Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Room was Tiny!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel is right next to San Francisco Ballet School so it's convenient for parents of kids going to SFB.
Cons: Staff, interior design of restaurant (dark and dreary).
The room was so small - smaller than rooms in NYC and Tokyo! The chair in the room was a dining room chair, not an upholstered chair. No desk. Barely enough room to walk on each side of the queen size bed and I am a size 2. The closet was 16 inches wide. Good thing I was only here overnight. It was not worth the price. I called ahead and asked for a late checkout of 1pm and was told to ask when I checked in. I asked at checkin and was told to ask in the morning (day of checkout). I was told in the morning I could checkout at noon (one extra hour) but no longer. I asked for 12:30 or 12:15 so at least I could get back to shower before checking out and they said no because there were too many late checkouts that were granted the day before (when I had initially asked). Not even 15 extra minutes? He acknowledged that even though I had such a tiny room, they could not accommodate my request because the hotel is part of a timeshare and the timeshare pays $85,000 per year and they can't make those people wait for a room after 3pm. So, unless you are part of the timeshare, don't stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterey CA

Inn at the Opera - wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
I recently had a wonderful 3 night stay in San Francisco which was enhanced by my experience at this wonderful hotel.My stay here was 5*****!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Quaint European atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Better walking directions around town. Ran in to some sketchy areas!
Location: great restaurants nearby.
Overall, a pleasant experience. Very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Wonderful stay! Especially love the cookies in the afternoon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by leonorafrom discovery bay

Weekend away

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is in the Hayes Valley which is across the street from the Opera House, there is a lot of construction going on right now across the street to the north and east. We really enjoyed our stay at Inn at the Opera. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and it had a quaint charm. I would recommend this place to anyone There is a Scandinavian restaurant in house. We decided to go to the restaurants and bars around the block instead. It was a short walk to Hayes where you will find shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rossfrom Chicago

Mixed review for Inn at the opera

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel in good area. Small rooms but comfortable. You get a lot of street noise in the room at night and early in the morning. The maid service didn't show up to clean the room until 5:00pm. That being said the concierge at the front desk was very helpful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Casal jovemfrom Brasil

Ótima localização, café da manhã muito bom

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel bom, apesar do quarto ser pequeno.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by sandyfrom san francisco

close to historical buildings

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
we have stayed at this hotel for 20 years. since windham took it over it has changed drastically. we were there 3 nights. the first overnight our room was not cleaned at all. when we inquired they said they do not do that only emply waste baskets and put out clean dishes. the waste baskets were not even done. I would not stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the city hall

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Staff were friendly. Breakfast was OK although a few more choices would have been nicer. It is quite close to tenderloin and the less savoury part of market street so you will see plenty of homeless people but I didn't feel unsafe. It is close to van ness and two BART stops so getting public transport up to the main sights is easy (you can buy a pass from city hall)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Well priced convenience

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Similar to a NYC or European hotel room experience, the rooms at the Inn at the Opera are "efficient" but are clean, well kept and comfortable. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and I would certainly stay here again.