Ratings based on 3,218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by deux amies from montreal

Really nice hôtel but around is not a pretty place

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hall, room confortable .
Cons: Internet doesn't wok well in the room half time.
Location: Homeless are so presents and ugly but the location is near métro
It was a good experience , the elevator is not modern. We always use stairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great price Market St.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Our room was tiny, and the toilet in the bathroom was missing a piece. The staff did offer another room, but, the wait time for check-in and the inability if the staff to answer the phone when we called with above complaint signaled that we stay at another hotel.
2 out of 5
by The Ref. from Fresno, Ca.

did not like

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The old stricture.
Cons: Help with your luggage when you arrive.and the Staff in the Lobby.
Location: The Muni is just right out front door, that makes it nice to get to and from places.
The toilet was not clean when we arrived, we had to have maid service come in to scrub it. Staff at the Lobby were as cold as fish. connoisseurs was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lisa from new orlens

yes this is the one!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
very happy hree. the staff conceierge front desk housekeeping everyone very nice . beatufitul decor and old hotel in the middle of town
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V from NY NY

Nice Hotel off Market Street.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The location was right for me to attend a meeting at the Moscone Center. It is a walk to get there. But it is not unpleasant even in the early morning
Cons: You would need to modernize - unlikely. And the room lighting is pretty poor due to the new bulbs.
Location: There are parks and a farmers' market. The cablecar is close. And there is always Union Square. Lots to do. This hotel in not central, but close enoug
The hotel has a wood paneled lobby which first attracted me while browsing online. A mix up in the reservation placed me in a room at the far end with little view to another building and a wall. The hotel is obviously old and while clean, it is showing its age. Other rooms overlooking Market St might be charming. Since I was there for a meeting, I did not spend time in the tiny room except to sleep. The neighborhood at night is a bit empty and this might make some folks nervous. This is a downtown hotel and on busy Market St within walking distance of most things. Overall it was satisfactory for what the pictures and review stated. I could have had a better experience at the front desk, but this was one woman having a bad day. Otherwise everyone else was pleasant and courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Chicago

Good location, not so much space

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was helpful, helped get us a larger room. Also the history and character.
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded and cleanliness needs to improve.
Location: Great restaurants and bars around the area, as well as close to the ball park
The hotel is centrally located, so getting to any place in the city is relatively easy. The staff was great, but the rooms were smaller than the photos show. We had to request a new room to accommodate our group of four. Rooms need to be remodeled / upgraded as well as cleaned a bit more thoroughly. Overall it was an average stay, but the trip was amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by B from Reno

Nice hotel great public transportation

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Beds comfortable , and a historic hotel nice harm....
Cons: Small bathroom ...
Location: The availability of the muni and bart system make everything close ... AT & T it only took 15 minutes to get to it ....
A nice hotel on the historic registry .... older but clean very nice staff... small bathroom if that matters to you ... The local muni and bart are within 200 feet of the hotel under ground of course.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good price.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
We were happy in general. Beds a little soft for him, fine for me. No mini fridge and slow elevators were the main irritants. Lobby is beautiful, hotel restaurant is over priced, food is ok. Sam's dinner across market st is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kurt from Melbourne, Australia

Comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
The hotel has a beautiful historic feeling, rooms were clean and comfortable however there was no room safe to secure valuables. Had dinner at the downstairs restaurant one night, steak and lamb dishes were very well prepared and tasted Safe to walk around area during the day, however at night it gets a bit seedy with all the homeless that base themselves on Market St. Recommend Cable car F which stops out the front or a cab after sun set!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Reno

Old hotel in Tenderloin

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Very good staff. Very convenient to public transportation. Problematic musty smell in dark hallways. Loud street noise as hotel is on the main thourough fare. Seems to cater well to European visitors. Neighborhood can be very rough after dark. Room was small and dated but clean and private. Even with heavy construction in area ,the rough neighborhood and antiquated accommodations it is still a very good $ value for a SF visitor. It is steps away from MUNI and BART which can rapidly transport you to almost anywhere in the city. Very nice staff make you not worry so much about the lack of modernity.