Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Lamont from Wilmington, DE

Funky Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014
My experience at the Hotel des Arts was overall good. The only drawback was some machinery noise outside on the lower roof. Also the desk should have had a reading lamp on it. I loved the artist's rendering (work of art) on the walls of my room. And the other paintings in the hallways were interesting and unique.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel just in front of China Town

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Nice hotel near chinatown, Union square, good stores, nice restaurants and pubs near. Easy access by public transportation. Small entrance, alternative kind of street art, small rooms, some with bathroom. Good reception, nice atention. Breakfast composed basically of bread and bagles with butter and marmalade and juice. Small room with closet, night table, desk, mini fridge and tv. Small bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iain from UK

Convenient location and very good value

Posted Dec 16, 2013
The artwork in the hotel adds considerably to its character. The hotel is very good value, with a free continental breakfast. The WIFI worked very well. The staff were friendly and looked after my bags for most of the day after I'd checked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Janet from Winnipeg, Canada

Quaint hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thought this hotel was quaint - it had everything I needed, and was clean and spacious (I had the double suite, so there was a bedroom with 2 double beds and a bathroom, and an adjoining living room, with sofa/futon, desk, and a small sink & fridge). Love the artwork, and the funky elevator. :) It was a nice walk to Union Square shopping, and not too far to walk to the Moscone Center. My only complaint is that the windows are not very sound-proof and there was street work going on in front. However, they offered me earplugs at the fort desk when I mentioned it. The price was very good, and I enjoyed my stay. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim from Winter Park, FL

Like staying in a gallery.

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly and fun. Also close to the financial district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nettie from Australia

Excellent Staff

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Even though Hotel was small and older style, it was perfect location for access to everything,. Room and hotel was clean and the staff were excellent..very helpful and friendly. Light breakfast and free wifi included and the rate was very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rebecca from aberdeen uk

great hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: laundry facilities
Location: Chinatown.union square.market street.3 blocks away from public transport.everything a walk and a bus ride away.
great hotel.3 blocks away from all public transport.right at the Chinatown gate.quiet hotel .staff all very friendly.Nice big room with flatscreen tv and fridge.no laundry facilities but there is a laundrette 1 block away.perfect hotel if your just needing a bed and a shower.in a place like san Francisco you don't spend a lot of your time in a hotel.i would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel within walking distance of most sites

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Each room indiviually painted/decorated. Nice having a refrigerator in room. Flat screen TV but not with many channels. Comfortable bed. LOCATION!
Cons: Hall ways got a little loud, especially staff talking while setting up the breakfast room at 6:30 in the morning.
Location: Just steps away from enterance into China Town. Walked to Coit Tower & Fishermans Wharf. Starbucks on the corner. Near shopping in Union Square.
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in October. Choose this hotel for the location near Union Square where the Nike Women's Marathon started. The deluxe queen had its own bathroom which was important. Had an old fashion tub which was uneven so it rocked when you stood in it. The room had the essentials which is all we needed. Could only comfortably fit two in the room. Big comfortable bed, desk, TV, refrigerator and closet. GREAT location! Within walking distance of most attractions so we saved money by not using cabs/buses. Example - we could walk to Union Square to shop (or hop on a street car or trolley), Starbucks on the corner, China Town - walk through China Town and you're in Little Italy, then keep walking and you'll be at Fisherman's Wharf. Room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com