Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I did not include room rates that I was aware of and did not use any profanity in my last review, which you rejected. If you don't want my opinions don't ask.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very old hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: build a new hotel
Location: close to everything...
I was very disappointed with this hotel. There were no Air conditioning!!! everything was acient and not so clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Charming old Hotel in a Good Location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This last stay was my 2nd in that hotel. I love the old architecture & finishes. My husband joined me this last time and enjoyed it, too. We had fun hanging out in the Butterfly Bar after a long day of sightseeing, slept well in the comfortable bed, and had a delicious breakfast the next morning in their dining room. Great place! Nice staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Great location, clean and accommodating! I would absolutely recommend this to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

There was nothing Majestic about this Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location, it was close to t trolley
Cons: Install AC in the rooms, A lot of deferred maintenance (from basic cleaning to making sure the hotel looks like a 4 star hotel) Fix the visible damage
Location: Close to restaurants and mass transit to go explore the city.
When we checked into our room there was a clump of hair in the bathroom. There was also the previous guest garbage on the floor next to the wardrobe closet. There is no AC in the room. I called down to ask if there was and was told “I could take advantage of the nice breeze and open the windows but there is no AC.” The front desk clerk offed that they had a fan to loan out so we took them up on their offer. When the fan came it was broke. One of the fan blades was broken and sitting on the bottom of the box fan. I took the fan down to exchange it and fortunately they had another fan that wasn’t broken. At night we couldn’t leave the windows open to take advantage of the cool breeze because there were no screens and they opened to the fire escape which was assessable to the other hotel guests. The water pressure for the shower was very week, it took longer than needed to rinse off. We ended up only using the hotel as a place to sleep and shower. Had I known our stay was going to be so unpleasant we would have just stayed at the Holiday Inn around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good access to public transportation

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Nice ambiance. Beautiful room. Big bathroom. Friendly staff. Right on a bus route, easy access to all points of interest
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location, good bed, quiet.
Cons: Coffee in room, air-conditioning , wi-fi, staff.
Location: Not much, few restaurants apart from Japanese in Japantown and one Persian. We took the bus a lot.
Good hotel if You are not too picky. Good location for bus travelling in the city. Good restaurant for breakfast and Nice bar. No coffee in room, no air-conditioning, slow wi-fi, average staff some very Nice some less. Checking-out came with a surprise: the card had been billed at 5am; however we had an agreement that we could split the Bill and use 2 cards for the paiement. We were upset by the lack of respect for clients wishes and when we asked why we were not even answered. Too bad because overall we had enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful classic hotel conveniently situated.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: nothing
Location: quiet side street but easy walk to public transport
Lovely comfortable four poster bed was welcome after a few days travelling. Friendly staff and a well stocked bar!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Average experience

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel is advertised as boutique and does have some interesting features, however some parts are simply a little run down (our bathroom was not nice). Price is reasonable though for inner city and the restaurant is nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seen better days.........

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The location was OK with a bus stop only yards from the front door
Cons: A full makeover
Location: All major attractions are only a 5-10 minute bus ride away with a very frequent service
The Majestic is in desperate need of an upgrade in all areas. They advertise free wifi but this is extremely hit and miss. All in all we had a great time in San Francisco but the hotel was a big big disappointment.