Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Great stay, nice staff and perfect location for our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, easy access to everything

Posted Jan 5, 2015
This hotel was by far the best out of the 4 places we've stayed in San Francisco. They have a great old-fashioned elevator. & the hotel is an art gallery so you can even make an afternoon out of wandering the halls and checking out the great artworks. Each room is also painted by different artists, so you will get an exciting surprise when you open your door. Staff were helpful when we had questions & always greeted us when we came through the door. Check in and check out was quick & simple. Location was great- close to Union Square & Muni/Bart transit to any neighbourhood as well as the airport. Loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: The art was cool, I liked that -- the wall in my room in particular.
Cons: The trash pickup around 3 am nearly every day is incredible loud and guaranteed to wake you up. Just be prepared...
Overall, this hotel worked for me, despite some nuisances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathanfrom Portland

Book it if it's available!

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel in a great neighborhood. It's very convenient to Union Square shops and the Financial District. The price was very competitive for the area and the hotel staff was very helpful. I have already booked this hotel for my next trip to SF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chun-chiafrom taiwan

pretty good

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
the graffities are awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Nice, classic and quaint hotel!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
I loved this hotel!! It was very homy and CLEAN!!! The staff was very friendly and when I was warm in the room, they brought me a fan. If I were to go back to San Fran, I would stay here again. I came for a convention and it was in walking distance of the convention center (about a mile away), and I felt very safe there. The room was amazingly painted with beautiful art as well as the wall in the roof nuc outside of the window and there was amazing artwork throughout the halls and lobby. Overall, I would say this was a very cool hotel. The only thing I would attempt to have wanted was air conditioning, but with the window open and the fan, it was fine!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Danielfrom Stockholm

Lite slitet men helt ok

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
En smula nergånget hotell, men rent rum och trevligt med konst-fokuset. Jag bodde i rum med egen toalett, men det finns rum med delad toalett. Mitt rum vette mot en gränd där de tömde sopcontainers kl 4 på morgonen, funkade för mig som lätt somnar om dock. Frukosten var inte mkt att hänga i granen.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford

You get what you pay for, but I can't recommend

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing (maybe the location, but there are other better hotels nearby)
Cons: Knock-down hotel and rebuild :-) Employ friendly staff Improve cleanliness Install A/C Don't advertise 'breakfast included' (it's barely a snack)
Location: Close to Market street, and so good for shops, Moscone centre conferences etc
Please don't book this hotel! When booking I was surprised at how cheap the stay was. I assumed that by booking early I was saving money, but now I realise that it's cheap all the time because it is *very* budget hotel that is worse than many hostels I've stayed in! Lets be clear in that the hotel does advertise itself as budget, but I have stayed in hostels that were nicer (and cheaper). The room was small, had a funny smell (with pervaded my clothes after hanging them up during my stay), and had no A/C. The worst thing about this hotel was the city garbage/rubbish pickup that occurred everyday at 4.30am right outside my window. Due to the flimsy single-glazed windows I could hear literally every bottle being smashed as it was poured from the dumpster into the truck. This woke me up every night without fail (and I'm a fairly heavy sleeper). I appreciate this is outside of the hotel's control, but it is worth noting if you want to get a good night's sleep! The 'breakfast' that was included was also very poor, and consisted of stale bagels, an apple and over-brewed coffee (this is in no way a 'buffet'!!). After the second night's stay I walked down the street to the local Starbucks to get breakfast. As mentioned by several other reviews, the hotel staff were also typically rude. The guy who checked me in was pleasant enough, but everyone else I spoke to simply wasn't helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

7 day stay from St. Louis

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful front desk attendants, nice breakfast, Clean room, Great location.
Location: It is right at the entrance to China Town. Union Square and all the main high end stores are there. Nice area.
We came to San Francisco to retrieve our daughter from College. It didnt work out for her. So we decided to make it a week long trip and do some sightseeing. The front desk attendants were super nice and gave us maps on how to get around. The breakfast was nice as well. We would recommend this to anyone. It is right near the big entrance to China town and a few streets over from Union Square. GREAT location! The room was very clean. By that I mean I am a FREAK about a clean bathroom.. like in the corners of the floor and the grout in the shower area. You could eat off the floor in this place. Very impressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annefrom Perth, Australia

Convient simple hotel near Union Square

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room cleaning staff excellent. Major issue that there is no way to make tea or coffee in the room. Had to ask for a fan as the room was very hot, even with windows open. Very reasonable rates but is bare minimum. Few non sports channels on tv. Wireless in room helpful. No business office to access a computer. Good choice if you don't want any frills.