Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2014
I'e stayed in a lot of hotels in SF. This one is not a 3.5 star. Or if it is, then some 4 stars should be relabeled as 5 stars. Rooms were small and a little dank. Poor ventilation I guess. I think they try to cover up that it's not that nice by making it "trendy" or something. Doesn't work. It wasn't horrible, just not that good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2014 by virgil, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. Hotel Diva offers various types of accommodations ranging in size, all available on expedia.com. I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to San Francisco. We would love to welcome you back at Hotel Diva. Best regards, Virgil Lopez Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom plymouth, mi

Decent location but cramped and damp

Posted Dec 7, 2014
This is a small boutique hotel without enough charm to make it interesting. Room was very small and restroom barely large enough to stand in. No joke - you could hardly turn around in it. And we're pretty thin people! Also, no fan in the restroom meant that everything was soaked after a shower. The room was stuffy and damp everyday. There are only two elevators and one was broke, so we had to wait for an elevator often. The location is decent - near Union Square - but that comes with a good amount of homeless folks about. Overall, I'd throw in a few extra bucks for a nicer, more modern hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by virgil, Hotel Management
Dear Breezy, Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. Hotel Diva offers various types of accommodations ranging in size all available on Expedia.com. We are soon to finish our elevator upgrade and currently waiting for inspection from the city of San Francisco. I hope you will think of us again on your next trip to San Francisco. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Virgil Lopez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Perfect location!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Great location! Love the decor. Staff was very friendly and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quintessential SF Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
It's not perfect, but nothing in the City should be! The hotel itself is quite stylish and tastefully decorated -burlesque window shades and all. The queen sized bed was more along the lines of a full - not your standard queen. But it was extremely comfy and clean and roomy as far as SF rooms go. Geary Street gets wild at night so if you're looking for the quiet serene experience bring earplugs or look somewhere else. For theatre goers you couldn't ask for a better spot; the hotel is directly across from the Curran which is right next to ACT. For shoppers Union Square is just two blocks away. It's a great hotel and I would definitely stay there again. Note: If you book through a third party (e.g. Expedia) and "request" a particular room (e.g. King sized bed), a request is not a confirmation. Call the hotel directly after booking to confirm the bed size. Our king-sized junior suite turned into something else - it was still a great room though, just a smaller bed. Overall I'm perfectly pleased with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

French Consulate Visit

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Just minutes away from Union Square, Hotel Diva had everything I needed at a very affordable price. The hotel reminded me of modern hotels in Europe--all the important stuff (clean, great bed and linens, easy Internet access, killer location, TV) with spare but elegant furnishings and a phenomenal staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location - clean

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Perfect for a quick trip to San Francisco. Clean room... a bit of an older property... but clean and the staff was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really feeling like a Diva.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Staff was knowledgeable, warm & efficient. Everything in good working order in the business center. Valet parking actually pretty fast.
Cons: The property is ready for updating, maintenance and care. Guest rooms felt run down + out of date. Time to upgrade linen.
Location: The location is great. Great access to shopping and restaurants.
Diva generally brings to mind "plush and pampered." The Hotel Diva doesn't really live up to that. The theme is a great idea but outside of a cool purple throw and a giant DIVA pillow, goes largely unrealized. Air conditioner in room was broken, street noise, loud around the clock, made sleeping difficult. Room furniture very uncomfortable and furnishings intended to give a modern vibe play out as cheap and cheesy. Aesthetics aside, the room was clean - which was greatly appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by virgil, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. We offer various types of accommodations ranging in size all available on expedia.com. We do also have quiet rooms available towards the interior of the hotel. I hope youwill give Hotel Diva another chance on your next visit to San Francisco. Best regards, Virgil Lopez Hotel manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

2 blocks to EVERYTHING. Perfect location.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean, great decor. Loved the proximity to everything and the accommodations.
Cons: Cell phone didn't work in the room
Location: Union Square 1.5 blocks, great sushi across the street, streetcar a block. Nordstrom etc 2 blocks, rental cars 1.5 blocks.
3 women in a Jr suite for one night and it was totally comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Dimitar, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your positive rating and review. We are happy to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in one of our junior suites. We hope to have you again in SF! Warmly, Dana Andrews Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The room was nice, we were not on the street side of the hotel so it was quiet. The bathroom was very small, and the rooms are kind of dark. There were a lot of lamps in the room so it helped with the darkness. The room being dark was helpful at night when sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Dimitar, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will think of us again on your next visit to San Francisco. We hope to see you soon! Warmly, Dana Andrews Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma, CA

Just OK for the price

Posted Oct 26, 2014
The room was sparsely decorated, bed was fairly comfortable, good location, nice staff, but valet took 45 minutes to get us our car which is unacceptable. It was pretty inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.