Ratings based on 973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Nice hotel, great location, could do with updating

Posted May 18, 2015
We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Hotel Majestic. However there are definitely some minuses which could be improved upon. Starting with the good things - the location is great (about 10/15 minutes walk from Downtown one way and the lovely Pacific Heights region the other), the room was massive, as was the bathroom and the hotel facilities were good. It is also a slightly cheaper option than other San Fran hotels...though bearing in mind the bad features, I can see why. The hotel does need some serious updating. Whilst the rooms were very clean, and I did like the old fashioned decor, the hotel has certainly seen better days - with wallpaper peeling around the edges, very old fashioned fittings (we were a bit apprehensive about using the shower but it wasn't too bad). Thr hotel would be able to keep its old fashioned feel by installing some more mod cons and updating the decor, I'm sure. Also, whilst the staff were fine and helpful enough they didn't exude the friendly west coast American attitude I was expecting...they weren't all that friendly and I got the impression it was all a bit of an effort to assist guests. I would recommend this hotel due to the location and the price (hotels in San Fran are generally incredibly expensive) but it needs to up its game in order to compete with the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

I was definitely surprised as to how nice it is!!!

Posted May 15, 2015
Neighborhood is beautiful, feels like the upper west side of NYC just on SF's hill-y streets ;). The hotel also reminded me of THe Plaza in Nyc. Seriously one of the best deals I've ever gotten. Super friendly staff - beautiful rooms and a chic but cozy feel. Two thumbs up for sure!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

You get what you pay for.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean room, good looking hotel.
Cons: Insolation of room, reception (friendliness of staff overall).
Location: Quite far away from center, however there were buses to main places nearby.
The reception was disappointing. The receptionist wanted to make me wait 10min while a guy was fixing rug to the floor. But after seeing my puzzled faced proceeded to check me in nevertheless. No intro to the hotel (facilities, restaurant etc.), no information about the city or anything else, just here are the keys, enjoy your stay. Nice old fashioned room (I had the junior suite), which was in urgent need of a renovation however. The bathtub fills up 20cm, which makes for a very unpleasant bath, being able only to soak one's legs. The roomservice surprised me with the bill, where they already added a tip and left two other blank lines to add more tip and a final total. Finally, the walls are very thin, so keep that in mind, should you be a light sleeper as myself. I was awaken every day around 7 o'clock. All in all, didn't expect much, so wasn't much surprised either way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altes hotel, aber zentral ..

Posted May 12, 2015
Altmodisch eingerichtetes hotel, Zimmer sehr groß aber abgewohnt. Im Hotel und Zimmer roch es permanent sehr komisch, was sehr störend war. Ansonsten sehr zentral gelegen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockton, Ca

Better than expected.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Claw foot tub and two bathroom sinks. The canopy bed and fireplace.
Cons: New mattress
Location: You can walk to Van Ness. It is less than a mile to the Fillmore also.
Great location for our weekend plans. We were able to find street parking and saved on valet. The room was very vintage and I loved that part. The bed was fun but it needs a new mattress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

The area is nice. The restaurant is very good.

Posted May 9, 2015
I like the hotel. The restaurant was excellent. The people very nice. But I will recommend that the hotel needs to upgrade the beds. They are too old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

So much history and ambiance!

Posted May 8, 2015
Cons: I could have used a stool to get into the high bed. I had to take a flying leap to make it up.
Location: We just stay one night and the doctor we visit is conveniently located.
While the rooms are small, we love the cozy feeling and the antique furnishings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Wales

comfortable and central

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Everything from the ambience to the location
Cons: tea and coffee making facilities
Location: near to a lovely diner - mels - and lots of coffee shops .
i cannot understand the negative reviews . From the time we arrived till the time we left we had a wonderful experience - nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff . We were in room 300 and although it was compact , it was fully functional - alovely comfy bed , a small fridge , a charged for snack basket , complimentary soaps and shampoos - what more could you want . We couldnt hear any street noise . The reception staff were superb , very knowledgeable and helpful . If there was one thing that would help it would be to put tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but that is a very minor point . Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

It was once majestic!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: It was clean and comfortable.
Cons: No coffee in room and all food items had a rather expensive charge.
Location: It was right downtown and one could walk to bus lines and other public transportation.
The walls and furnishing show a very ornate style. Now the paint is chipped and it has seen better days. However the bath was refurnished and very nice. No a. c which was o k in May. You could open the windows but no screens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom irving,tx

Nice enough for a budget.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: It is in nice quiet area. Lot's of restaurant within walking distance.
Cons: All rooms should have AC
Location: Close to bus stop and Japantown.
The hotel Concierge is nice. Weather is nice in SF but make sure to ask for AC room. 410 is small but the AC made it comfortable at night.