Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles,CA

Last Minute Pit Stop

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable, and location
Cons: Blow drier
Location: It's in the middle of Union Square, you're near everything!
Booked the room the same day for our pit-stop in SF. It's conveniently located next to a parking garage, so we parked there, rather than use the hotel's parking services. It is in the nicer area of Union Square, so you won't experience running into some homeless people as you may in other sections The lobby is nicely decorated. You can tell the building is older when you get inside of the room, just by looking at the original fixtures, but everything has been updated. I'm very happy that the room did not smell like cigarettes. It was extremely clean and neat. Their shower heads are amazing as well as the products they provide. Bed was really comfortable, no squeaks or weird springs. In the morning they provide some coffee and tea. I drank two cups. The coffee was not shabby at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to stay in Union Square, just because of the convenience and cleanliness
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Canada

Perfect Location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: central location - perfect for transit, dining & shopping
Cons: they could take the bathrooms up a notch
Location: Street cards at the door, every possible type of food and shopping you could imagine at your doorstep.
Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip, the staff are very friendly, the amenities are great, The rooms are a clean and efficient.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom m

Very disappointing...

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Let me start by saying my boyfriend and I come up to the city about every other weekend, so we stay at a lot of hotels. This was by far the worst experience we've ever had. Valet is self service valet, there was construction so the road to the parking lot was blocked off by cones, had to take a 20 min detour because of one way streets just to get to the parking lot that is located directly behind the hotel just to find out there are cones and signs in the way. I finally got out of my car and moved the cones and signs because no one from the hotel was taking care of it. Even after all this and complaining, I was forced to pay for the valet parking...also the rooms are VERY small, and the hot water takes about 30 min to get hot, so I took a cold shower...the concierge brought a bottle of wine to the room thinking this made up for it. Unbelievable!!!! Never had an experience like this before...will never be returning to this hotel. Many more outstanding hotels for similar price or even cheaper!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2015 by Lennin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I apologize for the experience you had here at our hotel, please consider one of our sister properties on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you for your time. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kanagawa, Japan

Good location close to Bart Station

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Hotel location (Bart station, shopping. dining etc), friendly staff, wifi connection, in-room coffee maker, sufficient amenities.
Cons: Smell at the corridor. (Maybe, it is from Thai restaurant nearby?)
Location: Bart station in a few minutes. The places to dine & shop are here and there.
I only stayed in San Francisco for 1 night due to the international transit. To consider the location, service and facility, this hotel was good to select this time as it fit my requirement. The hotel is so close from a Bart station, and there are plenty of places to eat and shop around the hotel. The room is quite small, but well furnished. There are coffee maker, oil heating system, desk, wifi connection, and so on. So, I did not have any problem during the stay. The hotel staff was so friendly. I think I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

Good hotel in the center

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Stayed there for 4 nights, facilities are great, staff was really helpful and the location is prime. only thing is the fact that the room is a bit small but other then that, it's a great hotel with perfect service (in the mornings you get complementary coffee and at the evening a complementary glass of wine at the lobby). The hotel has it's own parking lot (need to pay for it), so it's very convenient if you are traveling with a car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised

Posted Jan 16, 2015
They don't have a fitness center on site as advertised. The room was so small they could only fit one night stand by the bed and the room had no amenities. For $300 you basically got a bed. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2015 by Lennin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding our fitness center. Our website clearly states that the complimentary fitness center is available within walking distance. We hope you change your mind about our hotel, hope to see you again soon. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Stylish and central.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Had a great stay, access to the hotel is limited as its on a busy street. This is a dog friendly hotel but there is no green space other then Union square with in walking. Overall nice for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The hotel was quite ok. The room was very small and there was a funny smell in the whole hotel. But the location was very good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

It was fine. The elevator broke.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Real SF hotel, the lighting was cool.
Cons: Just a general upgrade of the bathroom, make sure everything is spotless.
Location: Great food and entertainment within walking distance.
It was a cool old building. I felt like it was right out of a noir novella. The halls were dark and the mood lighting was right on point, felt like I was in a movie scene. Room was tiny, expected as it's SF. The elevator broke, hoofing 5 flights of stairs was fine, the staff offered the service elevator for use, I declined. The room was small, but overall clean. The alarm went off at 5AM, playing mariachi music at full blast. It's an old building, it's creaky, but I felt it was just fine for the rate. Can't give a 5 star review and it gets 3 stars for condition of the broken elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lafayette, LA

Great location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The Location
Location: Union Square
I too was helped by the wonderful Coffee at the front desk. She was very delightful. The bellhop was great at taking our bags up to our room. Parking was a bit troublesome as it's only a small space in front to pull up and unload, but that's expected downtown. The room we were in did not have an air conditioner, or at least one that we could find. It was a simple fix of opening the windows which faced the street. I happen to love the sounds, so I was not displeased. The bathroom was extremely clean, and the shower was powerful, a rarity in hotels.