Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the hotel.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Nice rooms, pretty lobbby nice restaurant. Restaurant/parking pretty pricey though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Beautiful hotel in a prime location. Easy access to Chinatown, Union Square, and the Wharf.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

"Kinda historic" doesn't imply bad condition

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Cons: Everything need serious intervention
Location: Location is hands down is superb and the only best part, and that has nothing to do with the building itself.
Absolutely wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone,except if they really have to and out of any other option.I'm a constant traveller & have seen a lot around the world and not so picky or biased even toward my favorite hotels. I'm a Fairmont guest whenever in SF usually,but had to stay here because it was somebody else's choice.I felt good since it's an IC group hotel anyway&by default it should be good.Well, this particular one at least isn't.I was disappointed since I first stepped into the lobby but it was ok.Front desk's demeanor was very cold,plastic&impersonal.The biggest surprise was awaiting me once I got into my standard double bed room,I really instantly regretted every penny I paid & was determined to just get out of the room, get down to the front desk and confirm if this is their regular standard rooms&if so I'd just refund if possible&if not will just cross the street to the Fairmont.I was genuinely upset.All this scenario didn't happen because my travel partner convinced me that we're just gonna sleep now for about 8 hours&will leave the whole building by then.He was right after all,&I too that & just slept in disgust.Again I'm not picky¬ difficult to please at all, but it felt like a true trap.It didn't feel actually to me,it was a true zero value for the cost.Double checked with the front desk before leaving if this their standard double room,not old one or if they're renovating some & I didnt get that,she confirmed yes.Im wasting my time writing this now
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

San Francisco ladies trip

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: More food options would be nice. There were no appetizers available on the lobby level and nowhere to order anything for breakfast. Buffet only.
Location: Had to take a cab everywhere. Not much do do nearby.Jud
We moved once because the bathroom was way to small for 2 ladies. The second room we had was better, but there wasn't any drawer space or enough hangers or shelf space in the bathroom. We set up both ironing boards on which to place our things. The room never got under 74* the entire time we were there. Maintenance came immediately when we called and told us to close the curtains to keep out the sun and that they would override the system. It did come down from 77* , but never got lower than 74. We didn't want to move for a second time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Mark Hopkins SF

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Historic itself, historic area, very comfortable.
Cons: nothing
Location: Cable car rides and transfers to warf and downtown, china town a walk a way, art galleries and Union square close enough to walk to.
Great location on cable car route and historic area. Safe to walk around at night. Check in and out was quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
beautiful hotel in a great location. staff is very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truro Nova Scotia

Beautiful classic San Francisco Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Buffet breakfast was excellent but on the expensive side. Likewise the Top of the Mark Bar, cocktails were $14.
Location: Location on Nob Hill is a bit away from downtown, but you can walk there (wouldn't want to walk back up the hill though!)
We stayed eight nights. Staff was superb, helped is with everything. They even gave us a couple of rides in the hotel courtesy vehicle for free. Top of the Mark was a great place to view the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with disappointing service.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: History, location.
Cons: Service staff should be trained to care about guests especially considering the cost per night per room.
Location: Plenty to do, just don't ask the front desk...they don't know San Francisco.
Zombies. That's our opinion of the staff at the InterContinental. For the price of this hotel you'd be way better off going directly across the street to the Fairmont. They treat their guests with class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Great hotel, beautiful views of the entire city and a very helpful staff. It was a first class experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing location for sure. Look out for the hills!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: the history for sure was amazing. Must go to the Top of the Mark.
Cons: Showers were weak. It would have been nice to see complimentary water/coffee in the lobby especially after walking up and down the streets of Nob Hill
Amazing trip to San Francisco. This hotel is where you want to be. Right in the heart of everything including the cable cars. 5-10 blocks away from everything.