Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Comfortable, nice staff and so nicely located

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Location, service and wine and cheese!
Location: Try Kuleto restaurant on Powell street close by: they have the best home made bread and fantastic tiramisu.
It was a very nice discovery in SFO to stay in this "not too big" hotel so nicely located at Union Square. Room was comfortable. Don't expect any city view, there is none but who cares...you are in the heart of the city already. Very nice pleasant lady welcoming you and ready to help you at any stage of your stay. Generous breakfast available every morning and also wine, cheese and nuts at 5:30pm. Very decent prices for that level of service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

Posted Feb 14, 2015
6泊して毎日バスで会社まで出勤しました。少し歩けばバス停がありますし、周りはショッピング街だし、朝食やWiFiがあるし、美味しいPeets coffeeも飲めて、とても便利でした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 6, 2015
We think this little hotel is a gem. It has the comfort and feeling of a small European Inn. The location is perfect. The staff are friendly and helpful. We have stayed in fancy hotels in many countries.....this isn't fancy but it feels like "home".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Comfortable little hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Although small, the service was personal and friendly. And you couldn't have asked for a better location. To top it all off, it was very affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The best boutique hotel I've stayed in.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Amazing experience in everyway, will will definitely stay there again. As good as a 4.5star hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Jan 16, 2015
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn at Union Square January 9th-11th, 2015. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel at 8:30am that our room was already ready for check in! That was our first of many pleasant surprises during our stay. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and informative about San Francisco (it was both of our first time to the city). The friendly woman at the front desk handed us a map and gave us lots of helpful tips of what to do during our stay and how to get around. When she asked what we were in town for, I mentioned that it was both my boyfriend and I’s birthdays on the 11th. When we returned to our hotel room that evening, there was a bottle of champagne and a happy birthday note waiting in our room. The rooms are very cozy and clean. We also thought the bed was so comfortable!! Each morning there is a complimentary breakfast with juices, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, fruits and various breakfast pastries. We really enjoyed grabbing a bagel and coffee and starting our day. Also in the evenings they have complimentary wine and cheese, which is great!! The hotel is small (I think about 20 or so rooms), so they really pay attention to each person who is staying in the hotel. We really loved this hotel, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is going to San Francisco!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Extremely friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Efficient, friendly staff, mini lobby on each floor. Continental breakfast, wine & cheese at 5:30, warm chocolate chip cookies at 9.
Cons: There is no AC but a fan is provided.
Location: Just off Union Square with easy access to all parts of SF
Everything was positive. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Nice Area, lots to do!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
While room is dated, it is clean and comfortable. Staff is enthusiastic and works hard to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brasília

Boa opção na Union Square

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Atendimento e cortesia.
Location: Compras e acesso ao cable car nas imediações.
O hotel fica a alguns metros da Union Square, centro comercial de San Francisco, bem próximo à linha do bondinho (cable car). É uma região bem movimentada e barulhenta, boa para quem gosta de agito e compras. O hotel é um tanto antigo, mas está bem conservado. Oferece café da manhã gratuito é uma degustação de vinho no início da noite. Vale pela relação custo-benefício.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marcus, Thank you very much for your kind review and for your recent patronage of the Inn at Union Square. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and a good value to our guests and we appreciate your acknowledgment. We are glad to read how you enjoyed our location and the many complimentary amenities we offer including breakfast and our evening wine hour. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel to stay in!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. Don't let outside appearance and reception fool you when you arrive.The room is decorated lovely. All staff are so friendly and helpful.They can't do enough for you. Continental breakfast is great. We were on the 5th floor and this is 1 of the 2 floors where you get the breakfast.Room where served is small, but you can take whatever you want to your room. They provide trays.Every evening they have wine tasting and if you don't fancy that, there's coke etc. Also after 7oc they serve cookies. You can make tea/coffee any time of the day you want. They also give 2 free bottles of water and 2 chocolate sweets every evening to your room. Heat wasn't a problem for us, but rooms might get hot as there is only a ceiling fan in room, which may not be great if temperatures were high. No a/c. However there was a plug in fan available as well. It's an ideal location and would defiantly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed our lovely rooms, friendly staff and amenities such as complimentary breakfast, wine hour and fresh baked cookies. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square