Ratings based on 939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 29, 2015
A very warm welcome & attended to our needs & questions promptly. The 5pm complimentary wine in the library bar was a great experience . The barman was most hospitable & was great to talk wine with .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to Union Square

Posted Jul 29, 2015
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! Re hotel is comfortable and clean and close to both Union Square, Market Street, and Chinstown. In other words it's a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience for a short stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015
My husband and I were only in this hotel for two days but it was a good experience with very helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent position

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Everything is very handy
A wonderful location near Union Square and transport. A quiet, peaceful and friendly hotel with helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Well Priced and in the heart of the city

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Convenient location and hotel staff
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Union Square is nearby but you're in San Francisco! And if you've forgotten anything there's a Walgreens on the corner within 50 feet
This is a nice hotel option - well priced, perfectly located a few blocks from Union Square, easy to get a cab. The hotel staff are genuinely friendly people - welcoming and accommodating. I will stay at Hotel Rex again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

good location but....

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Good location and clean hotel. But some of hotel staff wasn't nice. I asked how to go fisherman's warf and he said take the cable car or bus. I KNOW THAT. But from where? He wasn't that informative, no smile, and I wasn't comfortable to ask more question. Not good for international visitor.. Not that friendly hotel as mentioned in review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely character hotel just off Union Square

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Older hotel with interesting decor which made a lovely change from generic hotel rooms. Very helpful, friendly staff. Our room was quiet but the location was really central so we could easily access the tourist spots and public transport. Great staff too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Lovely, clean hotel with pleasant and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel with some foibles

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Centrally located, friendly staff, rooms with character, and quiet.
Cons: Fix the bathroom so that the toilet seat stays up.
Location: Centrally located to Union Square, Financial District, Chinatown and North Beach.
Overall my experience staying at this hotel was good. Its was clean, the rooms had character, and it was a comfortable place to stay. I did take issue with the fact that the toilet seat did not stay up in my room however. It was pretty annoying and would make me think twice about staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice downtown hotel with unique charm.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Awesome hotel. The staff was amazing, especially Jeff at the front desk who was extra helpful. The rooms are clean and quaint. If you plan on sitting in your room 26 hours a day, it might feel a little small. But if you want a comfortable place to sleep and be close to everything, this place is it.