Ratings based on 4,526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overall.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: It's history.
Cons: The mattress was a bit lumpy.
Location: Aside from walking to the opera, the symphony, the Asian Art Museum, the Civic Center and the Orpheum Theater, there is very little else to do.
It's a little far from shopping centers. Market Street is not necessarily the cleanest place and "safest" place to walk on. Poverty abounds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good choiced room. old facility.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
not good choiced room. old facility. very noisy. bed sheets are not comfotable. and staff are not friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

酒店有些陈旧,地理位置不错

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: 位置
Cons: 洗澡水大小
酒店位置不错,门口就有地铁,到火车站步行大约30分钟。去联合广场、中国城、九曲花街开车大约10分钟就到。但是酒店过于陈旧,水很小,停车也需要35刀。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom I.E.

Elegant, Beautiful Hotel With Oddities

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel's historic look is incredibly well maintained. Downtown location is great for public trans. Street parking was ample (on my Sunday stay.)
Cons: Water pressure can be improved (it's an old hotel but freezing cold water is unpleasant.) The rooms need some sort of closable curtains.
Location: Easy public trans access. Within walking distance to Cellarmaker Brewing Co. & City Beer Store. Good street parking.
This hotel is absolutely beautiful from the lobby to the hallways to it's location in the heart of San Francisco. But the hotel is not without it's oddities. The bathroom is incredibly small, the shower's water pressure limited, and curiously no draw-able curtains in my room. The bathroom is almost like being in a closet, with the toilet being inches away from the sink. It took about 3 minutes to get hot water in the shower due to the low pressure. I had a corner room with windows on 2 sides but there were no curtains. This meant for a sun-filled room early in the morning and cautious changing of clothes. I understand the age of the hotel and appreciate it's character, but the limited spaced and operating condition were a worrisome surprise.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TM

Bad Hotel, Is not what you expect

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The staff is very bad, they seem that don't care about your stay and they are not interested in making you feel good at the hotel. They are not kind and a little rude. The worst thing of all is that you have to pay almost $40 per night for the parking lot. With that money you can go and look for a better hotel with parking lot included in the same area or better. What kind of hotel doesn't include the parking lot as part of the rate for you stay?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat Hotel at a Great Price

Posted Feb 22, 2015
As others have noted, the Hotel Whitcomb is in the old City Hall building. The lobby is very elaborate and the restaurant is nice. There is a Starbucks connected. Upstairs, the hallways are cavernous and dark. The rooms are simple, clean, and decent. The staff was friendly and courteous; the manager called and offered me breakfast on the house, simply because I gave my check-in experience good marks on Expedia. It is located on Market Street near the new City Hall building--I had a great view of the dome from my window--which is a major thoroughfare in San Francisco with readily available transportation. The BART station is literally right out front the hotel. You can be at the Moscone Center in 1 stop or the Embarcadero in two. Walking two blocks orthogonal to Market Street will put you in a pretty ghetto place though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 3 star hotel. Room is substandart.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
This is not a 3 star hotel. Room is substandart. Very small. Showers terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Hotel is decent, rooms are cramped, nothing special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place for stay

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Ambience & Food.
Cons: Bit high at pricing.
It was pleasing experience during the stay. The location of the Hotel is at good point which Bart Station & public transport easily available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Very poor area of town. Staff was not hospitable but not rude. Bathroom very small. Would have been ok if the price had been less per night. I don not feel that I received what I paid for.