Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camberley, UK

Wonderful experience

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great location. You can walk to just about anywhere. Awesome staff - full of local knowledge and super helpful. Quirky decor - which I'm sure is not to everyone's taste but i love it. Rooms are compact - but you're only there to sleep and wash right?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leipzig, germany

Great location right at the gate to China Town

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Free coffee and tea in the morning, wine reception early evening, friendly staff. Loved the design of the rooms with the literature wallpaper etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Great location in San Francisco

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Very nice hotel with a great location. Quality of the staff was varied, from simply amazing to uncooperative but more on the amazing side. Overall a good experience and I'd happily stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Great location, but shabby

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great location. Close to good restaurants and breakfast spots
Cons: Might want to invest in a bigger hot water heater. And update the rooms.
I stayed here because of the central location and because I've had good luck at Kimpton properties before. But this room was awful. It was on the 3rd floor (room 307) so it was pretty noisy from the traffic on the street. The room was tiny so they had to push the bed against the wall. There was no side table so if you need to put a watch or clock or water next to you while you're sleeping, you'll have to put them on the floor. Also, you get two lumpy flat pillows and no blanket, which isn't great because the window air conditioning unit blows air right across the bed. Worse, there was very little hot water. I had almost no hot water the first day of my stay. I got about 30 seconds of hot water before it went freezing. As I was getting out of the shower, the glass door fell off. I had to call maintenance to have them put it back on. They said they fixed the water issue but they didn't. The next morning I got two minutes of hot water before it went ice cold. Also, the shower wasn't well kept. The shower tray was scratched and chipped. If you tried to put a mat over that area, you covered the drain so it would flood. Maybe other rooms there are bigger or better, and I generally don't get worked up about design flaws in rooms. But the hot water thing for me was a deal-breaker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Yikes! Thank you for your honest feedback , it sounds like all in all your experience was less than stellar. Thank you for letting us know about the challenges you experienced it takes all kinds of feedback for us to make improvements. As far as hot water, that is not a complaint be normally hear so we will have our engineering team take a look into it! We hope you will give us another shot next time you are in San Francisco. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Awesome hotel! Highly recommended

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort, amenities
Location: Close to everything-- Chinatown, union square shopping, embarcadero/ferry building, South of Market hotspots
This is a great little boutique hotel that is right in the center of everything. Very close to Bart, hot shopping, right in front of the famous entrance gate to Chinatown, and about 5-10 min walk from all the hotspots. My only complaint would be that my room key never worked and I always had to go downstairs to get the key re-programmed... something was wrong with the door. But they let me check in early and check out late and the front desk staff is wonderful. Would def give this place another try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Awesome Review! Our location is so centrally located as you mentioned, near Chinatown, Bart, union square, and great dining options. Thank you for letting us know about your room key we will take a look into that! Come back and visit us soon. Thanks, Nikki Carlson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Funky hotel at great location!

Posted Apr 2, 2015
We were in San Francisco to explore town for a couple of days. Everything was easy to reach from here and the hotel was fun and upbeat! Staff super friendly, housekeeping good and decor light and fun. We loved staying here! Plenty of breakfast and dining opportunities close by. We are a family with 2 teenagers and all liked it very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Nikki , Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the review! I may be biased but I think our staff is super friendly as well. Our location is really perfect, located right outside the China Town gates with easy access to shopping, dinning, and public transportation. Come back and visit us soon! Cheers, Nikki Carlson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for SF!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was extremely courteous and helpful.
Cons: Noise
Location: Shopping!
Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was next to utility room so a bit noisy. Great location, close to shopping and dining. It was nice to come back from a long day to a complimentary glass of wine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad smell

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Bad smell all over the place. The AC is noisy. Find a better popular brand that has high standards
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Nikki C, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Yikes! This is the first we are hearing of a bad smell, thank you for letting us know we will have our engineering team take a look. Warm Regards, Nikki Carlson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Tolles Hotel mit sehr hilfsbereitem Team. Schön gelegen, 2 Minuten zum Union Square zur Fuß. Nette Restaurantes in der Nähe, gerne weider.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Nikki C., Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review. I may be biased but I think our team is amazing and our location is a great added perk! We hope you come back to San Francisco soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, amazing staff!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Proximity to everywhere we wanted to go; walking distance to great restaurants, the farmer's market down at Ferry Plaza, Union Square.
Location: Being next door to Café de la Presse is a bonus, but eat lightly as there is such delicious eating in San Fran you will need the extra room.
I booked through Expedia and had no reservations about choosing this Hotel as I had stayed there before. The mistake I made was in consideration of bed size. I thought I had booked 2 queen rooms but they ended up being full beds which are quite the snuggle for 2 adults :). I admitted my error to the check in staff and while he did need to confirm availability, he upgraded all 4 of us to a king room at no additional charge. That was really appreciated! We were very comfortable in our rooms and had a nice view, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review! I am delighted to read that our staff took such great care of you, that type of feedback never gets old. Our location and neighborhood is very centrally located to many different neighborhoods, attractions, and you mentioned it great dining options! Come back and visit us soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson