Ratings based on 1,524 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be Nice when it's Finished

Posted May 19, 2015
Am sure this is not a true reflection under 'normal' conditions but the hotel was undergoing considerable renovation work that I was not made aware of prior to booking Other than being placed by the lifts (recommend avoiding) the room was clean & comfortable Hotel in great spot situated in Japan Town with short walk to Van Ness Ave and main bus routes unless you're looking for more central bustle of Union Sq etc
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Redelijk hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Het hotel was redelijk tot goed. Er is een verbouwing gaande wat een hoop stof etc. geeft. De kamer was erg goed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

初めて利用しました。ネットで部屋の写真は見ていましたが、

Posted Apr 28, 2015
かなり写真写りの良いホテルでした。ホテル滞在のリラックス感ラグジュアリー感は全くえられなかったです。ロビーは改装中で、カウンターの壁面は布で仕切られて奥がクロークになっていて又一画は仮囲いをして工事中でした。一部壁面はむき出しのまま塗装をしていました。宿泊した部屋は1Fで道路に面していたのでレースカーテン越に人や車がみえ、、、上層階が改装中なのか音がしていました。隣の声もよく聞こえました。エレベーター内も塗装の汚れ?が目につきました。 ベッドは寝心地がよくシーツは白で清潔にしていたと思います。立地はユニオンスクエアーにバスで出やすく便利です。ジャパンセンターが直近くに有るので食事やちょっとした買い物に便利でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern CA

Clean and comfortable

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Clean, Kurig coffe maker, location. Wine tasting in the afternoon
Location: Great thai restaurant next door.
Just updated, very clean. Feather coverlets and pillows. I would recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks, Northern CA! Cleanliness and the bed are so important, and what an advantage we have as new rooms continue to come online!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salinas, California

Appropriate name for Hotel Tomo

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Very pleasant and clean.
Cons: No complaints
Location: The Fillmore is only 4 short blocks away. Nice neighborhood, no worries walking back to the hotel after the show
Our room was very comfortable and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly. Tomo means friend or companion. The wine tasting was very pleasant. I do not drink and the waiter offered a glass of apple cider as well as bottled water. We had dinner at Mums there at the hotel. It was literally 30 steps from our room. The salmon was delicious and staff most courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thanks for being our friend, John R! I am glad you enjoyed the un-wine-ding time and the salmon is my favorite, too! The bento box is an especially great deal at lunch time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Despite some construction debris, everything was functional. Convenient parking, very busy restaurant on premises (which is good), and an unbeatable location right in Japantown make this a desirable spot. Nice, clean, comfortable, large room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Clean, great restaurant, comfortable bed, great location right in Japan town, but the bed frame is noisy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you, traveler! I know they are repainting the bed frames, and I will see if they can look into this issue at the same time. Meanwhile, I'm happy that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed, clean room, and the neat location here in Japantown/Pacific Heights area. I'll share your kudos with the restaurant as well :).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Room

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Parking
Cons: walls are not sound proof .. you can hear a person at 40 dB
Location: N/A
Around 9:30 p.m. our next door tenant pounded our door claiming he can hear us talking.. We were shocked and contacted front desk. We wanted to be re located but hotel staff claimed hotel was booked. Basically my son and I was whispering to each other and finally we went to bed at 10:25 p.m. somewhat scared of the guy next door. We were paying considerable amount of money but the walls were NOT sound proof and we were very miserable.. I traveled world wide never experienced such of issue. I will re think before I use Expedia again. Regards... Paul
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Byronfrom Las Vegas

San Francisco bargain

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was very clean and comfortable. The furnishings were adequate and included a desk and the obligatory flat screen TV. It is a San Francisco bargain with a parking garage. The location in Japan town is excellent. Ethnic shopping is nearby as are several restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2015 by Emily, Hotel Management
Hi, Byron, and thanks for coming to the Tomo. I'm glad that you appreciated just what a savings it is to park here versus the $50+ valets in Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. We definitely feel lucky to have this location in a quiet yet amenity-filled part of town.