Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Location: great location at Union Square
Hotel is ideally located. There is complimentary wine and beer in the lobby bar from 5 PM-6PM each evening, and complimentary coffee in the lobby bar from 5 AM-10 AM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun place close to Union Square

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, location, the Library Bar, comfortable room
Cons: I wish it had an in room coffeemaker, but there is free coffee in the bar in the morning, so it's not that big a deal.
Location: One and a half blocks up the hill from Union Square, there's shopping, restaurants, and access to all public transportation.
This was our second stay at the hotel. We enjoy the early 20th century charm of the decor in the common areas, Library Bar, and the rooms. We appreciate the free glass of wine in the early evening, and the coffee in the morning. The Library Bar is a mellow place to hang out and chat after a busy day in the city. The hotel is very convenient to anywhere in the city you want to go, only about one and a half blocks from Union Square. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Good location, friendly staff, offered a light room but a bit noisy or a dark room but a bit quieter, shame there was no bright and quiet option
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Needs updated

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The staff and location were great but this is a very old hotel that needs a thorough cleaning.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Cute place, but average amenities

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Cute, Charming decor, cozy (kind of felt like a bed and breakfast, sans the breakfast).
Cons: Room was too hot (and it was cool weather outside). Coffee in the rooms? In a competitive hotel neighborhood, perks go a long way.
Location: Union Square is a 2 minute walk away. There's tons of bars, shops and restaurants very nearby.
This place is cute with lots of character. The front desk woman was extremely helpful in arranging airport transport, offering late check out, and recommending places to go. The rooms are small and dated (part of the character I guess), and it was very warm in the room (even with heat off/AC on) and the terrifyingly loud hotel fire alarm went off at 12:15am, waking up most guests and sending us down 6+ flights of stairs in PJs. The man at front desk was a bit rude about it just being a false alarm and sent us back up and it went off again a few mins later. That was a bit rough, having to work early in the morn, but at least an apology about it the next day or something complimentary would have been nice and helped smooth it over. We chose this hotel bc the price was lowest for that neighborhood and it had good reviews--unfortunately, I'm not sure I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angrles Ca

Boutique Hotel Experience

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Staff very nice and helpful! Nice little bar area with wine on arrival. Place to sit and visit . Room nice clean and comfortable bed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Staff were excellent and location was perfect.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The hotel was in an excellent location and the staff were terrific and informed. The hotel bar/library was fantastic and the place was charming. Would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Quite outdated, room is small, some mold smell on 5th floor, air conditioning noise, not sure if this hotel is good for family with kids. However staff is pleasing, location is excellent, food/drinks in a bar is very good. I should note complimentary glass of good quality wine at 5-6 PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

Loved this hotel!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The staff we're very friendly, attentive and helpful.
The literary/library theme was charming. Unique. The room was nicely decorated and clean. Bathroom too. Loved the location - just two blocks off Union Square. If you like smaller, boutique hotels this was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good for convention

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful
Location: Many restaurants near by. Sears Fine foods for breakfast and Scala's for dinner are good choices.
Reasonably close to the Moscone convention center. Older hotel, with small elevator but with a terrific staff. It is a city hotel.