Ratings based on 1,255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by tidetchr from Chicago

Affordable elegance

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very comfortable "standard" room with a terrific view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Liz Rhodes from Redwood City

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The fulfillment of expectations.
Cons: Short of a multi-multi-million dollar refurbishment, nothing
Location: You can't walk anywhere unless you are a mountain climber,, so it's cabs (always available), Uber, or a big choice of cable cars. Come for the views.
The rooms are well-maintained if a little dated, which somehow seems appropriate for Nob Hill. The staff, as you would expect, is uniformally excellent, combining old-style formality with genuine concern. No surprises here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing great view

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The view we had
The lady at the desk that checked us in was very friendly and helpful . Would be planning on going back soon .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Historic in too many ways

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Good points: I was able to book a deluxe king room at well below the SF market rate, and when we arrived they were out of deluxe king rooms so upgraded us to an executive room. Thus, we started out great - incredible price for a 4 star hotel in a great location - plus an upgraded room. The service staff is impeccable, they treat you like a king. However, disappointment reigned after. I had to move the bed to get to an electrical outlet. I was horrified. Dirt and massive amounts of hair were on the carpet and baseboard behind the bed. It probably hasn't been moved since it was installed. On my night table was a bose sound system which is a nice touch. However, the unit is huge and it is bolted to the night table! For a 4 star hotel it seems awkward and insulting. For a $300 per night hotel, they should treat their guests with more dignity than assuming they will steal a $150 alarm clock. It made me feel cheap. While the bed was very comfortable, the rest of the room was old and worn out. The couch and chairs in the room were worn out, the arms were almost bare from use. Last, the elevator experience is not fun. They have only three for a large hotel, and they are old school small. If you are on a middle floor, it is very difficult to get on the elevator. The issue stems from their penthouse bar, it is a tourist trap that eats up elevator usage. All in all, the room issues made the hotel stay unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

One night stay for a special business event

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Top of the Mark, not to be missed. Spectacular views. Great service and nice clientele. Safe for a woman alone. Wonderful and professional hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel in SF

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic San Fran!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
This hotel was great! It is very old & classic but remodeled nicely. The entire staff was so helpful and friendly. We brought our youg daughter and it was just fine for her. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Beds nice and rooms very clean. Bathrooms small but we didn't mind that. Great views and location. We had a nice time.