Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Located right next to Union Square, this quaint hotel is full of charm. While the floors are spectacular, it's obvious they are still renovating. Looking forward to seeing what the final results are.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La

Horrid.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I'm not even going to write bc I wrote 2 reviews that got cancelled, I didn't use any bad language. So here is a short one. It was bad and I would never stay they again, nor would I ever use Expedia again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Oct 11, 2014
The staff was excellent room clean and meet there in the process of a lot of refurbishing the rooms are done some work needs to be done on the lobby but I'm sure overtime this will turn into an excellent value
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moab, UT

Not Ready for Primetime

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Need to finish the construction. Also, it would be nice to be able to open windows.
Location: Union Square is the place for shopping, Powell Street cable car, BART station, etc. etc. Also lots of bums.
It still is a work in progress. They seem to be aiming at a downtown chic version of a "W" hotel, but right now, it borders on downtown shabby (e.g. elevators are very scruffy. When I stepped into my room, it badly needed fresh air but I was locked out from opening windows, except in the bathroom. The room is well appointed with minibar, robe, hair dryer, etc. but it was dark and dingy. Could hear the neighbors through the wall. The staff was first rate --- very, very nice and helpful. There was a ceiling leak in my room and they jumped right on it, offered to move me, etc. They're still constructing --- I'd give it a little more time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK SCOTLAND

Hotel without any facilities!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms in a very good location
Cons: Price decrease and some facilities
Location: Lots to do in SF,a great city for all ages.
No Bar,Restaurant or facilities,only bedrooms.Hotel frequently changes ownership and is a bit tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Bar and gym were still being worked on. Lobby is pretty spartan, but they more than make up for it with free beer and chips. My room was a little on the small side but had very cool and comfy decor with wood floors and high ceiling. Nice bed. Not much of a view from my room. This is a great option if you're getting it at a competitive rate. Much more interesting than your Marriott, Hilton, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Great room but the bathroom was really small. They could use a hook on the door in the bathroom. Great location and friendly staff. We will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: The musty smell of the rooms.
Location was great! Room had a musty smell, but bed was comfy & room was cute. Once the renos are done it will be better. You could hear the conversation of the people in the next room quite clearly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not quite what the website promised

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Still under renovation, Hotel G does not currently have any on-site food or beverage service. Neither is there a workout center. If you go knowing these things (their absence is not clear on their website), then you'll enjoy your visit. The room was exceptionally large and well-appointed. My room faced a busy street, so there was traffic noise. One wonders why hotels don't invest in noise reduction windows during such an extensive renovation. Overall, I'd rate it pleasing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The bed was amazing, sooo comfortable. The bed was probably the best part of the room.
Cons: It was pretty noisy in the hallway and you could hear everything. Maybe a carpet would fix this?
Location: Union square right outside. Hop on Hop off buses are right there. All the shopping is steps away. Some really nice high end art galleries next door.
Had a great stay at hotel G. Location cannot be beat. It was even closer to Union Square than I thought. Everything is right at your fingertips, in a nice location with lovely art galleries all around. We stayed 6 nights and the hotel was so great that they upgraded our room complimentary. Things are still under renovation but you can see the potential.