Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with disappointing service.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: History, location.
Cons: Service staff should be trained to care about guests especially considering the cost per night per room.
Location: Plenty to do, just don't ask the front desk...they don't know San Francisco.
Zombies. That's our opinion of the staff at the InterContinental. For the price of this hotel you'd be way better off going directly across the street to the Fairmont. They treat their guests with class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Great hotel, beautiful views of the entire city and a very helpful staff. It was a first class experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing location for sure. Look out for the hills!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: the history for sure was amazing. Must go to the Top of the Mark.
Cons: Showers were weak. It would have been nice to see complimentary water/coffee in the lobby especially after walking up and down the streets of Nob Hill
Amazing trip to San Francisco. This hotel is where you want to be. Right in the heart of everything including the cable cars. 5-10 blocks away from everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Room location - Conceigere

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Very friendly Doorman (great sense of humor and remembered us every time (!) we crossed paths with him! And the bell stall was very friendly and help
Location: Great setting but had to take a cab or cable car to get to pretty much everything.
Room was big but next to elevator whick was noisy especially early mornings and during "happy hour" at Top of The Mark. It took 3 tries to get 2 room keys that worked. The one concierge (George) was very helpful with directions, dinner reservations,and tickets but other one (a lady w/o a name tag) sent us to an "upscale ... popular ... Nob Hill "special" steak / seafood restaurant but we we arrived for our 8 pm Friday night (!) reservation there was no one in the bar and only 5 tables filled with diners!?! It really felt like we were sent to the "kick back" restaurant. We left to eat else where.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf bay area

Great location!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Great location and helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: On Nob Hill, so vert centrally located.
The staff was most helpful, most friendly. They made our say very enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Try somewhere else !

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Although it's a good location the MH Int. has poor plumbing , unfriendly service and high prices to boot ($6.50 water). If you bring your car it's awkward. I don't recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Comfortable hotel in nice neighborhood

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: bathroom, views
Decent sized room with a large, clean bathroom. Great views from atop the hill, and some beautiful buildings around make the area look very nice. It's quite a climb to get to the hotel from BART (streetcar runs by hotel), and the wind makes it chilly outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The fulfillment of expectations.
Cons: Short of a multi-multi-million dollar refurbishment, nothing
Location: You can't walk anywhere unless you are a mountain climber,, so it's cabs (always available), Uber, or a big choice of cable cars. Come for the views.
The rooms are well-maintained if a little dated, which somehow seems appropriate for Nob Hill. The staff, as you would expect, is uniformally excellent, combining old-style formality with genuine concern. No surprises here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing great view

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The view we had
The lady at the desk that checked us in was very friendly and helpful . Would be planning on going back soon .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Historic in too many ways

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Good points: I was able to book a deluxe king room at well below the SF market rate, and when we arrived they were out of deluxe king rooms so upgraded us to an executive room. Thus, we started out great - incredible price for a 4 star hotel in a great location - plus an upgraded room. The service staff is impeccable, they treat you like a king. However, disappointment reigned after. I had to move the bed to get to an electrical outlet. I was horrified. Dirt and massive amounts of hair were on the carpet and baseboard behind the bed. It probably hasn't been moved since it was installed. On my night table was a bose sound system which is a nice touch. However, the unit is huge and it is bolted to the night table! For a 4 star hotel it seems awkward and insulting. For a $300 per night hotel, they should treat their guests with more dignity than assuming they will steal a $150 alarm clock. It made me feel cheap. While the bed was very comfortable, the rest of the room was old and worn out. The couch and chairs in the room were worn out, the arms were almost bare from use. Last, the elevator experience is not fun. They have only three for a large hotel, and they are old school small. If you are on a middle floor, it is very difficult to get on the elevator. The issue stems from their penthouse bar, it is a tourist trap that eats up elevator usage. All in all, the room issues made the hotel stay unacceptable.