Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too small

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Staff was wonderful. Rooms are too small and bathroom was the size of a closet. Location was okay
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Hi Traveler ~ Thanks for sharing your post. We prefer the word "cozy" over small although we understand where you coming from. We are in a historical building and neighborhood that we feel adds to the charm that is San Francisco. They definitely did not the sq. ft. we enjoy today that is for sure. I hope you won't let this keep you from thinking of us again in the future. Till then,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from Delaware

Mother/Daughter Trip to San Francisco

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The wine hour, decor, and friendly staff. The location was perfect!
Cons: A safe in each room.
Location: The location is perfect. You can walk to Chinatown, North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, the cable cars, the financial district, shopping, etc.
My daughter and I had an wonderful experience at the Hotel Triton. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the wine hour each afternoon along with coffee and tea in the morning. The staff helped us schedule excursions and plan our sight seeing adventures. The location of this hotel is perfect for a stay in San Francisco. It is right next to the Chinatown Gate. You could walk to Chinatown, North Beach, Union Square, shopping, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. I would definitely stay at the hotel again. We loved the quirky decor! Because I was a Kimpton In Touch member, we got free Internet and $10.00 to raid the Mini Bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anita from England

Extremely friendly staff

Posted Jan 24, 2014
I celebrated my 50th birthday here and the staff could not have been kinder with a room upgrade champagne and chocolates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel in downtown.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, wine happy hour, clean pleasant rooms.
Location: Excellent location - Close to all public transport, short walk from the wharf, 10 mins walk to North Beach and 2 mins from Union square and Market St.
Excellent location - Close to all public transport, short walk from the wharf, 10 mins walk to North Beach and 2 mins from Union square and Market Street for shopping. The daily wine happy hour is a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Scary Larry from Hollywood, CA

A magical time in the BEST location!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was hip funky and awesomely San Francisco! My room was wallpapered with a Jack Kerouac novel, and I even got a goldfish sent to my room which was complimentary and gave me a pet away from home!. They had a wine tasting each evening in the lobby which was great and inspired interaction between guests. I did magic for people every night I was there. This hotel is next to the gates of China Town and close walking distance to everything plus the public transit in SF is great! This hotel was exactly what I want in a stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jacqueline from Los Angeles

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Can't wait to stay here again. Erect location in the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CJ from Surrey

Quirky and Fun

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
loved this hotel! Decor throughout is quirky and a bit 60s! My room was lovely and so was the bathroom. The air con was very good and easy to manage. My room was kept very clean. The people at the desk helped me with inforation and advice and made bookings for me. I loved the coffee in the morning and the tea and biscuits in the afternoon and the happy hour with wine on tap. It was a lovely way to meet other travellers- especially when travelling alone. The location was excellent - 2 blocks to the buses and subway and right by China town. I will be going back to San Francisco at some point and will hope to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley

Posted Jan 3, 2014
The room was a little small but we still enjoyed it a lot we stayed with you almost 10 years ago and loved it best location in San Francisco we will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cassi from Los Angeles

GREAT LOCATION!!!!!

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want to get to know San Francisco with a budget, this is a great hotel to stay at; the price was very reasonable, and the location was amazing! My mother and I pretty much walked everywhere and the times we needed to take public transportation, we just walked two blocks. Our room was on the small side, but very confortable, clean, and quite.