Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Broken TV,shower, slow front desk otherwise nice

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: was nice, clean.
Cons: staff front desk better. QA the rooms - TV & shower shouldnt have had issues.
TV required engineer visit. I did not have time to address the broken shower head - it barely worked and if they dont fix it the next guests will have issues too. Front desk was slow to answer phones, and while in front of them, they seemed understaffed as the front desk folks were constantly answering phones.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scramento, CA

Convenient if you only want to see Japantown

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: They had a nice garden. Front Desk people were very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The bed was not the most comfortable. Staff should comprehend English and communicate clearly. Quoting parking rates is not communicating.
Location: Walk through the mall and local restaurant areas. Avoid the street people the City has in abundance. The streets of San Francisco are still dirty.
The room was a very nice Japanese motif. Loved the Japanese tub but the shower head splashed water all over. There is no curtain over the tub, just the washroom's glass door. Put the bath rug outside of the glass door. The bed was not the most comfortable, and I have been in a lot of hotels through business travel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso. TX

Minor issues but nice place overall

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Nice location. Japan town is clean and safe with plenty of retaurants within walking distance. Staff was cordial.
Cons: Spruce up the rooms. New faucets would be nice. Could use more water pressure. Need A/C in every room.
Location: Cafe Murano perfect for breakfast. Good sushi joints nearby. There was also a jazz festival on Fillmore street which looked cool.
The staff was very kind and helpful. They recommended a wonderful little breakfast joint within walking distance called Cafe Murano. Lots of Japanese food restaurants in the vicinity. You will need a car for access to tourist attractions in SF. Hotel is nice enough but a bit run down. No ventilation of any kind in our room. I was told to leave the sliding door open a crack which actually did the trick. They offered to relocate us to another wing but we were already settled. In my opinion any 3-4 star hotel should have A/C in EVERY room. Parking was cheap at $23 nightly compared to other SF hotels. I tried to save money one night by parking on the curb and got ticketed $66 because I didn't notice the sign for "street cleaning on Tues, Thurs, Sunday 6am-8am." Stick with the parking garage which actually takes you right to the hotel elevator. All in all a decent hotel, good for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Nice but small

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: cleanness, comfort
Cons: Add a door separating bathroom and bedroom
Location: It is located at Japan town. We went to see the Jazz festival one morning.
We stayed here for just 1 night after watching the July 4th fireworks. The hotel is extremely clean. Everything looks nice except one small detail. There is no door separating the shower/bath and the bedroom. We have a family of 4. My wife and two kids went to bed earlier while I stayed a little late. There was no way to use the shower and bathroom without disturbing the ones asleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Steamboat Springs, Co

Very nice Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: the beds were very comfortable and the shower was great.
Cons: Pool
Location: Close to the Mall and good food
Very nice Hotel in a great location in Japantown. Just a block away from the Japantown Mall and blocks away from Some great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel in Japan Town

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Hotel is close enough to Kaiser Hospital to walk if necessary. $40 a day parking fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: I liked the Japanese decor. I liked the hotel had a restaurant.
Cons: There was not enough closet space. A cabinet occupied half of closet. There was not enough room for clothes for 2 people.
Location: The hotel is in Japan town. There are several ethnic eateries nearby. It was easy to access some tourist spots from the hotel.
I had a pleasant stay. The hotel employees were respectful, helpful and informative. My check-in was late due to a long wait at the car rental place. I had no problems with check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Almanor CA

OK hotel close to CPMC Hospital with shuttle servi

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: creamer for coffee in room
Location: lots near SF warf
Elevator didn't work and handicapped wife on 13th floor. Service elevator had to be used.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel needs a face lift

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Location: Fillmore Street has lots of yummy restaurants and cute boutiques.
The staff was polite and efficient, the location is convenient, but the rooms and hallways need re-doing. The parking is fine, but if you are going in and out frequently, use the valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Japantown

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: There is a great peaceful garden in the center of the hotel. Loved it.
Cons: A soft night light in the bathroom would be appreciated.
Location: Japantown. Easy to get to downtown SF. Alamo square is an easy walk, "Painted Ladies."
I am comfortable walking around. And this hotel is well kept, a nice location and comfortable to walk around. I'd get a higher up room, there was a fair amount of activity on the street that I could hear. It was Gay Pride weekend, so maybe just a little noisier. Breakfast was good in the hotel. Coffee maker is the k-cup type. So very easy and quick. There is a lip in the bathroom to the toilet. So if you get up during the night, bring a night light for the bathroom. I hit it pretty hard. I don't drive in SF. Uber and other ways are just to easy to get around, and parking is expensive.