Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterey CA

Quick Night to the City

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The location! It was also clean. Close to many places / things.
Cons: Drop the money on cushier beds. The majority of the clientele I saw were my age and if you want to keep us coming back, we need to be comfortable!
Location: A good restaurant in every direction! Major theaters across the street. Art galleries everywhere. Union Square, China Town, Shopping, People Watching
Overall, this hotel is in an excellent place! Right across from major theaters on Geary, beside a Starbucks and just a few steps from the famous David's Delicatessen, a block from Union Square and about four blocks from China Town. The staff was nice enough and the room was clean enough. However, don't make the mistake I made. Upon check in, I was given the option of a room in the back, where I was told it would be quiet, or a room with a view in front, where I was told it was noisy. Well, my husband and I sleep with white noise so I figured it would cover the street noise in the front. WRONG!!! Geary is a very busy street, and for the most part, the street never slept, and neither did I. I take full responsibility for this, as the clerk did tell me the truth. But you can trust me on this! Nice views of the street and its vibe, but not nice at night. Wear ear plugs! Or get a room in the back where it'll be quieter. Last complaint, the bed was like a rock. If the bed had been more comfortable, I'd have given the hotel five stars, but I have been sore since I slept in the bed (three days now). I'm mid 40s, just saying; I need comfort!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salzburg

Hübsches Hotel Stadtnähe

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Zimmer sind sehr schön eingerichtet
Cons: Wir hatten Zimmer zum Hinterhof wo jede Nacht gearbeitet wurde,lautstarkes Flaschen entsorgen usw.war teilweise leider sehr laut
Location: Direkt neben Union Square,Starbucks viele Geschäfte,Restaurants alles nebenan
Schickes Stadthotel,Zimmer sind nicht riesig was wir aber wussten.Trozdem haben wir uns für dieses Hotel entschieden weil es eine gute Ausgangslage hat,topzentral.Hotel ist sehr hübsch,Zimmer sind total schön eingerichtet alles super.Für unseren Leihwagen haben wir uns ein Parkhaus eine Strasse weiter gesucht wo das parken nur die hälfte gekostet hat.Parken beim Hotel ist sehr teuer.Personal ist superfreundlich sehr bemüht.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
It was quiet, staff was nice. Very comfortable bed, nice toiletries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location was good, near lots of restaurants, bars and shopping.
Cons: Noise, it's a little shabby looking. There clearly have been updates but not a total makeover. Be prepared for the amount of homeless and beggars.
The room itself is not bad. The shower and toilet were separated from the sink which was very odd and rather inconvenient. However, I could overlook that. The real concern was the noise level. Walls are paper thin. First is was the room above ours, then it was the alley outback, next it was exercise room across the hall. You could literally hear every movement and it was as if the treadmill was in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom V

Amazing!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
This is the only hotel I enjoy staying at whenever I take a trip out to the city. The staff are so welcoming, the beds are extremely comfortable, just everything about this hotel is great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom grass valley, CA

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: the location and the staff
Cons: room seemed dark. The grey decor in a small room may have had something to do with this.
my son and I took a quick vacation to SF and found this hotel last minute on Expedia. As a hotel manager, I was impressed by the front desk staff and the cleanliness of the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by virgil, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I hope you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will think of us again on your next visit to San Francisco. WE look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Virgil Lopez Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Good location to Union Square

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Well, the location was great and if we had been given a room with the view to the back wall at a higher floor we probably would have been kinder in the rating.. But NO, we were given a street view room on the second floor which pretty much kept us up all of the nights whether it'd be drunks shouting till 5am, rubbish collectors also at 4/5am, the fire brigade (3 times a night!) or all of the above.. The bathroom was a mere shoe box and there was literally nowhere to hang your clothes unless you were there for one night only! I get the play on the burlesque-themes which we initially thought was fun when booking but being greeted with a condom in the safe and seedy/dirty blinds as well as a stained bed spread makes me think one can book the room on an hourly basis.. On the bright side.. It's close to all amenities you can wish for!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by virgil, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm sorry to hear your stay with us was not as pleasant as you would have expected. Hotel Diva offers quiet rooms facing the couryard or the back of the hotel. I hope you will give Hotel Diva another chance and that you would give us the opportunity to change your impression on us. We would love to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco. Best regards, Virgil Lopez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

A perfect place for a DIVA to stay

Posted Apr 1, 2015
This was my first time staying here and I loved it. Our room was very comfy and clean. The hotel staff was always very friendly and attentive. Will stay at the DIVA again : )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Florida

Very close to Union Sq & walkable neighborhood.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The front desk,bell boys & house keeping staff were all very kind & helpful.
Cons: The interior of the room could be lighter.
Location: There are tons of things to do in SFO. This hotel is centrally located.
I was there for a week end Meditation retreat.Hence did not do touristy stuff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ELP

Perfect location, excellent hotel team

Posted Mar 14, 2015
The staff is excellent. It was our first time visiting SF and this hotel is within walking distance to everything we visited. The staff is professional, welcoming, and they go out of their way to help make your visit hassle-free, pleasant, and memorable. We stayed on the second floor near the back of the building. The carpet is a little hard (buy comfy slippers in China town or comfy socks at Sock Market at Pier 39). The hotel provides bath robes, hair dryer, plenty of towels, pillows, and shower gel. I don't use the hotel shampoos and conditioners because I use products for color treated hair. The bed is super comfy, which you'll absolutely appreciate after a long day of walking and sight seeing. Walgreen's nearby has everything you need (bath and beauty products, wine, champagne, orange juice, snacks, food, etc) The best places to shop are close to the hotel, so you can drop off your bags and shop more. Pack super light because you'll need the space for your trip home.