Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Nice hotel, except some staff

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: charming, nice lobby bar
Cons: Friendlier, more prepared and professional staff after 5pm.
Location: Very convenient to Union Square, but know that the area is a little rough.
Small but charming room. Less than comfortable bathroom, but thats pretty normal for the older buildings in the heart of SF. My only complaint is the lack of after-hours staff availability and professionalism. A bartender was incredibly rude to me, and when I asked to speak to a manager, they said there was none available. They eventually called the manager to have him speak with me, but after the front desk clerk hung up the phone, he said that the manager didn't want to talk with me. How can you not have any sort of management available after 5pm? Not even via a 1-800 number?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Holiday Getaway

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location and lobby bar.
Cons: Late nite noise due to nite club next door.
Location: Location near Union square was great for shopping and restaurants.
Perfect location for holiday weekend, that is close to shopping, restaurants, and nite life. Accomodations were great, with friday nite jazz combo playing in the lobby bar. Rooms are a little small, but cozy and very comfortable. Staff were very customer friendly and helpful. Our trip was worth staying here, and we will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel near Union square

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great location, lots of character, helpful staff
Really appreciated the ambience of this old-style hotel, close to the downtown highlights of San Fran
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Very nice hotel at a great location!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Highly recommend! Our room was clean and comfortable. The design of the boutique hotel creates a warm feeling and very conveniently located near union square. There's complimentary drinks for hotel guests too, great for taking a quick break!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Excellent location and appealing experience.

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Low key ; warm.
Cons: Like as is.
Location: Central.
Excellent location and appealing experience and aura. Bar/lounge enhance overall atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milano

A week-end in SF

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Position, people
Cons: Some more maintenance
Nice position close to Union square and shopping. I stay there quite well and personnel have been kind and available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Staff was polite and professional at all times. All my questions were answered and were acurate upon arrival. Thank you for the pleasent stay, I will be staying here on my next visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice old school boutique hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Hotel Bar, staff
Cons: bar could stay open later
Location: 2 blocks to Union Square and cable cars
I stayed here for 3 nights while in SF on business recently. Very friendly and helpful front desk and maid service. I really enjoyed evening cocktails in the hotel bar. The bartender was a class act and very friendly and fun to talk to. Room was on the 7th floor facing the street at my request. Hotel is older so don't expect state of the art anything other than the flat screen TV. I loved it. Lots of charm!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hippy chic

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Artsy. Old. Small room. Window AC had no control except unplugging it. Close to bus, etc. Wouldn't go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Great Boutique Hotel close to Union Square

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Wonderful decor, service impeccable. Food very tasty, small menu but awesome. Rooms very nice for city boutique hotel. Within walking distance of nearly everything! Hotel management sent a bottle of wine to out room!