Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Quirky hotel, fantastic location, expensive

Posted May 18, 2015
The location couldn't have been better for getting the most out of San Francisco. The hotel itself had OK food, was clean and had a decent room size. The staff were excellent, but the fun part was the bar and the incredibly fun and characterful bar staff (especially Mac!), helped somewhat by 'wine hour' when guests congregated for a free drink and inevitably got chatting. I wouldn't need a hotel with better facilities, but I'd prefer to pay less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Very quaint hotel with attentive staff and perfect location.
Location: Great location. Right in the heart of everything...shopping, food, and short walk to Chinatown or Financial District.
The Rex Hotel is a very nice hotel if you like something quaint with a historic feel. It was very close to good shopping, Nob Hill and Chinatown. The staff were very nice and i would stay there anytime. It is a safe location within 1 block of cable cars and public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet boutique hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Comfortable room, relaxing period foyer and very competitive price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: It was a fairly big room for SF and the staff was very welcoming and kind.
Cons: There was a limited array of soap? Perhaps I am spoiled by chain hotels, but there was very little soap...
This hotel is a great place to go if you have the intention of walking everywhere that you want to go in SF. The central location is perfect and there are plenty of great restaurants right around it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cali

Nice place in good location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Older building with somevold building quirks. Those quirks fit with the ambiance. I really enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Location: great location at Union Square
Hotel is ideally located. There is complimentary wine and beer in the lobby bar from 5 PM-6PM each evening, and complimentary coffee in the lobby bar from 5 AM-10 AM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun place close to Union Square

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, location, the Library Bar, comfortable room
Cons: I wish it had an in room coffeemaker, but there is free coffee in the bar in the morning, so it's not that big a deal.
Location: One and a half blocks up the hill from Union Square, there's shopping, restaurants, and access to all public transportation.
This was our second stay at the hotel. We enjoy the early 20th century charm of the decor in the common areas, Library Bar, and the rooms. We appreciate the free glass of wine in the early evening, and the coffee in the morning. The Library Bar is a mellow place to hang out and chat after a busy day in the city. The hotel is very convenient to anywhere in the city you want to go, only about one and a half blocks from Union Square. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Good location, friendly staff, offered a light room but a bit noisy or a dark room but a bit quieter, shame there was no bright and quiet option
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Needs updated

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The staff and location were great but this is a very old hotel that needs a thorough cleaning.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Cute place, but average amenities

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Cute, Charming decor, cozy (kind of felt like a bed and breakfast, sans the breakfast).
Cons: Room was too hot (and it was cool weather outside). Coffee in the rooms? In a competitive hotel neighborhood, perks go a long way.
Location: Union Square is a 2 minute walk away. There's tons of bars, shops and restaurants very nearby.
This place is cute with lots of character. The front desk woman was extremely helpful in arranging airport transport, offering late check out, and recommending places to go. The rooms are small and dated (part of the character I guess), and it was very warm in the room (even with heat off/AC on) and the terrifyingly loud hotel fire alarm went off at 12:15am, waking up most guests and sending us down 6+ flights of stairs in PJs. The man at front desk was a bit rude about it just being a false alarm and sent us back up and it went off again a few mins later. That was a bit rough, having to work early in the morn, but at least an apology about it the next day or something complimentary would have been nice and helped smooth it over. We chose this hotel bc the price was lowest for that neighborhood and it had good reviews--unfortunately, I'm not sure I'd stay here again.