Ratings based on 1,500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Redelijk hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Het hotel was redelijk tot goed. Er is een verbouwing gaande wat een hoop stof etc. geeft. De kamer was erg goed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

初めて利用しました。ネットで部屋の写真は見ていましたが、

Posted Apr 28, 2015
かなり写真写りの良いホテルでした。ホテル滞在のリラックス感ラグジュアリー感は全くえられなかったです。ロビーは改装中で、カウンターの壁面は布で仕切られて奥がクロークになっていて又一画は仮囲いをして工事中でした。一部壁面はむき出しのまま塗装をしていました。宿泊した部屋は1Fで道路に面していたのでレースカーテン越に人や車がみえ、、、上層階が改装中なのか音がしていました。隣の声もよく聞こえました。エレベーター内も塗装の汚れ?が目につきました。 ベッドは寝心地がよくシーツは白で清潔にしていたと思います。立地はユニオンスクエアーにバスで出やすく便利です。ジャパンセンターが直近くに有るので食事やちょっとした買い物に便利でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern CA

Clean and comfortable

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Clean, Kurig coffe maker, location. Wine tasting in the afternoon
Location: Great thai restaurant next door.
Just updated, very clean. Feather coverlets and pillows. I would recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks, Northern CA! Cleanliness and the bed are so important, and what an advantage we have as new rooms continue to come online!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salinas, California

Appropriate name for Hotel Tomo

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Very pleasant and clean.
Cons: No complaints
Location: The Fillmore is only 4 short blocks away. Nice neighborhood, no worries walking back to the hotel after the show
Our room was very comfortable and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly. Tomo means friend or companion. The wine tasting was very pleasant. I do not drink and the waiter offered a glass of apple cider as well as bottled water. We had dinner at Mums there at the hotel. It was literally 30 steps from our room. The salmon was delicious and staff most courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks for being our friend, John R! I am glad you enjoyed the un-wine-ding time and the salmon is my favorite, too! The bento box is an especially great deal at lunch time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Despite some construction debris, everything was functional. Convenient parking, very busy restaurant on premises (which is good), and an unbeatable location right in Japantown make this a desirable spot. Nice, clean, comfortable, large room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Room

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Parking
Cons: walls are not sound proof .. you can hear a person at 40 dB
Location: N/A
Around 9:30 p.m. our next door tenant pounded our door claiming he can hear us talking.. We were shocked and contacted front desk. We wanted to be re located but hotel staff claimed hotel was booked. Basically my son and I was whispering to each other and finally we went to bed at 10:25 p.m. somewhat scared of the guy next door. We were paying considerable amount of money but the walls were NOT sound proof and we were very miserable.. I traveled world wide never experienced such of issue. I will re think before I use Expedia again. Regards... Paul
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ermafrom Goleta, CA

Like a spa.....

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel room was very clean and cheery. Amenities were in supply and the towels were luxurious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks, Erma! I am so in love with the towels, too. They are brand new as one of the first Kimpton "touches" we've added to the rooms, along with the yoga mat and Forgot It? We've Got It! items and free member wifi, of course. If you haven't checked out the Goodland in Goleta yet, I've heard it's fun, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by shannonfrom Modesto

Beautifully clean and elegant boutique hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
I loved this funky little hotel for a weekend getaway in Japantown! The staff was kind, the room was clean (and I'm kind of a neat-freak) and the decor was modern and fresh. The ONLY thing I would caution against is that it is listed as a "civic center" hotel. So if you get dropped of at the bart civic center station thinking you will only walk a few blocks you will be in a world of hurt. It took us about an hour to walk there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks, Shannon! Yes, that's funny since we are definitely not in Civic Center. I would call our neighborhood Pacific Heights/Fillmore/Japantown district, through perhaps that category is not available on Hotels.com. In any case, I am glad you found your way and got to enjoy such a wonderful weekend getaway. We'll share your kudos with the ladies in housekeeping, too :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tommyfrom Campbell

Decent stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
My stay was fine. No real problems but it's kinda older and could use some major updates. I also had a handicap accessible room so the bars and the bench in the shower we weird. The bathroom was just not what it should have been. The regular rooms were probably nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com