Ratings based on 1,240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location, OK hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Location is great,.1.5 blocks from Union Square Rooms are fine but compact (and I'm speaking from a European perspective here) Nice view of adjacent building wall 1m from window...but it was quiet Did I mention great location ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indio, CA

Jackpot find

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Upon looking through many hotels and reviews before booking our trip.. I found that most hotels shared complaints about thin walls, outside noise, room temp, and parking fees. Basically these are general issues when traveling to any bigger city and looking to find affordable rooms while staying in a great central location. Through reading reviews of this hotel and overlooking the general complaints and ultra nitpicky reviews, I went with my gut and a gamble and booked with Hotel Union Square. JACKPOT!!!!! Not only were the rooms very clean and upkept (great job of updating decor and room condition in what I'm sure is a vintage building), but the service was PERFECT!! Our late night checkin with Coffee(that's her name!!) was simple, smooth, and the room given to us was perfect! Yes room sizes aren't gigantic but you're in the city to explore and be out and about so get over it! Tom at Concierge helped us with bike rental information and discounts to bike the bridge and was always informative on places to eat/drink/coffee! Rooms were always clean, service staff upon encounter was always friendly and smiling! The hallways, decor, lobby, and walls gave the hotel an awesome urban boutique clean feel. Our last day we were assisted in booking shuttle to the airport and our bags were held safely while we did last minute shopping! We absolutely would stay again and again. Thank you to the great team at Hotel Union Square. Our experience with you was the PERFECT foundation for our trip
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Great location, but tiny rooms

Posted Dec 12, 2014
The hotel is in a great location and the staff is nice. However, these attributes do not make up for a room do small you can barely walk between the foot of bed and wall-mounted TV. Bathrooms have been modernized, but not closets. Had to use flashlight to see clothes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr zentrales Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Die zentrale Lage und der freundliche Service
Cons: Die Zimmer sind sehr hellhörig und die Belüftungsmöglichkeiten waren schlecht. Es roch sehr muffig im Zimmer.
Location: Direkt an der Cable- Car-Station, auch direkt an der BART-Station Powell. Shopping, Sightseeing, alles ist möglich
Niedliches, kleines Hotel. Kleine Zimmer, etwas in die Jahre gekommen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Lennin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will definitely look into the issues that were mentioned in your review. We hope to see you again in the future, have a wonderful day. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Very convenient for downtown SFO

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Great ambience, very conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and transportation, reasonably priced, clean linen and room, courteous staff! Highl
Cons: The lights in the room could be improved and the 'perfume/freshner' that you use in the corridors could be a lot more classy than what it is now.
Location: We had an appointment on Bush street, which as 3 miles away and we thought this hotel's location was really convenient.
I think as the other prior patrons have mentioned (see reviews in Trip Advisor/Yelp), there was street noise as our room faced the Ellis street- cable cars, trucks loading/unloading, some couple upstairs was 'at it' and we could hear the bed creaking pretty loudly but other than that the facilities, price point, etc. was just apt for the convenience of downtown. Although to be completely transparent- we'd read the reviews about the street noise,etc. and were offered an interior room which would have been quieter according to the staff member- but it was for an additional cost and we only wanted the room for a night, so we chose to take the street view room. My wife loved the street view and we were tired so the noise did not bother us after some time until we were woken up by this wonderful couple upstairs. :) TIP: You can park for half the money in the public parking just next door versus their parking of $45/$50 (for oversize cars). I parked in the public parking for the day we came in and almost 3/4th of the next day and paid $34.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Silverton, OR

Nice place, great location, good price.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Had the smell of older building inside, but well-maintained and updated nonetheless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that good, definitely not a boutique hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Smelly room, unclean, noisy, good location. Would not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Lennin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. I apologize if the room did not meet your standards. I hope that you contacted our staff to inform us about the issues mentioned so that we were able to rectify the situation prior to your departure. We hope to see you again soon. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Nice hotel for "economy" business travelers

Posted Nov 20, 2014
This is a small urban hotel with a great location near Union Square and close to cable cars and other fancier hotels. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate. The staff is very helpful. Get a room in the rear and you won't hear any street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Great hotel. The staff was really nice and welcoming. we will definitely be staying here if we travel to SF again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philippines

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Excellent location! Good proximity to Muni, BART, cable car, bus stops, shops, and restos. Friendly and accommodating staff.