Ratings based on 4,802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary ab

Nice hotel. Expensive but nice

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Lots of construction going on around the pool/spa area. Would of probably done that on a less busier month. Excellent food. Helpful staff. We will return again next year
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't allow early check-in

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Style
Location: Terrible terrible location.
Overall the stay was mediocre. Definitely not as nice advertised and located in an absolutely terrible part of San Francisco. The tenderloin district is no joke. It's a dangerous area with an out of control homeless problem. I was very frustrated that I wasn't able to check-in early. I've never had a problem getting to a hotel an hour or two before check-in time until now. They said they would call me when a room was available, but when I went to check again at check-in time they had a room available without hesitation, so there was obviously something open and they just didn't contact me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Perfect Location. Luxury through and through

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The room was beautiful, the bed was beyond comfortable....
Cons: the only problem is I don't live here
Location: Union square, rent a bike, go see some theatre! Glengarry Glenross opens soon and this weekend Picasso at the Lapine Agile closes August 2 2015.
Big Thank you to Charlene at the front desk. Also Steffan at the front desk. And the bellman Andrew was also awesome. I visited San Francisco to see my friend perform in a show. I debated whether or not to lay out a lot of money for this hotel or save some money and stay in a hostel. LOL. Not even a question...This hotel is perfection...there is not one aspect of this place I can criticize. The staff, the room, the amenities...perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Excellent hotel in the middle of Union Square.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Great city location. The hotel was very clean. The deluxe room was very clean, quite, and a good size for two adults one child. Staff was perfect.
Location: 2 blocks away from the Powell Street trolley & Westfield mall. Rent a car & parking garage across the street. Catch a Giants game only one mile away.
We thought this was an excellent hotel in the middle of Union Square. Pretty close to just about everything you need in the city. The hotel/room was very clean. We thought the bathroom was huge for a hotel in San Francisco. Staff was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Windsor, ON

Rooms are small for the price

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Location and pool
Cons: Room size for price
Location: Walk to the ferry building, walk to the BART which can get you to and from the airport for cheaper than a taxi, walk to the streetcar or cable car.
When we arrived at the hotel and checked into the Queen studio which was really small considering the price per night we paid. I complained and they gave us a $20/night upgrade to a regular sized king room which was really nice and clean. After the upgrade, we really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from OC

2nd stay at Hotel Nikko and will be back!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The climate control in the room is OUTSTANDING! The air conditioning was quiet and made the room so comfortable.
Cons: Better pricing on overnight parking fees for hotel guests
Location: The location is excellent if you like being in Union Square. The walk to the Powell Street turnaround and BART is short and the hotel is surrounded by
My family and I enjoyed our stay here. The location is excellent if you like being in Union Square. The walk to the Powell Street turnaround and BART is short and the hotel is surrounded by a lot of great, high-rated on Yelp restaurants and cafes. We prefer the bigger chain hotels with plush upgrades and amenities as opposed to the old, boutique hotels though. We were lucky to get a great rate through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the city near everything

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Very nice hotel. Good location. Only complaint is small but really bugged me. In order to use the business center you have to use a credit card. If you want to go online and print airline tickets it will cost you. Seems like a cheap move from a classy hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nikko Hotel Just Lovely

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Location: In the heart of Union Square with plenty of shopping and restaurants. Restaurants can be pricey however.
I reserved my room here through Expedia as a VIP+ reservation utilizing Expedia rewards and taking advantage of double value for my points. When I arrived, the room I had reserved, The Nikko Club Room had been sold out, so they upgraded me to a Nikko Floor Suite which was a superb corner suite with a beautiful view of the city. The room was clean and very spacious. The staff was professional and very friendly. They allowed me extra time to check out without charging me, which helped out considering I had just finished running the SF Marathon so the extra time to recoup was much needed. I had mentioned this to them when I checked in and they were very accommodating. I didn't get a chance to try the pool or fitness center, but I did enjoy complimentary continental breakfast which was more than plenty to get me going in the morning. Thank you Hotel Nikko. I will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel in Excellent location downtown San Fran

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Hotel Nikko was very well located close to all major attractions in San Fran. We walked easily to Chinatown, Little Italy and the Ferry Marketplace. Very doable to walk to Fisherman's Wharf in you are in good shape and take the Cable Car back to Union Square. Had a great time. Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Starbucks downstairs was a great plus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scranton, PA

Comfortable room, excellent service, great food!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Clean, modern decor, great food and staff, convenient location.
I was there for three days during an on-site conference. For the conference the staff was excellent, prompt, and professional. The food that was served, prepared on-site, was very very good. Conference facilities were modern, clean and well equipped. From the overnight perspective my room was very spacious. The bathroom was clean, enjoying both a tub and separate shower. Bed was very cozy, slept extremely well. I had a flight delay and arrived much later than they had expected. I was marked for early check-in at noon, but did not arrive until 7:30pm. I was offered a free upgrade from my standard room to a king suite, and was given access to the business class level floor for their Imperial Lounge offering free breakfast and daily happy hour. Needless to say you "won me at Hello". Was a very pleasant surprise after a long day of travel and very generous offer. The next time I find myself in San Francisco I will return to the Nikko Hotel! Great job Nikko family!