Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
A very convenient and nicely managed hotel, where the staff aims to please. Rooms are cozy but comfortable. Our was quiet, a plus in this neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Southern California

Trip to San Francisco for professional conference.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Excellent stay at this hotel. Was in town for a conference and decided to stay here instead of the host hotel, Hilton Union Square. A good decision, staff was friendly, courteous and always ready to help. I'll be back again!
Comment from
Jan 3, 2014
Dear Jim, Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square during your business trip. We appreciate you trying us out instead of the host hotel and we are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Our staff pride themselves in providing each guest with friendly, attentive and personal service and we're pleased to hear this was your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when travels once again return you to San Francisco. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our favorite hotel in San Francisco

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Beautifully appointed rooms, great breakfast and very nice complimentary wine and cheese reception each evening.
My husband and I stayed at this boutique hotel for four nights and really enjoyed it. It so happened that part of our stay was on Valentine's Day. Upon returning from dinner that evening we were so pleasantly surprised to find our bed covered in rose petals with towels in the form of kissing swans. Not to mention Champagne on Ice. I have to complement the staff, they were all so helpful and very friendly.
Comment from
Jan 6, 2014
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding your experience at the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly and attentive staff as well as our special valentine's presentation. We look forward to your return visit, which we hope is soon. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the central location of the Inn at Union

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The staff and the extras described above...even provided free bubbly on Valentine's Day!
Cons: All good.
Location: Take a Big Bus Tour of city of San Francisco, eat at many good restaurants, take cable cars...all within asy walking distance.
Excellent location, staff, cleanliness. Continental brkfast appreciated, as well as the nightly wine and cheese and cookies! Informative and friendly personnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really friendly hotel close to Union Square

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Feeling like they are really happy to have you stay with them.
Location: Half a block from union square and the trolley to Fishermans Wharf. Lots of fabulous shopping and lots of great restaurants!
Great staff, cute quaint hotel! Wine reception, breakfast, great tips about what to do in San Fran! The Innkeeper is around to help you with ideas for restaurants, sightseeing, etc. lots of knowledge about the area. This hotel is all about personal touches!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Well Traveled from California

Perfect location for walking downtown

Posted Feb 11, 2014
The Inn at Union Square was just what I hoped for. The only glitch was parking. It was very difficult to find parking so that we could check in. We got lucky and found a place close enough that Valet could take over for us. It was expensive but worth every penny. Great staff, small but comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Jacksonville, FL

Small boutique hotel with excellent service

Posted Feb 4, 2014
We stayed a few extra days after a conference my wife was attending. Moved from a big box hotel to The Inn. Pricing was more affordable and it is located a half block from Union Square. We could walk to most areas of interest or catch the trolley easily. The staff was excellent and most attentive. The service was very personalized. They knew you by name. We will definitely stay at The Inn next time we visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Hampshire UK

Convenient small hotel in central SF

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: a) the location b) the self-service breakfasts and all-day snacks are good value and save you from hunting around cafes in the area - and sociable.
Cons: Can't think of anything in particular.
Location: just W of Union Sq, next to Powell St trolleys. In shopping district, close to Chinatown. Market St and BART station 4 blocks away down steep hill.
From the outside this hotel looks unpromising, on a deep narrow site, sandwiched between two larger buildings and with a fire escape zigzagging down the front. However inside the facilities are very good. The (standard) rooms are off a long front-to back corridor each with a window out to a narrow "alley" giving access to fresh air and daylight; they are basically a large square room with a huge bed, chairs, table, desk, TV - en suite bathroom is average size. The king rooms (our last 2 nights) have a separate lounge area (with a window to the street) and a rather cramped bedroom to the rear (5ft bed) with a window to the alley. (I imagine there must be corresponding rooms at the hotel rear). The accommodation itself is probably average/above average but what really sets the hotel apart are the services. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful; the rooms were unobtrusively kept clean and tidy with a nightly turn-down service. Continental breakfast (cereal, fruit, bagels, eggs, muffins) is provided in shared seating areas on each floor at the front of the hotel - these are quite small but with guests choosing to eat at different times never got crowded. And you get to talk to people if you're so inclined. Coffee/tea is available all day - cake in the afternoon - wine and cheese early evening - cookies before bed, all included. If your floor is busy or out of something you can always try another floor! The rates are quite expensive but all that food is included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Full of Light from Sacramento, CA

Nice boutique hotel VERY close to Union Square

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean & in good shape, nothing broken or needing replacement. GREAT location! Vintage Charm w/ so many amenities included in the price!
Cons: Parking is not so great :( but it's San Francisco! No counter space in our bathroom, not a big deal!
Location: Steps from Union Square and the cable car stop. Good places: Sears Fine Food, Lefty O'Douls, Biscuits & Blues, too many to list. Shopping galore...
We went to SF to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found this hotel last minute. Good deal, great location and our room was quiet, NO noise from the busy street (but our view was of a brick wall, no biggie - we go outside anyway). No ear plugs needed! I was concerned when I first walked in but it was clean, staff was very accommodating and nice classical music playing when I checked in. Remember this is a "boutique" meaning it's an old small, building, but it has so much charm on the inside and did I say "clean" and comfortable. The price included: early evening wine & cheese reception, cookies for a evening snack, continental breakfast and free internet. The room was small but nothing bad for 2 people. The only complaint was that there wasn't much counter space in the bathroom, but that to is not such a big deal. We definitely will come back to this hotel in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike & irina from new york

Perfection on the heart of San Fran

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Very welcoming and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms, great location, close to everything, free wifi, continental breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening. Most excellent experience. Highly recommend!