Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Centrally located

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Location: This hotel is walking distance to shopping, great restaurants, Chinatown, BART.
This hotel feels like a private club. The staff is gracious and accommodating. The happy hour wine service allows guests to mingle in the lobby with a nice glass (or two) of wine. The restaurant/bar on the 5th floor is elegant yet cozy. Definitely staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Good location. Another nice Kimpton. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Was centrally located downtown near everything , the BART is on the corner the metreon on the other corner union square , and barcadero very close
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Süddeutschland

Schönes, zentrales Hotel. Leider zu viel laut!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Service und Sauberkeit
Cons: Keine Zimmer in der Nähe der über dem Restaurant & bar vermieten !
Location: Zentral in SFO
Sauberes und gut eingerichtetes Hotel mit sehr freundlichem und zuvorkommenden Personal. Kleine Lobby im Erdgeschoss, Hotel ab Stockwerk 5. Restaurant und Bar sind im 5. Stock und genau da liegt das Problem. Die Zimmer die nicht zur Marketstreet liegen sind voll in deren Geräuschpegel. Abends denkt man dass man direkt im der Bar liegt statt im Bett (Man hört jeden einzelnen Drink der gemixt und eingeschenkt wird!). Letzter Drink zum Verkauf offiziell um 23:00h. Morgens ab 4:30h wird dann mit Getöse das ganze aufgeräumt und zum Frühstück hergerichtet, Auch hier wieder Lärm und an Schlaf kaum zu denken. Schade, leider nicht zu empfehlen. wenn Kimpton in SFO , dann Argonaut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redlands, Ca.

April showers in San Francisco

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The hotel has nice amenities and is very friendly. The complementary coffee in the morning & wine bar in the evening is a nice touch.
Cons: The refreshments; coffee & wine bar are in the lobby is quite small and can get very crowded. Slippers in the room would be nice.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to the trolley cars, shopping on Market Street , Union Square and resturants.
This was the first time I stayed at this hotel. I was able to take the Bart from the airport to the Powell Station and walk a short distance to the hotel. Since it was raining when I arrived, the closeness to the Bart Station made the challenge easy. There is an umbrella in the room, which came in very handy during my stay. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.The hotel room was average in size compared to other hotel rooms that I have stayed at in this city.There is a card in the room that states" if you forgot it ,we have it"; toothpaste, toothbrush, razor, shave cream, electronic chargers etc. the list is extensive. There are plush terrycloth robes in the room for guests to enjoy. The hotel also offers complementary coffee & tea in the morning and a wine bar from 5:00 pm- 6:00pm in the evening. This hotel has created a very pleasant environment for their guests. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset, England

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfort of bed and quiet room
Cons: Information to guests
Always difficult to judge from websites or prior reviews we were not disappointed by fairly random choice. This hotel is in the perfect location; close to the Bart transport, so easy from the airport, close to the traditional tram ride and walking distance to many of the city highlights. Staff were very helpful, especially when we wanted to hire a car for a trip out of the city. Only reservation was the lack of information in the room about dining, bike hire and morning run,for example, all of which we learned from eavesdropping on othe guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newport, South Wales

Conveniently located hotel in San Francisco

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Apart from the above, the wine tasting in reception each day at 17.00.
Cons: The Dirty Habit restaurant - price of wine is extortionate. Portions of food are far too small for the prices charged.
Location: $35 for a 48 hour ticket from Union Square to hop on and off a double decker tour bus. Like craft beer? Visit Mikkeller Bar on Mason Street.
Only a few doors from Market Street and a couple of blocks from the cable car terminus, this hotel is very conveniently located for exploring San Francisco. Reception staff are friendly and helpful as are the door staff. Cleaning staff are cheerful and do an excellent job. Wait staff in the restaurant are friendly and efficient and although more expensive than in diners nearby, breakfast is reasonably priced and plentiful. Our room was big enough for the two of us with a huge and very comfortable bed. Curtains effectively kept the light out and helped us get a good night's sleep. Being on the ninth floor there was little or no outside noise. Be sure to ask at reception for a map of the city. It will be bigger and better than those found in any small guidebook.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

We were treated like royalty

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Kudos to Justin, Omar and the rest of the staff who made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived until the minute we said our goodbyes. The hotel was classy, clean, and comfortable. But the thing we liked best was how well we were treated by the staff. These are not young people who are annoyed by having to deal with people. They offered smiles, conversation, and helpful advice for dining, activities, and transportation options. Top notch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Location is right next to a VERY busy Market Street. This could be a good or a bad thing, depending on what you want. The hotel is pretty nice, but the rooms are very plain. Nothing special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for joining us and for the positive review. Indeed we are in the heart of it all here in San Francisco. Just steps from the historic cable car turnaround, world class shopping and a vibrant dining and arts scene. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MF, Sunnyvale, CA

Nice hotel but...

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Mattress a bit too soft. They only had double beds, no queens. Dirty cup and spoon under the bed Had to request twice supplementary pillows as they did not bring them the first time. Otherwise, it was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for joining us and for your valuable feedback. I will work with the housekeeping team on improving our service. We look forward to seeing you back soon.