Ratings based on 3,185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Polite hotel staff, great service. Pre-checkin preferences. Anzu restaurant.
Location: We hiked to Nob Hill and Russian Hill, and went to China Town, North Beach.
We occasionally would spent a night or two in the City, and we stayed at a few hotels. Hotel Nikko is by far the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Beautiful hotel & amazing accommodations. The view from the Imperial Suites was incredible. I will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mid-luxury suite with great view.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Corner room windows were great. Very gracious staff, always with a friendly greeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Awesome stay

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Hotel has a perfect location. Got a room with a neat view to the city. The room was very clean and comfortable. The gym has a good amount of room, machines and equpment to accomodate guests. Pool area was clean and whirpool was nicely hot and bubbly. Would definitedly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich Norfolk UK

Very conveniently positioned, close to Union Squar

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: It's location, design and staff.
Cons: See comments above.
Location: Very close to Union Square, can easily catch the hop on hop off bus and the famous SF Tram. Superb for shopping and lots of good quality restaurants
Common areas very pleasing and clean. Good veriaty for breakfast. We were offered a complimentary glass of wine on check in, a nice touch. the staff were all very helpful. We were offered an upgrade that moved us from 12th to 22nd floor. Although at first not sure but were pleased to have opted for it as the additional extras were well worth the additional cost: a much bigger room, exclusive use of 25th floor lounge every evening between 5 and 7 pm with as much wine beer and nibbles as you can eat, with no additional charge. No major negatives except a couple of small observations: The breakfast staff whilst extremely friendly and helpful did on a few occasions we had to repeat ourselves as to what we wanted... hey may well have been our English accents. Who was it that said the only thing that separates the British and the Americans is their common language... ! Our room was extremely comfortable and would have had a 5 star rating had to not been for a few signs of stains /wear and tear on the sofa, but only a few.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you are too rich...

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: clean room nice location
Cons: - wifi charge for $15.99?? - extremely unhappy experience with receptionist. check the complete story above
I state here for 3 nights with my wife. Here's the pros and cons: clean room nice location - wifi charge for $15.99?? And no complementary wifi even in lobby. Why should I pay $15.99 for sending a FB message to families telling them we arrived hotel safely? - extremely unhappy experience with receptionist. Here's the complete story: I asked front desk if I can mail package to my room and was told that's allow - NOBODY mentioned it's NOT free. Later I was charged $6 for receiving package without my knowledge. My wife and I argued with manager but was suggested by the gentleman receptionist "reading every sentence written on our website". Fine. I can afford staying at ur hotel for over $200 a night, so can I afford the $6 package fee. What makes me angry is that they charge guest without notice. That's how you perform robbery in a legal, civilized way. This is the most horrible experience during our trip to San Francisco. Love SF, hope next trip we'll find a hotel without being robbed. I recommend staying here if you want convenient location, clean room, have too much money and wanna pay $15.99 for wifi (NO free wifi in lobby), and possibly pay for whatever without notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Had an amazing bathroom even for just the deluxe

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: It smelt wonderful and gave a sense of security as well as high quality.
Cons: Nothing much, at least for this visit.
Location: It is within walking distance to Japantown as well as Fisherman's Wharf, as well as convenient distance to several bus stops.
The space of the hotel room was pretty spacious, and big enough for just two people staying in the room. What my best friend and I were surprised about was how nice the bathroom was. There was a separate shower and bath included, which allowed for us to clean ourselves in the shower and the later dip in a nice piping hot tub. It made for an amazing experience. The room was kept nice and clean during our stay, which was very much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, Thank you so much for an amazing review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a 5 star level of service and experience for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Clean rooms, excellent customer service and reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thank you so much for the 5 stars -- it really made our day! We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Best regards, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Standard room is a micro room with double bed

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: This hotel is all about Bait and Switch
This hotel is bait and switch at its finest. Rooms for this hotel are often sold at "discount" but the discounted room is small even for a closet dressed up as a room. The hotel will happily upgrade you (not to a suite but to a small room with a king bed for a nightly fee equal to the amount you already paid) for a steep fee to a room that is still very small but at least it is not micro. Hotel also has a large daily charge for the health club and wifi fee is very steep and only includes one device. I understand hotels charging for wifi but the fee should be reasonable and at least 2 devices should be included. I would strongly recommend avoiding this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from folsom, ca

nice hotel for price

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: clean and close to shops around union square
Cons: the cost of parking and fee wi-fi for the guests.
Location: you could walk to about all the union square shops.
it was a very surprising nice hotel in the middle of union square. the room was clean the bathrooms very well maintained. there were only a few knocks, but that comes will all hotels in downtown areas, was the cost of parking(57.00) and that about everything was extra add ons. like the airlines, i guess everyone is trying to make money. it would have been nice to have free wi-fi included for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear buddy, Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. I have relayed your comments regarding our parking and wifi to our management team. We welcome any feedback we get from our guests -- yours is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager