Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Excellent Hotel in the heart of Union Square

Posted Sep 27, 2014
The Inn at Union Square is a great hotel in a great location just off Union Square. It is spotless and clean with very comfy beds. The staff are all very friendly too. You get plenty of complimentary services such as very good WiFi, continental breakfast (which was really nice and a plentiful selection) and wine and cheese in the evening (but can't comment on this as we didn't partake due to being out exploring San Francisco). The location is fantastic for exploring the Union Square area, Chinatown and is about a 40 minute walk from the Fisherman's Wharf area. There is also plenty of public transport in the area including a cable car stop at the end of the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco as it it an excellent hotel in a vibrant location but is also very quiet at night so you can sleep well following a busy day exploring the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quirky hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The beds, the location.
Location: Union Square is the centre of San Francisco
Don't be put off by the very narrow frontage and tiny reception - this is a lovely, quirky little hotel in a great location just off Union Square. The rooms are small but well decorated and the beds are superb - crisp white sheets, plenty of pillows, very comfortable. Rooms have a big TV and a writing table, dressing gowns, free wifi, iron, etc. I was on a business trip and the hotel was far superior to the standard American motel/business hotel experience. Rooms, including carpets and bathroom, were spotlessly clean. The staff were upbeat, friendly and helpful. The hotel is only 20ft wide: long corridors running back from the street with rooms off the corridor. Cliental seemed to be a mix of business travellers and couples on holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Iain, Thank you for your great review and for choosing the Inn at Union Square for your accommodations while visiting San Francisco on business. We're glad to read that you appreciated our central Union Square location as well as the many complimentary amenities we offer including plush bath robes and WiFi. We're also happy you were pleased with our clean, comfortable and nicely decorated guestrooms as well as our cheerful, friendly and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, whether it be for business or leisure. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Iain, Thank you for your great review and for choosing the Inn at Union Square for your accommodations while visiting San Francisco on business. We're glad to read that you appreciated our central Union Square location as well as the many complimentary amenities we offer including plush bath robes and WiFi. We're also happy you were pleased with our clean, comfortable and nicely decorated guestrooms as well as our cheerful, friendly and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, whether it be for business or leisure. At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austrlia Sydney

Central Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: It's decor, central position and cleanliness
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Shops Union Square, transport
The hotel was everything it said it was. I didn't get in until quite late and Ken was there to welcome me. At the end of each floor is a room to enjoy tea/coffee biscuits and fruit Room and bathroom spotless. Staff very helpful giving ideas of what to see and directions on how to get there. Breakfast was a great continental breakfast included in the price. It was very central to Union Square and hop on/off buses etc. would stay again in a hear beat!! Carolyn
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carolyn, Thank you for the great 5-star review of our hotel and we appreciate your kind comments. We're glad your stay with us met your expectations and that you enjoyed our complimentary tea, coffee and breakfast as well as our central location near Union Square for shopping and dining and public transportation. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, especially Ken, who are always happy to provide our guests with excellent recommendations for things to see and do in the city. We look forward to your return visit! At your service, Norbert Mede General Manager Inn at Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from q

10 day break in San Fran

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very enjoyable stay at a great hotel. Staff were excellent and the breakfasts and 'evening wine' also brilliant. So close to the shopping and all the tourist action. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Butler, PA

Anniversary Trip

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: This hotel is lovely. It is quaint and warm, so much more personal than any large, chain hotel.
Location: Great location, close to attractions, yet away from the noise. Truly a respite within the city.
My husband and I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a trip to California. We could not have chosen a more lovely place to stay in San Francisco, than the Inn at Union Square. The staff was warm and friendly. They were very helpful with dinner reservations and suggestions for things to do. Our room was quaint and comfortable. We had a fabulous time and will definitely recommend to our friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel very central especially if you like walking

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff
We had a wonderful time. The location of the hotel and the staff were fantastic. We were the to celebrate my birthday and it was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Excellent location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Great little boutique hotel with pleasant ambience. Don't expect a view from the room. Does not really matter though, as the location is excellent. Kind and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Pleasant Stay in SF

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: Another outlet in the bedroom would be helpful - one was not enough for us.
Location: Great location central to everything!
Friendly staff at a hotel that is close to everything. Reasonably priced for San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Niice amenities

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Great location and staff and amenities room too warm. Need fans. Omar very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

European style hotel in SF

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Friendly and accomating staff at all levels. Nice wine and cheese happy hour and good breakfast. Great location.
Cons: Tiny showers. No A/C so on hot day some rooms can be stuffy.
Location: Right off the Square. Cable car line a few steps away. Great place to stay to explore the city.
Small hotel (30 rooms). Great service. Great location. Reasonable rates.