would continue, it was so noisy that even ear plugs didn't help, they bang the lids down hard, the backing up of the trucks, the smashing of the glass bottles in the truck, we HAVE NEVER experienced anything so awful. After a busy day of seeing the city etc, the last thing you want is that noise, you want to be able to sleep, well after about 2 nights of that crap, you are ready to move to a different hotel. SOMETHING has to be done about that noise, until it is, we would never recommend it and I think that is a shame.