Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great place for a night's rest.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, nice big room and breakfast.
Location: There are plenty of food options near by and a small supermarket. Probably wouldn't stay here if visiting San Francisco city - too far away.
I stayed here after a flight from NZ, before picking up our rental car the next day. We booked a 1 King Bed room. The room was really large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is a little bit old and on a main road but I did not find it noisy and I am quite a light sleeper. There was a free shuttle from the airport which we used when we landed and to get back to the airport to pick up our car - no hassles. The shuttle driver and the front desk staff were friendly. Breakfast was included and this was simple but plentiful - cereal, bagels, toast, pastries, fruit and yoghurt. There was a fridge and microwave. Free WiFi was excellent. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
A little loud because of airport, found hair in bath tub. Breakfast was okay. Bed was too firm. Easy check in and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, clean, close to airport but no airport noise

Posted Jun 24, 2015
nice overnight-er, plenty restaurants round the corner, well maintained, Howard Johnson reputation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Good basic hotel within short distance to airport

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the airport and price. Beds were comfortable.
Cons: Main lobby and public areas were a bit dated and dingy.
Location: A shopping plaza is a short distance away with a few restaurants and a grocery store.
This hotel offers proximity to gas stations and is a short drive to the SF airport. Staff are courteous and helpful. The rooms was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very basic but did offer make your own waffle station which seemed to be popular. They had underground car parking that was in close proximity to an elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Close to the airport, ok part of town. Good for the early flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Room size for several days made moving about easy.
Location: The airport shuttle made getting around easier.
When we checked out to go to Yosemite, the desk clerk volunteer to make us a google map so we wouldn't have problems getting out of San Francisco. We had no problems leaving or entering the city. Karalee Jonely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland,NZ

Average hotel on a busy road in an run down area.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Carpeting, provide guests with better towels. add more amenities to bathroom..
Room was good enough for an overnight stay, not a place to stay longer. Surrounding area is not very attractive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by GRM, Hotel Management
Hello Herman, Thank you for your time in posting your review about your stay. It is sad that you were displeased with our location nevertheless, it is fabulous to hear that you found the quality of clean in our guest room sufficing your standards. I still hope you pay us a visit next time you visit this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the airport.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Breakfast area.
Good food near by and close to the airport. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by GRM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review and taking note of how you were pleased with the hospitality of our staff. Indeed, we pride in providing an inviting ambiance to our guests and provide a home away from home experience with us. We look forward to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Great location"

Posted May 26, 2015
The hotel was clean and the front desk clerk was very nice. The location was close to the airport. The room was clean and very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
HelloSherryr0045, On behalf of the team, I thank you sincerely for taking the time to complete the satisfaction survey for our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that we have succeeded in providing fine hotel experience to you during your stay. Your marvelous remarks will surely will motivate our team even more to stay committed in our goal for excellence. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alles in Ordnung

Posted May 20, 2015
Haben drei Nächte verbracht. Zimmer hatte eine angenehme grösse und sauber. Hotel ist mit Mietwagen gut geeignet. Nach San Fransisco benötigt man mit dem Auto 30-40 min. Frühstück war ok. Flughafen gleich in der Nähe, aber es gibt kein Fluglärm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Lars, It is very nice to hear that you had a restful time during your 3 night stay at our hotel. We thank you for generously sharing your thoughts and your positive feedback score following your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again at Howard Johnson Express. Hallo Lars, Es ist sehr schön zu hören, dass Sie während Ihrer 3-tägigen Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel hatten eine erholsame Zeit. Wir bedanken uns für die großzügige Sie Ihre Gedanken und Ihr positives Feed-Score nach Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns. Wir freuen uns, Sie wieder bei Howard Johnson Express begrüßen zu dürfen.