Ratings based on 1,322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Springs CA

Union Square Comfort

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Excellent Location! Union Square, Shops, Restaurants
My Husband and I loved our stay at the Monaco. Excellent location, The room was small but great condition, clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff need training - poor organization

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Room was nice, wine reception
Cons: Staff knowledge and customer service, restaurant
At check in no hotel info provided nor any info in room. Requested walk in shower and was assured I had one but had a tub. When I went to front desk, shrugged and said full and to ask tomorrow! No room service and restaurant new and struggling, very salty food, cold coffee, expensive breakfast. On check out I noted I had used one six dollar bottle of water which I wouldn't have if they told me about the free water - they had no note of it on bill and the system wouldn't add it. Fifteen minutes later, all over six dollars, any good will was gone. Stupid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Comforting Escape in San Francisco

Posted May 21, 2015
From the moment I arrived I was greeted warmly by the staff. My room was just lovely and not at all that standard dodgy hotel look. The room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Paula, ca

Nice hotel near Union Square.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pleasure for this trip. Nice bar and mixologists. All staff very helpful. Great location too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wichita, KS

Clean, updated hotel close to Market Street

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff.
We came to SF for business and pleasure and were very pleased with the accomodations. The hotel is on the corner of Geary and Taylor and within walking distance to Market Street and Union Square. If you don't mind a longer walk you can easily get to Chinatown and the SF Ferry Building at Pier 41. It was a little far for us to walk to Fisherman's Wharf. A cab from there was around $10. There were also many shops and restaurants on Geary. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Gave us restaurant recommendations when asked. (Sent us up the block to Honey, Honey Cafe which was wonderful.) Coffee and tea were provided in the lobby area in the morning and wine was offered in the evening. The lobby area was very clean, updated and well maintained. There were a couple of lounge areas with fireplaces were there always seemed to be a few people. The room was clean and updated. The bathroom was very clean as well and the housecleaning staff were friendly and thorough. The neighborhood felt safe; although we learned to avoid Taylor and stay on Geary at night. Alot more homeless and sketchy people there at that time. Overall, we were extremely pleased and will plan to stay there again if our travels take us back to SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, UK

Ideally located hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Having stayed in Kimptons in Chicago and Washington and loved them both, I pretty much knew what to expect and Monaco delivered. Pleasant staff greet you each time you walk through reception. The rooms have an eclectic mix of colours and decorative styles but are warming and comfortable. The beds are wonderful. Powerful hairdryer, large in room safe and iron mean you have everything you need without needing to request. There is also a fridge in the room and you can ask for a coffee maker from reception. Free water in reception by the lifts. A Walgreens right across the street means you have acess to everything you need. Our room looked out over Taylor St and really wasn't at all noisy in the night. The location is perfect for Union Square about 2 mins walk, and perfect for the Powell BART station about 5 - 10 mins easy walk if you are coming from the airport. plenty of places to eat and drink in the area, with Loris Diner, Bourbon & Branch, Hakkasan, Colibri etc all within a couple of blocks. Some reviews say that this hotel is on the border of the Tenderloin which is a less nice area, but we were more than happy to wander around, never felt unsafe and I can't believe anyone would feel uncomfortable around here. I would say wherever you are in a big city, be streetwise. An all round lovely stay. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

perfect central location

Posted May 11, 2015
We stayed here for our anniversary and felt really looked after by the staff who were really warm and welcoming. They helped us with booking restaurants, trips etc. It was a lovely hotel, clean, modern and a great spot to walk around everywhere. Gym was nice too (there is no steam room/ spa area anymore) Free tea and coffee in the morning and wine hour is a bonus. BDK restaurant was ok - there are a lot better options out and about eg 'Jane' is a 5 min walk and for brunch is just amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

Nice

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Great location! With in walking distance of about everything. You will want to take advantage of valet service,as parking is a problem. Expect $69 fee.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Weekend getaway to SF

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Somewhat disappointed from past Hotel Monaco visits. No water or coffee in room. Bathroom needs updating. TV isn't HD. Etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Hotel Monaco is a lovely , a little quirky hotel. We loved the comfortable room, the decor, the wine hour and the breakfast (not included in the price).