Ratings based on 1,338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Located in the beat part of San Francisco in my opinion. Clean rooms, lots of hot water, bar fridge. Staff very accommodating...
Cons: Maybe a coffee maker in the room.
Location: In the heart of the theatre district, Only about 30 minute walk to AT&T Park, my favourite Blues and jazz clubs nearby....and plenty of restaurants I
I have been to San Francisco 5 times but this is the first time staying at this hotel. I will definitely stay again. Friendly staff, clean rooms, centrally located
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Fabulous hotel for the price!

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: The decor and service.
Cons: Fluffier pillows please!
Location: We like to walk and walk we did! Market District is within walking distance, so are many places to eat and even a nice bodega across the street.
The Hotel Monaco is fun, fresh and cozy. Wonderful sitting rooms with fireplaces to cozy up to almost make you want to never leave the building, especially with the tasty BDK restaurant attached. A very easy place to have a nice meal at. Every meal we had was fantastic and the service was impeccable. The rooms are nicely decorated and well appointed with comfortable beds and linens. Much more character than your typical beige bland hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

No service or bellman, dusty tiny room

Posted Jun 11, 2015
No one to help w bags, no room service have to pick up food, dusty room but cute decor. Tiny bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Great location

Posted Jun 10, 2015
All good. Would have liked breakfast to be included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Beach Florida

Conveniently located in town close to everything.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
No parking at hotel for guests. Off site parking costs $60 per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua New Zealand

Great stay

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Rooms have a cool boutique decor, not huge but thoughtfully laid out with spacious bathrooms, the newly refurbished dining area off the lobby looked nice and on trend but was very noisy so we ate out, returned there for a late night drink before retiring, excellent bar staff. Overall very nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely hotel close to Union Square

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: The room, the atmosphere, the location, the staff, the "happy hour"
Cons: Nothing major
Location: Union square, shopping, cable car
It was a lovely experience our room was not available when we arrived mid afternoon, but quickly resolved, we were unhappy with our first room and the staff were very charming and quickly organised to have us moved to another room which was a relief after the long flight from Australia. The front desk and porters and housekeeping staff were all charming and helpful with recommendations on local restaurants etc. Loved the happy hour every evening although we only joined on one night it was a nice little touch that many guests seemed to enjoy. Only minor draw back was the breakfast restaurant offering the staff were sweet but a few minor challenges i.e. had run out of tea both days we attempted to dine there so we ended up going out to a local diner which was fun, delicious and very cheap so perhaps a blessing in disguise, I am sure it was just teething issues as the restaurant has recently reopened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs CA

Union Square Comfort

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Excellent Location! Union Square, Shops, Restaurants
My Husband and I loved our stay at the Monaco. Excellent location, The room was small but great condition, clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff need training - poor organization

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Room was nice, wine reception
Cons: Staff knowledge and customer service, restaurant
At check in no hotel info provided nor any info in room. Requested walk in shower and was assured I had one but had a tub. When I went to front desk, shrugged and said full and to ask tomorrow! No room service and restaurant new and struggling, very salty food, cold coffee, expensive breakfast. On check out I noted I had used one six dollar bottle of water which I wouldn't have if they told me about the free water - they had no note of it on bill and the system wouldn't add it. Fifteen minutes later, all over six dollars, any good will was gone. Stupid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Comforting Escape in San Francisco

Posted May 21, 2015
From the moment I arrived I was greeted warmly by the staff. My room was just lovely and not at all that standard dodgy hotel look. The room was clean and comfortable.