Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Small hotel in the centre of San Francisco.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Business centre. Wine & cheese in late afternoon. Cookies in the evening. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Less decorative pillows as there was no where to put them at bed time. Low water pressure in the shower.
Location: Close to Union Square and public transportation.
Close to cable car and our public transportation. Breakfast and afternoon wine with cheese was a delight. Unfortunately, the bed and pillows were way too soft for us and the mattress rolled towards the centre. Room was hot with no air conditioning. Bathroom and room very small if you are carrying a couple of suitcases.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Aust

Great Location

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Great Location. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable , great location, quiet.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: So many wonderful extras. I felt well taken care of throughout my stay. This hotel has character and suited me perfectly.
Perfect home base, and my friends felt welcome here too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central for Union Square

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Hotel comfortable and convenient. No bar etc so more like a hostel but very comfy bed and tea/coffee facilities on each floor. Rm 403 looked directly (arm's reach) onto brick wall which made the room very dark and you had to peer up to sky to tell whether the sun was out! However the room itself was decent for the price. We got back in time for the wine and nibbles only once but there was no evidence of it so presumably it was cleared away early. Staff were very pleasant BUT the young lady on the desk when we checked out insisted we had not pre-paid although we had (through Expedia) and charged my Visa so I am having to challenge this still. You don't need this on holiday!!!!!! We cycled Golden Gate Bridge - be aware that it's a mission ( and up some very steep hills) from Fisherman's Wharf / North Beach area but Sausalito is lovely (and downhill! )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by From Kuwait from A

Loved the Old San Fran Decoration

Posted Jun 17, 2014
I loved the: - antique San Fransisco decoration touch of the hotel - very friendly and professional staff - comfy bed and luxury bathroom -amazing location Didn't like: - small rooms - small corridors - loud cleaning staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony Sia from Melb Aust

Great Location

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Great location and staff were very friendly to help with all your needs. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Perfectly located and the free wine, cheese and chat each evening was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Somerset England

Great Location and Great Hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Comfortable ,Clean ,welcoming and Friendly
Location: The Trams and tour buses were near by. Near to Great Shops and restaurants.
We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived and stayed 5 Nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We Enjoyed our stay and recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you very much for your kind review regarding our clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff and central location near public transportation and Union Square for shopping and dining. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted May 8, 2014
Cons: Bathrooms are a bit cramped but overall they make good use of the space in a heritage building such as this.
At first i was worried about choosing to stay here (arriving at midnight anywhere does not help) but within 24 hours I was a convert. Clean rooms, friendly staff and a real boutique flavour were a plus. I liked the almost daily wine tastings in the 3rd and 5th floor lounges. Great chance to meet some of the other guests as well as some wine producers. I would definitely stay here next time I am in SF. Location is awesome and staff were very personable and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your kind comments about your experience at the Inn at Union Square. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff, clean rooms, complimentary wine tastings each evening and our fantastic location. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Syracuse, New York

Great Boutique Hotel in San Francisco

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, having breakfast and wine and cheese included, the delicious cookies
Location: Great shopping & restaurants in Union Square. Toured Sonoma Wineries, Muir Woods and Sausilito. Took bus to AT & T Park, North Beach and Chinatown
My girlfriend and I had a fabulous time at the Inn at Union Square. Wayne, Anne and all of the staff went out of their way to make our stay extra special. The location is perfect with bus lines, cable car lines all very close. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and nightly wine and cheese tastings that were included in the nightly rate. We happened to return to the hotel one night after the wine tasting was over and we were just mentioning this to the desk staff that we were sorry we had missed it. Within a few minutes we had a knock on our door and a staff member appeared with a whole bottle of wine and a lovely plate of cheeses and crackers! We were so impressed by this unexpected gesture of kindness! This would never occur at a large chain hotel. We stayed four nights and continued on to the second part of our vacation in Lake Tahoe but were to return to fly out of San Fran at the end of our trip. Wayne told us on our return to the city we could leave our luggage at the hotel and that they would make shuttle arrangements to the airport. Typically once you have checked out from a hotel you're done with any perks provided. As promised, Anne made our shuttle arrangements and Wayne greeted us like old friends, helped store our luggage and we were able to enjoy the day until our late night flight. We can't wait to return to the Inn at Union Square! Highly recommend !