Ratings based on 3,663 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buenos aires

nice hotel close to the opera

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: architecture
Cons: parking
a very comfortable hotel . an expensive parking garage
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, older hotel.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, very clean.
Cons: Bed was very soft and needed to be replaced. Sunk in the middle.
Location: Trains nearby. Shopping. Piers.
I felt very safe and secure in this hotel. Location was convenient to shopping, trains, and the piers. Hotel room was clean, spacious and very bright. Downside, construction of a building happening next door. Jackhammers going by 7am during the week. Prices were very reasonable. $149 a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Q

Awesome hotel close to all the bars !! : )

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Great room the staff were very helpful !! Wish I could have stayed longer !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bath

Old fashioned hotel - average facilities.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Room was small. No coffee facilities. Poor restaurant and small bar. Staff did not seem to want to help. When I tried to check out early it was difficult to find any staff. The car parking attendant thought his breakfast a higher priority than collecting my car! I wouldn't stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Bad area of town. Hotel needs work. Very expensive for what you get.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calif.

Older hotel in a bad neighborhood.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Had a starbucks in the lobby
Cons: Hotel needs improving.
Location: Would not walk around the area. Not the best part of San Fransisco.
First thing was my wife used the lobby restroom and it was terrible. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very small for the money. OK hotel in a bad part of the City. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pleasant surprise on Market

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The historical character and cleanliness. The internet was free. Beautiful appointments--drapes, sheets, decor.
Cons: The room was equipped with one of the old hotel style heater/air conditioners and it was a bit noisy, but effective.
Location: I was in only for a very quick business stay so didn't get to enjoy the area much. Next time.
The room was small as is the case with older hotels. It was meticulously clean. The linens were beautiful. I wish I had been there a bit longer to enjoy the beautiful stained glass in the bar and the chandeliers in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Posted Sep 5, 2014
From the moment I arrived...every single employes I came in contact was rude and dismissive. Everyone seemed to have a different agenda and other busy things to do besides wait on the customers. From the bellman to the front desk clerk to the staff inside the lobby they were all rude and I was completely taken back because Inqasbteying so hard to be nice and even tried to engage them in happy banter. The accommodations were very sad and dreary, small and confusing. The carpets in the halls were disgustingly dirty and rolling up all over the place--especially in high traffic areas. This is an easy fix...so ateange that it is allowed to be this run down. But then there were new decorative pillows and curtains in the room that really matched nothing else in the room--especially the ugly blue painted trim that was all around the room and matched absolutely nothing. To say it was atrocious would be an understatement. I will never return to this hotel and will NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone that I've ever speak with. For close to $200 a night I could've stayed somewhere much nicer with more charm and less grotesque decor and horrible customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

TV & desk electrical plugs did not work

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Major remodeling
The property location was very bad. All the homeless people frightened my granddaughter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice, older hotel in downtown.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: * Convenience to Bart/MUNI * Nice rooms * Friendly staff
Cons: More door insulation possibly, not sure how that would work.
Location: Again, convenience to Bart/MUNI terminal. A good diner across the street. Starbucks inside. One terminal stop away from the Moscone center.
I was very pleased with the comfort of this hotel. I was a little worried by the other reviews, but at the same time, we all have differing opinions. The room was very roomy, and had everything I would expect from a hotel room. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The cleaning service did a great job, and the staff was alway happy to help with anything I needed. The Bart/MUNI terminal is just outside the front door, no need to cross any street at all. The only complaint I would have is that you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway. Not much going on my week there, so that wasn't much of a problem for me.