Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Older, nice hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The dining room. The prices are fairly reasonable for breakfast and the atmosphere "Majestic".
Cons: Some of the rooms are quite small. I'm not sure that anything can be done about that, since the hotel is older.
Location: Central. Pretty nice location. Can walk to drug stores, places to eat. Location feels safe.
We have stayed at the Majestic twice and have been in three different rooms. The hotel is turn of the century and truly beautiful, especially the dining room. It is clean and well cared for, with ornate decorations. So if you appreciate that atmosphere it is definitely worth considering. Also, the price is more reasonable that most in the city. You do have to pay for parking, which is valet. The rooms vary in size. In our stays, we had two pretty small rooms and one room that was quite roomy and comfortable, with a large, two sink bathroom and it truly felt fancy. It is worth asking about the room size. If the size of the room doesn't matter, perhaps for a person that is alone, it is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great weekend experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Clean, cozy, and beautiful! Our room/bathroom was VERY spacious, loved the decor, bartender in the downstairs bar was phenomenal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Must try the bar

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Mike the bartender is super good, must try his drinks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chesterfield

Spend money

Posted Oct 10, 2014
This hotel has plenty of character but needs a massive uplift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A charming hotel near Pacific Heights

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Location: It's near Pacific Heights and easy walking distance to Filmore.
This is an older hotel with claw foot bathtub and pedestal sink. The rooms are not large but the bed is soft and I found it charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cosy and quaint

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Top floor room had a nice breeze through windows, clean room and bathroom. Lots of character and charm in d├ęcor.
Location: Japan town and like I said it's a little out from the main city area but we liked the quiet at night. A short cab or cable car ride into town.
First time to San Fran, stayed a week and a day at the Majestic, very nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable, no complaints with facilities or amenities to think of, recommend to anyone wanting to stay in San Fran close to Japantown it's a little out from the main city area but we liked the quiet at night. A short cab or cable car ride into town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by AShiwakoti, Hotel Management
Dear Jo, How is everything down under? Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Majestic and leaving a nice comment. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write us about your stay experience and highlighting the positives. It really helps. "Quaint" is the word that most of our hotel guests describe our hotel by. We hope you found our beautiful City of San Francisco very welcoming and enjoyable just as you found our hotel to be. We would like to welcome you as our guests every time you visit our beautiful city and enjoy your stay at the Hotel Majestic. Please do mention that you're a returning guest and we may be able to give you a free upgrade to the next room category. Thanks again and you have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bags of character and charm

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Didn't expect the Victorian luxury and history of this hotel when I chose it online from Scotland. Great choice for anyone looking for a little bit extra at a good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The style of Continental Europe. The feel of royalty. Seeing a bite of beauty in history.
Cons: no disappointments
Location: Near the Fisherman's Wharf a must see and experience.
The moment I walked in I was in awe of its beauty. My husband said WOW this is really nice. It was a great way to spend our last night in San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

DOES NOT LOOK LIKE IN THE PICTURES.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The downstairs restaurant/bar was pleasant.
Cons: The hotel room conditions.
While old nostalgia is what the hotel is going for...it really just came across as old. While the latter front desk receptionist came across as very pleasant, the initial was very rude in attempting to check-in earlier than the "3PM" check-in time. The bathroom looked old, exposed and older piping in the shower did not look inviting. I was able to hear the patrons above me walk back and forth, and our own floor would creak every time we walked. All in all, you are paying for location and only location. Extremely overpriced and would never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I did not include room rates that I was aware of and did not use any profanity in my last review, which you rejected. If you don't want my opinions don't ask.