Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Lovely staff and room. Thanks.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location, room.
Cons: A little noisy.
Location: Near union square, galleries, public transportation.
Could be a bit quieter. I was impressed at how quickly little issues were addressed. Great bed and great coffee maker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Potomac, MD

Posted May 21, 2015
Really enjoyed my 4 night stays. Hotel is quiet and bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, close to transportation and shops

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Recently booked our trip to San Francisco and didn't want to spend too much on boarding. Our Hotel G experience exceeded all expectations. Room was clean, bed/pillows were very comfortable, excellent staff! Location was convenient to public transportations, shopping malls, and restaurants. We'll definitely come back to Hotel G if given the opportunity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond VA

That Bed!

Posted May 17, 2015
That bed was ridiculously amazing! It made me want to stay in bed all day and not explore SF!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary,Canada

Best Location!

Posted May 15, 2015
Awesome stay! The location is so good, room is clean, bed is super comfy and the staffs are all helpful & friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bombay, India

I would stay here again !

Posted May 13, 2015
This was a really good location if you want to be close to all the shopping etc in Union Square. Staff was very helpful and nice. Linens are great, the towels are soft and plush, I wanted to take the bathrobe home! The bed is also very comfortable, slept very well. Two things I disliked - very small bathroom with minimal space to leave toiletries and non carpeted floor that was almost industrial looking and hard. While there was a carpet around the bed, the rest of the floor was bare. The bathroom however was new with a powerful shower so that compensated for the small size. We booked a great king which is pretty large compared to their standard ones.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Minimalistic offerings

Posted May 12, 2015
The room was cold and cement floor. Terrible lighting in the bathroom. Staff was friendly. Hotel bar was small and didn't have much to offer for happy hour specials. You will want to go somewhere else to relax and have something to eat/drink. Hotel is still under construction/renos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Character, location
Location: Shop, eat, Dine, Transit
We stayed at this hotel for our first visit to San Fran for 3 nights. I primarily booked this hotel because of the location. The location is PERFECT, but also there is a lot of character to this hotel as well. Everything was clean and the bed was incredibility comfortable. The hotel is steps away from Union Square, the BART transit and the Cable cars as well; if you do the hop on hop off bus there is a stop a block away. The cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf/Alcatraz landing is only about a $10 cab ride away too. The hotel is beside tons of places to go out to eat, drink and shop. We went to the restaurant attached to the hotel for breakfast and the food was delicious. If you want a hotel that is comfortable and in the prime location I would highly recommend booking with Hotel G - we would certainly stay here again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Posted May 10, 2015
Fantastic experience. Exceptionally clean, in particular the bathroom. The linen provided was also of a high quality along with he bathroom amenities. Mini bar was also very well priced. Internet access was also very fast for a complimentary service. The two restaurants are both also very good. Overall an excellent stay and I would return.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location, hotel more style than substance

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Room fittings e.g shower, lighting etc
Location: Trams on Powell St, these will take you to the fishermans wharf for Alcatraz etc Shopping at union square
We spent 3 nights at the hotel. It's located just off Union Square which is perfect for the main shopping areas, and the tram on Powell St. the location worked well for us an wasn't noisy even on Friday/Saturday night. The hotel has a modern, urban style. The hotel appears relatively new so retains a clean appearance. It is a little style over substance though, plug socket covers were lose in the wall in our room, and the ceiling lamps that hang down next to the bed swing alarmingly when you pull the chain. Things like this make it seem like it was rushed and not of a great quality. We booked the entry level room which was small but in that respect I think it reflects what we payed. The bed was comfortable, nice linens and pillows but was pretty small for a double which made for a poorer nights sleep. I think again reflective of the entry level room we had no view other than an external metal staircase from the window. Lighting isn't great in the rooms, again I think this is due to the rooms styling, but it can be a bit frustrating when getting ready. The bathroom was nicely styled but the shower was weak, you didn't quite have to run around to get wet but it not far off that. We also 2-3 times had a smell of sewage in our bathroom. The hotels gym is small but modern and clean. We didn't try the adjoined restaurant but it looked pretty nice. Overall I wouldn't stay again , I suspect there are better hotels for the price.