Ratings based on 5,086 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from merced, ca

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 3, 2015
This hotel was very nice I loved the hallways to the rooms and the walkways but the room was too basic for the price paid. It was a nice hotel, just expected better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pomeroy, WA

It was old

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Wonderful ambiance. Old world.
Cons: Coffee in the room would be nice.
Location: Fisherman's Warf is within a 20. minute trolly ride
It was pleasant and served its purpose. Not alot of amenities. This hotel caters to German speaking tourists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E.d Colombia

Very convenient to go to the tourist places

Posted Aug 1, 2015
My stay in the hotel was good, the hotel has an excellent location but they need to improve the internet service (wifi) it was so bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hyderabad, India

May be historic, but not a great place.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: The location is good. BART station is just 3 minutes away.
Cons: Everything, from positioning of bed, desk to Wifi connectivity.
Very small room, not proper placing of furniture. Too small a toilet/bathroom. Wifi is horrible. It got connected only once in my entire stay 16 hours. If you want to work using study desk, you have to squeeze yourself in and I bet, you will struggle to get out of your chair. Restaurant for breakfast seems to be better and overall the saving grace, is the only staff. They are very courteous and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Bad neiborhood and slow internet, but really nice staff and very clean room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, ca

Great Location, so-so facitlies

Posted Jul 31, 2015
We enjoyed the location of this hotel as it is centrally located to where you can walk to theaters, Union Square and other sites in SF. The staff was great, the facilities need a bit of updating, especially the air conditioners/window units in the room. Overall it was a pleasant experience at a reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Think twice about paying $300+ to stay here

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: see my experience, above
Location: Opera, ballet, symphony, shopping, businesses, fast & fine restaurants, safe neighborhood, tourist attractions and sites. Just a $$7 Uber to anywhere
Inadequate a/c, even after we changed rooms. WiFi didn't work well; concierge was there to sell trips, not answer questions. Nobs fell of furniture and bathroom fixtures. Hotel staff made me look dumb because I didn't know mujch about the city: God figure...I was a guest in town. Dark halls. This antique hotel has the potential to be a great spot; all the raw ingredients are there. They're just too raw right now to spend several hun dred dollars a night there for a room when there is so much competition so nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Everything about Lobby, nothing about room

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be cleaned and add ammenities
we just stayed there for 2 nights on July 26 and 27th. Everything and all efforts on Lobby. How much you canstay in lobby, for me you can only enjoy lobby about 10-15 minutes of your stay. Room should been given preference too, that's where you sleep and take rest. Rooms are too crowded, shower was terrible, you literally had to stand there for 20 minutes to take shower. Bed had hair, so that means sheets were not changed, phone was not working. No refrigerator. No coffee Maker. No microwave. Only thing is location, that's about it. Staff was nice and pleasant, no complaint about staff. Rooms and hallway are dirty and old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel close to Union Station.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
There was some rumbling in the pipes of the shower. But it wasn't a problem. Close to Union Station and the Bart was right outside the door and was a 30 minute ride to the airport. Overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beatufil and historical

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Well located in the city.Valet Parking available but a 38 dls per day but very convenient. Starbucks access through the lobby. Beatiful hotel because it is old and charming.