Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Beautiful old hotel, great location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, amenities, appearance, location, ease of access to public transportation
Location: Great central location for downtown San Francisco easy access to public transportation try the Sweet Maple Cafe highly recommend Dylan's City Tour
The Hotel Majestic is a great boutique hotel in lower Pacific Heights. I have read some of the negative reviews, and I have to assume they are due to preconceived expectations; If your preference is a chain hotel, like Holiday Inn or Best Western, don't stay here. This building is more than 100 years old and has a ton of character and ambiance, the rooms are not identical and vary in size, layout, furnishings, however they are all uniquely charming and comfortable. The building is kept very clean and tidy both inside and out, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful with all our inquiries, and were happy to help with information about restaurants as well as transportation around the city. The hotel restaurant is in a beautiful dining room, the food is good but not great, however there are some nice cafes and restaurants in the area. Our favourite was the Sweet Maple cafe, about 6 blocks west on Sutter Street; fantastic breakfast and lunch menu and reasonably priced (try the millionaire bacon!), especially considering the quality of the food. I would recommend this hotel for anyone spending a few days in San Francisco who can appreciate a real boutique hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC, Canada

Extremely pleasant older hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The beds are super comfortable, the showers hot and plentiful, and I love the ambiance. I also like the bar downstairs. Try the signature drink.
Cons: In hot weather, it would be nice if all the windows actually opened. Some were stuck shut and one couldn't stay up. Also the parking is too expensive
Location: The Fillmore district is just a few blocks away, and also JapanTown. Interesting shopping and lots of restaurants. Also a nice little gym.
I stay at The Majestic 2 or 3 times a year when I come to San Francisco to visit family. I always enjoy the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom blackpool

very nice old style hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The situation of the hotel was nice and central
Cons: install air conditioning
Location: union square is a short walk away, short cab ride to fishermans warf
The hotel was well situated for all our needs, the room was nice and big, the one thing that was needed in the room was air conditioning, apart from this we enjoyed our stay in san francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exceptional furnishing!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: good average price/situation
Cons: cleaning of rooms
Location: china and japan town
Nice staff and enviroment, feeling like 18th century
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Beautiful hotel. Close to cable car line.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Style, size, non-corporate feeling, price, location.
Location: Very close to top of the California cable car line. Just a few blocks from St. Mary's cathedral (incredible architecture).
We wanted an nice, but reasonably-priced hotel for a weekend away in SF. Hotel Majestic got it right. The hotels closer to North Beach and Pier 39 were almost 2x the price, and just big corporate chains. Majestic is a classic old-world elegance place. Bed was comfortable. Staff was immensely friendly. We could walk easily to the top of the California cable-car line, which enabled us to get pretty much anywhere on public transportation. There were plenty of cool little eateries and bars nearby to the hotel as well, and the in-hotel food was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older but still nice

Posted Oct 28, 2014
The Majestic is and older hotel but still nice and comfortable. Our room was a standard Queen. It looked a little warn but was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for the SF Opera House

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location convenient to bus system and restaurants.
Cons: Staff with more experience about the local area.
Location: Hillside location may be difficult for some seniors. However we went to the opera, the embarcadero and downtown shopping conveniently on the bus.
Vintage hotel with interesting d├ęcor. However, for seniors, the beds are quite high and may require a stepping stool. Some bathtubs are high claw foot tubs and again may be high for some seniors. We were unable to acquire a rubber safety mat from the hotel for using the tub as a shower. Very small room. Nice restaurant with egg and bacon breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Nice classic hotel good location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
They make sure u get the feel of the classic ... All is good except no breakfast. There was an old lady there who was extremely helpful because my first room had no ac and it became unbearably hot. Before the old lady's shift started they refused me another room but as soon as she got there she immediately switched my room to one with an ac. That converted a potentially horrible experience into a really good one. So I have mixed feelings ants the helpfulness of the staff. My key advise make sure u get a room with an ac and also have look at the room before checking in as rooms for lesser price maybe in a better aesthetic condition, as was my experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Older, nice hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The dining room. The prices are fairly reasonable for breakfast and the atmosphere "Majestic".
Cons: Some of the rooms are quite small. I'm not sure that anything can be done about that, since the hotel is older.
Location: Central. Pretty nice location. Can walk to drug stores, places to eat. Location feels safe.
We have stayed at the Majestic twice and have been in three different rooms. The hotel is turn of the century and truly beautiful, especially the dining room. It is clean and well cared for, with ornate decorations. So if you appreciate that atmosphere it is definitely worth considering. Also, the price is more reasonable that most in the city. You do have to pay for parking, which is valet. The rooms vary in size. In our stays, we had two pretty small rooms and one room that was quite roomy and comfortable, with a large, two sink bathroom and it truly felt fancy. It is worth asking about the room size. If the size of the room doesn't matter, perhaps for a person that is alone, it is very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Great weekend experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Clean, cozy, and beautiful! Our room/bathroom was VERY spacious, loved the decor, bartender in the downstairs bar was phenomenal.