Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great location, very friendl and helpful staff. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great location.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Nice hotel, great location. They're idea of a king size bed is a little skewed. Our room that was supposed to have a king sized bed had a queen (even the tag on the bedspread stated queen). When I asked about the bed size at the front desk they said that's their standard king bed. Other than that not a bad hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Nice hotel & Great Location!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Hotel G is a newly renovated. Nice & clean.
Cons: The hotel walls are a bit thin, however bearable.
Location: Shopping! Great Eats!
Had a great time in the city and will stay at Hotel G upon next our next visit. This hotel location is central to all eating and shopping areas! Just two blocks away from Union Square and walking distance to all transit areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Room was disappointing

Posted Jul 21, 2015
I was expecting a much larger room. What we had was a tiny room next to the elevator. Quite noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, clean.
Cons: Concrete floors can make it a little cold, but matches the urban decor!
Location: Central location, close to public transport & shopping. Lovely cafe around corner, Cafe Mason, for breakfast, or lunch. Bike rental around the corner.
Enjoyable, easy check in, easy check out. Fridge in the room, very spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Union Square part of downtown SF

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Hotel G was part of a package deal with flights for a good price, so I booked it. It said 4 stars and I generally agree with that rating. The hotel was very nice and the remodeling they're doing makes it look very modern. It was a great location, close to the BART stop from San Francisco Airport (3 blocks) and close to everything I wanted to see while in downtown. The hotel bar had great drink selections and awesome bartenders (I didn't try the food there). They held our bags all day Friday before our 4 PM check-in and then again all day Sunday before we flew out (so that we could sight see with just a backpack). The gym was awesome with multiple cardio machines and a nice set of dumbbells (5-50 lbs.). I did have a couple small complaints about the hotel though. Our room was on the 3rd floor and they seem to still be remodeling the portion of the floor where our room was. For example, the wood floors outside our door in the hallway as well as the floors inside our room creaked loudly when we walked on them. This was an issue for me because I wake up earlier than my wife and go to the gym, and I try to sneak out of the room. The creaking floors made that impossible. Also, the shower took about ten minutes for the water to get up to warm/hot temperatures after turning it on. This was slightly annoying. Like I said, I agree with the 4 star rating, but they need to fix a couple of things to stay in that 4 star area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: - Friendly staff - Location - Affordable price (relative to other hotels in area)
Cons: - Certain dated aspects to the hotel - Little room for clothes/luggage storage
Location: Location is very convenient, in Union Square. I would not venture too far eastward (into Tenderloin). Trolley cars, China town are also close.
More precisely, I would give this hotel 3.5 stars. We stayed at Hotel G for 4 nights and had a relatively good experience. The staff with which we interacted was pleasant and helpful. The room itself was small and there wasn't much space designated for your clothes/luggage. Part of the floor was cement (about 1/4 of the room) and rest of area was carpeted. You could tell that many aspects of the hotel are dated. However there are recent improvements, like the shower and bathroom area are new and tiled, and certain aspects of the hotel are definitely tech-modern, like the gym. I never got the sense that this was a hotel where you just want to check-in, stay and lounge. Some reviewers complaining should've done their due diligence researching and found a hotel for 'beach-resort like relaxing' and not stayed here. This was more of a comfortable hotel for sleep and dropping your stuff off while you mosey about and explore San Francisco, since the hotel is located in a very convenient location in Union Square (just don't walk east too far toward Tenderloin... a lot of 'aggressive' homeless people). We barely spent any time at the hotel other than for sleeping and rest at the end of the day. For this purpose, the hotel is great. All in all, the price was fair for the city location and for the purpose I described. I would return to this establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Union Square hotel in San Francisco

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Beds are really comfortable and clean. Housekeeping kept the room spotless everyday.
Cons: The bathroom sinks are a bit small, and other guests could be more considerate when closing their room doors. The doors are a bit loud when closing.
Location: Marrakesh Magic Theater is a two block walk, and was a highlight of the trip.
Check in was easy. Hotel is clean and comfortable. It is central to Union Square and there are plenty of restaurants and things to do near by. It is convenient to the BART and MUNI if you are using them for transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
A wonderful time. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Close to everything

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location was great, staff was friendly.
Location: One block from cable cars, 3 blocks from main transit (BART, Major Muni lines), one block from Union Square with tour bus stops.
Staff was very pleasant, Hotel has old world charm, renovated, clean and comfortable. It's right in the middle of town, easy access to transit and cable cars.