Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

A true San Francisco experience!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, hotel character, cleanliness, price and breakfast make this hotel a perfect choice!
Cons: Upgrading the windows would help to reduce noise. There was very little water pressure in the shower.
Location: Chinatown: there is a great little bakery called "Eastern Bakery" just a few blocks away. The Montgomery BART station is approximately 4 blocks away
The highlight of this hotel is it's location which is less than a block away from the gates to Chinatown and a short walk to Union Square or the BART lines. Around the hotel are all styles of restaurants and pubs. The hotel itself is an older building with character features such as a tiny elevator, small bathroom sink and key lock doors. Because the hotel doubles as an art gallery there is an intercom security system at the door which worked very well as we never had to wait more than a couple of seconds to be let into the building. Although some rooms were shared bathroom facilities, we opted for in-room bathroom in an original, painted room. The room also offered a mini-fridge. A small breakfast was offered daily which included fresh fruit (apples), toast or bagel with cream cheese or jam, juices (apple or orange) and granola bars. The breakfast room was quite small and guests were encouraged to take their food back to their room. This was time and money saving feature that we greatly appreciated! Tip: We requested a room on an upper floor which was away from street noise and they were able to accommodate. There is noise from the street and a noisy delivery truck at about 3am daily. If you're sensitive to sound, you may want to bring ear plugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Great stay, nice staff and perfect location for our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Mesa,AZ

Jenae and DaveO take a vacation! (review by Jenae)

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a week at Hotel Des Arts. We found the hotel to be fun and different in a really nice way. This hotel still uses a keyed entrance, the elevator is straight out of a movie and the rooms were all uniquely painted. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again. The staff was always helpful and friendly, they took the time to answer all of our questions and to make recommendations. The continental breakfast was greatly appreciated and always fresh. Our room, as well as the rest of the hotel, was always very clean. Honestly, you can't beat the location. Very conveniently located downtown San Francisco, close to tons of public transport and fantastic restaurants. Make sure you pop in to the Irish Bank for some great food and cocktails. Ask for Mark, he makes a killer martini and Connor makes the best bloody mary I've ever had!The complaints we have are small. There are definitely not enough plugs in the room however, an extension strip would take care of that. I would also appreciate a couple of hooks around the room to hang things. The bed was not so great, after a week we started to hate it. We had a private bathroom and it had a claw foot tub, very charming. It was a different experience getting in and out(I'm short) but we quickly got used to it. If you're tall, the shower will be way too short for you, but it's temporary because you aren't moving in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, easy access to everything

Posted Jan 5, 2015
This hotel was by far the best out of the 4 places we've stayed in San Francisco. They have a great old-fashioned elevator. & the hotel is an art gallery so you can even make an afternoon out of wandering the halls and checking out the great artworks. Each room is also painted by different artists, so you will get an exciting surprise when you open your door. Staff were helpful when we had questions & always greeted us when we came through the door. Check in and check out was quick & simple. Location was great- close to Union Square & Muni/Bart transit to any neighbourhood as well as the airport. Loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennyfrom Stockholm

Kanonbra läge, bra service, tvivelaktig frukost

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Kanonbra service, jättebra läge. Lite konstig dekor i rummen men med all bekvämlighet man kan önska. Frukosten gav lite mer av en utfyllnad medans man väntar på att ens andra hälft ska vakna till. Den tas med fördel upp till rummet eftersom matsalen bestod av två pinnsoffor och tre pallar. Riktig frukost får man på café de la presse 10m från hotellet eller kanske på någon av de miljoner Starbucks som finns i SF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: The art was cool, I liked that -- the wall in my room in particular.
Cons: The trash pickup around 3 am nearly every day is incredible loud and guaranteed to wake you up. Just be prepared...
Overall, this hotel worked for me, despite some nuisances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jasonfrom Hancock

Comfortable, cheap, convenient, if a little loud

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for a conference when my normal cheap hotel jacked up its rates. I was pleasantly surprised. Despite the low (for San Francisco), the bed was very comfortable and the wifi was excellent. On a slightly negative side, my room overlooked a bar in an ally, which was loud at night. Fortunately, I can sleep through just about anything if I have to but I would hesitate to recommend the place for light sleepers. This place is hard to beat for cheap, comfortable and in a safe and convenient neighborhood. I'll be staying here for all future conferences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcelofrom São Paulo

Ótimo e bem localizado hotel 2 estrelas

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Minha estadia foi excelente, considerando que eu busquei um hotel que coubesse no orçamento, que fosse bem localizado (nota 10), limpo, e com atendimento excelente. Fiquei num quarto com banheiro, cama confortável, pintura bastante artística, peculiar mas nada que fosse incômodo. Ótimo custo benefício, porém não reserve achando que vai ficar num hotel 5 estrelas (como algumas outras resenhas), é um hotel simples e honesto. Café da manhã é simples, mas é grátis então nã ousaria reclamar. Recomendo:
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Norway

Hotel des arts

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Hotel is centrally located, clean but worn . Good beds, simple breakfast. Toilet bathroom in order, cleaned but quite worn. Very good value for money for such a centrally located place in SF. Fits young people and price-oriented people. I thank the personell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I will book a room with bathroom next time.