Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pemberton, BC

Union Square - I the middle of things

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: All rooms should have an air conditioner (for noise prevention if nothing else). Their website should be VERY clear on the size of the rooms.
Location: Union Square, everything to do near by.
All in all we had a great stay. The hotel is in the heart of Union Square - 1 1.2 blocks from Powell and Market Cable Car turn around. Very easy to get around from this location, walking, public transit its up to you. Some things to be aware of, the hotel rooms are VERY small. The Deluxe Queen that we started with, well the bathroom door couldn't be opened all the way as it hit the bed. The "queen" bed did NOT seem like a real queen. Having said that, if needed we could have managed for the 4 nights we were there. We were able to upgrade to a suite (ended up with the Dugout Suite which was cool) with a King size bed with plenty of room! Then only thing I would really caution against would be if you get a room without an air conditioner because while you may not need it weather wise you'll like it at night to block out the noise from the street below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location at Union Square.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Only stayed one night. Old building, but the room was clean and updated, with a comfortable bed. No air conditioning, but there was a powerful ceiling fan. (Leave the windows open when you're not in the room to allow the cool San Francisco breeze to cool the room.) The hotel owns the parking lot immediately adjacent. The parking attendants were very friendly, and allowed us to park for 5 to 10 minutes at no charge while we ran upstairs to the room with our bags. (Just leave them your keys and tip a couple bucks as a thank you.)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Looks Great on the Outside

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The looks and feel of the hotel was nice.
Location: Pier 39, Golden Gate Bridge
Found this hotel on expedia, and it was in the middle of Downtown, and it was pet friendly. I had my dog so this was thought to be perfect. The room was about $150 for one night. Paid that through expedia, then when we showed up come to find out Valet was $35 a night, then a $35 pet fee (they supposedly shampoo the rooms carpet after you have a pet in the room) I highly doubt they shampoo the carpets after guests with pets are in a room (there is no way the carpet would be dry in the 3 hours between check out and check in. After forking out another $70 to park and to have our pet in the room. We go upstairs to our room...which turns out to barley fit the queen size bed. I walked into the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in my life. I had a bigger shower when I was deployed to Afghanistan...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Lennin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with the cost of parking and our pet fee. Unfortunately parking rates in San Francisco are very high and we keep up with our neighboring parking facilities, most of which do not offer valet service with in and out privileges. I'm sure that you understand that the pet fee is necessary to maintain the cleanliness of our guest rooms. Nevertheless I hope you consider staying with us in the future. Thank you for your time. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2014
I was just at the hotel to sleep and didn't need anything special from the staff, but they were friendly at check-in and check-out, and the room was clean and neat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Close to most everything ....

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: This hotel has been updated quite nicely and is very comfortable and quiet (except for daytime cable car bells). Smaller rooms but the bed was great!
Cons: Late check out is only 1 pm despite that fact that check in is 3 p.m. - anything else is an upcharge. High priced water bottles in the room are crazy
Location: Eat, drink, sightsee, experience the city, shop and have fun. Bring a sweater, it gets chilly in the late afternoon & evening.
The hotel is on Powell, one half block from the famed Cable car turntable which is a hot tourist spot. You're also less than 2 blocks from the Powell BART station which is convenient from the SFO airport. Shops, store, restaurants and pubs abound in this area. Plenty to do and see. You're also 2 blocks from the Market Street Muni street cars which are a direct trip back in time. They run up and down Market including up to the Castro area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great location - if you get the right room

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Air conditioning in all rooms to improve air quality and provide white noise. Ozone air cleaners on the 6th floor.
Location: SanFran at your fingertips - the cable cars run in front of the hotel.
Our first night we were "upgraded" by Alex to a king size bed on the 6th floor. The whole floor was musty smelling, no air conditioner so we had to open the window - and it was therefore hard to sleep with all the street noise, and it was a miserable experience - I almost cancelled the remainder of my stay. The remainder of the trip we had a room on the 4th floor with air conditioning. A completely different, pleasant experience. You can't beat the location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old building but reasonably priced for Union Sq

Posted Sep 15, 2014
We stayed at the Hotel Union Square for three nights in September. It is an older building and it smells like one. The furniture and finishing upgrades are nice and the staff is very helpful. The location is terrific as you are so close to all the things that Union Square has to offer (proximity to shopping, restaurants, BART, street car, etc). Overall I am happy with the experience but I wish there is some way for the hotel to take that old building feeling out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The rooms are small but very we'll appointed

Posted Sep 11, 2014
I stayed one night and location was perfect. I thought the room although small was updated and pretty. Staff was very nice and attentive all in all I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Dimitar, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Union Square. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff and had a great overall experience! We hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco. Best, Dana Andrews Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cameron Park, CA

Hotel with awful parking, humid rooms, no AC.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary this last weekend. This was hands down the worst experience we have had at any hotel. First of all, the hotel is located on literally the most congested street in The city. The parking situation is absolutely awful. You do not have much of a choice but to pay 45 dollars for valet parking overnight. 45 dollars to park your car is absolutely rediculous. The hotel rooms are the smallest room I have ever seen. The hotel was humid inside and the room do not have AC. We were sticky the whole entire trip. This hotel was not necessarily cheap either. We paid a total of 365.00 for the night. For this cost, I would expect to get a lot more than a bedroom that can barely even fit the bed. Awful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Very helpful staff. We were very fortunate to have many dealings with Jewel, he was very knowledgeable about many things but most helpful.
Location: We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Union Square. Perfect location for BART, tram, Union Square, shops and eating places.
we enjoyed our stay at Union Square. pleasant surroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Dimitar, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful surrounding city. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you soon! Dana Andrews Guest Relations