Ratings based on 1,332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna, BC, Canada

15 Minutes from SFO by Shuttle

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Think this hotel is under-rated at only 2 stars. Found it to be much better than expected for the price: clean, with spacious, well-provisioned rooms (microwave, fridge, coffee maker, ironing board, etc.). Wifi worked great as well. Liked the fact that it was a quick 15 minute shuttle ride from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sf, ca

comfortable

Posted Feb 14, 2015
great beds and wonderful showers.. Helpful front desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Castle, DE

Perfect in large and small ways

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Parking, free breakfast, cleanliness, bed comfort, ease of getting into SF
Cons: This was the nicest HoJo I've ever stayed in!
Location: This HoJo is really close to the SF airport, but it's not too far from SF
Three of my friends and I booked two rooms for our trip to SF for a powwow in which we danced. From the minute we got there, we were impressed. The front desk person was solicitous and helpful. Our room was HUGE and the beds were über comfortable. Breakfast is included and isn't just continental...there were hard boiled eggs and that waffle iron found in a lot of places. The coffee was good and there was plenty of it. There's an attention to cleanliness here. Would we return? No doubt!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse than a pig sty

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Absolutely everything could be improved. Vacuum the fingernails and filth of the hall carpets would be a good start.
It was filthy. Did not stay there even though the room was paid for. It was dirty and disgusting. Front desk person was not helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom China

Nice

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Good hotel. Easy to shoping and eating. And easy to SFO international airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Warm welcome and friendly. Room was clean and big with microwave and refrigerator. I will stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C

Close to SFO with an on time shuttle service

Posted Feb 2, 2015
It was barely acceptable and I would not stay there again. The walls must be paper thin as you would hear the family in the next room most of the night. Given they we had a 3 am rise that as tough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with shuttle service to the airport

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The convenience to the SFO airport is a plus.
It was close to the airport with a shuttle. The staff was accomodating, finding us a room with a bath tub instead of a shower for people with challanges. It was a clean basic hotel room. There is WIFI service and a small refrigerator i the room. The room was noisy due to a person above us walking loudly, stomping, all night long, waking us up between the hours of 10 pm and 7 am. Also rooms on the front of the hotel have street noise as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala

The hotel is just fine.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: It was close to the airport.
Cons: The breakfast could be better. It was not bad. Just ok.
Location: We only stayed for one night.
Everything was fine with the check in and the room. The room was good and it was clean. The breakfast was only the ordinary. The breads offered were very simple. Either the cheap or whole wheat sandwich type. The only problem is that it took the shuttle over 1/2 hour to get to us at the airport. It was not during rush hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Carole, Thank you for sharing your feedback about the service you received from our team. I apologize for the slow shuttle service, we will verify what took place during. Our guests’ safety is important to us though it is unusual indeed that it would take quite a while to reach destination. Your assessment on the breakfast selection is appreciated. This gives us reference as we continue to strive to for excellence. We hope to serve you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

The location is convenient.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast and free parking.
The breakfast was decent, the staff helpful and the room #311 was quiet. We enjoyed staying there and would recommend it to our family and friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Housewife, Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure having you at Howard Johnson Express. It is our goal to provide our guests restful stay and efficient assistance. Having to earn your recommendation is a huge plus. We look forward to welcoming again in our hotel soon.