Ratings based on 1,837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, Ca

Terrific location, close to everything,

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Aside from the renovation of rooms during our visit, it was a wonderful place to stay and enjoy all that SF has to offer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the wharf.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
It would be nice to know if construction is going on at the hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Workers on strike woke us up every morning and the hotel is under renovations that they failed to mention when we booked our room so construction and workers LOUD! House keeping did not clean our room , we had to call for clean towels!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Disappointing

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The valet gentleman the restaurant the wait staff and the bar tenders
Cons: Knowledge from concierge about different restaurants and helping with a cab
Location: Great location the warf the cable car Alcatraz
Being an Expedia VIP Gold Card member I expected a better room. You had to pay for internet service parking was two blocks away. The room was not very clean. However the valet was wonderful as well as the bartenders and wait staff. The concierge could have been more helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: the construction going on right next to us woke us up early every day :(
The construction was very annoying especially since it woke us up early on vacation but the location of the hotel was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom East Bay CA

This is not a 4 star hotel, more like 2.5 stars.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The lobby area is renovated, but our room is very dated and depressing. There is no sound proofing and we could hear people walking in the hallway. The bathroom has been remodeled in a strange way. The shower head does not provide enough water so that I could not wash my hair. The water only trickled down because of the design. There is no towel bar to hang the towels either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MEXICO

Good choice and less noisy

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: bed, bathroom, space
Cons: FREE INTERNET
Location: I was on business
I had a quiet night but early trucks working in the morning with the backguards alarm. probably that is just on the side my room was. I did not find where to connect my phone near my bed. very big room very comfortable NO INTERNET IN THE ROOM without paying extra.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Hotel convenient, parking not and too expensive

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: A few of the staff were friendly, most ignored us, including in the restaurant
Cons: Clean, clean, clean.....realize that those staying for a week deserve as much if not more that nightly guests.
Location: We were busy and enjoyed everyday away from the hotel. Location was fine, we choose it.
Arrived to a mildew ceiling rm 314, had to complain at front desk, fixed ceiling only, grout in shower and bathroom dirty, mildew along glass shower wall at bottom, stained at bottom. Had to place glasses at garbage can to get clean ones, had to ask for more coffee/tea. There was a Potatoe chip in front of the lounge chair all week, a water cap under the desk all week, 1 1/2 row of dust around all baseboards and thick dust in corner near right side of bed, no luggage racks, dust mound at foot of bed where it was dented. We felt that we were on holiday and weren't going to spend the week requesting cleaning, so we just put up with it. Our other room 313, had similar issues but less mold. The only thing we could rely on was that the heat was always turned down
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Good location, but not much else.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: More professional Concierge service. This hotel makes you pay extra for WIFI and coffee in the lobby. Homeless sleep on the sidewalk next to hotel.
Location: Location is the best thing going for this hotel... Easy walk to Fishermans Warf, Ghiradelli Square. Cable Car stop on adjacent corner.
Great proximity to too many things to mention. The Concierge service was woeful -- My 16 year old with a phone and google could do the same or better -- and he did! The location is fantastic with so many things to see and do within walking distance: Fishermans Warf, Ghiradelli Square, Cable Car stop on adjacent corner. However, we really appreciated having a car to easily get to other neaby fun things to do like Baker Beach, Golden Gate Park and the "top" and "other side" of the Marin Headlands -- which I would list as must see places in San Francisco that some might miss. The car also made it easy to get to Muir Woods which was awesome! Other memorable moments: brunch in Sausalito at The Trident which has good hippie vibe from its past connection to Kingston Trio ownership. The crab cake eggs Benidict was really good. And the views of Angel Island, Alcatraz and back across to SF are world class. We will really miss the food options available in SF. We went to "Tin Vietnamise Cuisine" on a recommendation as to where the locals go and it was very good and less expensive and I think we were only tourist in the place which was nice. Also went to the more "Touristy" and expensive option of "The Slanted Door" -- it was more expensive but food was fantastic to look at and eat! All of the food was top notch, but the round Gau Choy Gow are worth mentioning as they were so unique ;-) The peppermint cotton candy dessert was a surprising treat and most awesome photo op for the kids!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a place to lay your head.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More family friendly amenities. More personal amenities such as lotions, robes, etc,.
If you're looking for full amenities. This will not do. If you're looking for a place to lay your head at night and nothing more, it's the place for you. i have to say that the staff is excellent,very friendly and accommodating. It's close to many things in the area, walking everywhere! One bonus, the restaurant Knuckles next door was fabulous. It's very small but if you can get a seat, they're great!