Ratings based on 1,035 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Overall good experience

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: beds, fluffy pillows and the big bathroom.
Cons: tea/coffee making facilities in the room perhaps?
Location: location is just a block or two from union square so it's great and there's a convenience store that opens till midnight everyday.
Was a little too expensive for my liking but hotel room is super nice. beds are comfy, bathroom is huge which i love. a big bath tub and a shower. Coming from Asia, hotels there always have tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary tea bags and coffee in the room so that's lacking here but it's mostly something most American hotels lack anyway. The good thing is you can call the front desk to bring you items like a hair curling iron and bedroom slippers which I did and they promptly brought them to my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Disappointed the spa and fitness were closed for construction and no one told me when I booked the room. Very small rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
We are sorry, too. Due to some unforseen circumstances, the spa had to be closed due to the construction. It will not be in operation for a few months. The gym is back in service and we added all new equipment. Again, we are sorry it was not operational during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Europe

great city hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Recommend the theatres next door, great staff. Improvement potential : windows that open ;-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Yes, we are located right next door to the theatres. And I wish I knew what room you were in, because I thought all of our windows opened. I am sorry to hear yours did not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Very good hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The hotel was very nice and clean. All the staff members were very helpful and polite. I highly recommend this place for your next visit to San Francisco
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review and for recommending us to your friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Nice Hotel Close to Shopping and Major Attractions

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Availability of facilities. Don't make so many changes all at once.
Location: Close to Union Square and the Cable Car (powell / hyde route).
Liked the hotel room but there were no facilities - no restaurant, no bar, no spa, no fitness room. No indication that these facilities were not available when booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you were not informed of the restaurant and bar being closed. We have been trying to communicate this information as much as we can, because we do not want our guests to be surprised. We did have to unexpectedly close the spa and we did not know about that in advance. Again, we are sorry about your experience and we hope you will come back and see us after the work is complete.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Extremely Disappointed

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Booked this hotel 6 weeks in advance. Arrived to find that the spa and dining, including room service, key features being this was an anniversary trip, were not available because of construction. Our room was comfortable but noise pervaded, jack hammers during the day, waterpipes from other rooms and loud AC vents at night. There was also black mold in the shower. We requested another room the following day and got a quieter room at the other side of the hotel. The staff was courteous overall but not overly so considering the circumstances. I asked why they hadn't sent me an email in advance to let me know that 2 primary features of their 4 star hotel would not be accessible during my stay? They said they did send an email "one day in advance of your stay" to guests, but because I booked thru Expedia I was not included. I'm also a Kimpton Hotel member but they made it clear when we checked in that because we booked thru Expedia we would not be afforded any membership benefits (the rate we paid was no different). Extremely disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear how disappointed you were in your anniversary trip here at our hotel. As soon as we were aware that we were closing down certain services, we tried to promote that information. We clearly were not able to get this information to as many people as we had hoped. Again, we are extremely sorry that your trip was such a disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Overall very good experience. The only thing was the size of the room. Quite small. The size of the bathroom was ok though. Also there were not any drawers or anywhere to put your clothes in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Please do not hesitate to ask us to see other rooms. We are always happy to show you different options. Some of our rooms are smaller than others. And sometimes a different layout makes all the difference for people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Some of our rooms are smaller than others. Please feel free to ask to look at another room, if you think your room is small or not configured the way you like it. We want our guests to be happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Great location, Great staff. The only bad thing is parking prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Parking in San Francisco... Even those of us that live here constantly complain about it. With real estate prices so high, there is almost nowhere left to park cars. If you do not want to valet park with us, we are always happy to offer you suggestions for parking that may be cheaper. Just make sure to read the fine print.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Wow. A five star review despite the high cost of parking. Our valet parking is not cheap. If you do not need valet, we are happy to recommend other options that are close by to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Loved it

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Room was exactly the same as the pic. Great room rate in a pricey city. Staff are fantastic. There was free bike hire for the day & free wine hour every afternoon. Beautifully decorated hotel. Can't speak more highly, would happily stay with them again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
After we renovated our rooms, we had a professional photographer take new pictures of the rooms. We feel they are pretty accurate and I am happy to hear you felt the same. Glad you were able to use some of the complimentary bikes to explore the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, But Problematic Air Conditioning

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Everything about this hotel was great, except the air conditioning kept shutting off at night and the room got hot and stuffy. The hotel staff couldn't really do anything about it because the guys that knew how to fix it weren't around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review, but I am very sorry to hear about the air conditioning. It shouldn't have been doing that. I will definitely follow up on that.