Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Adequate hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
nice hotel although rooms very small, adequate breakfast, no in room safes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Location: Tour the beautiful and historic City Hall, attend the opera or symphony, and shop on Hayes.
Our room was small, but exactly what we expected for the excellent price. The bed and linens were comfortable and the room was dark. The room was a little stuffy, even with the window open, and there was too much street noise to sleep with the window open. But they brought us a fan and that helped a lot with both issues. We noticed the same problem with the first floor restaurant - the hotel lobby was quite comfortable but the restaurant needs more air circulation, especially at dinner. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Location is great for opera/concert goers.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The close location to the opera house/concert hall. The friendly staff. The generous breakfast.
Cons: The room size. The room we stayed was the smallest on the floor and it was too small for two. They should make it for single use.
Location: It is located Civic Centre area, a couple of blocks from opera house/concert hall/city hall.
My husband and I stayed Inn at the Opera because this time going to a opera was the purpose of our trip to SF. It is only a couple of blocks away from opera house/concert hall. One of the few drawbacks of this hotel is the room size that is pretty small. Impossible to relax in the room. You can't expect any views from its 2 windows. Noise from the surrounding street at night is annoying. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy. The bathroom amenity is only basic. Even though the room is small, it is kept well clean. The breakfast they serve is generous. The staff is friendly and helpful. The MUNI bus stops are nearby, but some routes go through the sketchy area. I don't recommend riding a bus after dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a Fun Neighborhood

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We loved our stay at this hotel. We arrived in SF on an early morning flight. They let us check into the hotel very early (around 10am) and even let us eat from the complimentary breakfast even though we hadn't stayed there the previous night. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The surrounding neighborhood was a real find. We enjoyed exploring Hayes Valley. Our room had a coffee maker, microwave and fridge with plates, glasses and flatware. It would have been perfect to store takeout, leftovers or groceries if one was looking to save money. The only downside was that the room was very small. But that is hardly a complaint given the priciness of SF real estate. We would absolutely look to book at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kris from t

Beautiful hotel in the heart of San Francisco

Posted May 31, 2014
We had a great stay! Amazing location near Alamo plaza and right close to all the train stations taking you where ever you need to go! Staff was great! Bellman Art had our backs and helped us with all of our questions! Good breakfast every morning and rooms were just right for my new fiancé and I! Can't wait to come back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit of a let down

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed.
Cons: The rooms need updating.
Location: Location good for transport, Opera and Ballet. Did not feel safe at times, though.
The hotel was comfortable and quiet and the staff helpful. Unfortunately the negatives outweighed the positives for me at this hotel. The area in which the hotel is situated isn't the nicest, and felt quite unsafe at times - especially after dark. The room I had was very small for the price, and the furnishings had seen better days. The view of the wall of the car park wasn't ideal either - After a show at the Opera, the cars leaving made quite a noise! The bathroom, while clean, could do with a refurb as the facilities were "well used". The fridge in the room, while convenient, was a bit noisy and there is no kettle (although there is a Mr Coffee machine - Not much use to a British visitor requiring tea!). I wish I'd stayed in a safer, more touristy area like Fisherman's Wharf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good choice

Posted Apr 5, 2014
stuffs are kind, everything is clean, recommend and location is good too but notice that it is not free parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Orange County CA

An island of relative peace in a buzzy city.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Nothing that would not require tearing the building down and starting over. We like it the way it is.
Location: The Opera, the ballet, the Milano restaurant (it's a couple miles away but well worth the cab fare).
The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Parking is assumed by valet service and in that part of town, it is a welcome and worthwhile benefit at any cost. As far as the room, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is very clean and has all needed amenities including welcome robes as it can get a bit chilly in that global warming-concerned city. Rooms are small but not to the point of being constricted like in British or Italian boutique hotel at 3-time the price. The morning breakfast is well beyond the usual "continental" (whatever that means...) fare, while they will not cook eggs or an omelet for you, there are hard boiled eggs and a toaster. Coffees, teas and juice, fresh fruit and tomato slices are available, along with moderately fattening pastries. Thankfully, this is not a doughnut shop with greasy and sticky pastries. There is a restaurant in the hotel, called "PLAJ", that serves unusual and rather tasty Swedish dishes, worth the experiment. However once there is likely enough and we preferred the Milano restaurant in town. All in all a very pleasant experience in a no-non sense, welcoming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hector from Penarth

Great service & breakfast, small room

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
+POSITIVE location, service, breakfast, iPhone dock, coffee maker -NEGATIVE size of the room, view from the room, cold reception area
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com