Ratings based on 1,779 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Check in was bad, I asked the front desk lady if there were any upgrades available and told me I already had a nice room, when I get to the room, big dissapoinment, she gave me a room in a corner with too little space (I had already upgraded), when I go back to let her know that I wasnt happy with the room, she gave me an upgraded one and mentioned she wouldnt charge me the 45 dlls difference. (I thought there were no upgrades available)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

All Amenities were only a few feet away.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: There were plenty of plugs for our electronics. The Regency Club was a highlight overlooking the bay and bay bridge. With complimentary foods,beverage
Cons: There is no reason for 2 soap holders attached to the wall of the shower/tub. There was one high holder, and one low holder.
Location: The cable car was a few steps away. Shops were all around. Restaurants were all around. Buses were all around. What more could we ask for?
From check in to check out, the efficiency was marvelous. Complimentary newspaper, and breakfast buffet was a plus. The service was phenomenal overall. The Regency club lounge was an extra highlight with complimentary foods, and beverages, massage chairs, and the view of the city was exhilarating. The rooms were spotlessly perfected, with the beds were so comfortable. There were eco friendly recycling bins in our room. The staff, and service was genuine. We will definitely come back for more VIP treatment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Nice hotel with excellent facilities.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The facilities definitely. Fitness center very clean and organized. I was definitely impressed with The Regency Club 360ยบ view and its amenities.
Cons: The Regency Club food could be better. When I thanked a The Eclipse waiter for serving me coffee his answer was "yeap." Totally inappropriate!!
Location: Location is great and I found plenty of things to do and places to go to.
I would say that my experience in general was pleasant. The staff, with the exception of some waiters in The Eclipse restaurant, was very professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: N/A
Location: Great eats, and easily accessible to the heart of downtown SF
Clean Room, breathtaking views, and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dublin ca

Location location location.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Clean and comfortable.. Helpful concierge. One mile walk to union square ( flat and easy walk). Near shopping. Close to the ferry building and weekly farmers market. Also great if you are dining at One Market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, spectacular view of clock tower

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: lobby, room furnishings and style, view from the room
Location: Across the street from ferry building clock tower (market, shops, restaurants), one mile from museums, 1-2 miles from the piers and fisherman's wharf
Beautiful hotel, nice room, a balcony that opens to a magnificent view of the clock tower of the ferry building as well as the bay and bridge. Starbucks coffee in the room, comfy bed and bedding. Perfect for my quick one night business trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz Ca

Close to Pier activity

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Close to where I needed to go
Cons: Front desk needed more people working, you are getting a good price for the room, get more people at front desk
Location: N/a
Needed to have more people at reception desk, the times I walked down to bar area always a line to check i and with only two people working the desk. Bell boy service great and also out curb and car service people great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pacific Grove, CA

Walking distance to the embarcadero.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Great hotel. Very friendly staff. At check in the clerk had some trouble finding my reservation, but once she found it she offered a late check out at no additional charge (2:00 pm). Valet parking staff was very friendly and helpful . Restaurant left something to be desired, but when you're in San Francisco who wants to eat at a hotel. Short cab ride to North Beach and really good Italian food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location for business travellers

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location for business - very close to financial district. Bay view rooms had a good view and Balcony
Cons: Food variety
Location: Its the financial district. Cable car and Bart station right on doorstep but all touristy stuff is further away
Breakfast limited and not too tasteful. Could have done with more variety on the buffet given its price tag of $24 + tax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Super Convenient to Many Attractions

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location and the look and feel of the place.
Cons: New bathrooms are short on towel bars.
Location: There are a half dozen destination restaurants within walking distance. The theaters, opera and symphony halls are a quick taxi or bus ride away.
You just can't beat the ease of travel to and from this hotel. BART stops just below the front door so access from either SFO or OAK can't be bettered. There are always taxis out front and buses to every part of the city can be boarded within two blocks. The Ferry Building is just across the street with boats headed for everywhere on the Bay. The property has been well maintained by a single chain for about 50 years. The latest round of improvements have included upgrades to the bathrooms with much improved lighting. It remains one of the most architecturally interesting hotels in San Francisco and in the country. One need not have much contact with the staff, but they are uniformly friendly and helpful. It is remarkably quiet even though it is always full while we are there. The views are remarkable especially toward the Bay. We stay here several times each year and never consider changing to another hotel.