Ratings based on 896 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Good location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Good location, friendly helpful staff. However no air conditioning which is one of the main reasons we chose the hotel! Rooms were hot and one had no fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great Location!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location and decor. Love the light fixtures in the hallways.
Cons: The beds could be softer. Also mounting the toilet paper roll only a few inches off the ground not a great idea.
Location: Union Square, Cable Car, Cheesecake Factory. Catching a MUNI down to the beach near Golden Gate Park. Easy Car Rental near by, China Town very close
I read the reviews on this hotel and some things are true, some are not. Quirky hotel, with a lovely decor. The light fixtures cast shadows on the walls that make you think of Alice In Wonderland. Loved being so close to the Cable Car Turnaround, Bart Line and MUNI station. There is a Walgreens across the street that has a mini deli inside. Lots of fresh fruit, sandwiches, frozen yogurt and snacks. Also where you buy your transit passes which in comes in handy when the Cable Car is $6 dollars each way and a three day MUNI pass is only $23. Some people complained about the noise of the Cable Cars, I personally wasn't bothered. I was in a corner room at the front and you heard the odd bell, but it in no way kept me awake or woke me up at any time. The staff were friendly and welcoming and made for an easy check in and check out. We had three people in our room and when we requested extra blankets (someone had the A/C cranked) they were brought up quickly and were nice fleecy blankets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

No windows and a malfunctioning shower

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, style, staff.
Cons: Room -- was it a converted storage space? Airflow. Definitely the plumbing!
Location: In the middle of it all.
This is a cute boutique hotel. Staff is very friendly. The day I was there they had wine and live music for a happy hour, which was very welcome after a long work day. Location is good too. My room was on the inside and had no windows. Also, long and narrow. Even though I was there to sleep, it was a little disconcerting. The portable (not built in) A/C had to run full-time to keep the room bearable. What was most concerning is that when I switched the valve from tub faucet to shower head only the hot water switched. Cold continued to flow from the faucet. I nearly scalded myself. Couldn't get it to work right so my shower was cut pretty short!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Nice and place , centrally located

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Its unusual decor really classy. Staff very friendly
Cons: Co-ordination between front desk and room services. When 2 persons check in instead of one, toiletries are to be added to facilate both not one person
Location: Great shopping
Was great, friendly helpful staff. Very clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Powell street

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This is a nice hotel with easy access to a lot of things in central SanFran. Close to Union Square, right next to the Cable Car, tons of shopping, dining, and drinking establishments. Very close to the Muni/BART system as well. Rooms are definitely on the small side but very comfortable. Staff is very friendly. The one downside was that the Valet parking was very expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The location was excellent, and service staff were very professional and helpful. My room was hidden at the end of long dark path, which offered equal amounts of "Cool" and "Creepy"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

nice hotel with great location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location!
Great location and staff. Noisy due to street car turnaround, and general late night debauchery, but with the AC on it wasn't a bother
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom

San Francisco Convenient Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Convenience and helpful staff, esp the concierge, Ruben.
Cons: Offer offsite parking at a more reasonable fee.
Location: Too much to list. Take the cable car to Fishermens' Wharf where there are many excellent restaurants, shops, an aquarium and more.
We stayed here for 4 nights on our first visit to San Fran. Extremely convenient hotel near cable car, trolley route, bus routes. Union Square is only 2 blocks away. Located near several good restaurants, including some which are very reasonably priced for SF. Helpful staff. Only real drawback is the $40 per day for parking onsite. Not a problem if one uses public transportation which we will do if only visiting San Fran in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Dimitar, Hotel Management
Hi Tom, Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Union Square during your trip to San Francisco. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the restaurants and attractions nearby. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best Regards, Megan Brandt Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, central location, could use facs lift thoug

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Great central location near Union Square, opposite Walgreens, right near main hop on/hop off stop, Westfield shopping mall. Fisherman's wharf walkable
Cons: Poor wifi, room decor old and outdated, in need of facelift. Cooling was ineffective evaporative. Bathroom was very small.
Location: Central Union Square location close to shops, good restaurants, public transport. Walkable distance to Fisherman's Wharf.
Great central location just around the corner from Union Square. The room could use a face lift though. Seemed tired and updated with a strange smell. Cooling was evaporative so was not all that effective. Bathroom was quite small.
2 out of 5
by Gerard from Spain

Limited and not a 3 star

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Central position
Cons: Reception, size of rooms.
Location: Right in the middle of town: but because of that, it is difficult to get to by taxi and for get about parking.
Facilities are limited. There is no restaurant, no bar etc. Room was very small and basic.Reception was undermanned, only one person to handle everything. Expedia rates this as 3.5 stars...... I purchased it without knowing the name of the property, I will NOT do this again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Gerard, Thank you for leaving a comment about your stay with us. It seems that we did not completely meet your expectations and I am sorry about that. We are a boutique hotel and therefore we have a wide variety of room types. If our guests express the need for a bigger room we always try to fine the right solution. It is also true that we don't have a bar or a restaurant but Tad's next door does our room service and we are in walking distance of tens of restaurants and bars as we are in the heart of Union Square. I am sorry that you feel like you didn't receive proper service at the Front Desk, It does happen at certain hours for the Front Desk agent to be alone. I hope you had a good stay in San Francisco nevertheless. Best regards