Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great people, small room.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: A/C is needed in the rooms.
Location: The hotels location seemed to be close to everything and the staff are very willing with helpful suggestions of different places to see and things to
The staff was amazing! Everyone went out if their way to be helpful and say hello. Our room was very clean but also very small and very warm. The rooms do not have A/C, so we had to rely on a ceiling fan and a portable fan housekeeping provided. The hotel is not in the safest area of the city so having valet parking was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hollywood

A lovely boutique stay in a prime location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Amazing location, sweet rooms and common spaces, lovely staff.
Cons: Better air conditioning
Location: Everything in the civic and arts center is at your disposal!
I had a great stay at the Inn at the Opera. Traveling to San Francisco for business on a regular basis is fun but you get so bored with the usual big hotels. The Inn at the Opera made me fell like I was on a brief vacation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Cosey rooms with a fantastic breakfast

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, price, staff
Cons: Bigger rooms, or AC
Location: Opera
We enjoyed our stay however we found the bed and room very small and with no AC it got very stuffy making sleep difficult. The staff are friendly and the pros of this place is the lovely breakfast, pleasant staff and cheaper rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Adequate hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
nice hotel although rooms very small, adequate breakfast, no in room safes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Location: Tour the beautiful and historic City Hall, attend the opera or symphony, and shop on Hayes.
Our room was small, but exactly what we expected for the excellent price. The bed and linens were comfortable and the room was dark. The room was a little stuffy, even with the window open, and there was too much street noise to sleep with the window open. But they brought us a fan and that helped a lot with both issues. We noticed the same problem with the first floor restaurant - the hotel lobby was quite comfortable but the restaurant needs more air circulation, especially at dinner. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Location is great for opera/concert goers.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The close location to the opera house/concert hall. The friendly staff. The generous breakfast.
Cons: The room size. The room we stayed was the smallest on the floor and it was too small for two. They should make it for single use.
Location: It is located Civic Centre area, a couple of blocks from opera house/concert hall/city hall.
My husband and I stayed Inn at the Opera because this time going to a opera was the purpose of our trip to SF. It is only a couple of blocks away from opera house/concert hall. One of the few drawbacks of this hotel is the room size that is pretty small. Impossible to relax in the room. You can't expect any views from its 2 windows. Noise from the surrounding street at night is annoying. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy. The bathroom amenity is only basic. Even though the room is small, it is kept well clean. The breakfast they serve is generous. The staff is friendly and helpful. The MUNI bus stops are nearby, but some routes go through the sketchy area. I don't recommend riding a bus after dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a Fun Neighborhood

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We loved our stay at this hotel. We arrived in SF on an early morning flight. They let us check into the hotel very early (around 10am) and even let us eat from the complimentary breakfast even though we hadn't stayed there the previous night. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The surrounding neighborhood was a real find. We enjoyed exploring Hayes Valley. Our room had a coffee maker, microwave and fridge with plates, glasses and flatware. It would have been perfect to store takeout, leftovers or groceries if one was looking to save money. The only downside was that the room was very small. But that is hardly a complaint given the priciness of SF real estate. We would absolutely look to book at this hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Chesterfield

Small room but comfortable

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean. Room was very small but comfortable. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Good for a short stay. A little way from main tourist areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie from Boston

Inn at the Opera

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at the Inn at the Opera. Only a 10 minute walk from public transportation (Muni and BART station Civic Center), the hotel is next door to the Opera and the beautiful City Hall building. The neighborhood felt safe, as I was a single female staying alone. The hotel and my room were clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Free wifi was speedy and without problems. My room had a little kitchen type area with a fridge, microwave and sink, and bathrobes hung in the closet. A complimentary continental breakfast buffet offered bagels, fresh fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, and coffee. I would recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kris from t

Beautiful hotel in the heart of San Francisco

Posted May 31, 2014
We had a great stay! Amazing location near Alamo plaza and right close to all the train stations taking you where ever you need to go! Staff was great! Bellman Art had our backs and helped us with all of our questions! Good breakfast every morning and rooms were just right for my new fiancé and I! Can't wait to come back!