Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Homely, clean and friendly staff. Location is perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rocky from New Delhi

Lovely hotel at gr8 location.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Hotel with character. Our family of 4 really enjoyed the stay. In the heart of sfo, close to everything. Excellent staff, always warm and welcoming. Only drawback-they do not serve breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays. But top reccomended hotel. Thanx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the bar.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Catch a cable car down Powell street.
We really enjoyed hotel Rex, it has a lovely Library Bar that is warm and inviting. Lovely barman always there to please. There is a nice selection of snacks that you can get from the bar. We had breakfast one morning but didn't think much of the service or the food so found alternative spots. Breakfast was not included in the tariff. The staff on the desk were great and so helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve

Great hotel, excellent staff (mostly), noisy

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Lovely period features and relaxed vibe, staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.
Cons: Tea/coffee facilities in the room would be welcome, breakfast staff need hospitality training
Location: Ideal location for Union Square and trams to fisherman's wharf. Excellent veggie/vegan restaurant Millenium nearby, will convert any carnivore.
I'll start by saying that our room was at the front of the hotel, which obviously has a bearing on the amount of noise you're likely to get. I'll also point out that the staff offered to move us to a different room on our second night as no others were available at check-in - we didn't bother to move as we'd already unpacked. I'm a heavy sleeper but I struggled to sleep in our room. The windows are very old sashes that do little to block out noise, especially when it doesn't shut fully, and Sutter St is active 24/7. Our room's AC unit was broken and San Francisco was experiencing a heatwave - we were given a fan to move the hot air around. Thankfully it cooled down a lot after the first night and we didn't even need the fan. The hotel itself is lovely. Our room felt more like a French B&B than a city hotel, with period features and vintage furniture. The fridge was useful, though it didn't have tea/coffee facilities so we bought a cheap kettle. Something that we liked was a $5 voucher if you pass up house-keeping for the day. We don't understand the need for fresh towels every day so racked up a healthy discount at the bar by the end of the stay. The staff were incredibly helpful, I really couldn't praise them enough....with one exception. Unfortunately the breakfast staff were quite rude. One gentleman in particular had his eyes and finger glued to his phone from the moment we entered to the time we left, even looking at the screen while pouring coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Nice boutique hotel, near Union Square (Downtown)

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: I loved the service. I loved the decor - besides books lining the lobby and lounge walls, I love the quotes on the wall. I loved its location.
Location: Just off Powell Street and the cable car lines, and 2 blocks from Union Square, the central location is great for someone wanting to discover SF.
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in May. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the right choice. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The "book" theme of the hotel made it feel really homey. The rooms are a little small, but absolutely spotless. The hotel restaurant serves amazing breakfast - the eggs Benedict were to die for, but then everything was really good. The 5:00 - 6:00 pm complementary drink in the lounge was most appreciated! The rooms can be on the warm side, so if you prefer to sleep in a cooler room, ask for one with A/C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Maryland

1907 boutique hotel near Union Square

Posted May 27, 2014
if you want the charm of a boutique hotel rather than the standard chain hotel this is the place for you. Excellent location and a friendly helpful staff, I would definitely stay here again but would ask for a room that was not facing the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim from Los Angeles

Old SF building tries hard but not hard enough

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff acts more like this is a rooming house where I should have felt grateful to have a room, not at all like it was a lovely hotel in San Francisco. The dated furniture in my room, the lack of a functional heating system, stuck windows, and an overall semi-grunge feel make me say that I could do better next time I need a suite at a nicer hotel in SF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by winegal from Paso Robles, CA

Close to Union Square

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The location to Union Square, the cleanliness, the staff and the safety factor. All good.
Location: Near Union Square. We also walked to the Ferry Bldg. from the hotel. Chinatown is just a few blocks away. There is a fun night walking tour there.
I had a 3 night stay and Hotel Rex. It is so close to Union Square. There are several restaurants within the block, a Starbucks, and 7-11, etc.The staff is very considerate and helpful. Nice bar with music, happy hour and a short menu for small bites. The room (I had a queen). It felt roomy and very clean. I felt very safe there. Noise (from rooms on side or above) was not an issue. You do get street noise, of course, as you are in the city! Very nice hotel and would go back.