Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Great Boutique Hotel!

Posted Nov 10, 2010
The Hotel Griffon is a great little hotel in a fabulous downtown SF location. We were attending a conference in the downtown so were able to walk or take public transport to all of our destinations. The Ferry Building is a couple of blocks away with a farmer's market, great restaurants and shopping. We took the BART from the SF airport and only had to walk a couple of blocks to the Hotel Griffon. Staff at the hotel are cheerful, efficient and happy to help. Complimentary Pete's coffee in the lobby is a definite asset as well. We also dined in Perry's, the restaurant at the hotel. We had a really good meal there and the waiter was alot of fun. Front desk staff arranged car transport back to the airport for us. It was on time and a fair price. When we return to SF, we will definiately stay at the Hotel Griffon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Cool place.

Posted Oct 28, 2010
Hip hotel. Perry's downstairs was great. Right on the bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Excellent hotel for affordable pricing and convenient location to transit

Posted Oct 14, 2010
Great location, very convenient and within walking distance to transit. Room was small but clean, and front desk staff were friendly and personable. The elevator was a bit scary and small, but we just used the stairs and managed to work some calories off :) only bad thing was we had to go through the restaurant to access the stairs. Restaurant food is good, we had the lobster dinner special...decent price and food quality. I would recommend this hotel to my fellow travellers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from West Richland, Washington

Great "Green" Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2010
Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean although small, very "green" (environmentally friendly), safe neighborhood, close to piers, bus line, necessity shopping nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Griffon within sight of the Golden Gate

Posted Oct 5, 2010 on Hotels
Great location for tons of good stuff. Only suggestion with this property is that you pay for what you get...
Comment from General Manager
Oct 15, 2010 by Hotel Management, General Manager
Thank you for your review of our property, and thanks for staying at the Hotel Griffon! We wanted to make a little update to your review; the bridge you can see from our hotel is not the Golden Gate Bridge, but actually the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge. Again, thank you for visiting our hotel, we hope you enjoyed your visit, and we can’t wait to welcome you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Some very good features, but...

Posted Oct 3, 2010 on Hotels
There is much to like about the Hotel Griffon. The staff were universally helpful, and the hotel is nicely situated near the financial district. It felt quite safe. The room was clean and well appointed. If you go out the back door and nip across the Embarcadero, there is immediate access to a pier with magnificent views of the Bay Bridge and downtown. However, there were also some significant negatives. The rooms are small, and so while the room-to-room soundproofing is excellent, there is no avoiding being uncomfortably close to the hallway with its attendant noise. This included the cleaning staff exchanging conversation and popping open plastic bags at 8 in the morning. If you're an early riser you should have no problems, but later sleepers may be disturbed. There were also odd housekeeping omissions: the hotel-provided robe disappeared one day, and on another day the coffee supplies were not fully restocked. In sum, I would consider staying again, but at the price I would also look to see what else is available.
Comment from General Manager
Oct 15, 2010 by Hotel Management, General Manager
Thank you for your visit to our property. We wanted to let you know that it is our mission that our guests experience excellent service, and that your helpful comments are being addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and the housekeeping team. We hope you otherwise enjoyed our property, a true boutique hotel find on San Francisco’s Embarcadero, and we hope to host you again upon your next visit to San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Utrecht, The Netherlands

Hotel Griffon, Financial District

Posted Sep 23, 2010 on Hotels
Net hotel, goede service, comfortabele bedden. 'sOchtends gratis koffie en thee in de lobby. Het hotel heeft kleine kamers met in veel gevallen een raam dat niet open kan en dat uitkijkt op een muur of recht in een andere hotelkamer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa,Canada

Great choice with lots of attention to detail

Posted Aug 22, 2010
The hotel was very clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. Lots of nice extras like cosy bathrobes, safe, iron, minifridge (I took the contents out to make room for our own drinks etc.). My Dad's room on the 3rd floor was bigger with a proper desk and little couch, but our room on the 4th floor had more light. It was small, but still plenty big enough with a large closet and vanity. The shower was very clean and roomy with great water pressure. The sink in the room is handy. We didn't have a view of the bay, but we couldn't complain when we got such a good deal on Expedia. The food downstairs at Perry's is delicious and the servers very friendly and helpful. Just breakfast should include the coffee and juice, which is weird since there is free coffee in the lobby (that tastes better than the coffee in the room). It's a nice touch that they offer strong and mild coffee. Parking is expensive and I tried to find something else nearby, but we ended up using the valet parking which ended up being a nice little luxury. Julio and the evening guy are very helpful and it was great to pull up in front of the door after a long day of touring around and not have to worry about the car. Two of the ladies at the desk are very friendly and helpful, (I forgot to ask their names). We were there for 6 nights and would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA.

not impressed

Posted Aug 18, 2010
Poor communication about where and how to park without using their expensive garage. Would have liked an easier way to figure out the parking system on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2010 on Hotels