Ratings based on 3,363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, slow staff

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Good location close to a station and the civic centre, only 15 minute walk from union Square. Staff were very slow to respond to any requests. WI FI didnt work in the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Sight seeing in San Francisco

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Very classy old world charm
Cons: Beds and showers
Location: All that is San Francisco is within easy access - if need be by walking
Classic old world hotel with lots of charm but old in too many other ways. Mattress on the bed had dips where people had been lying. Shower was luke warm at best and did not improve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Bad hotel in bad part of town.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I got this through the express deals and I am never playing this game again. The hotel is rundown. Most, though certainly not all, of the staff is pretty abrupt. I don't think the hotel deserves 3 stars, maybe two on a good day. Oh and the location is awesul. Every other person on the street is a homeless bagger ( the other one is a drug addict).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Location: The BART is literally outside the front door, that was fantastic and made getting to the airport a breeze.
Nice hotel overall, my room was comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and courteous. Some things in the room (mostly bathroom related) were a bit outdated and worn, as others have mentioned, kind of like they remodeled in the 80's and they are still there. But seriously, it was no big deal and if you are looking for the Four Seasons, then stay at the Four Seasons. As far as reasonably priced, nice places to stay, a definite thumbs up!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

I would never ever stay here again!!!!!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Everything!
Location: It is located near the Theatre District, sorta........too far from everything else to make it worth the money.
This place was awful! First of all the pictures they show are not evident of what the rooms, especially the bathrooms are like! There was NO BATHTUB in our room, even though the picture shows a tub w/shower combo. The view was awful! There was no coffee in the room (as advertised) and they didn't even have coffee in the lobby :( I was beyond disappointed :( Besides the fact that it is way too far from anything downtown that I was interested in doing/seeing. Bad bonus ~ it's kind of in a bad part of town........ I give this place a big fat zero!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small, Old, and Broken...

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It was next to a Bart station so moving around the city is easy. Free internet.
Cons: Almost everything. Honestly the place could use a complete remodel down to the frames.
This hotel looks nice in the pictures, but it is very old and outdated. The rooms and bathrooms were very small. When using the toilet, your legs are actually under the sink because of how small everything is. Only one of the few outlets in the room had 3 prongs, so if you need to plug in anything other than a phone charger you are out of luck. The elevators were slow and you could spend several minutes waiting for it to stop (less than 10 floors, it should be fast). To top off the horrible night the moist San Francisco air condensed on the outside of the bathroom fan and ran into the room. There was a constant dripping that left half the bathroom covered in water by the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Hotel Centrally Located

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I liked the old world charm of this hotel. They have a singing doorman who is a local hero award winner!
Cons: Only one person was checking in guests, even though there were 3 people behind the desk. The line was getting a bit long.
Location: Centrally located. Great shopping and dining very close by. Easy access to public transportation and the Freeway is not too far away.
I chose this hotel for its charm, but found out it offered quite a bit more. The Hotel Whitcomb is centrally located, has easy access to BART, and every taxi driver knows this hotel by name - I never had to tell them the address! Housekeeping bent over backwards to have our room ready for us and fixed a slight problem very quickly. Concierge service was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pasadena, ca

In a sketch area

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The hotel is kinda hard to get to but everything is in san fran. Easy to catch public transportation from hotel and walking distance from a few shops and bars. The hotel was ok but they told us at night they didnt let anyone in without a key card and when I got back to my room at 2am no one was at the door to check our key cards. I felt like I paid way to much to stay here is they lowered their prices I would say there again maybe. But outside the hotel were alot of beggers and homeless sleeping on the street. Oh and if you smoke their smoking area looks like a mass murder happened there many years ago. Very creepy I could not even go in that room!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Was an ok experience. Hotel staff wasn't very hospitable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Not what I expected we checked in and out the same day.