Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky hotel very close to Chinatown

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location, near to Union Square, BART and buses. Oh and the and wine reception is excellent. Good ambiance and nice staff.
Cons: Window blinds for blackout curtains would be nice. It was also the loudest hotel I've stayed in for ages. Replacement windows would help.
Location: Chinatown is next door though to be frank it feels like it's stuck the 1970's. Tacky and old fashioned. Lots of very posh shops in the other direction
As always, Kimpton's are quirky but nice and this one is no exception. Excellent service on the front desk and very helpful. Kimpton's quirky rooms always seem to have a design feature that doesn't quite work in practice. In this case it was the window blinds - stylish but they don't block much light. So, in a city like this the room was lit from the outside. It wasn't a big deal. It is an old hotel (the furnishings and rooms aren't old or tatty just the building. However, this means the windows are very thin and don't block out much sound. The noise around 3, 4, or 5 in the morning for the garbage collections is incredibly loud. It's probably the noisiest hotel I've stayed in for ages. No coffee in the room (like all Kimpton's) require a trip down to the lobby where they serve good coffee for a few hours in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
At the entrance to Chinatown, close to shopping and Union Square. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom FL

November stay at Hotel Triton

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Décor, location.
Cons: Smell, windows/noise protection, gym space.
I stayed for business for a few days - great location right off of Bush and on the edge of the Financial District. Hotel had very welcoming, fun vibrant colors and great décor. Buttt it smelled old and musty and I found that to be really off-putting. It was tolerable, but noticeable. Also, the windows were SUPER thin, so I heard street noise a good chunk of the night. Jet-lag let me sleep through most of it, but there was definitely a ruckus of garbage bins, horns, etc. Gym included one treadmill, two elipticals, one of the all-in-one weight lifting sets, and two racks of free-weights up to 30 lbs. With two people in there it felt full, and with three it was crowded. That said, if you're flexible with your workout, it'll get the job done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Good mid-range hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This is the second time I've stayed at the Triton and both times I was super impressed with the staff who are both helpful and very knowledgeable with great recommendations. However, it is an older property and could do with a refurb. That said, the place is clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice hotel, not the Ritz

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff
Cons: Bathroom
Room was comfortable, staff was nice, bathrooms could use a bit of updating, location was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

expected more

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: give it points for being colorful at least.
Cons: friendlier service
Location: great location
arrived, check in was indicated around 3pm .. didn't check in till after 4, i had to initiate the check in and not the hotel staff. we opted to stay longer in San Fran and requested another night accommodation, rate offered was double what we paid via Expedia. We ended up at Hotel Clift (Morgans group) far nicer in every way .. service was incredibly superior for half the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, staff
Cons: The room was warm and the only way to cool it down was a window air conditioner just feet from our bed
Location: Perfect location, right outside Chinatown, very close to Union Square and Market St. Restaurants, coffee, wine bar right there
A very nice hotel in a well located area or San Francisco, rooms are small but comfortable. we enjoyed the casual, warmth of this hotel, we felt very comfortable and welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy room

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrade the rooms, windows and air-conditioning.
The location is excellent. It is close to public transportation and many attractions, shopping and restaurants. Staff is very nice. Design is kind of funky, covering up that the hotel is actually old, which means air conditioning units in the window (noisy) and old thin windows. I had a nice big corner room but between midnight and 4 AM each hour the unbearable noise of dumpster/garbage trucks and later at 6AM Marathon shouting. Because of the marathon I thought it might be one night only but no, also the next night, same thing only that at 6:30 AM a machine noise woke me up (crane or so). I had to switch hotels as I urgently needed a full night of sleep. Therefore, it could give this hotel only 2 stars and absolutely would not recommend it for business travel (other Kimpton Hotels are fine; therefore I was very surprised to have this experience). In case you get a quiet room it will be fine for tourists. I heard that they have quiet rooms which I unfortunately didn't get even though I was asking for it when checking in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Tiny room, but in San Fran, good for the money

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Cheaper than other rooms in the area. Clean. My nine-year-old loved the blackboard.
Cons: It's tiny, which probably can't be improved. While it's clean, it's out of date.
Location: Near Union Square, but not right there. On what seemed to be the less desirable end of Chinatown.
The Triton was a good price near Union Square. It's not right there, and it's a few blocks to the Muni (the subway). It's not right by anything except Chinatown gate, which an easy landmark to tell cabdrivers but not as majestic as the sound of it. It's not even a great part of Chinatown. Our room was tiny, overlooking the ventilation shaft, and the decor isn't so hip anymore. It was clean, though, and the front desk people were very nice. It's worth shopping for a more charming or more convenient location, but given how expensive San Francisco can be, it's not a bad option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Fun hotel in the center of everything!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Awesome location, great staff, free happy hour.
Cons: The rooms were a tad small (although they can't do anything about that) and the air con should be looked at.
Location: Right in front of the main entrance to Chinatown; delicious french cafe attached to it, and super close to Union Square for shopping!
Check-in was nice and easy; our room was on the top floor. The room was small but was super funky and fun! Only complaint for the room was that the air conditioning didn't work so it got really warm sometimes. Also the bathroom door didn't close properly. But loved the decor, great shampoo/conditioner and lots of fun extras in the room. The best thing the hotel had to offer was their happy hour! Free wine/beer from 5-6pm and free coffee/tea in the mornings. Staff was always helpful when we asked questions too. Plus, you can't beat the location. It was basically a 20 minute walk to everything! And be warned - it's not free wifi, but it's free if you sign up to be part of their rewards program (so it was still good).