Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: online
Cons: all good
Location: near conference.
Comfortable - not too flashy - clean - everything went well
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room, parking, and breakfast

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: proximity to pier 39 and Golden Gate Bridge
Cons: Breakfast goes a long way to happiness. General housekeeping of rooms
Location: Pier 39, took the a tour bus around town and it was great. Drove up to Muir Woods. A must see!
They do have a parking garage with only 12 to 16 spaces. first come first serve. Room beds were hard. Sink had mold on it. Dirt stains on walls. Breakfast was nothing as picture suggested. Choices are plain oatmeal, bananas, Bear claws, prepackaged danishes, O.J. and Apple Juice. Door handle very loose. For the price in a safe neighborhood what do you expect! Would give plenty of info with recommendation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Although staff was friendly, hotel is really run down. Mold in restroom and filthy baseboards. There were never enough towels for the 4 of us. The towels were so thin and ragged. On a positive note, location was perfect for shopping and dining.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The rooms are small, smoke smell & a lot of noise.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location, but there many other nicer hotels in the area.
The location is good, but the rooms are very small and not very clean. Not enough parking for all the rooms. Even though they advertise a non-smoking policy. Guest are smoking right outside of the rooms in a common area and the cigarette smoke comes in the room. In addition, guests like to visit in the common area so it is very noisy. No windows looking outside only to the covered common area. This hotel was our worst experience, had to cancel the rest of the reservation. Do not recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Jul 6, 2014
If you don't mind walking a few miles, you'll find that this hotel is walking distance from several local attractions, including Fisherman's Wharf. We also walked to the Golden Gate Bridge and Chinatown from the hotel, but that's probably farther than most people would want to walk on these very steep local streets. Bring a sweatshirt and sunscreen. The wind is chilly but the sun is strong.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolute nasty hotel. It stinks like Urine

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild it
Location: It's at a good location very close to the water
This hotel is disgusting and not even cheap. We had to cancel our reservation after our first night and moved to the Coventry Inn which is right across from it. Coventry Inn was cheaper and the room was clean and large.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to pier 39...saves on parking costs.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location...saves on parking if you want to go to pier 39.
LIMITED parking spaces...about 14. Felt like we were at the Indy 500 with all the traffic going by at all times of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for the Price

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the price was the cheapest around for a decent hotel.
Cons: I think it was a bit expensive but compared to many other hotels in SFO, it was relatively cheap.
When going through a lot of the reviews for this place, I was a little nervous about staying here. It seems that a lot of people get hot headed and feel like they are cool if they can totally tell a company off in a review. This establishment was very nice. First of all, the location was perfect. If you will be riding the public transportation in SFO, this hotel was right near a couple major bus stops. It is only a short ride away from Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradheli Square. The hotel was very clean and exactly what I expected for what I paid for. If you are going to be cheap, don't come to SFO. The hotels are relatively expensive and this was the cheapest around. Remember people, we are rating a Hoard Johnson. Not the Ritz. The rooms were clean and tidy and I had to have a couple things brought up like extra soap and towels and they brought them up within just 2 minutes of me calling. The staff was very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from Barrie, Ontario

Great location close to hop on/hop off tour

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Price and accessibility to Bus tour
Cons: Had everything we needed
Location: Close to Hop on/hop off bus tourvroute cwhich goes all over San Francisco
San Francisco is a beautiful city Hojo's was reasonably priced for a room with 2 dbl beds and private bath. Very clean Close to restaurants We had a good stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 3rdO from NZ

Close to Marina district

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Value for money
Cons: A little more for breakfast
Location: Close to the Pier for Alcatraz tour
Nice and clean room, good shower. No excess noise at night Nice and close to the marina district with parking underneath. Breakfast provided and reasonably priced. Would stay here again