Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

close to union square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: close to union square and two great restaurants within one block
Cons: housekeeping staff training and computer for guest use only
Location: Lots to see and do, hop on tours, walking distance to hyde street cable car, shopping and union square
room attendants were inconsistant with ammenities but pretty good being new owners still lots to learn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Has a long way to be rated 4 star

Posted Jul 17, 2014
, the hotel facility is very poor. One of our worst hotel stay experiences. · We were told it is a renovated hotel, yet, it is being renovated or rather patched up! We felt like being on a building site not a hotel. · The room is dull and smelly. Not enough lighting. You cannot sit and read in the room, while there’s no lobby where one can sit and read or relax, as it is the case in other four star hotels (Hotel G is marketed as a four stars hotel, I wouldn’t rate it even three stars). · The room lock is faulty. The staff tried to replace the key few times but still we always had a difficulty opening the door trying the key few times, but we just put up with it. · Where is in this century, one cannot find a computer room to print a document? Certainly at the unique hotel G in San Francisco! · No restaurant in this four stars hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort, people/employees
Cons: Since they are renovating, the cafe and restaurant was not open yet
Location: Union Square. Lots of restaurants, bars, shops of all kinds, all sorts of public transportation, including main cable car "terminal" turnorund.
We just stayed at Hotel G with my husband for a few nights. The hotel is located just a block from Union Square which is a perfect location. It is an upscale area with lots of commercial options for shopping and food. Extremely convenient for public transportation and the cable car and street car routes. For us, this is a much better option that the tourist trap areas around Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. The hotel itself is still under renovation but it did not bother us at all. We never heard construction noises and the room was perfectly in order and finished. The bed is super comfortable and so is the bathroom. We really felt very comfortable overall, in the room and with the personnel which was absolutely wonderful in all regards. Remember you are in a big city though so you will hear some traffic passing by (not terrible though), but this is a city :) We would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Great location, old bldg renovated

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The enitre design and finish, reminded me of Architect that did Alcatraz
Location: too much to list
Noisy rooms because there are no floor coverings over concrete, you can here a pin drop from the lobby to the 10th floor. Poor water pressure in showers, reminded me of an episode from Seinfeld. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice but the Hotel Developer went very cheap on trying to renovate the building to make it warm and comfortable. I would not go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in process of being renovated

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location / staff
Cons: Floorings
Location: Near Union Square
Good location - used to be Hotel Frank Looks very different to on internet = taking shabby cheek to the extreme - bare concrete floors and bare floors in lifts and reception Standard of rooms OK but again bare floors - beds showers etc fine I think they should warn people that the hotel is in a state of being renovated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: minimalist and elegant design of the rooms and hotel, location and staff
Location: hotel g is at center of everything :) good diner for breakfast and good sushi just across the street. shopping area in 2 mins walk.
perfect hotel in a perfect location. very well designed rooms. very comfortable bed :) very nice staff. they were very helpfull. tried the suggestions of staff for breakfast and dinner. we liked the suggested restaurants very much :) good sushi at sushi boat and us style breakfast at diner are just across the street. cable car and underground station are 3 mins walk. shopping district in 2 mins walk. very close to nice bars and clubs. safe neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

good location, good value

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location and very clean even though being remodeled. Very good housekeeping.
Cons: Had cement floors with area rugs which were OK but no sound dampening. Could hear adjoining room. Individual room AC/Heating units were noisy.
Location: Its San Francisco
Hotel is still under renovation, at some point close the hotel and make the improvements. Bathrooms smallish but sufficient. Kind of newer/retro motif. It is not fancy or for business stays but fine for vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Sydney, Australia

Very handy for shops and close to Union square.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I stayed for a conference, it was a short walk to Moscone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NatalieG from Cochrane

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location, new facility, cleanliness, excellent staff.
Cons: Noise levels
Location: Walking distance to almost everything SF has to offer.
Thought Hotel G was really good. I loved that we were the first ones to stay in our room as the hotel is so new. My only complaint is that the room is a bit noisy. Not the noise from the street, but from the hall way. Since there is no carpet, noise seems to travel more. Location was prefect for us near Union Square.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The location was great. A lot of trendy spots to eat. Union Square park is right up the block, and the MUNI system public transportation is close by.
Cons: The floors are so scuffed up, it made me think twice about checking in. I understand it's an old hotel, but the website makes it seem very modern.
Location: The location was great. A lot of trendy spots to eat. Union Square park is right up the block, and the MUNI system public transportation is close by.
Great location within walking distance of everything in Union Square. Easily took public transportation to other locations. The room was a bit small, bed was cozy, light was a little too dim for me, no couch, floors were cleaned but scuffed up, and night was noisy (but I guess that goes with being in the downtown area). Upon checking in - I was hit with a 400.00 fee (100.00 per night incidental fee) in advance. Usually with any other hotel, I leave my credit card on file for this, but this time, they wanted to charge me a pending fee, which held up 400.00 of my spending money. I was not too pleased at all. I think the price of the hotel is too expensive. There is not a gym or pool, or much to do within the hotel itself. The room rate needs to decrease or the hotel needs to expand. Did not really speak to hotel staff much, but when I did they were ok.