Ratings based on 938 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Torn

Posted May 28, 2015
I'm torn on this place. I love the quirkiness. The staff was awesome and you couldn't ask for a better location. They have great coffee and the place is clean. Yeah!! But the one thing I need the most is sleep. The bed felt like I was sleeping on rocks. It was so uncomfortable that I could barely sleep at all my entire stay (3 nights). I wanted to really like this place, but I probably won't return to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool place, extremely friendly/helpful staff.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Copies of Howl and On The Road on the nightstand. Minibar Selection. Chalkboards. Great Staff.
Location: Walking distance to some of the best attractions SF has to offer.(City Lights, Chinatown, Coit Tower, FiDi)
My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and I don't think there's a better place to stay in all of San Fransisco. The staff were all very welcoming and eager to help. We had a blast, and I plan on staying here in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zentrales Hotel, aber aufpassen bei der Zimmerwahl

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Lage des Hotels
Cons: Fenster erneuern (Lärm- und Wärmedämmung)
Location: direkt am Tor zu China town
Das hotel ist sehr zentral gelegen, direkt um die Ecke ist ein Parkhaus. Unser Zimmer war im zweiten Stock direkt zur Nebengasse hinaus. In dieser Gasse befanden sich leider auch mehrere Müllcontainer, die auch während der Nacht befüllt und entleert wurden. Somit war es sehr laut, denn die Fenster sind weder geräusch- noch wärmedämmend. Denn es war auch sehr kalt im Zimmer. Morgens gab es Kaffee und Tee, in der Nähe sind aber auch mehrere Cafes und Pubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Right at Chinatown entrance

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The bright colors and fun design.
Location: Literally at the entrance to Chinatown.... Plenty to see within walking distance.
Quirky little place that's fun. Can tell it's an old place but they redesigned it with a real sense of fun. Would have no problem staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, Ma

Great hotel, close to attractions.transportation.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything
What a great experience we had at this hotel. We arrived after 10pm and were met by hotel staff that informed us there had been a small fire that morning in the hotel. They had booked us into another hotel for the evening and we were dropped off by the shuttle. We had no problem checking in and out of the substitute hotel, the Triton had taken care of everything. We returned the next morning and left our bags with the staff while we proceeded to enjoy the day sight seeing. Our room was clean,comfortable, and stylish! The decor and general vibe from the Triton are of an eclectic feel, with the character that you would hope for when visiting San Fransico. The staff were easily accessable, friendly, and helpful. The hotel was in close proximity to Chinatown, transportation, shops etc. we always felt safe! We would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in a boutique style five star hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Lovely hotel, shame about wake up calls!

Posted May 24, 2015
Nice, clean & modern room. The only downfall was being woken up at 3am & 4am from the trash men emptying the industrial bins! Sounded like the room was being bulldozed. The cleaner then woke us up at 8:30 to clean the room, even though we were checking out at 12pm. Very tired, grumpy couple checking out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Reduse street noise.
Location: Good location. Next to China Town and many good restaurants.
Hotel & stay was uneventful. Some weird stuff (hula hoops) in the lobby area. Just another big city hotel. Good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
Our room was clean and well-prepared, but it was small. In addition, it must have looked over the alley, because in the middle of the night, we heard all the garbage bins getting picked up. The staff was pleasant but unable to help us in our requests; they kept saying they would have to check with the manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Neat design, great area.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Break from the usual decor, cool area, beer waiting for me when I got back from work.
Cons: All though colorful, I fealt the carpets were showing signs of wear and tear.
The first thing you notice is all the color. I enjoyed the break from the usual. The free drink(s) during happy hour are great! The rooms are smallish. Try to get located as far from the alley as possible (it's extremely noisy). Still nice for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the review. We are delighted that your enjoyed our location and our complimentary amenities such as wine hour! We are a bright and color place, our design is not everyone's taste but we hope it brought a smile to your face after returning after work! Come back and visit us again. Cheers, Nikki Carlson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom santa cruz, ca

Bay to Breakers

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Welcoming, fun and dog friendly with a capital DF.
Cons: It's not elegant, like some SF hotels, but it's not pretending to be either. It's clean, comfortable, convenient and the decor is fun and funky.
Location: It's an easy walk to most of the downtown attractions: Union Square, Chinatown, the MOMA, the Farmer's Market at. The Ferry Building.
I spent a Saturday evening at the Triton to run in the Bay to Breakers. The location is great, right by Union Square and Chinatown and an easy walk to the starting line (the Ferry Building). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was very nice. I had delicious French toast after the race. The best thing about the Triton, and about all Klimpton hotels, is that they are dog friendly. Not just dog tolerant, charging you an arm and a leg and requiring a kennel. Actually dog friendly - no extra charge whatsoever, no size limits, and a welcoming biscuit and water. Love that!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Nikki C., Hotel Management
Hi Nancy, We are so glad you pick us to be your home base for the race weekend! We are also delighted that you enjoyed your experience here and at other Kimpton's previously. As you mentioned we LOVE our four legged friends. We look forward to having you back again. Cheers, Nikki Carlson