Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Fun boutique hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2015
This is a nice hotel! Breakfast was included and had a really nice spread of fruit, muffins, cheese, coffee, etc. The elevator is small but totally functional. The neighborhood is beautiful everywhere but north! That's the Tenderloin district and it was pretty dicey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesham United king

Close to concert hall

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Friendly at osphere and a great complimentary breakfast
Cons: It was all really fine.
Location: I have already covered this.
Very conveniet if you are going to concert - also convenient for restaurants in the Hayes area. No 47 bus goes direct to Fishermans wharf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Convenient, comfortable and includes breakfast

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The staff is courteous and helpful in making arrangements. The buffet breakfast has a great assortment of fruit, cereal and pastry.
Cons: We had trouble with the door lock but it was fixed and then worked fine.
Location: Near city hall, the opera and lots of restaurants and bars in the Hayes Valley section of the city.
The Inn at the Opera is the first place we go for a room in San Francisco. It is close to where we are going and has just enough of what you want in a hotel. After staying there several times over the last ten years it almost feels like home.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Room was Tiny!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel is right next to San Francisco Ballet School so it's convenient for parents of kids going to SFB.
Cons: Staff, interior design of restaurant (dark and dreary).
The room was so small - smaller than rooms in NYC and Tokyo! The chair in the room was a dining room chair, not an upholstered chair. No desk. Barely enough room to walk on each side of the queen size bed and I am a size 2. The closet was 16 inches wide. Good thing I was only here overnight. It was not worth the price. I called ahead and asked for a late checkout of 1pm and was told to ask when I checked in. I asked at checkin and was told to ask in the morning (day of checkout). I was told in the morning I could checkout at noon (one extra hour) but no longer. I asked for 12:30 or 12:15 so at least I could get back to shower before checking out and they said no because there were too many late checkouts that were granted the day before (when I had initially asked). Not even 15 extra minutes? He acknowledged that even though I had such a tiny room, they could not accommodate my request because the hotel is part of a timeshare and the timeshare pays $85,000 per year and they can't make those people wait for a room after 3pm. So, unless you are part of the timeshare, don't stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterey CA

Inn at the Opera - wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
I recently had a wonderful 3 night stay in San Francisco which was enhanced by my experience at this wonderful hotel.My stay here was 5*****!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Quaint European atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Better walking directions around town. Ran in to some sketchy areas!
Location: great restaurants nearby.
Overall, a pleasant experience. Very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomasfrom Copenhagen, Denmark

Great staff, location & breakfast, small rooms

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
+ Very nice and helpfull staff + Good breakfast + Great location - No aircondition - Really small room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Shanshan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quaint Victorian Charm

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here over night for business and it was delightful. A "vintage" type hotel. I am not familiar with SF and it was recommended. Close to the BART civic center stop. Pleasant front desk people, very helpful with travel info... and cookies (yum). In the Hayes Village area, 2 streets over from Hayes Street with cute boutique shops and eateries. Room was a fine size for me but might be a little small for some. Built awhile ago and updated to still keep the Victorian charm. Quaint and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good atmosphere and value, for that part of SF

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice atmosphere, though a bit noisy in the evening until the restaurant/bar closes and some noise from next room and street. No heat in room...had to ask for portable heater twice. Breakfast quality was good, but breakfast tip system is tacky. Free Internet worked well, but no work space in room. Nice to have microwave and fridge in room. Some good restaurant choices nearby, but neighborhood doesn't have much SF character unless you're into opera, ballet, or symphony. Walkable to BART station, but not particularly convenient to business and tourist areas.