Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing hotel downtown

Posted Sep 25, 2014
We liked everything about this hotel except for one odd issue with its configuration. Our initial room was on the 5th floor which also happens to be where the restaurant and outdoor bar is located. The windows of our room looked right out on the patio, which made opening the curtains impractical. Additionally, the noise in the evening was unacceptably loud. We asked to be moved to another room and were accommodated cheerfully. The new room was just fine and very quiet. So, fine hotel, just don't accept a room on the 5th floor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great San Francisco trip

Posted Sep 25, 2014
The service at this hotel is the best we have experienced in years and we travel all the time. From check in to car retrieval, everything. The room was very clean, comfortable. We had two issues and one was fixed immediately, that being a slow drain in the bathroom. The other was that a fan didn't work in the bathroom and after a shower, it took a while for it to dry out. Other than that, it's a great place to stay. Location is perfect for both downtown SF as well as walking south of Mission.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Another fine Kimpton hotel this one by the Bay!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities including a bar and restaurant, staff treatment, and the total experience "feel."
Cons: Housekeeping did not service our room the first day, but a staffer immediately came up to "freshen up" the room when we called to complain.
Location: Right south of Market on 4th St. Very convenient to public transport, shopping, and walking to Union Square (and up to Nob Hill if you wish).
This hotel's location in SF is excellent. The d├ęcor in both public spaces and in our room is imaginative and fun. The staff members we encountered were professional and inviting. We were treated to a small cheese tray and a bottle of wine upon arrival for a three-night stay. We will likely stay here again when returning to San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

Nice location, fabulous staff

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The staff, and the nice rooms.
Cons: I would like better lighting in the bathrooms, but most hotels don't have very good lighting there for some reason.
Location: Located near the Powell train/cable car station. Easy to get there from the airpot. Right in the middle of some great shopping as well.
This hotel had the nicest staff I have EVER encountered.. they were extremely kind, actually got us a gift to celebrate the reason we were there.. very very helpful to us as tourists, it was great! I will only stay here when I come to San Francisco again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indonesia

The perfect location for easy access to places

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: House Keeping Requests
Location: Yerba Buena Garden, Union Squares.
I booked this hotel because of its perfect location: Next to Market Street, 1 minute walking distance from BART and 5 minutes walking to Union Square. When we arrived at the hotel, we checked in very easily. They have prepared for our arrival. We didn't expect so much from the hotel, except a clean and easy accessible hotel. With their limited person, do not submit a late night House Keeping Request. They might not be able to quickly respond to your request. We requested for a water kettle at 9.00 pm, it never showed up. We requested it again the following day at 4.00 pm and had to call twice to get the request done. If I had a chance to go back to SFO, I am thinking about staying in this hotel again. I would recommend this hotel for those who look for a hotel with a lot of access to places: meals, tourist attraction, and shopping. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach

Noisy restaurant in the atrium

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Market Street location is central to Union Sq and many fine restaurants
Location: all visitors to SFO will be struck by the odors of human waste on the streets. It's a shame that so many suffer homelessness, mental illness
We'd stayed before and loved it, but a new restaurant on the 5th floor - in the atrium- made too much noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location great. Maverick a homey welcoming touch
Cons: Cocktail and wine hour could be later in the evening.
Excellent location, close to everything, but not in the hustle and bustle of Union square.Loved Mel's drive in diner! Will definitely return. Looking forward to checking out the kids' package and cuddle time with Mzverick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Great for shoppers

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Great: location Disappointed: shower only, no bathtub Surprised: housekeeping after 4pm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
for the money , it is a rip off. No room service , other than breakfas, restaurant not open, no continental breakfast, no refrigerator for personal use, etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. I value your feedback and will review with the leadership team to improve our service offerings in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Nice location near union square and stores.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Hotel was really nice overall, stayed on the 5th floor in room 529. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The only problem was some sort of rattling in the wall kept us awake for an hour or so. It sounded like a hot water pipe rattling in the wall right behind the head board. As someone above or next to our room was using hot water. We called the front desk, and someone quickly responded and said they'd look into it. Looking into it didn't quite get us a good night sleep, but other than that it was an alright experience and I would recommend this hotel as long as this issue isn't a common one in other rooms.