Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angrles Ca

Boutique Hotel Experience

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Staff very nice and helpful! Nice little bar area with wine on arrival. Place to sit and visit . Room nice clean and comfortable bed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Staff were excellent and location was perfect.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The hotel was in an excellent location and the staff were terrific and informed. The hotel bar/library was fantastic and the place was charming. Would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Quite outdated, room is small, some mold smell on 5th floor, air conditioning noise, not sure if this hotel is good for family with kids. However staff is pleasing, location is excellent, food/drinks in a bar is very good. I should note complimentary glass of good quality wine at 5-6 PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

Loved this hotel!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The staff we're very friendly, attentive and helpful.
The literary/library theme was charming. Unique. The room was nicely decorated and clean. Bathroom too. Loved the location - just two blocks off Union Square. If you like smaller, boutique hotels this was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good for convention

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful
Location: Many restaurants near by. Sears Fine foods for breakfast and Scala's for dinner are good choices.
Reasonably close to the Moscone convention center. Older hotel, with small elevator but with a terrific staff. It is a city hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable hotel close to Union Square.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Because of its close proximity to restaurants and shopping around Union Square.
Perfect for an affordable getaway. Staff is very polite and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The proximity to everything. We let the valet park the car and didn't use it for the rest of the night. Amazingly close.
Cons: Just a heads up that some rooms do not have A/C. We did not need it since it's January.
Location: Union Square, plenty of food choices, great shopping, and fun bars.
The wife and I were looking for a place close to Union Square and we found it here. It was about a minute walk to the middle of Union Square. The staff at the hotel was great. They were all very nice and pleasant to deal with. The rooms were a bit small but had a comfy bed and that's all we needed for our one night getaway. We stayed on the street side and while some reviewers on here complained about the noise we didn't wake up once in the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
I stayed here with my daughter to share a great night of comedy with Joel McHale at Cobb's Comedy Club. The hotel location is super convenient and the room was lovely and comfortable. We were really only there for sleeping, so not much more to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Great value next to union square.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The staff was wonderful, pleasant and not autocratic. It was a refreshing change from the staff at other branded hotels I've stayed at. Our room wasn't ready at check in but other than that couldn't complain. Free coffee and wine in the library study was a very nice plus. The hotel was right off the cable car line and the Powell street Bart station. The hotel facilities were older but that was due to the hotel buliding being an older one. It really was a charming hotel but it was the staff that made all the difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom roma

Tipico Originale

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Piccolo Tipico Originale Pochi passi dal Centro Personale disponibile Pulito