Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable hotel close to Union Square.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Because of its close proximity to restaurants and shopping around Union Square.
Perfect for an affordable getaway. Staff is very polite and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The proximity to everything. We let the valet park the car and didn't use it for the rest of the night. Amazingly close.
Cons: Just a heads up that some rooms do not have A/C. We did not need it since it's January.
Location: Union Square, plenty of food choices, great shopping, and fun bars.
The wife and I were looking for a place close to Union Square and we found it here. It was about a minute walk to the middle of Union Square. The staff at the hotel was great. They were all very nice and pleasant to deal with. The rooms were a bit small but had a comfy bed and that's all we needed for our one night getaway. We stayed on the street side and while some reviewers on here complained about the noise we didn't wake up once in the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
I stayed here with my daughter to share a great night of comedy with Joel McHale at Cobb's Comedy Club. The hotel location is super convenient and the room was lovely and comfortable. We were really only there for sleeping, so not much more to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Great value next to union square.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The staff was wonderful, pleasant and not autocratic. It was a refreshing change from the staff at other branded hotels I've stayed at. Our room wasn't ready at check in but other than that couldn't complain. Free coffee and wine in the library study was a very nice plus. The hotel was right off the cable car line and the Powell street Bart station. The hotel facilities were older but that was due to the hotel buliding being an older one. It really was a charming hotel but it was the staff that made all the difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom roma

Tipico Originale

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Piccolo Tipico Originale Pochi passi dal Centro Personale disponibile Pulito
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Very good! But I can hear some unusual noise in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff , cozy, charming

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Great staff, charming hotel, walking distance to union square, rooms are small but clean ... Very artsy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aliso Viejo, CA

Nice old-fashioned hotel, in a good area of SF !!!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Nice front reception staff, nice bar, nice but small rooms, and overall, a very good hotel indeed.
Cons: The valet is a 3rd party valet, and they charge $42 per day, so enough said !
Location: The location is close to many restaurants and shops, including Union Square, so I would say it is a great place to stay if you wanna walk a lot.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Rex, the staff were nice, the rooms were a bit small, but that is SF for you anyway but overall, I give them a solid B+ !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma County

Friendly Staff made us feel Like VIPs...

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: I like the literary theme and very close to Union Square and many nice places to eat including the Starlight Room.
Cons: a little noisey; could hear street sounds; If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room not close to the street.
Location: Close to Union Square, the famous Starlight Room; cable cars, The mall. Very quaint neighborhood. felt very comfortable walking at night.
We were warmly welcomed by all the staff; they made us feel like VIP's. My husband and I will stay here again, but will make sure we ask more questions next time. Parking is $47 a night. did not find out until it appeared on my bank statement the day after we checked out; if you are a light sleeper, make sure you ask for a room not facing the street; our room faced the sun so it was like an oven in the afternoon and warm that night. But it is still very charming and we loved the literary theme. As I stated, the staff is very nice and despite the miscommunication in the parking, we will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice staff, but not great

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: great location, quiet room, reasonable rates
This is a nice hotel, but some things detracted from the experience: 1. light bulbs that didn't work 2. tv remote with dead battery 3. broken elevator 4. if you post the "green" card outside the door (meaning don't change linens etc.), the staff don't make the bed, empty the trash or anything. Food trash, etc. were left from the day before. I travel a lot and have never seen this policy in any hotel - it makes no sense. Taking out the trash and tidying up is not a matter of "greenness", it is basic sanitation.