Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aliso Viejo, CA

Nice old-fashioned hotel, in a good area of SF !!!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Nice front reception staff, nice bar, nice but small rooms, and overall, a very good hotel indeed.
Cons: The valet is a 3rd party valet, and they charge $42 per day, so enough said !
Location: The location is close to many restaurants and shops, including Union Square, so I would say it is a great place to stay if you wanna walk a lot.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Rex, the staff were nice, the rooms were a bit small, but that is SF for you anyway but overall, I give them a solid B+ !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma County

Friendly Staff made us feel Like VIPs...

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: I like the literary theme and very close to Union Square and many nice places to eat including the Starlight Room.
Cons: a little noisey; could hear street sounds; If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room not close to the street.
Location: Close to Union Square, the famous Starlight Room; cable cars, The mall. Very quaint neighborhood. felt very comfortable walking at night.
We were warmly welcomed by all the staff; they made us feel like VIP's. My husband and I will stay here again, but will make sure we ask more questions next time. Parking is $47 a night. did not find out until it appeared on my bank statement the day after we checked out; if you are a light sleeper, make sure you ask for a room not facing the street; our room faced the sun so it was like an oven in the afternoon and warm that night. But it is still very charming and we loved the literary theme. As I stated, the staff is very nice and despite the miscommunication in the parking, we will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff, but not great

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: great location, quiet room, reasonable rates
This is a nice hotel, but some things detracted from the experience: 1. light bulbs that didn't work 2. tv remote with dead battery 3. broken elevator 4. if you post the "green" card outside the door (meaning don't change linens etc.), the staff don't make the bed, empty the trash or anything. Food trash, etc. were left from the day before. I travel a lot and have never seen this policy in any hotel - it makes no sense. Taking out the trash and tidying up is not a matter of "greenness", it is basic sanitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Nice hotel, except some staff

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: charming, nice lobby bar
Cons: Friendlier, more prepared and professional staff after 5pm.
Location: Very convenient to Union Square, but know that the area is a little rough.
Small but charming room. Less than comfortable bathroom, but thats pretty normal for the older buildings in the heart of SF. My only complaint is the lack of after-hours staff availability and professionalism. A bartender was incredibly rude to me, and when I asked to speak to a manager, they said there was none available. They eventually called the manager to have him speak with me, but after the front desk clerk hung up the phone, he said that the manager didn't want to talk with me. How can you not have any sort of management available after 5pm? Not even via a 1-800 number?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Holiday Getaway

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location and lobby bar.
Cons: Late nite noise due to nite club next door.
Location: Location near Union square was great for shopping and restaurants.
Perfect location for holiday weekend, that is close to shopping, restaurants, and nite life. Accomodations were great, with friday nite jazz combo playing in the lobby bar. Rooms are a little small, but cozy and very comfortable. Staff were very customer friendly and helpful. Our trip was worth staying here, and we will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel near Union square

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great location, lots of character, helpful staff
Really appreciated the ambience of this old-style hotel, close to the downtown highlights of San Fran
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Very nice hotel at a great location!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Highly recommend! Our room was clean and comfortable. The design of the boutique hotel creates a warm feeling and very conveniently located near union square. There's complimentary drinks for hotel guests too, great for taking a quick break!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Excellent location and appealing experience.

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Low key ; warm.
Cons: Like as is.
Location: Central.
Excellent location and appealing experience and aura. Bar/lounge enhance overall atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milano

A week-end in SF

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Position, people
Cons: Some more maintenance
Nice position close to Union square and shopping. I stay there quite well and personnel have been kind and available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Staff was polite and professional at all times. All my questions were answered and were acurate upon arrival. Thank you for the pleasent stay, I will be staying here on my next visit