Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Comfortable little hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Although small, the service was personal and friendly. And you couldn't have asked for a better location. To top it all off, it was very affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The best boutique hotel I've stayed in.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Amazing experience in everyway, will will definitely stay there again. As good as a 4.5star hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Jan 16, 2015
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn at Union Square January 9th-11th, 2015. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel at 8:30am that our room was already ready for check in! That was our first of many pleasant surprises during our stay. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and informative about San Francisco (it was both of our first time to the city). The friendly woman at the front desk handed us a map and gave us lots of helpful tips of what to do during our stay and how to get around. When she asked what we were in town for, I mentioned that it was both my boyfriend and I’s birthdays on the 11th. When we returned to our hotel room that evening, there was a bottle of champagne and a happy birthday note waiting in our room. The rooms are very cozy and clean. We also thought the bed was so comfortable!! Each morning there is a complimentary breakfast with juices, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, fruits and various breakfast pastries. We really enjoyed grabbing a bagel and coffee and starting our day. Also in the evenings they have complimentary wine and cheese, which is great!! The hotel is small (I think about 20 or so rooms), so they really pay attention to each person who is staying in the hotel. We really loved this hotel, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is going to San Francisco!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Extremely friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Efficient, friendly staff, mini lobby on each floor. Continental breakfast, wine & cheese at 5:30, warm chocolate chip cookies at 9.
Cons: There is no AC but a fan is provided.
Location: Just off Union Square with easy access to all parts of SF
Everything was positive. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Nice Area, lots to do!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
While room is dated, it is clean and comfortable. Staff is enthusiastic and works hard to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brasília

Boa opção na Union Square

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Atendimento e cortesia.
Location: Compras e acesso ao cable car nas imediações.
O hotel fica a alguns metros da Union Square, centro comercial de San Francisco, bem próximo à linha do bondinho (cable car). É uma região bem movimentada e barulhenta, boa para quem gosta de agito e compras. O hotel é um tanto antigo, mas está bem conservado. Oferece café da manhã gratuito é uma degustação de vinho no início da noite. Vale pela relação custo-benefício.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marcus, Thank you very much for your kind review and for your recent patronage of the Inn at Union Square. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and a good value to our guests and we appreciate your acknowledgment. We are glad to read how you enjoyed our location and the many complimentary amenities we offer including breakfast and our evening wine hour. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Whitstable

Perfect location...

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The nice touches ...like the cheese and wine every evening...the breakfast choice...the home made warm cookies last thing at night..perfect stay.
Cons: I cant think of anything ..it was that good
Location: Perfect for shopping at all the big stores..steps from the great restaurants..and. Us tours of the city ..with out climbing those hills!
What a great find...hotel staff make your stay enjoyable from the moment you walk through the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Charming hotel in a great location.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The helpful staff, well-appointed rooms, and breakfast and afternoon wine, cheese and fruit options were most enjoyable.
Cons: I can't think of any way to improve this great hotel!
Location: Shopping is tops in this location and the theater district is not far away.
We enjoyed a delightful stay at the Inn at Union Square last week. The ambiance and attention to detail of the hotel was obvious from the start. Ann greeted and checked us in with friendliness and helpful suggestions for sites to enjoy in the area. She offered some excellent suggestions for us to experience a delicious lunch close to the Inn. The location was perfect, in the center of Union Square. We walked across the street to see the Holiday decorations and skating rink that was set up for skaters in short sleeves and shorts enjoying the 80 degree weather. Kudos to the staff and management of the hotel with their attention to details.Our room was clean, most comfortable and well-appointed. We loved the delicious breakfast and the afternoon wine, cheese and fruit offerings. They were most welcome both before and after our busy day of touring San Francisco. Indeed, we loved our stay at the Inn at Union Square and look forward to our next trip back so we can experience this wonderful hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Friendly feel in a big city

Posted Nov 11, 2014
This was a wonderful hotel to stay in while in the city alone for a business trip. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The Inn provided complementary water bottles and good toiletries daily. The room was kept very clean and updated as well. The sitting room on each floor was great for gathering and was used for a nightly wine and cheese happy hour. Many guests did congregate here and we ended up having a wonderful night talking and getting to know each other. The provided breakfast each morning was lovely as well. The location was in walking distance to many sights, particularly the trolley, Union Square, Chinatown, the BART, and Ferry Building. Although it was downtown, the rooms were very quiet at night. I highly recommend this inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bay area

Definitely pleasantly surprised. Felt very homey.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. My husband and I stayed for only one night. Will definitely come back