Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Red Bluff, Ca.

excellent hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Bed could be a little softer and the ice machine on the 3rd floor could make a little less noise
Easy to UCSF (Parnassus); Very clean room, Convenient parking in attached garage; Inhouse excellent restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Vancouver

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet and close to public transportation
Cons: Not really consider it is a 3-star hotel. To be frankly, it is better than most 4-star hotel in Las Vegas
Location: Japan town, easy ride on bus to Union Square etc
Quite a good experience in this nice hotel, quiet and neat. Close to bus stops and easy tour to Union Square etc. Hotel staffs are very friendly, told me lots about San Francisco even I arrived so late, around 11:30pm. Nice chair and table for working
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucinda from Castroville, CA

Wonderful hotel close to Mt. Zion Hospital

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Hotel room was clean and very comfortable. Very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S. from London

Quiet base to explore SF from.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Quiet and safe area of the city. Very close to Japan Centre with themed shops and restaurants. Buses stop next to the hotel for a frequent, quick, easy and cheap transit into the city centre. Minimal facilities in hotel communal area - no lounge. Hotel restaurant appeared popular in the evening. Breakfast here was cheap but of inferior quality than I expected. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at the Tomo Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Clean and convenient
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Convenient to Japantown and to the Fillmore district.
We enjoyed our stay at the Tomo as we always do. We were going to Yoshi's the night of our stay and it is within walking distance. My wife thought the bed was outstanding, but we do like it relatively hard. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean--it does not have a lot of amenities but extremely pleasant place to stay and across the street from the center of Japantown--very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddy from NV

Comfortable Hotel Japantown.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The staff at the front desk and cleaning crew were very friendly and helpful. There is a parking garage, it's small but they have one. Rooms are clean with big TV, small fridge, and Keurig single cup coffee brewer. Stayed one night. It was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from UK

Nice, clean and quiet!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Once I got accustomed to the bizarre room d├ęcor, I found the room very comfortable and quiet. Didn't try the breakfast but the hotel is five minutes from Filmore St which has some great places to eat. Really convenient for the bus into the City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toomai from Walnut Creek

nice hotel close to good jazz clubs

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: room was clean and nicely decorated
Cons: Bed although comfortable - was a little creaky. Headboard and Bed Base are wooden so our bed did make a lot of creaking noises with slight movement.
Location: it's nice and close to good jazz clubs and restaurants in Japantown
nice hotel, clean, staff was polite. i rated the staff ok only because they forgot to tell me that there is a button next to the entry light switch that needs to be turned on in order for your keurig machine and other electronic outlets on the dresser and desk to work. not a huge deal but i didn't get to make a coffee in the morning before leaving.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price

Posted Mar 8, 2014
A little noisy. I am not too picky and decided to take my chances after reading the reviews. I ended up in the loud room on a lower floor with the crying girls. I think it would have been a better experience if I was on a higher floor. The room was right over the parking garage entrance and they came and picked up the laundry right outside of my window at 6 am and it was very noisy as they chucked the laundry bags into the back of the truck. I would have been extremely irritated by that if I didn't have to get up anyway. On the other hand, it was clean and I did feel safe. The staff was helpful and parking wasn't an issue (a little pricey but easy to find a spot and easily accessible)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

<3 of Japan Town

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Hotel TOMO is very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was awesome with a decent view. The elevators had anime drawings posted on the wall, by people who have stayed there. The restaurant was nice with a good choice of American or traditional Japanese breakfast. Only set back was low on hot water ( I like long hot showers ) and the first floor was getting repainted and wallpapered, so a bit of a mess. Otherwise I <3 TOMO