Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim from Los Angeles

Old SF building tries hard but not hard enough

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff acts more like this is a rooming house where I should have felt grateful to have a room, not at all like it was a lovely hotel in San Francisco. The dated furniture in my room, the lack of a functional heating system, stuck windows, and an overall semi-grunge feel make me say that I could do better next time I need a suite at a nicer hotel in SF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by winegal from Paso Robles, CA

Close to Union Square

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The location to Union Square, the cleanliness, the staff and the safety factor. All good.
Location: Near Union Square. We also walked to the Ferry Bldg. from the hotel. Chinatown is just a few blocks away. There is a fun night walking tour there.
I had a 3 night stay and Hotel Rex. It is so close to Union Square. There are several restaurants within the block, a Starbucks, and 7-11, etc.The staff is very considerate and helpful. Nice bar with music, happy hour and a short menu for small bites. The room (I had a queen). It felt roomy and very clean. I felt very safe there. Noise (from rooms on side or above) was not an issue. You do get street noise, of course, as you are in the city! Very nice hotel and would go back.
3 out of 5
by Lance from Winnipeg

Great location. Character hotel

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Morning coffee, comfy beds.
Cons: Better windows to reduce road noise.
Location: Close to cable cars, Union square, restaurants and bars. Walgreens very close by.
This hotel was well maintained and clean considering the age of the hotel. The rooms were small (as we had anticipated) but nicely decorated. We were located in the front of the hotel and the street noise was very loud. The staff said they could move us to a room near the back of the hotel the next day if we wanted but decided not to move as we were already settled. The staff was courteous, the location was convenient (1 block from the cable cars) and we took advantage of the complimentary coffee in the morning and glass of wine in the evening. We thought there was suppose to be a concierge service but never saw one during the 4 nights we were there. All in all a satisfactory hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the center of San Francisco.

Posted May 12, 2014
Small hotel with all amenities and proximity to downtown San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DerekB from Hudson, Quebec, Canada

Hotel in the heart of the Nob Hill district

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a few blocks from Union Square, and central to many of the public transportation lines, making it very easy to get to most of the must-see sites. If you are walking, ask the front desk what streets to avoid though, as some can be a little rougher than others. A car is not required nor recommended, as parking in the city is far from cheap and driving a challenge. If you do have a car, they have a valet parking service, and parking fees are extra. The staff were very welcoming, and offered knowledgeable help whenever we needed it. The room was a little on the smaller side, but comfortable with full amenities. D├ęcor in the room and hotel is on the funky fun side, which added to the boutique feel. The room has air conditioning (not all in San Francisco do), and we needed it as we experienced some very hot days for that area. The air conditioner was somewhat noisy though, so we were glad we didn't have to use it too often. Note as well that the elevator is tiny and possibly the slowest and smallest I have ever experienced. Unless you plan on walking the stairs, be prepared to settle down for a wait. Lobby and dining/bar area has a library feel, which was fun. Movies are shown on Monday night and there is live music on Saturday. Dinner menu in the restaurant is somewhat limited, but there are literally thousands of restaurants in San Francisco to choose from. Aside from inconvenience of the elevator, we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Rex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to public transportation and many place

Posted May 8, 2014
The manager was extremely helpful. We liked the cocktail hour; a chance to meet other people, the breakfasts were expensive, good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael from Lincoln, RI

Served Our Needs

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel served our needs. The people at the front desk were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicole

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Excellent location (minutes from Union Square) Comfortable modern rooms Cute balcony Cons: Hotel staff was just okay Get your walking shoes ready (the hills)