Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Cosey rooms with a fantastic breakfast

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, price, staff
Cons: Bigger rooms, or AC
Location: Opera
We enjoyed our stay however we found the bed and room very small and with no AC it got very stuffy making sleep difficult. The staff are friendly and the pros of this place is the lovely breakfast, pleasant staff and cheaper rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Adequate hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
nice hotel although rooms very small, adequate breakfast, no in room safes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Location: Tour the beautiful and historic City Hall, attend the opera or symphony, and shop on Hayes.
Our room was small, but exactly what we expected for the excellent price. The bed and linens were comfortable and the room was dark. The room was a little stuffy, even with the window open, and there was too much street noise to sleep with the window open. But they brought us a fan and that helped a lot with both issues. We noticed the same problem with the first floor restaurant - the hotel lobby was quite comfortable but the restaurant needs more air circulation, especially at dinner. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Location is great for opera/concert goers.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The close location to the opera house/concert hall. The friendly staff. The generous breakfast.
Cons: The room size. The room we stayed was the smallest on the floor and it was too small for two. They should make it for single use.
Location: It is located Civic Centre area, a couple of blocks from opera house/concert hall/city hall.
My husband and I stayed Inn at the Opera because this time going to a opera was the purpose of our trip to SF. It is only a couple of blocks away from opera house/concert hall. One of the few drawbacks of this hotel is the room size that is pretty small. Impossible to relax in the room. You can't expect any views from its 2 windows. Noise from the surrounding street at night is annoying. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy. The bathroom amenity is only basic. Even though the room is small, it is kept well clean. The breakfast they serve is generous. The staff is friendly and helpful. The MUNI bus stops are nearby, but some routes go through the sketchy area. I don't recommend riding a bus after dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a Fun Neighborhood

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We loved our stay at this hotel. We arrived in SF on an early morning flight. They let us check into the hotel very early (around 10am) and even let us eat from the complimentary breakfast even though we hadn't stayed there the previous night. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The surrounding neighborhood was a real find. We enjoyed exploring Hayes Valley. Our room had a coffee maker, microwave and fridge with plates, glasses and flatware. It would have been perfect to store takeout, leftovers or groceries if one was looking to save money. The only downside was that the room was very small. But that is hardly a complaint given the priciness of SF real estate. We would absolutely look to book at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kris from t

Beautiful hotel in the heart of San Francisco

Posted May 31, 2014
We had a great stay! Amazing location near Alamo plaza and right close to all the train stations taking you where ever you need to go! Staff was great! Bellman Art had our backs and helped us with all of our questions! Good breakfast every morning and rooms were just right for my new fiancé and I! Can't wait to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

good location to reach different locations in SF

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
location to be recommendd, clean, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Patrick from Toronto

Cozy old hotel

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was very small and we barely even noticed. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was a bonus. The location is great if you're going to see something at the opera house or the ballet but unfortunately we didn't have time for this. The entire building has a certain coziness to it which we enjoyed. The room doesn't have air conditioning, just a ceiling fan. We were there during a heat wave where it was hitting 90s for a few days. It was pretty stuffy when we got there but when we came back after dinner, with the fan running and the window open, it was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit of a let down

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed.
Cons: The rooms need updating.
Location: Location good for transport, Opera and Ballet. Did not feel safe at times, though.
The hotel was comfortable and quiet and the staff helpful. Unfortunately the negatives outweighed the positives for me at this hotel. The area in which the hotel is situated isn't the nicest, and felt quite unsafe at times - especially after dark. The room I had was very small for the price, and the furnishings had seen better days. The view of the wall of the car park wasn't ideal either - After a show at the Opera, the cars leaving made quite a noise! The bathroom, while clean, could do with a refurb as the facilities were "well used". The fridge in the room, while convenient, was a bit noisy and there is no kettle (although there is a Mr Coffee machine - Not much use to a British visitor requiring tea!). I wish I'd stayed in a safer, more touristy area like Fisherman's Wharf.