Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the city hall

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Staff were friendly. Breakfast was OK although a few more choices would have been nicer. It is quite close to tenderloin and the less savoury part of market street so you will see plenty of homeless people but I didn't feel unsafe. It is close to van ness and two BART stops so getting public transport up to the main sights is easy (you can buy a pass from city hall)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Delightful staff

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly informative helpful staff members.
Location: Area just outside hotel slightly intimidating at night but doors get locked after dark.
Wonderful experience mostly thanks to the amazing staff members including very helpful Tawny and Dan. Hotel itself very good condition and just next to city hall so easy access to SF centre and via bus to Fisherman's Wharf. Buffet breakfasts very pleasant and good range of food. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida.

Nice little hotel near all city's attractions.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The staff were as nice as they could be and were great to deal with . The hotel is little but very neat , functional , nice and clean .
Cons: We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends or anybody looking for a great place to stay in San Francisco.
Location: Great location . Close to everything in the city , including convenience stores , restaurants , shopping centers ,etc.
Well located nice, little & clean hotel with a very polite , friendly and professional staff , always answered all our questions to our satisfaction in a timely manner . A perfect place for a quite and relaxing vacation or business trip because it's location , close to all kind of transportation , good restaurants and convenience stores in walking distance . Decorated with excellent taste , you will find everything you may need in the room . It was equipped very well without any unpleasant noises. No a single complaint . We have been traveling a lot , and this is the kind of place we always look and love to stay. We will rent from Inn at The Opera again in a heartbeat , without a doubt .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds UK

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Cons: Maid to top up the coffee. Had to ask every day and goto reception each time. Not good.
Location: Great location in the immediate area but as we arrived on the bart had to walk through a rough area with a few unfortunate souls wandering about.
Lovely hotel and staff. Free breakfast was also a nice bonus for an early start or pick up a coffee. Rooms clean and comfy, also liked the popcorn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, CANADA

Authentic San Francisco Feel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Our room was small, and we needed to take public transit to get most places - but both of these things were not a problem for us. The hotel staff were awesome. The continental breakfast was perfect. The room and bathroom were CLEAN. Never even heard any neighbours (just the usual downtown city noise). I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great people, small room.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: A/C is needed in the rooms.
Location: The hotels location seemed to be close to everything and the staff are very willing with helpful suggestions of different places to see and things to
The staff was amazing! Everyone went out if their way to be helpful and say hello. Our room was very clean but also very small and very warm. The rooms do not have A/C, so we had to rely on a ceiling fan and a portable fan housekeeping provided. The hotel is not in the safest area of the city so having valet parking was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hollywood

A lovely boutique stay in a prime location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Amazing location, sweet rooms and common spaces, lovely staff.
Cons: Better air conditioning
Location: Everything in the civic and arts center is at your disposal!
I had a great stay at the Inn at the Opera. Traveling to San Francisco for business on a regular basis is fun but you get so bored with the usual big hotels. The Inn at the Opera made me fell like I was on a brief vacation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Cosey rooms with a fantastic breakfast

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, price, staff
Cons: Bigger rooms, or AC
Location: Opera
We enjoyed our stay however we found the bed and room very small and with no AC it got very stuffy making sleep difficult. The staff are friendly and the pros of this place is the lovely breakfast, pleasant staff and cheaper rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Adequate hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
nice hotel although rooms very small, adequate breakfast, no in room safes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Location: Tour the beautiful and historic City Hall, attend the opera or symphony, and shop on Hayes.
Our room was small, but exactly what we expected for the excellent price. The bed and linens were comfortable and the room was dark. The room was a little stuffy, even with the window open, and there was too much street noise to sleep with the window open. But they brought us a fan and that helped a lot with both issues. We noticed the same problem with the first floor restaurant - the hotel lobby was quite comfortable but the restaurant needs more air circulation, especially at dinner. The staff was very friendly.