Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The renovation has left bare concrete floors. I think they should carpet them.
Location: Center of the city so everything.
Very nice hotel except for the small bathroom. "Trendy" with a lot of younger travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Very good location. staff are friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Islington

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Hotel G has recently been refitted, with a rather funky interior. The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated, although there were some very modern touches such as exposed concrete floors with rugs. I rather liked the new decor, but it may potentially be a little modern for some guests. The location was great and the staff could not have been more helpful. However, one thing to flag which will affect all hotels around Union Square is that there are a lot of homeless people. Clearly nothing that can Hotel G can take any responsibility for, but rather something to bear in mind when selecting anywhere in the area. Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay in Hotel G and would highly recommend it for anyone with modern tastes who wants God connections to the rest of San Francisco.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, too bad about the noise

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Good location, cool decor
Cons: THE NOISE. Rooms are too small. Too expensive for what it offers
Location: Next to union square so good central location for tourists
Was not impressed by this hotel. It is in a great location, but for the prices they charge I expected a much better experience Pros: - Good location for tourists next to union square - Cool decor and urban feel - Nescafe machine in your room, big tv Cons: - We were placed in a room next to the elevator. This hotel has very thin walls because you can hear lots of noise and creaking and you can actually feel the wall shake when the elevator operates. In my opinion the rooms next to the elevator should not even be guest rooms with all the noise that occurs. You can also hear people walking through the hallways very clearly, it feels like there is no soundproofing at all - The air conditioning is incredibly loud, you would want to turn it off while sleeping - The room is tiny. There is hardly enough space for two people. The bathroom does not have any space near the sink to place your toiletries - No cell reception in the rooms (T-mobile) The only thing really going for this hotel is the location. However, if you want a decent nights sleep, avoid this hotel. No amount of polishing the proverbial turd will make up for the structural issues with the rooms. With the westin just next door with rooms at similar rates I can see no reason to recommend Hotel G
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Very helpful staff
Cons: Flooring and elevators
Not told when we booked that they were remodeling. No carpets on floor in hallways or rooms. We were told that is the look they were going for. Industrial look! Elevator was shabby, loose wires and cracked light fixtures
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

Great location and super accomodating staff !

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: They are in the process of making improvements :)
Location: Much like I said before, this hotel is in a great location....close to everything !
My husband and I stayed here on a weekend, while attending a Giants game. I gave the hotel a 3 on condition of it, because it IS under construction, although, no work was being done while we were there :) This hotel is chic, and centrally located. We were able to walk to the game from the hotel, and its 2 minutes from Union Square, which has several shopping stores, along with great restaurants. Lori's Diner, is across the street from this hotel, and they have a fabulous breakfast ! I also loved this hotel, because they let us check in 3 hours early, so we could put our stuff away, before heading to the game. I had left something in my car, that I wanted, and the staff had someone go and get it out of my car, and bring it to my room ! Againl, very nice hotel with exceptional staff !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great city stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The decor was great, and the staff were so friendly.
Cons: The front of the hotel was still being completed, which we already knew, but that is the only thing.
Location: The location was great. 2 minute walk from Union Square, Cheesecake Factory is 3 minutes away in Macy's and great transport links to Fisherman's What
A fantastic hotel, right next to Union Square! Very 'Shoreditch' and very cool. The staff were very lovely and we were upgraded to a Queen room as we mentioned it was our honeymoon. Would definitely go back again, and already have friends staying there when they visit later this year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Very nice rooms

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Enjoyed the experience. Would stay again. Great rooms and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great location. Loved the quaintness of the hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We had a larger king sized room which Very nice, clean and spacious. Hotel staff are great. Slow elevators, but that is to be expected in an older building. It didn't bother us. My only complaint would be that the sinks in the bathrooms are very small. You can't wash your face off or brush your teeth without getting water all over the floor. The espresso machine in the room was wonderful to have. The black out drapes work great. Minimalistic, but at the same time they thought of everything. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but no sound insulation between the rooms

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Hotel is nicely designed and staff are friendly and helpful, but there was a connecting door to the room next door and absolutely no sound insulation. You could hear everything next door - conversations word for word, TV, people moving around, etc. So it was noisy and you had zero privacy (presumably they could hear everything in your room too). Plus, the room had a desk but was difficult to work in because the lighting was so low.