Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel in the middle of the action.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Hotel was central to everything.
Cons: Only dissapointing thing was that 2 didn't have a fan or aircon, the other had both
Location: Lots of shopping, bus tours from Union Square.
We booked 3 rooms and stayed for 3 nights. Cleaning staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel, central, decent value

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel. Close to Union Square and the cable car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Good location, pleasant stqaff.
Cons: Parking lot leaves something to be desired. Elevator very slow.
Difficult to find. The entrance is a single door, adjacent to a store that caters to young people. As a result, small crowds of people were lingering outside, making it almost impossible to see the entrance. No other ouside signage exists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I thank you for voicing your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience caused attempting to find our hotel. Being in the middle of the shopping district can cause for a heavy flow of traffic in this area. I truly hope this doesn't affect you returning to our hotel as we would we love to have you back. Thank you for your time. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M. Los Angeles

Outdated hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Hotel was located in convenient area, but Powell St. was a little too busy and noisy for our hotel room. The hotel was pretty outdated and our room was extremely small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that a disturbance was caused during your stay due to the noise. One of the disadvantages of being centrally located is the heavy flow of traffic on our busy San Francisco streets. Be sure to ask about our interior rooms facing the inner courtyard which are much quieter. We hope that you will return to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san pedro, california

THE best LOCATION, but room not completely clean

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: location, price and staff
Cons: more time spent detail cleaning the rooms
Best location and best staff; all friendly, helpful and eager to help, especially Ruben. However, even though the rooms were painted and decorated nicely, the cleanliness was horrible. Carpets don't have that 'just vacuumed' feeling, and had stains, the drapes and the baseboards had week-old dust. Having said all that, I would STILL stay there again over any other hotel in Union Square because the location, price and staff make up for the 'over-looked' rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear about the room that you were in during your stay at our hotel. I hope that you mentioned this to our front desk/housekeeping staff so that we were able to follow up with the room that you were in. I'll be sure to address the issues you've mentioned as this is not a way we want to represent our hotel. I am glad that you are wiling to return to our hotel to give us a second chance, we hope to see you soon. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Wine in the evening. Live music in the lobby
Cons: Paint the rooms. Lots of luggage marks bc the room is so small
Location: Near the cable car starting point and tons of shipping.
The beds were comfy and if all you looking for is a place to sleep then This will meet your needs. Very tiny rooms. It was clean and pleasant. Cute hotel but between my luggage and rolling briefcase it took up almost all the room that wasn't occupied by a bed or desk. It reminded me of a cruise ship room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. I apologize if the room you were placed in did not meet your standards. We have plenty of categories to choose from and one of our upgraded categories may help for a more comfortable stay. We look forward to your return, have a wonderful day. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cozy and nice

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Everything was "just enough." Nothing was over the top.
Cons: Better lobby seating layout.
Location: Centrally located to Powell and Market, so you can easily walk to most of the shopping and dining in the area as well as access the cable cars.
Not a room for hanging out. But if you need a nice place to lay your head and wash up that's centrally located, this place fits the bill. Kinda place the cool kids might stay, but the staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shopping and other hotels

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Good people - very accommodating. Seemed to really care about my overall experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but the rooms are small...

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We picked this hotel because it was fairly convenient for the SF Marathon. It was a little more expensive than we would normally book, but the location was good. The concierge was friendly and helpful, and we did get an early check in. Unfortunately, there was no option for a late check out. We had to rush back after the half marathon to clean up and check out, which was disappointing. Everything is small. The lobby is small and the rooms are very small. Our room had a queen size bed, a small chair and side table, and nary a square foot of extra space. The bathroom was decent. The shower and toilet were amazingly quiet in use. The bed was very comfortable and they provided two pillows per person. Our room looked out onto the light well - no view at all. On the other hand, it was very quiet. We did not notice any noise in the halls or from outside. For me, the size did not matter. We mainly wanted a comfortable place to sleep, and we got that. The main disappointment was the lack of late checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am glad that you chose our hotel, it seems like the location worked out perfectly for you. Please note that we do have a variety of rooms, on your next visit we can offer you one of our larger executive rooms which may help for a comfortable stay. I do apologize that we weren't able to offer you a late checkout, unfortunately this is subject to availability. Please contact us directly for your future visit and we will be more than happy to find a room that works for you. Thanks again. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, a bit eerie

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and location.
Cons: Brighter Lighting in the hallways leading to all rooms.
Location: Location is great, close to all shopping and the famous Trolley cars
I visit San Francisco a few times a year and have stayed in many downtown hotels but this hotel was by far the most memorable hotel. The staff were extremely polite and professional and the lobby was modern, airy and comfortable. Exiting the elevator to my room floor was akin to being transported to a bygone era. The walls were a dark shade of red and very dimly lit. The original brick walls were exposed which was charming but walking through the long, darkly lit, narrow hallway to my room was a bit uncomfortable. The room was clean but small and the closet door was stuck shut. The window opened to the Main Street which was a bit noisy But closing the window helped reduce the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Domitille Montoro, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. For the most part it sounds like you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I apologize if the decor and hallways made for an uncomfortable feeling as that is definitely not our intention. Please keep in mind that we have a variety of room types at our hotel and would have been more than happy to accommodate you with a room that met your needs. If you return to San Francisco you may also want to consider one of our sister properties either at Hotel Diva or The Kensington park Hotel which would offer a different ambiance that may work for you. Let us know when you are back in town and we will figure it out. I hope you have a wonderful day. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager