Ratings based on 3,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Beautiful property near shopping and restaurants. Conveniently located near the Powell Street BART station. Interior design and room layout was nice. Gorgeous common areas where guests are welcome to linger. Coffee shop next door and indoor pool that is flooded with natural skylights. Nice modern and clean fitness center and there was even a small outdoor deck off the pool area to catch the sunshine and enjoy the skyline view. This hotel had it all and we will return the next time we are in San Fran!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuala lumpur

Good location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: location and efficient
Cons: concierge - lack of knowledge . Housekeeping - requested for utensil to cut fruit. Took long time to come and brought blunt knife without plate.
Location: excellent. BART station and union square
Happy with experience. Receptionist helpful . However evening/weekend concierge needs improvement. Receptionist more knowledgeable .!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Miguel, CA

My stay at Hotel Nikko

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Clean and friendly
Very nice hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bad - you shouldn't have to pay $24.99 for the breakfast buffet for your child when you child eats 3 pieces of cantaloupe and a banana. That's ridiculous. They should have charged for just 1 breakfast buffet, not 2. Bad - you shouldn't pay to pay an extra $20 to be able to use the swimming pool and hot tub. Totally ridiculous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The hotel staff were professional and friendly. The bed was very comfortable! I had a enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your awesome review – we really appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Good hotel central to everything.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Good hotel right near all of the transit lines (BART, MUNI, Cable Cars). I would compare this hotel to a Hilton or other major hotel chain. They charge you for everything such as WIFI and access to the pool and gym BUT I would recommend this over a Hilton. Check in was prompt, staff seemed happy although I asked for almost nothing. The hotel it's self could probably use a little updating especially in the common areas but it was by no means shabby. The rooms are very clean and have a modern touch to them. Great showers even though they spray water a bit on the bathroom floor (I don't care because I'm not the one cleaning it). Major props though to the power toilet though. I can't believe I am saying it but the toilet was the highlight of the hotel. It is basically a toilet with a bidet built into or onto it. Not a normal European bidet mind you but rather a bidet on steroids as only Japanese could imagine or invent. Heated seat, variable pressure, position, water temp, oscillating function, self cleaning type of bidet. I looked this thing up and it retails between $600 and $1000 so the fact this was in a standard queen size room was pretty cool. I stayed on the 20th floor and had a partial view of the Bay Bridge and Tenderloine area. Only complaint was that the hotel pool was undergoing renovations which the atrium pool was the primary reason I booked this hotel (oh and they would have charged a $20 fee to even use it I found out) so we could not use the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear sflover81, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and your check-in process was smooth. However, I’m sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations regarding our pool closure. Unfortunately, we had unexpected maintenance and, for the safety of our guests, had to close it. We do hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Very good stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Everything was great with the exception that the pool was not functional. This was told to is at check in and if we wanted we can swim outdoors at the Hilton. Being the weather was 65 daily, this was not suitable. Yes, the Hilton is heated, but to walk across the street day after day and come out to the cool air was not a good option. They should have either discounted out room or maybe provided free internet, fitness, etc. I paid 70 bucks a day to upgrade for those things. On a positive note, all of the concierge staff were great, especially Desiree. We attended a show at Feinsteins and this was great as well. Check in staff and all others within the hotel were great. Location a plus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Darren, Thank you for taking the time to review us, but I am sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations. We had unexpected maintenance for our pool and, for the safety of our guests, had to close it. I have forwarded your comments regarding our pricing to our management team. We value any feedback we get from our guests -- yours is very much appreciated. I am very glad to hear Desiree took great care of you, she is a valued member of our team! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Got a very good discount from using a reward coupon on this Expedia VIP hotel. The room wasn't ready at 3:00 but they were willing to offer us late check out. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Shaun, Thank you for your review! We are pleased our Front Desk helped accommodate your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip back to San Francisco! Thank you, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Incline Village, NV

The Nikko is in an excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The Hotel Nikko is in an excellent location, the staff were extremely helpful, and the room was well equipped and very comfortable. I was especially happy about the Valet service and door men. I was able to get my car out quickly a couple of times a day, and they always referred to me by name. I was very impressed with the service. When I called the front desk asking if there was a store in the hotel to buy toothpaste, they said they would bring up some at no charge; and it arrived within 5 minutes! The only area that I think could improve; the conference room was too cold several times, and the coffee and hot water ran out quickly without replacement (I realized later that it would have been extra charge for my group to have unlimited supply of these items, but, Really? Is it that expensive for the hotel to just provide this? Most of us also stayed in the hotel, and purchased many extras; dinners, etc) I think this is an area that could use improvement. Otherwise, great experience. Cindy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to review us – 5 stars! We are pleased that you had a splendid time during your stay with us. We take pride in our customer service and we are happy that our Front Desk accommodated your needs, as well as, our Valet service and door men. I have forwarded your comments regarding your conference room experience to our events management team for further review. We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This hotel was very clean and modernized. The location was excellent for walking to shops and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were extremely comfortable. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Wow, 5 stars! Thank you very much for reviewing us. We are pleased to hear that our staff helped accommodate you during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again upon your return to San Francisco! Best regards, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca.

Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of the City.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Upon arriving Hotel Nikko at 11pm on a friday night, valet service kindly greeted us escorted us and our belongings in the right direction. Although $50/day for in and out privileges is a bit pricey, the valet was on time and courteous. Entering the main lobby for check in, the representative (I think his name was Ken), welcomed us into the hotel, made us feel welcome and offered help for our luggage. We told him the reason for stay was for my girlfriends birthday weekend getaway, and he INSTANTLY upgraded our smaller room to a bigger king sized room. The room was clean, room service was quick to respond, bathroom was clean...I could go on and on about how great this hotel was. Not to mention it was in the heart of the city, made driving incredibly easy and quick. China town was within 5 minutes, Golden Gate Bridge was no more than 10-15 min away. All in all, the entire weekend was fabulous and would do it all over again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Marcia Striffeler, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Your 5 star review had made our day – thank you so much! We are thrilled you had a fabulous stay with us and glad that our Front Desk helped accommodate your upgrade. We are proud of our customer service and we strive to give all our guests the best experience possible. We can not wait to see you again soon! Sincerely, Danielle Ortega Marketing Manager