Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Tiny room, but in San Fran, good for the money

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Cheaper than other rooms in the area. Clean. My nine-year-old loved the blackboard.
Cons: It's tiny, which probably can't be improved. While it's clean, it's out of date.
Location: Near Union Square, but not right there. On what seemed to be the less desirable end of Chinatown.
The Triton was a good price near Union Square. It's not right there, and it's a few blocks to the Muni (the subway). It's not right by anything except Chinatown gate, which an easy landmark to tell cabdrivers but not as majestic as the sound of it. It's not even a great part of Chinatown. Our room was tiny, overlooking the ventilation shaft, and the decor isn't so hip anymore. It was clean, though, and the front desk people were very nice. It's worth shopping for a more charming or more convenient location, but given how expensive San Francisco can be, it's not a bad option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Fun hotel in the center of everything!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Awesome location, great staff, free happy hour.
Cons: The rooms were a tad small (although they can't do anything about that) and the air con should be looked at.
Location: Right in front of the main entrance to Chinatown; delicious french cafe attached to it, and super close to Union Square for shopping!
Check-in was nice and easy; our room was on the top floor. The room was small but was super funky and fun! Only complaint for the room was that the air conditioning didn't work so it got really warm sometimes. Also the bathroom door didn't close properly. But loved the decor, great shampoo/conditioner and lots of fun extras in the room. The best thing the hotel had to offer was their happy hour! Free wine/beer from 5-6pm and free coffee/tea in the mornings. Staff was always helpful when we asked questions too. Plus, you can't beat the location. It was basically a 20 minute walk to everything! And be warned - it's not free wifi, but it's free if you sign up to be part of their rewards program (so it was still good).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Centrally Located

Posted Sep 28, 2014
This hotel is centrally located to popular areas like Union Square, Nob Hill and the Embarcadero. It's close to lots of shopping, restaurants and everything else you need. The hotel is also close to public transportation stops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel with superb location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Location , location and location
Cons: Sometimes noise like sirens from fire engines, ambulance etc can be heard as it is near to the main street on Grant. However, I guess it's a trade off
Location: Chinatown is a stone's throw away, minutes to Union Square and all the shopping and sight singing places.
The hotel is strategically located right at the front gate of Chinatown and minutes to Union Square. If you take the MUNI train from airport and alight from Montgomery, it's just 10 mins walk to the hotel. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Though the room is a little small but no complains at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Perfect Location With Awesome Staff

Posted Sep 23, 2014
When you walk out of the hotel doors you are right at the gates of china town and just a 5 minute walk to union square. There is tons of shopping around this area and cable cars/bus/embarco to fishermans wharf are all within a 5/10 min walk. The staff for this hotel are amazing and very helpful with anything you need. There is a wine hour between 5-6 which was great for getting to know other people staying at the hotel and hearing about their experience in San Fran as well as exchanging ideas on things to do. In the mornings they offer coffee/tea between 6-9 I believe and there is a breakfast place right up bush street on bush and powell called roaxannes which was pretty good and decently priced and the cable car to lombard st stops right out front. the only downside to the hotel was the bed size, but we booked a room with a full bed not realizing so that was our own fault and was a bit squishy with a 6'2 guy, but that's not the hotels fault. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone it was decently priced and really you're not staying in your room all day long anyways in an amazing city like san francisco
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Quirky hotel in great location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Loved this hotel - stayed 4 nights room very comfortable. Each evening a wine reception from 5-6pm was lovely. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants etc. Great location at China town gate and short walk from union square. Cannot wait to revisit San Fran and hopefully can stay in the Triton again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, UK

Quirky, boutique & friendly.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Quirky, boutique & friendly hotel close to Chinatown & Market St. There can be a little street noise outside late at night but this is a great little place to stay in the heart of San Francisco (especially if you like rubber ducks!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Super small and friendly place, great location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Small and really well positioned. Staff are really friendly and helpful. We loved it here, will definately be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, Amenities, Staff, Decor, Location
Cons: Nothing at this time
Location: Great location
Wonderful, Lovely, Enjoyable, Relaxed and Comfortable!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gave away room before arrival

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I booked a room with 2 double beds for 3 people to share. When we arrived at the hotel for our 3 night stay we were told that our room was not available and would have to share a king sized bed and sofa bed. The sofa bed ended up being a small two seat lounger without a pullout bed. After some difficult negotiating with the hotel staff we were given a very uncomfortable pullout bed and a small discount, a couple bottles of cheap wine plus $45 off room service for 3 people which is incredibly cheap for a place that doesn't provide breakfast. It would basically cover breakfast for only one morning. I didn't get any sleep the first night due to the awful "pullout bed" and major construction outside our window.