Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gave away room before arrival

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I booked a room with 2 double beds for 3 people to share. When we arrived at the hotel for our 3 night stay we were told that our room was not available and would have to share a king sized bed and sofa bed. The sofa bed ended up being a small two seat lounger without a pullout bed. After some difficult negotiating with the hotel staff we were given a very uncomfortable pullout bed and a small discount, a couple bottles of cheap wine plus $45 off room service for 3 people which is incredibly cheap for a place that doesn't provide breakfast. It would basically cover breakfast for only one morning. I didn't get any sleep the first night due to the awful "pullout bed" and major construction outside our window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great hotel, even better staff.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great location. Funky old hotel. Wine every night was fun.
Cons: Honestly nothing to improve upon. Rooms are slightly small, but expected in older style building in downtown San Francisco.
Location: Right near Union Square. Close to entrance to China Town. Every food possibility available right outside.
Everything about the location and friendliness about the hotel was great. All staff seemed to genuinely care about your trip and ensure you have a good time in their city. Joe helped us out from the beginning and really made sure we had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, fabulous staff!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The staff and fun decor and closeness to places we wanted to see.
Cons: Wish the rooms could be a bit larger -- but, hey -- it's San Francisco.
Location: Close to Chinatown, shopping at Union Square, Coit Tower, North Beach, the cablecars and close to public transportation.
Really enjoyed our stay at the Triton. Great location -- we could walk to almost everything and public transportation is close by as well. The staff was beyond fabulous -- always had great restaurant suggestions for us and could point us in the right direction for sight seeing adventures. Loved the decor and atmosphere at the hotel -- it was fun and upbeat. Coffee/tea in the morning, cookies in the afternoon and wine in the evening -- always that extra littel something that made the stay special. Staff was great with our kids too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location around Union Square in SF.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: Making sure TV and A/C were working before guest arrived.
Location: Closeness to Union Square was a plus.
Walking distance to restaurants, BART, SF Playhouse, Chinatown, cable cars, etc. was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Cute hotel, right outside Chinatown

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I stayed one night at the hotel and I wish I could have stayed weeks. It's cute, friendly staff, rooms have what you need and the location was perfect. Right outside Chinatown, a few minute walk from union square and 15 minutes by foot from pier 39. There is a wine happy hour from 5-6 daily which was a great way to meet other couples and guests. It's unlimited and the staff serving it is so friendly. I would stay here over and over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Close to china town and union square

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Staff was very knowledgeable about places to eat and go. Hotel was kid friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Antonio, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler ~ Knowledge is POWER! Come back and see us soon, Antonio Flores General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

visit to San Francisco

Posted Jul 15, 2014
the hotel and it staff was excellent. the staff were great. Friendly, helpful and caring. the hotel is located in a great spot in SF. China town and North Beach a short walk. All kinds of restaurants convenient to the hotel. I would stay there again without question. It was a great pick. July 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Good location, good price. Super fun hotel. Only complaint is rooms are slightly small, but we didn't mind!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Great location. Loved the whimsical decor!
Location: Next to the gates to China town
Good location and helpful staff. Comfortable room with small bathroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF CA

Too hot & no air

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Nice staff.
Cons: Closer look at maintenance issues.
Location: Right at gate to Chinatown
Room quite hot on arrival and the a/c was ineffective - filter had not been cleaned for quite some time. But even after cleaning the filter, the unit didn't cool the room. Bathroom fan did not work. Room was clean - so more of a maintenance issue than a housekeeping problem No in-room coffee.