Ratings based on 1,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Good location modern design.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Fun graphics-nice interior design. Quiet at night.
Cons: Better shower heads
Location: Close to public transportation - walking distance to many parts of town.
Loved the anime - nice to have parking at the hotel too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lompoc, CA

Nice hotel in Japan town

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Everything was great, staff very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Parking is limited and a little expensive could be lowered if you are staying for more than a day or two.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Japantown and other things to do. Take the Muni or even a taxi is affordable
This is a quiet and clean hotel. Local cuisine with a Benihana close b. close to Muni line and taxi to Fisherman's Wharf about a $10 dollar cab ride. The hotel is centrally located for AT&T Park for Giants games, a short drive over the Bay bridge for A's Games. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The inhouse restaurant was very good as well. We will definately stay here again when we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Convenient location for Japanese-ish food.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Not luxurious but simple, quieter than other downtown hotels and cheap
Cons: Need to stop having the hotel employee connected with limo drivers. They are troublemakers for tourist!
Location: Go visit Japantown and Fillmore street cafe/restaurants
Easy to get to Japantown for Japanese-ish food (not truly Japanese but so-so food by local people. Much quieter than downtown San Francisco, and less homeless people around. Good distance to Fillmore street for cafe and lunch or dinner. Beware of limo guy always waiting in front of the hotels (Hotel Tomo, Kabuki Hotel and almost all hotels in town, you'll see these limo drivers who would charge you very expensive price and they are 'connected' with hotel bellboy). They sometimes pretend that they are from Uber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to Japan Town

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: We liked how safe the neighborhood felt and how quiet the streets got after ten at night.
Cons: They could have been more generous in refreshing our towels on the second day.
Location: Great Korean and Japanese food.
The hotel is reasonably priced for San Francisco. It is quite a walking distance to Union Square but we like to walk so it didn't bother us. If you like Asian food, some wonderful eateries where the locals hang out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I would of have this hotel 5 stars but the beds were horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, CA

Comfortable, quiet and convenient for Wharf area

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Location: About a 10 min. drive by taxi (we used Uber who came within 5 minutes) to "The Duck", wharf, Aquarium.
The hotel has limited parking which was a concern since we need to use one wheelchair however the staff was very accomodating and allowed us to park the car in the garage hours before our check in. The room was very comfortable, quiet an clean. The restaurant had Japanese and U.S. fare and so accomodated both of us. This hotel turned out to be an excellent choice for price, locale to where we wanted to visit as well as to get away from the crowds and noise at night. The staff was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Very close to japantown

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location, hip furnishings
Cons: Somewhat run down, parking
Location: Japantown, Geary and Fillmore all within walking distance. Close to california pacific if you are here for drs visit.
Very expensive but close to japantown and Fillmore. Parking is costly and difficult if you drive a full size. Hotel restaurant great for drinks and shabu but not American breakfast. Hotel staff nice and friendly. Will stay by the beach next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Decent Hotel in Japantown

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: quiet neighborhood, friendly staff, clean
Location: Near Fillmore Street; not far from Union Square
We liked this hotel as it was in a quiet location and off the beaten track. There is a car free mall right across the street which we looked over from our room. We liked the close proximity to Fillmore St where there are many great cafes and restaurants. In particular we liked the Grove for breakfast, and Via Veneto for dinner. We found the staff to be very helpful in making suggestions, getting cabs for us, etc. etc. We were even able to change rooms quickly when we decided we wanted to switch to a King room from a Queen. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pershore

Really well located Good value

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Room Comfort, location
Cons: Foyer is not very impressive. We had along wait for Breakfast
Location: Local eateries of note. Sweet Maple for breakfast, Dosa, the Thai across the road from Mums and YakkiniQ for Korean BBQ
For the money this hotel is hard to beat in the center of San Francisco. The location is excellent, especially for eating out. Frequent buses take you anywhere that is two far to walk. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. And the in room capsule coffee maker and well above average. Staff were great. we had no problems with hotel parking. We were very pleased with this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the price

Posted Aug 10, 2014
For a short stay would have no problem recommending Tomo. Nice area, friendly staff & worked well for a family stay. Good restaurants nearby.