Ratings based on 1,463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not impressive

Posted Jan 9, 2015
I will stay somewhere else next time. There are nicer places, I am sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa, CA

Decent place for a great price

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The price and that it was very clean and quiet.
Cons: The lobby needs some spiffing. Nothing major, it just looks like things are getting a little worn.
I was there more for business than pleasure - even though I stayed over on a Saturday night. On entering the lobby, I was a little worried I'd made a mistake. It was okay, but much smaller and a little more run down than on the pictures on their site (I am really picky). I was very pleased with the rooms, however. They were very clean and everything was in really good shape. I got the place for a steal - so I was a little worried that I might have made a big mistake. Not so! I was able to check in via my phone and request a quiet room not overlooking rooftops. They put me in a very quiet room that overlooked a courtyard. I would stay there again next time I want to be in Japantown. This place was proof that sometimes you get way more than you pay for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Quick overnight stay with the kids

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Staff awareness of participating programs.
Location: Japantown and Fillmore street are very close. We were able to walk to Union Square in about 30 easy minutes
Overall a good value. NIce location with easy parking relative to the rest of the city. Unique decor, pleasant staff, nice rooms. Be aware that the staff has no idea what the Expedia VIP+ program is and if the hotel is a participant in the program despite what it says on the Expedia website. So, don't base your decision on that factor. I was eventually told that we had been upgraded, but in reality there was no upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2014
overnight stay after company xmas party, very nice room... altough I paid for king bed and we got a queen... we were so tired didn't have desire to complain with front desk... also paid extra $35 for parking, without notice, which was fine considering it was san francisco and late at night. overall we did have a good experience and would come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Hotel convenient to UCSF Mt Zion

Posted Dec 5, 2014
New ownership, switch from Joie de Vivre to Kimpton Hotel brought a few changes; new staff at reception and reservations so when I made reservations and arrived, I felt like I was in a strange hotel; 2) parking on premises went up from $19 to $45, although parking at Japan Center garage remains approx $20; staff is responsive, helpful; room appears to have been renovated but portable lamp switches did not work--required plugging or unplugging cord to/from wall socket;; toilet paper could be placed more conveniently. Yes, I would return if discounted rate under $175 was available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thanks, regular guest! We appreciate your loyalty and your review. I am glad that the hotel already feels renovated to you. We have indeed completed carpet shampoo throughout the facility and implemented yoga mats, umbrellas, and Kimpton's "Forgot It? We've Got It!" program plus free bike rentals and of course the evening wine party. The staff at the front desk might appear different as they recently worked out a schedule change, though I can assure you the team you've come to know is still here. Parking pricing did increase from $29+tax to $35+tax for each overnight, or about $10 more than the self-park garage. This has ensured the our garage here is less likely to fill up at the hotel, though! Hope to see you on your next visit to UC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the middle of Japantown

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: web search
Nothing special but very nice and clean hotel. Pet friendly. Streets around could be a little bit noisy (especially in weekdays). Beds are nice and firm. One thing I didn't like - had to pay for hotel parking :( . In overall I had excellent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Hi, traveler! Thanks so much for coming to see us, and I'm glad you enjoyed the clean room and comfortable bed. I know that SF parking can be quite a pill to swallow, though the good news is that we have a $35 overnight price here compared to $50+tip at most hotels in the downtown Union Square area. I hope you'll come and see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the center of the city

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Great location, quiet but an easy walk to many neighborhoods
Location: Walk to the restaurants and shops of Pacific Heights or Hayes Valley, or walk one block to catch the bus everywhere else!
This hotel turned out to be exactly what I was looking for. The decor was minimalist but colorful. The room was spotless and spacious. But the most impressive feature was the staff. They helped me with everything from early check in to change for the bus to restaurant suggestions and directions. I have already recommended the hotel to many people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 nights at the Hotel Tomo.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The room was fine and comfortable.
Cons: The reception area and the restaurant. I think the restaurant needs to be redesigned to make it warmer and more inviting.
Location: I didn't have time to explore.
The room was nice, but the design and atmosphere of the reception area seemed a little odd, compared to other Kimpton hotels. Because it was raining, I chose to eat in the hotel restaurant with a friend, but it was extremely noisy. The food was all right, but the atmosphere was a bit depressing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable bed and great shower

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: very comfortable bed and great shower. Good breakfast
Cons: need more parking
Location: Japantown. a block from the movies and 3 blocks from Fillmore shopping
We had a very positive experience. The hotel is in an offbeat location but charming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thank you, professional! Charming location and local flare is what we're all about here. Fillmore/Pacific Heights and Japantown are just outside our door, so there is a lot to explore :).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

Great location and service

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: I love the Kimpton experience you do feel like a special guest and the rooms are impeccable and comfortable
Location: You can go to union square and enjoy Japan Town.
I had a great time at this hotel. They have a wine hour which was a blast and the manager provided excellent service. Also, the restaurants across the street are really great and have high quality food.