Ratings based on 1,973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Canadian from Calgary,AB

Excellent, Central

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Fantastic experience, no problems at all except the toilet clogging...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Japanese style hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Cons: The showed did not work in room 403
My only complaint would be that there was no breakfast included and our shower did not work in room 403. Other than that, the place is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable, with good beds. We would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Motel Sticks foam rubber pillows

Posted Apr 8, 2014
One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Great location, clean, safe

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Great location to shops, bars, restaurants, The Filmore
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erik from Simi Valley, CA

Japan Town

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Clean, love the location.
Location: Walked to the House of Thai on Larkin, awesome. The Japanese mall was fun to peruse.
Loved the location, great eateries abound. If you like people watching this is a great venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LGP from SoCal

Boutique hotel in SF.....

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Lovely lobby, garden....friendly staff.
Cons: Update the rooms a bit.
Location: On Post St at the beginning of Japantown. Next to the Peace Tower, across from the Japanese Malls.
My daughter & I stayed here for the second time. The hotel is lovely, tho the rooms are beginning to show a bit of wear. The location is at the start of Japantown so it's a very convenient location to visit museums, Golden Gate Park, etc. If we visit SF next year, we may stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Vancouver

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Quiet, neat but close downtown core and convenient
Cons: All good to me
Location: Japan town, minutes walk to bus and easy transit to all hot spots like Union Square etc.
Very nice hotel, in a neat quiet neighborhood but also close to hot spots like union square etc. Very friendly staff, arranged two bed room for my stay even it is my fault booked one bed room. Nice room facility, though a little bit old, but clean and neat. Will stay next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"ONE OF THOSE!!"

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Location: NICE LOCATION
THEY DID NOT APPRECIATE MY RESERVATION MADE THRU EXPEDIA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Writer from SLC, UT

A unique experience staying in Japantown.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The room was lovely and the bathroom very large and a deep bathtub. The staff were very pleasant. Excellent location. A lot to explore in Japantown.
Cons: The hotel is in need of some upgrades and maintenance. Little scuffs, areas where paint is needed, etc.
Location: Right in Japantown. Near Pacific Heights, Polk Street, Hayes Valley.
I lived many years in Pacific Heights, but rarely frequented Japantown. It seemed so, hmm, constructed. Which it was. In the '60's, fueled by post-war racism, the entire neighborhooed was razed and this unfortunate structure was constructed. I was visiting SF for a conference and I didn't feel like a kitchy Victorian hotel and the financial district seemed overpriced, so I opted for the Kabuki. I was curious and thought it might inspire me to try the baths, which I had always wanted to try. My experience at the Kabuki was excellent. The staff was super helpful with everything and great. I walked everywhere, including to Union Square to meet a friend for lunch, and to the conference in the Civic Center. I mostly explored Japantown, with all of the interesting restaurants, bookstores, and stationery shops. It was quite intriguing. The food was excellent, including the sushi in the market in Japantown. The communal baths were the highlight of the trip. I would definately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gigi from Toronto, On

Great Hotel in Japan Town

Posted Mar 12, 2014
I really like Kabuki, my only gripe would be that street noise can be quite loud. Parking next door at the Japan center was very convenient. I'd stay again and try to get a room that didn't face onto Post