Ratings based on 3,372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel/Good location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Easy BART to Embarcadero and AT&T park
We only stayed for one night, so weren't looking for anything special. This hotel is in a very central location with easy access to BART and you get a little bit of old San Francisco with the boutique style. The rooms are small, and bathrooms are pretty tiny, but no complaints overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Smug front desk staff, no room cleaning between nights, horrible neighbourhood, awful shower etc
Location: Be careful returning to hotel late at night. Sketchy area.
This was hands down the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and at almost $700US for two nights, borderline criminal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Be prepared for the homeless but ok hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: I had a problem with the room they fixed it straight away by moving me into a better room. It was much better and had all what I needed and the coffee
Cons: The homeless people need to be moved off market street... It's really bad !
Location: Great to pick up the F or Bart and coffee ;)
The location is good, but a lot of homeless people outside and they are a little crazy; be prepared for this!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High price for tiny rooms

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Rooms were small, people were rude, electricity went out. Definitely not worth the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Not a good experience. Small room with no view. Poor service. Closet smelled like cigarettes. I would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Nice old grand hotel. Good location for transit. Had fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Too many homeless people around. Hotel needs some paint
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Good value at $120 < Union Square per night

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: This is a nearly 100 year old hotel that's in remarkable condition. You'll know it's old, a classic -the windows open. The staff is professional.
Cons: The comings and goings of large groups clogs up parking, elevators, check-in, check-out, etc.
Location: The Bart and Muni stations are right out the front door. The library, City Hall and the Asia Museum are very close. Union Square is a short walk.
This is a nearly 100 year old hotel that's in remarkable condition. The lobby is clean marble. You'll know it's old, a classic. The windows open. The view is interesting. The plumbing's a little below grade A, but it all works; the rooms are on the small end, but not tiny. The staff is helpful and professional. For what you'll save from the cost of a Union Square hotel, you can pay for a pretty nice San Francisco dinner for two. My only complaint is that the hotel seems to attract large groups arriving in buses. Everyone was courteous, but the comings and goings of these groups clogs up check-in, check-out, the elevators, etc. You could work around it. On balance, a good value and a classic old San Francisco hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Overall, just okay. I got it on the cheap and it served its purpose. The rooms were soo dusty it was off putting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, slow staff

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Good location close to a station and the civic centre, only 15 minute walk from union Square. Staff were very slow to respond to any requests. WI FI didnt work in the rooms.