Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Despite some construction debris, everything was functional. Convenient parking, very busy restaurant on premises (which is good), and an unbeatable location right in Japantown make this a desirable spot. Nice, clean, comfortable, large room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Room

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Parking
Cons: walls are not sound proof .. you can hear a person at 40 dB
Location: N/A
Around 9:30 p.m. our next door tenant pounded our door claiming he can hear us talking.. We were shocked and contacted front desk. We wanted to be re located but hotel staff claimed hotel was booked. Basically my son and I was whispering to each other and finally we went to bed at 10:25 p.m. somewhat scared of the guy next door. We were paying considerable amount of money but the walls were NOT sound proof and we were very miserable.. I traveled world wide never experienced such of issue. I will re think before I use Expedia again. Regards... Paul
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not impressive

Posted Jan 9, 2015
I will stay somewhere else next time. There are nicer places, I am sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa, CA

Decent place for a great price

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The price and that it was very clean and quiet.
Cons: The lobby needs some spiffing. Nothing major, it just looks like things are getting a little worn.
I was there more for business than pleasure - even though I stayed over on a Saturday night. On entering the lobby, I was a little worried I'd made a mistake. It was okay, but much smaller and a little more run down than on the pictures on their site (I am really picky). I was very pleased with the rooms, however. They were very clean and everything was in really good shape. I got the place for a steal - so I was a little worried that I might have made a big mistake. Not so! I was able to check in via my phone and request a quiet room not overlooking rooftops. They put me in a very quiet room that overlooked a courtyard. I would stay there again next time I want to be in Japantown. This place was proof that sometimes you get way more than you pay for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Quick overnight stay with the kids

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Staff awareness of participating programs.
Location: Japantown and Fillmore street are very close. We were able to walk to Union Square in about 30 easy minutes
Overall a good value. NIce location with easy parking relative to the rest of the city. Unique decor, pleasant staff, nice rooms. Be aware that the staff has no idea what the Expedia VIP+ program is and if the hotel is a participant in the program despite what it says on the Expedia website. So, don't base your decision on that factor. I was eventually told that we had been upgraded, but in reality there was no upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Japantown access

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient location next to Japantown shops an restaurants. Afternoon wine hour is a nice touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks, traveler! We are pretty thrilled to be settling into this very "local seeming" neighborhood with plenty to do but very few tourists. Not that we don't love tourists, but you get the idea -- it's fun to fly under the radar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ilanafrom Sacramento

Daijobui!

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I, between the two of us, have stayed in innumerable hotels in the US, Japan, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand, Laos, Germany, Austria, France, Italy, former Yugoslavia, Czech Republic, Belgium, Crete, Greece, etc. San Francisco is one of the worst cities on the planet for a cost to benefit ratio in hotels. They are expensive, odiferous, in poor neighborhoods and generally repugnant. This hotel is cheerful, interesting, clean, and most important, the rooms are large. That last item alone makes Tomo unusual in SF.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you, Ilana! We are proud to see that we stood out from the crowd of hotels here in San Francisco, and you appreciated the value of these very large rooms. Many of ours are probably double the size of 'petite" rooms found in so many other areas of SF. It is also nice to be in a residential area with boutiques, shops, and restaurants, isn't it? I like to explain the hotel as nestled between Japantown and Pac Heights but just a quick bus/cab ride or flat walk to Union Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2014
overnight stay after company xmas party, very nice room... altough I paid for king bed and we got a queen... we were so tired didn't have desire to complain with front desk... also paid extra $35 for parking, without notice, which was fine considering it was san francisco and late at night. overall we did have a good experience and would come back.