Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

Cheap but very eclectic

Posted May 12, 2015
I guess its cheap for SF, but the rooms are weird and eclectic, which is fine if your into that stuff. If I was a little overweight I would not fit in the shower. It is an old building with weird oddity's, but it is located well to China Town and the Financial district. The room I had was very quiet, which was nice. Breakfast is coffee, juice, and beagles. Go to working girls cafe, its great. Its not quite a dive, but close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel très bien situé, au centre de tout.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Le lit, la décoration.
Cons: Le bruit extérieur ...
Literie exceptionnellement confortable ! La décoration est géniale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

A true San Francisco experience!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, hotel character, cleanliness, price and breakfast make this hotel a perfect choice!
Cons: Upgrading the windows would help to reduce noise. There was very little water pressure in the shower.
Location: Chinatown: there is a great little bakery called "Eastern Bakery" just a few blocks away. The Montgomery BART station is approximately 4 blocks away
The highlight of this hotel is it's location which is less than a block away from the gates to Chinatown and a short walk to Union Square or the BART lines. Around the hotel are all styles of restaurants and pubs. The hotel itself is an older building with character features such as a tiny elevator, small bathroom sink and key lock doors. Because the hotel doubles as an art gallery there is an intercom security system at the door which worked very well as we never had to wait more than a couple of seconds to be let into the building. Although some rooms were shared bathroom facilities, we opted for in-room bathroom in an original, painted room. The room also offered a mini-fridge. A small breakfast was offered daily which included fresh fruit (apples), toast or bagel with cream cheese or jam, juices (apple or orange) and granola bars. The breakfast room was quite small and guests were encouraged to take their food back to their room. This was time and money saving feature that we greatly appreciated! Tip: We requested a room on an upper floor which was away from street noise and they were able to accommodate. There is noise from the street and a noisy delivery truck at about 3am daily. If you're sensitive to sound, you may want to bring ear plugs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

clean, but noisy

Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
i stayed at this hotel for about 2 weeks, rooms are clean, wi-fi is not that bad, shared bathrooms are clean. the only problem you would get occurs when you get a room that is just above the restaurant which is next to the hotel. you hear the fan noise every day..other than that, it is fine
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ji Hyefrom seoul

location is perfect, reasonable price

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels.com
최고로 좋은 점은 위치입니다. 차이나타운 게이트 바로 옆에 있는거와 비슷해요. 파이낸셜 디스트릭, 유니언 스퀘어, 차이나타운과 아주 가까워서 다니기 편리합니다. 화장실,샤워실 깨끗하구요. 침대상태도 좋습니다.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kurt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathanfrom Portland

Always a great choice

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great boutique hotel in the French Quarter. Comfortable bed, helpful staff and a nice continental breakfast made for a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Great stay, nice staff and perfect location for our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Mesa,AZ

Jenae and DaveO take a vacation! (review by Jenae)

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a week at Hotel Des Arts. We found the hotel to be fun and different in a really nice way. This hotel still uses a keyed entrance, the elevator is straight out of a movie and the rooms were all uniquely painted. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again. The staff was always helpful and friendly, they took the time to answer all of our questions and to make recommendations. The continental breakfast was greatly appreciated and always fresh. Our room, as well as the rest of the hotel, was always very clean. Honestly, you can't beat the location. Very conveniently located downtown San Francisco, close to tons of public transport and fantastic restaurants. Make sure you pop in to the Irish Bank for some great food and cocktails. Ask for Mark, he makes a killer martini and Connor makes the best bloody mary I've ever had!The complaints we have are small. There are definitely not enough plugs in the room however, an extension strip would take care of that. I would also appreciate a couple of hooks around the room to hang things. The bed was not so great, after a week we started to hate it. We had a private bathroom and it had a claw foot tub, very charming. It was a different experience getting in and out(I'm short) but we quickly got used to it. If you're tall, the shower will be way too short for you, but it's temporary because you aren't moving in.